BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Percheron Builders Group, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Percheron Builders Group, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (740) 625-9919 Fax: (740) 625-9909 4 W Main St, Centerburg, OH 43011 http://www.percheronbuilders.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states they offer custom design of equine facilities including barns, stalls and arenas and fencing and residential and commercial decks and fencing.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Percheron Builders Group, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Percheron Builders Group, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Percheron Builders Group, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 10, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1989 Business started locally: 01/01/1989 Business incorporated: 04/01/1991 in OH
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Columbus Building & Development Services
757 Carolyn Ave, Columbus OH 43224
http://bzs.columbus.gov
Phone Number: (614) 645-7433

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Douglas Mott, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Douglas Mott, President
Business Category

Building Contractors Contractors - General Log Cabins, Homes & Buildings Patio & Deck Builders Exterior Structures - Barn Construction Horse Equipment & Supplies Fence Contractors Farm Equipment

Alternate Business Names
Percheron Builders

Additional Locations

  • 4 W Main St

    Centerburg, OH 43011 (740) 625-9919

  • PO Box 553

    Centerburg, OH 43011

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/1/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In June of 1999, Percheron Builders installed wood and high tension fence on our property. The posts were guaranteed for 20 years against rot. After 2 years we noticed the posts were rotting where the gate mounting pins went through them. We called Mr **** and he said, "That shouldn't be, they have a 20 year warranty." We have phoned Mr **** for the last several years, to look at the posts and replace them. Mr **** finally came to our property 4 years ago and said he counted 90 posts that needed replaced. In August 2011, Mr **** came over and counted posts once again, and said that there were over 200 posts that needed to be replaced. On December 27th 2011, I called Percheron Builders and Mr **** answered the phone this time, and he told me that the posts were not treated, and the company that made them went out of business. He told me business was slow, and he didn't know how he would be able to swing replacing the posts. I have called several times since then,the last call being in July 2012,and he has not returned a single call. More posts have rotted, causing the fence and wires to be on the ground. This is not only unsightly but very dangerous.

Desired Settlement: We want the old posts removed and replaced with treated posts that we originally paid for, and the fence boards and high tension wires reinstalled to the treated posts.

Business Response: This a shame this fence didn't last.The posts were treated but it looks like not very well. The supplier Burch forest products is no longer in business.I have no recource on the supplier. I can give a prorated cost on material only .The fence lasted appx 10 years. I will pay for 1/2 of the 200 posts that need to be replaced.They will come from ******** lumber. I will not install for free.or remove for free. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/22/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: purchased fence 1998 w/ 20yr warranty-Filed 2005 claim w/ *** for rotting wood-PBG replaced in 2006-Contacted PBG Oct 2011 for more rotting wood Purchased 303' 3-board wood fence in Nov. 1998 w/ 20 yr warranty. Reported rotting in 2005, filed complaint then and PBG replaced in 2006. I contacted PBG Oct 2011 regarding numerous rotting posts. **** **** met with me in Nov 2011 to see damage. He told me that they purchased faulty wood & have had many issues. Since Oct 2011 I've had several conversations with **** and have told him the situation is very danagerous. I'm fear the fence will no longer keep my horses secure. I have not heard back from Percheron in 3 weeks and need immediate action to resolve this.

Desired Settlement: Percheron is not taking care of this issue and I am forced to contact another company to replace Percheron's faulty product to keep my horses safely secured on pasture. I am seeking full reimbursement from Percheron.

Business Response: We will supply the posts but *** will have to pay us to remove the existing posts and put in new ones.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
What is the cost for removing existing posts and placing new ones? Are the posts going to match the existing fence? What's the time line to complete this?

Business Response:  12 posts in question Percheron will supply 12 posts no charge. To install is $500 .00 I have to pay a outside driver down and back to haul equipment then my guys to install.Thanks **** ****

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Percheron was notified of the issue in October of 2011. I had numerous conversations with them and did not receive any indication they would fix the issue. I told them several times the issue was dangerous and I feared my horses would get lose. This was included on the complaint filed in March, 2012. Due to Percheron's lack of response and the severity of the situation, I had another company fix the issue. The work was completed May 15, 2012 at half the cost that Percheron is proposing.

Business Response: What does Mrs ***** want from Percheron Builders Group now that she has had someone else fix the fence ?

**** ****

Consumer Response:
I am rejecting this response because: the company was very slow in responding to the complaint and did not address a critical situation requiring additional actions to be taken. There is nothing Percheron can do to resolve this matter. They had months of opportunity and did not address the situation. Close the complaint, customer not satisfied.
















BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

1/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1