BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of New Buck Chimney Sweep, LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

New Buck Chimney Sweep, LLC

Phone: (614) 882-9922 Fax: (614) 882-9922 View Additional Phone Numbers 7315 Africa Rd, Galena, OH 43021 http://www.newbucksweep.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm offers service and maintenance of chimneys and fireplaces, installation of wood stoves and dryer vents and air duct cleaning.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that New Buck Chimney Sweep, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for New Buck Chimney Sweep, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on New Buck Chimney Sweep, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 19, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1989 in OH Business started locally: 01/01/1989 Business incorporated: 10/25/2002 in OH
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Mark Price, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Price, Owner
Business Category

Chimney Cleaning Chimney Builders & Repair Mason Contractors Stoves - Wood, Coal

Hours of Operation
M: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
T: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
W: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Th: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
F: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Visa, Master Card & Discover
Cash
Personal, Business & Cashier Check
Debit Card
Money Order

Additional Locations

  • 7315 Africa Rd

    Galena, OH 43021 (614) 882-9922 (800) 246-6913

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 246-6913(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am extremely dissatisfied with the customer service, original workmanship and unauthorized repairs that were performed by New Buck on the chimney of my home on ********* ***** in ********, Ohio. I initially contacted the company to inquire about several issues with the work New Buck performed on my chimney in March of 2012. At this time, I contracted with New Buck to have the chimney torn down from the shoulders and rebuilt. This included the brick crown, brick ties, waterproofing, bricks and all other materials necessary to complete a solid, stable and waterproof chimney. I am in a sales contract on the home and the buyer’s inspector, ******* **** **** **********, Inc. as well as ****** ************ ******* found the following issues with the chimney. There is mortar missing from the chimney and siding on the North side of the chimney. Staining has occurred on the southwest wall in the attic with daylight showing through because of the missing mortar on the chimney. And, there is mortar also missing from the top right corner of the chimney. After only two years, there should not be this many issues in the original work. After receiving this report from the inspector and contractor, the buyer’s requested that the chimney be repaired by****** ************ ******* at the seller’s expense. I contacted New Buck on July 3, 2014 and spoke to*****. I requested to speak to the manager or owner. I explained the above problems and she said that she would have someone call me on Monday after the holiday. ***** called me on Monday, July 7 and said that a technician would be out to look at the chimney on Friday, July 11. I explained to her that I had the inspection report and that I could forward it for their review. She refused and said they needed to send somebody to check out the chimney themselves. I called back later in the afternoon saying that Friday would not be soon enough because I had a deadline of Wednesday at midnight to respond to the Request to Remedy from the buyer. She contacted me back and said that she would have ****, a New Buck technician, meet me at the house on Tuesday. He would call me when he was 30 minutes away. On Tuesday, July 8, **** called me at 10:24 AM. I did not answer, but called him back at 10:25 AM. He stated that he just noticed I was to be called 30 minutes ahead. He said that he had gone ahead and looked at the chimney and applied sealant to the areas that were cracked and no longer waterproofed. I told him that I never authorized this work. I explained that the buyer’s requested that the work be completed by ****** ************ *******. I contacted New Buck to request a reimbursement of the costs to correct the issues, not to have them complete unauthorized repairs. Now I have found out that the unauthorized repairs were not done correctly in the first place. Sealant was used on the mortar cracks where mortar should have been used. The old sealant was not removed before the new sealant was applied so the new sealant won’t last. This has now caused additional costs because it all has to be removed before it can be properly repaired.

Desired Settlement: I expect restitution of the costs to make the repairs as well as the additional costs to undo the unauthorized ill-performed repairs.

Business Response: Dear BBB. In March of 2012 we entered into an agreement with *** ************ to removed the top 15 feet of her chimney. The chimney settled leaving a 3" gap between the house and the chimney. We removed the brick down to the shoulder of the chimney,where the chimney widens at the lower level and laid brick next to the home to the top of the chimney. Because the footer and foundation were installed by another company, we were not able to offer a warranty on future settling. On Monday 7/7/14, *** called our company wanting us to come out and look at a water issue with the chimney. We were booked up 5 days and she expressed an urgency, so we came out the next day, Tuesday 7/8/14. She mentioned she wanted something done about the problem as soon as possible. When out technician,****, arrived at the home, unfortunately he discovered the chimney settled another 1/2". There is some wood farming around the chimney and **** went ahead and sealed to keep water out. *** ************ refers to mortar missing on top right corner of chimney. This is an area we did not work on at all. Part of the original, existing chimney. **** put a temporary seal on it until mortar can be put in the crack. The crack in question is 3/16 x 1 1/2 ft. The foundation of chimney was installed by another company. We gave no warranty or implied any that the chimney would not settle further. We will be happy to come out and remove all sealant applied. Thank You, Sincerely, **** ***** New Buck Chimney Sweep.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: Mr. ***** states that his technician “discovered the chimney settled another ½." New Buck does not have the expertise to determine whether the chimney has settled. They do not repair foundation issues and do not have technicians that are licensed to do foundation repairs and thus cannot possibly determine that the chimney settled.  In fact, I have had it inspected by another contractor and he determined that it has not settled. If anything, the wood around the chimney has most likely expanded and contracted. The original work was done in March. This, most likely, explains the breakdown of the sealant. This does not explain the cracks in the mortar. I relied on the expertise of New Buck to determine the best time of year to perform the work. I am now finding out from the contractor that March is a bad time of year to do this type of work because of the temperature swings.

