Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Title Boxing Club

Additional Locations

Phone: (614) 436-6060 View Additional Phone Numbers 8481 Sancus Blvd, Columbus, OH 43240 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.titleboxingclub.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Title Boxing Club meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Title Boxing Club include:

  • 10 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Title Boxing Club include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Title Boxing Club
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 14, 2011 Business started: 12/05/2007 Business started locally: 12/05/2007 Business incorporated 06/24/2010 in OH
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Steven Alleman, Managing Partner Mr. Danny Campbell, Manager Mr. Tom Lyons, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Alleman, Managing Partner
Business Category

Boxing Gym Exercise & Physical Fitness Programs Fitness Centers

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Personal Check, Debit Card, Visa, MasterCard, American Express
Alternate Business Names
Knockout, LLC
Industry Tips
Prepaid Entertainment Contract Act 0hio - BBB General Information

Additional Locations

  • 3645 Fishinger Blvd

    Hilliard, OH 43026 (614) 529-1900

  • 5334 N Hamilton Rd

    Columbus, OH 43230 (614) 775-6100

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5360 College Blvd Ste 100

    Overland Park, KS 66211

  • 8481 Sancus Blvd

    Columbus, OH 43240 (614) 436-6060

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/21/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a year membership for me and my wife over a year ago for about $800 and paid the full amount up front on my credit card. I was informed that i would have the option to renew for the same price the next year if i wanted to. We used our membership, then stopped going the last few months didnt call to renew. about 2 months after the year ended, i received a notice that i owed $234.36 which would be way higher anyways then the $800 for a year which would be about $67 a month. It looks like it auto renewed without anyone contacting me, and they tried to charge a card that expired and looks to have billed me for a few months even though they should have contacted me to ask if i wanted the same deal or not. Also, the notice from March 8th said i have 15 days before its sent to collections, but i already recieved a notice from paramount recovery systems saying that it is with them for collections

Desired Settlement: To cancel the membership and credit back the 234.36 because i never authorized a renewal, was never contacted about any different pricing or asking about renewal, and have not been there since my contract ended.

Business Response: When the original membership was purchased the option was selected to have it automatically roll over to month to month at the end of the year. As was mentioned, the card provided to have it roll over did expire before the rollover date so no monthly fees were actually charged. As the membership hadn't been used past the original year, the amount showing delinquent has been entirely waived and the membership has been cancelled out fully.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find the resolution is satisfactory to me.

2/23/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing with regard to a billing issue that I thought had been resolved within the last year. I was recently reviewing my current credit card statement and realized that there was a charge for $74.16 from Title boxing, this came as a surprise to me because I had called over a year ago to cancel my membership due to non-use, was able to contact the manager, and was told this would not be a problem as I had paid the entire membership payment in a lump sum. I then looked at my previous month's statements and had been charged, and somehow overlooked the payments being processed, for November and December as well, $74.16/month. I have not been to Title boxing in over a year and a half, and have not heard anything further from the business with regard to renewing my membership or new monthly charges. I have tried several times with no success to reach the manager of Title boxing, receiving the response "you will need to speak with our manager". I have never received a call back from anyone.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have these 3 charges of $74, total $222.48, refunded. I would also like for my membership to be fully cancelled, as I thought was completed before.

Business Response:

We received written notice to cancel this month to month membership for the first time on 2/9/16 via email. ******* membership was immediately cancelled and a confirmation reply was sent. A request for refund was not made at that time. Given the situation I can certainly understand forgetting about payments that were set up a year prior. As she had not been back to the club during those months, a refund for the requested months was submitted today and should hit her account in 1-3 business days.

