This business is not BBB accredited.

C & C Security, Inc.

Phone: (614) 874-6134 947 E Johnstown Rd Pmb 260, Columbus, OH 43230


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers burglary, fire, medical, heat, smoke, carbon monoxide, sump pump, intercom, cellular systems for homeowners and businesses


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for C & C Security, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on C & C Security, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 14, 1994 Business started: 08/01/1994 in OH Business started locally: 08/01/1994 Business incorporated 08/05/1994 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of State Fire Marshal
8895 E Main St, Reynoldsburg OH 43068
http://www.com.ohio.gov/fire
Phone Number: (614) 752-8200
websfm@com.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Chijner, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Chijner, President
Business Category

Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service Security Control Equipment & System Monitors Medical Alarms Fire & Smoke Alarm Systems Gas Detectors Intercoms Systems & Services


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    947 E Johnstown Rd Pmb 260

    Columbus, OH 43230 (614) 874-6134

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have stopped using C & C security and need the installer level code to my security system. I called and was told I could not have the code. I purchased the system and need the code.

Desired Settlement: I need the installer level code that belongs to my security system

Business Response:

The complainant purchased a security system from our company on February 11, 1999. The complainant signed both our company’s “Sales and Installation Agreement” as well as our “Monitoring Agreement” on February 11, 1999. Our company installed the security system in the complainant’s home on February 16, 1999. Our company provided the security system monitoring and extended warranty coverage -- both paid for and received by the complainant -- from February 16, 1999 through February 15, 2015.

Our company received a letter dated January 3, 2015, from the complainant stating he wished to cancel both monitoring and extended warranty of the security system effective February 15, 2015, at the expiration of the then current five-year term. Our company acknowledged the cancellation to the complainant and complied with his request to cancel the account/service with our company effective February 15, 2015. The complainant was no longer a customer of our company beginning February 16, 2015, and through today, October 21, 2015.

The complainant called our office in early to mid-October 2015 requesting assistance. His telephone company told him he was having interference on the home phone from the security system. Our company reminded the complainant that he was no longer a customer of our company; we suggested he contact his phone company; we offered a possible quick solution that may or may not work, noting there could be other issues/complications involved which we were not going to get involved with because he is no longer a customer of our company. There are many other possible options/solutions that could be tested/suggested by other phone/security system companies. Our company is under no obligation to provide technical assistance/support to anyone who is not a current customer of ours. The complainant called our office again about 5:25 p.m. on October 19, 2015, demanding and screaming at me for the Installer Code. I told the complainant that our company does not give any programming information (including the Installer Code) about any security system to any past/current customer or any other company. This has been our policy for the last 21 years and continues to be our policy. This policy of not giving any programming information to anyone is quite common in our industry. Please note that in the “Extended Warranty” agreement that complainant signed on February 11, 2000, Item #6, last sentence states: “CONTRACTOR (C & C SECURITY, INC.) retains ownership of proprietary programming and programming chip of this (complainant’s security) System.” This sentence clearly states that our company retains ownership of all programming, including the Installer Code, of complainant’s security system. The keys to this complaint are that the complainant is no longer a customer of our company by his own cancellation of all services with our company effective February 15, 2015. Effective February 16, 2015, our company is under no obligation to assist the complainant with any issues regarding his security system.

Also, the “Extended Warranty” agreement that complainant signed clearly states that our company retains ownership of proprietary programming and programming chip of complainant’s security system. Because the complainant chose to scream at me and demand the Installer Code from our company on October 19, 2015, in a phone conversation he initiated, our company requests that any further communication from the complainant to our company be done in writing, not verbal.  

Business Response:

 

This response is to address the complainant’s rejection dated October 23, 2015, at 8:18:56 a.m. Our company stands by our initial response to the BBB and complainant dated October 21, 2015.

The complainant has either used or has been able to use his security system for over 16 ½ years without the installer code or any other programming. The contract that the complainant signed on February 11, 2000, clearly states that our company retains ownership of all programming (including the Installer Code) including the programming chip of the complainant’s security system. Our company faxed a copy of this contract to *** ******, BBB of Central OH, today, October 23, 2015.

At no charge to the complainant in early to mid-October 2015, our company offered a verbal solution to the security system taking over his house phone. According to what the complainant told me on October 19, 2015, the solution we offered worked. However, now the trouble light is on and the keypad beeps.  Since the complainant is no longer a customer of our company as of February 16, 2015, our company is under no obligation to provide any assistance, support, etc. (verbal or otherwise) to anyone who is not a current customer of ours or to any other company – including another security system company.

There are ways in our industry for other security system companies and/or phone companies to fix the issues that the complainant is experiencing. Our company has run into similar challenges over the past 21 years and we have overcome them. It is not our company’s responsibility or obligation to help competitive companies overcome challenges. It is not our company’s responsibility or obligation to provide any programming, including the Installer Code, to any past customer or another security system company to change the programming of any security system.

It is not uncommon in our industry for phone companies to blame the security system for being the sole problem for a phone line/system not working properly -- when in fact the problem is with the phone service itself. I recall going to the complainant’s home years ago after his phone company said the problem with the house phone was 100% due to the security system. I proved to the complainant then that the problem was 100% due to the phone company – and the complainant was able to show this 100% conclusive proof to his phone company and they then fixed the problem.

C & C SECURITY, INC. absolutely does not want any control over the complainant’s security system. C & C SECURITY, INC. absolutely is not preventing or precluding the complainant from using the security system. C & C SECURITY, INC. absolutely “retains ownership of proprietary programming and programming chip of this (complainant’s security) System” – as the complainant agreed to in writing when he signed the contract on February 11, 2000.

Other than the six paragraphs above, plus the five paragraphs in our initial response dated October 21, 2015, our company has nothing else to offer the complainant, nor do we have any additional response to either the complainant’s initial or subsequent complaint/response/rejection.

 

Consumer Response: The Security System was not properly disconnected from the phone line when service was cancelled. I was told by C & C Security, the first time I called about the phone, that the system would not call the monitoring system. This did not stop the system from taking control of the phone line. I can not stop the security system from taking control of my phone line with out changing the program. C & C Security should have changed that feature when the security system monitoring was cancelled.We had the system for 16 years and paid for maintenance but within 6 months after we cancelled the service we started to having problems with the phone line.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on C & C Security, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)