BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Heartland Bank?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Heartland Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Heartland Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Heartland Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1911 Business started locally: 01/01/1911 Business incorporated: 03/27/1911 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Financial Institutions
77 S High St 21ST Fl, Columbus OH 43215
http://www.com.ohio.gov/fiin/
Phone Number: (614) 728-8400
webdfi@dfi.com.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. G. Scott McComb, President & CEO Ms. Linda Chime, Assistant Manager Ms. Modena Compton, Customer Service Supervisor Mr. Randy Kelly, V.P. Mr. George Smith, CFO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Modena Compton, Customer Service Supervisor
Principal: Mr. G. Scott McComb, President & CEO
Business Category

Banks Credit Cards & Plans Investment Advisory Service Loans Mortgage Brokers

Alternate Business Names
Heartland BancCorp Heartland Investments - A Wholly Owned Subsidiary of Heartland Bank Heartland Mortgage
Industry Tips
Credit - BBB General Statement For All Debt, Credit TOBs Credit Cards - Choosing & Using Credit - FTC Tips

Additional Locations

  • 130 N Wilson Rd

    Columbus, OH 43204 (614) 351-2100

  • 6887 E Main St

    Reynoldsburg, OH 43068 (614) 416-0400

  • 850 N Hamilton Rd

    Gahanna, OH 43230 (614) 337-4600

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (614) 221-4874(Phone)
  • (614) 351-1668(Phone)
  • (614) 855-3320(Phone)
  • (614) 882-4619(Phone)
  • (614) 337-4608 (Fax)
  • (614) 351-2112 (Fax)
  • (614) 351-2690 (Fax)
  • (614) 416-0404 (Fax)
  • (614) 798-5693 (Fax)
  • (614) 839-0210 (Fax)
  • (614) 875-9381 (Fax)
  • (740) 349-7889 (Fax)
  • (740) 893-2905 (Fax)
  • (740) 967-2253 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ms. **************** acted unprofessionally towards my firm regarding an account issue. When I complained & proposed a solution she closed my account. *On March 12, 2012 I used a drive-thru teller to make 2 deposits: 1 deposit of $500 to ********* from an account at *** bank, and 1 deposit of 2 checks drawn from ********* to be deposited in my personal account at Heartland. The teller informed me that she was going to place a hold on 2 of the 3 checks. When I pointed out that 1 of the checks she wanted to place a hold on was written from one Heartland account to another, she retracted the hold and said only the *** check would have a hold. I requested that she verify the funds with *** bank rather than place a hold on the check, which Heartland has done for us before with no problem. The teller disappeared for over 10 MINUTES, at which time I drove off because I simply don't have that kind of time to waste sitting in a bank drive thru. I decided to forward an email with my request instead. *I followed up on March 13th, 2012 with an email to ************ and forwarded the email to **************** because ******'s autoresponse said she was out of town. In it I stated very clearly that I couldn't have $500 tied up for 7 business days and that if the Bank wouldn't verify the funds I needed to stop the check and move cash instead between accounts instead. After sending this email, a $500 credit popped up in the ********* that I took to mean Heartland was lifting the hold. Ms ******** did not respond to me with any other acknowledgement of my email or suggestion on how we could resolve this. At the end of the day I forwarded an email to Ms ******** asking why the ********* account looked so "out of whack" and explaining the transactions that should be there. She responded after the close of business - when it was too late for me to act - that she did not release the hold, despite the mysterious $500 credit that showed up and vanished the next day. *The next day, March 14th, 2012, Ms ******** and I had a series of emails back and forth in which I expressed my dissatisfaction with the course of events. She expressed indifference at both my dissatisfaction and whether Heartland Bank retained *********'s business. She also mentioned in her email that the bank could not verify with *** if the item had been paid; however, on December 29th, 2011, I sat in the Grove City branch of Heartland Bank while she verified that a deposit I made of $10,005 had cleared so that I could take out $1,200 from the account, explaining to me that if she did not verify this I would be "on the hook" for the money should the check not clear. Obviously either then or now I was not given truthful information. This complaint for me and my firm is more about customer service than anything. Ms ******** was not just unprofessional but rude in dealing with this situation. We never had a deposit returned on this account and she never gave me a reason for the branch placing a hold on the check or why they couldn't verify the funds to remove the hold as they have done before. The behavior is quite frankly bizarre. I sent an official complaint to Ms ******** outlining why I was dissatisfied and proposing a resolution, and she responded by closing my account! I have never been treated like this by any bank, with this type of bizarre and retaliatory behavior. If Heartland Bank is a true community bank and concerned about its reputation, I believe someone of higher authority than Ms ******** will be appalled at her behavior and require her to apologize to me and my firm for this treatment. The other proposed remedies are up to their good conscience. Again, I wish to express my disbelief at Ms ********'s treatment of my firm. She could have headed this off easily early on but chose to be rude and unreasonable. THAT is why I am so upset. This situation was totally mismanaged, but I believe the company's CEO and management would not approve of this treatment of a customer and will act on my complaint.