10/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently (September 17 2015) signed a contract with Title Boxing with the regional manager. Written on my contract states I may cancel my membership before the end of the month (September 30) and receive my full refund. I have tried to cancel my membership on various occasions. Yesterday, September 25th I stopped into the location where I was told I needed my contract (even though they have a carbon copy of my contract on site). Staff mentioned that it would take them forever to find their copy because they do not have them filed in a logical order. Staff continued to look my membership up online and said only the regional manager could cancel my membership and would be giving me a call to cancel my membership. I have yet to receive a call. Furthermore, I went back to the location today, September 26th and was told by a different staff that he is the one indeed who could cancel my membership be he cannot do it today because he was conducting a class. I mentioned this was my 2nd time coming to the location when he said let's take a look at the contract. He looked at it and told me to call the regional manager and he would handle it. I have called the regional manager on his mobile phone 3 times today in which no answer or call back. This establishment is making it incredibly hard to comply with canceling contract before given date without charge and full refund. I still have yet to cancel my membership and I am extremely not satisfied with how my concern is being handled.

Desired Settlement: Business needs to be contacted by BBB, my owed full refund (as stated on my contract) and a cancellation of membership.

Business Response: Dear valued member, 

I would like to reiterate how very sorry I am that I was unable to speak with you when you initially tried to contact me, and that I am glad to have spoken with your husband on Saturday to discuss a solution. I am also glad to have connected with you earlier today to address your request. As we discussed, considering you had precicely two weeks to terminate your membership to receive a full refund of your down payment, we have processed that refund which you should see reflected on your account in the next one to two business days. If you have any questions what so ever about your account or refund status, please do not hesitate to contact me on the cell phone number I have provided you earlier today, and I will do my absolute best to return your call as swiftly as I can. Again, I very much regret missing your call(s) on Saturday but am very glad I was able to speak to your husband on that same day to hopefully provide you some piece of mind in regards to you receiving the agreed upon refund, which you will be receiving in full. I hope that you consider my offer for a free month long membership at our ********* Road location as a token of our appreciation of your patience in this matter. 
My very best,
District Manager
Title Boxing Club

5/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife has been attempting to cancel our membership all weekend but is being told the staff cannot process the request without management. She was told a manager would respond to her yesterday, but now is being told one is not available until this coming week. The company says we have to cancel by end of business today to avoid being charged for continued service. We had considered a membership in the future when our schedule is less busy, but this lack of proper service has encouraged is to look at another gym.

Desired Settlement: Immediately cancel service with no further charges.

Business Response: This membership was cancelled within the period requested and a voicemail was left reassuring that the issue had been handled.

5/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a member of the Title boxing club in Polaris in 2013 and froze my membership multiple times. I knew that in order for it to be unfrozen I had to call again. The club also called me if my account was about to be unfrozen. With this understanding, I called one day in 2014 to cancel my account because I did not go and really needed to save money. With that being said, last week I got a letter from a collector saying I had a debt from this company. I have not gotten a call, letter, or email from them as they have said, and still have not gotten any proof of such thing. Just because they say it is in my record doesn't mean that it happened. I have no proof and living with two others that say the same thing justifies that I am not lying. I solely want my debt extinguished and I will stop bothering **** ****** ******** I just want this company to be honest and see that I haven't been there so I should not have to pay this bill for something that should have been done in the first place.

Desired Settlement: Please extinguish my debt from your records. It is over $390 that I cannot pay

Business Response: After speaking with ***** we've resolved the dispute. The balance due for the months she wasn't with us has been been waived and she is currently sending in her notification of having moved to cancel out what remains of her membership.

Business Response: After speaking with ***** we've resolved the dispute. The balance due for the months she wasn't with us has been been waived and she is currently sending in her notification of having moved to cancel out what remains of her membership.

4/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a member of this club for 6 month. The issue I am having is trying to cancel the account. I have review the contract and sent them a letter in writing to cancel the account. They keep prolonging the cancellation by sending emails not resolving my issue.

Desired Settlement: I would like one of the following to resolve this issue. A) Cancel the account B) Six month refund or C ) Reduction in monthly cost.