Mr. ***** states that New Buck “laid brick next to the home to the top of the chimney.” Then he states that New Buck did not work on the top right corner of the chimney where there are mortar cracks. Mr. ***** completely contradicts himself with this statement. Isn’t the top right corner part of the top of the chimney? How can the top of the chimney which was torn down and rebuilt by New Buck be part of the existing chimney? This makes absolutely no sense.

According to Mr. ***** “on Monday 7/7/14, I called New Buck wanting them to “come out and look at a water issue with the chimney.” This is completely inaccurate. As I stated in my original complaint, I called New Buck on Thursday, July 3 at 12:07 PM and asked to speak to a manager or the owner. I was told that everyone had left for the holiday and that someone would call me on Monday. On Monday, July 7 at 10:36 AM, ***** contacted me from New Buck to let me know that someone would be out to look at the chimney on Friday, July 11. I explained to her that I had the inspection report and that I could forward it for their review. She said they needed to send somebody to check out the chimney themselves. I called back later in the afternoon saying that Friday would not be soon enough because I had a deadline of Wednesday at midnight to respond to the Request to Remedy from the buyer. She contacted me back and said that she would have ****, a New Buck technician, meet me at the house on Tuesday. He would call me when he was 30 minutes away. I did not say that I wanted repairs done. As I reiterated previously, I was not given a call ahead. **** informed me at 10:25 AM on July 8 that he had gone ahead and looked at the chimney and applied sealant to the areas that were cracked and no longer waterproofed. He never stated that the repairs were temporary. The contractor looked at the sealant that was applied and said that they had done a pretty crappy job. **** even applied sealant over a vine that was growing near the chimney so now the plant is sealed as well. I cannot trust New Buck to come out and remove sealant at this point.

I cannot trust New Buck to do the repairs properly when the original work was inferior and then they did poor repairs without my presence or permission. They never had me sign a document giving them authorization to work on the chimney on July 8, 2014 and I certainly did not give them permission to do any type of work verbally. In addition, Mr. ***** has made inaccurate and contradicting statements in his response which completely renders his company untrustworthy. I will not allow New Buck to do any additional work on my property.   I contacted New Buck to request a reimbursement of the costs to correct the issues, not to have them complete unauthorized repairs. I expect restitution of the costs to make the repairs as well as the additional costs to undo the unauthorized ill-performed repairs.


Regards,

*** ************

Business Response: Dear BBB,We have to offer our customers over 30ty years of experience. This situation is not uncommon. When a chimney settles, the caulking on the chimney pulls away too, often leaving a straight line where the chimney was against the house. On *** ************ chimney, it is evident how far the chimney pulled away by the older caulking line- It is clearly visible on both sides of chimney. The chimney pulled away approximately 3/4" at the top, and 1/4" at the bottom above the shoulder of chimney. Regarding the sealant- we use a RTV Silicone sealant that can be applied as cold as -37F. A product specification sheet can be provided if needed. Regarding missing mortar. When I first talked to ***, a couple weeks ago, she said the missing mortar was below the shoulder, brickwash, of chimney. Now she is saying the it is at the very top of chimney. ****, our technician, did not see any problem with the brickwork or mortar on the work we performed, top 15' of chimney. He did not get on the roof and look at the crownwash. If there is any problem with the masonry work we performed, we'll be happy to come back and repair it. The settling of chimney is the cause of the foundation. Thank You, Sincerely, **** ***** New Buck Chimney Sweep

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: 10126964

I am rejecting this response because: I have supporting documents detailing the issues with the chimney as well as the amount I had to agree to give to the buyers to accommodate them for the cost of the repairs. The inspection report details the issues the inspector from Quality Care Home Inspection found with the chimney. The proposal shows the repairs to the chimney that the contractor, Gilson Construction, was to perform at the cost of $2,285. The buyer's request to remedy and seller's response shows that I had to reduce the sale ***** of the home by $2,000 to accommodate the buyer's for the repairs needed to the chimney. The text messages between my Realtor, Julie Hoffman, and myself show that I had to agree to give the buyers an additional $285 because New Buck did not complete the repairs correctly. This took place the night before the closing after the buyers came through for a final walk-through and discovered that the chimney had not been fixed.

 
The missing mortar has nothing to do with the the chimney settling.  The mortar needed to be replaced correctly and the areas with water damage caused be the missing mortar also needed repaired. The buyers wanted their contractor to complete the work, but agreed to allow New Buck to do the repairs until they discovered that the work hadn't been completed correctly. I expect to be reimbursed in the amount of $2,285 - the full amount I had to givethe buyers to cover the repairs due to the faulty work completed by New Buck. 
 
Regards,

*** ************

Business Response: Dear BBB, The main problem was the chimney settled. This was due to the foundation laid by another company. We resealed the sides of chimney with a high grade sealant at no charge. We offered to remove what was applied at no charge. We feel this was a fair offer and never implied to reimburse another company for work performed. Thank You, **** ***** New Buck Chimney Sweep