Business Response: I spoke with ****** and found he is and has not been a member at our location. Unfortunately, because his membership is held at a different franchise, we aren't able to assist him. I contacted the gym he had joined to let them know one of their members had an issue and should be contacted as well as referring ****** to the franchise he had his membership with to resolve his issue.:

Business Response: I spoke with ****** and found he is and has not been a member at our location. Unfortunately, because his membership is held at a different franchise, we aren't able to assist him. I contacted the gym he had joined to let them know one of their members had an issue and should be contacted as well as referring ****** to the franchise he had his membership with to resolve his issue.:

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint I* ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint I* ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


2/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I joined a Title Boxing- Polaris in Columbus, OH in May 2013. When I signed up, I was told that I am signing up for a month to month membership which I agreed to because I knew I had to cancel at the end of the summer due to going back to school- I made sure the employee knew that as well. The end of August rolled around and I called the location I signed up at and informed them that I needed to cancel my membership due to this. I was told okay and thought I was through with Title. However, in November 2014, I received a call from the club saying that I am behind on two months of payment. I was confused because I was under the impression that I was not apart of Title anymore. Turns out that instead of canceling my membership, my account was placed on a freeze for a year, so in September 2014, I started getting charged again without my knowledge. I spoke to a manager a few times and told him the problem and could not get the issue resolved- I said that I had not been going at all and offered to pay any cancellation fees or go through any process needed so that I could get rid of the account. I was refused the option to cancel my account and was told that my only option is to pay the past two months and then also have the pay the remaining 10 months. While I was trying to get everything figured out, my account was sent to a collections agency, forcing me to pay. After this happened, I called Title multiple times trying to get ahold of a manager. Either no one answered and I had to leave a message, or an employee answered and told me that the manager would call me back, however, I still have not received a call. I went onto the CLR website and logged onto the membership services and saw that they are still trying to charge me for months as well as the two months that I already paid off. It will be completely unacceptable if my account gets sent to collections again because the club has not called me asking for more payment, or even returned my calls.

Desired Settlement: I expect to hear back from Title. I also expect for the charges that they are trying to charge me to be removed from my account, as well as my account cancelled so that I do not receive anymore requests for payment. I want the two months that I was forced to pay where I had not been attending to either be refunded to me, or be given the opportunity to go into Title for two months to make up for it.

Business Response: Dear valued member, thanks again for speaking with us the other day so we could resolve your issue. Again, we are very sorry about the mix up and I would like to reassure you that any and all delinquent payments have been waived, and your membership has be cancelled, without cancellation fee, on 02/06/2015. If there is anything at all that we can help you with in addition to resolving this issue, please do not hesitate to call us any time and we will do whatever we can to assist you in a timely fashion. Once again, we are very sorry about any inconvenience this must have caused you.

Business Response: Dear valued member, thanks again for speaking with us the other day so we could resolve your issue. Again, we are very sorry about the mix up and I would like to reassure you that any and all delinquent payments have been waived, and your membership has be cancelled, without cancellation fee, on 02/06/2015. If there is anything at all that we can help you with in addition to resolving this issue, please do not hesitate to call us any time and we will do whatever we can to assist you in a timely fashion. Once again, we are very sorry about any inconvenience this must have caused you.

1/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tried to cancel my membership to Title Boxing Club back in April 2013. I was moving away and there was no Title within 60 miles of my new home. I spoke to ****** and he was extremely pushy about not wanting me to cancel. He kept telling me things like "If you cancel, you'll lose your great rate" and "we'll be bullding near you soon so it's not smart to cancel". He wanted me to freeze my account for a year. I told him I was not interested in doing that because I was not going to be moving back to Colimbus. He told me he would freeze it and we should talk again in a year. I asked him to just cancel the membership and hung up. Imagine my surprise when in August 2014 I noticed that TITLE had been charging my credit card for 4 months without my permission. My account, that I asked to be canceled but instead was frozen without my permission, was activated again without my permission. My credit card company thankfully was helpful and disputed all of the charges (which they finally stopped in November 2014. I tried calling Title to solve the issue but was told that no one but ****** was allowed to cancel accounts he froze. I was told he would call or email within 48 hours, and they would not give me any of his contact information. I never received a call. After my credit card company settled the dispute, I thought my troubles were finally over. HA! I recently received a notice from a collections agency saying I owed title boxing for 6 months of membership. Yes, TItle sent me to collections for money they fraudulently charged my credit card. Not only is this been a huge source of stress, it's going to negatively impact my credit score.

Desired Settlement: I want a written apology as well as my entire membership refunded. I have been dealing with this over almost two years and that is completely unacceptable. I do NOT want ****** to be the one to contact me as he is the reason I have been dealing with this and was entirely unhelpful. I also want them to contact the collection agency immediately to get that fraudulent debt taken off before my credit gets affected for absolutely no reason. As a side note, my membership is under my maiden name (******* ******)

Business Response:

We are very sorry for trouble you had. Your experience was unacceptable and completely unnecessary. We were able to verify that your refund had processed through in November and, I want to assure you, there has been no reporting on your credit. Your membership is now fully cancelled. Please accept our apologies, as well as our assurance that steps have been taken to prevent others from having the same difficulty you did.

****** *******

Managing Partner

Title Boxing Club - Polaris

1/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I joined Title Boxing last January. When I signed up, I explained to the manager, ******, that I would use the gym until spring, then my focus would shift to biking. He assured me this would not be a problem-I could just call the gym and freeze my membership any time. When spring arrived, I called the Sancus Rd location and let them know that I wanted to freeze my membership. Around that time, we had some fraudulent use on our credit card that was being charged for my dues, so the card had to be replaced. Apparently nobody alerted ****** that I called because a few months later, I started receiving calls and letters saying that my account was delinquent. They were trying to charge my monthly fees to the deactivated credit card. I ignored those notices, as I knew I had fulfilled my obligation. Then in December I received a notice from a collection agency that I owed Title Boxing nearly $1000. At that point I knew I needed to speak with ******. When I called the Sancus Rd. location, I explained the situation and asked to speak with ******. I was told that he wasn't in, but the young man apologized and said my issue was one they had been dealing with a lot. When I finally reached ******, he apologized, and we agreed that I would pay them 2 months of dues, and that payment would satisfy my obligation. He offered to credit me that 2 months of payments if I decided to reactivate my membership next winter. That seemed fair, so I agreed to the deal, and he charged my credit card. At that point, I assumed that my ordeal with TItle had been resolved. Then last week I got a "final notice before collection" letter saying I owe $441.66 plus fees. I tried to call ****** and was unable to locate him. I then called the number on the letter 3 different times on two days and each time ended up in voicemail. I left a message that I expected a call back in the next couple days, and if I hadn't heard from anyone by the end of the day on Jan. 20, I'd contact the BBB. Needless to say, I never got that call.

Desired Settlement: I have no interest in maintaining any relationship with Title Boxing. In order to consider this situation resolved, I would like the following:1. A written letter from ****** stating that my membership has been permanently terminated and all obligations have been satisfied 2. An assurance from ****** that nothing will go onto my credit report

Business Response: We are willing to meet this desired resolution in email form.

Business Response: An email will be sent stating that the consumers membership has been permanently terminated and all obligations have been satisfied and that no further collection activity will occur or be reported.  

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   ****** called me and apologized for the misunderstanding. As a good faith gesture, he refunded the two months of dues that he charged me in December and assured me that the pre-collection letter was a mistake and there would be no further collection actions. He also offered to permanently cancel my membership, but I agreed to keep my membership frozen until next winter. 

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am disputing the amount I am being charged to end my contract with Title Boxing. I am being told by their business office that I had to pay 129.00 to end contract. I went into the gym to pay and was told that I owe three months back payment plus a cancelation fee that totaled over 150.00 I out my membership on hold back in April with no charge. I was informed that a hold is only good for 4 months and then they will begin charging. I asked for a copy of my contract and no where in the contract does it state how long a hold can be. I would like to settle this account but I am being told conflicting information

Desired Settlement: I would like to come to fair agreement on the amount it cost to end this contract.

Business Response: We are cancelling her contract with on cost or fees in hopes that this will resolve the dispute.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I also spoke with general manager who was great and quickly resolved the issue.






















Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Title Boxing Club
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)