Desired Settlement: The most important items I would like to resolve this are 1)a written and signed apology from *******, Branch Manager of Grove City Branch of Heartland Bank and 2)reinstatement of my firm's checking account. A show of good faith by Heartland bank could include 1)a refund of $7.50 of transfer fees I had to pay as a result of Ms. ********'s actions, 2)a credit of $5 per day I did not have access to my funds as a result of Ms. ********'s behavior, and 3)refund of any fees charged to my account after this complaint was written that resulted from Ms. ********'s actions.

Business Response: Management has reviewed this complaint and determined that standard bank procedures were appropriately followed. Regulation CC allows banks to delay the availability of a deposit on a case by case basis (2 business days) and in certain cases, longer delays may be applied (7 business days), to ensure checks are paid from collected funds. The Funds Availability Policy was provided to Mr. ****** at account opening. Other banks do not always respond to a call to verify that a check has been paid and they are not required to, nor are banks required to call to verify a check has been paid in the first place. Efforts were made to set up a time to discuss his accounts with him, but were declined.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Okay, let me try to express this more clearly for the bank. My complaint, as I stated previously, is about the manner in which I was treated by Ms. ******** - which was very rudely. My complaint was not about the application of banking rules and regulations. (I am fully aware of banking rules and regulations and how banks use them to justify things like holds.) Since being treated rudely is a subjective action - that is, no one else can decide how I feel I was treated - I do not see how quoting bank regulations helps solve this complaint. Ms. ******** was unnecessarily rude and difficult when I was trying to deal with her on this issue, and when I forwarded a formal complaint to her she closed my account instead of working with me to find a solution. I consider this a retaliatory action. Just to be clear, I have offered a remedy WHICH COSTS ABSOLUTELY NOTHING: an apology. Is Heartland Bank not capable of offering an apology when a client feels he/she has been treated rudely? If not, I cannot see how Heartland Bank is deserving of an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau. In addition, and to clarify an issue the bank brought up in its response, I DECLINED THE MEETING MS. ******** OFFERED BECAUSE SHE WANTED THE MEETING TO BE WITH ************ WHO WAS ON VACATION UNTIL THE FOLLOWING WEEK! That meant that by the time we had the meeting, the hold would be off anyway. And the meeting was not necessary, as I stay in almost constant communication with the bank about any issue affecting my account. If anything is happening, I contact the bank immediately to let them know about it or to let them know that I am taking care of it. Finally, the meeting offered was to address the fact that my account was overdrawn; however, my account was overdrawn the check I deposited had a hold on it - so Ms. ******** created the problem and then wanted to discuss it with me a week later. Further, in my original complaint I offered Heartland Bank an opportunity to go the extra mile and admit that perhaps Ms. ******** was being unnecessarily difficult by offering to refund any costs incurred by me - a pittance really - and I leave that offer open as well; however, my original remedy stands: I would like an apology from ******** for the manner in which I was treated. From a personal point of view, if one of my company's clients felt they had been treated rudely by one of my staff I would have apologized to them immediately and asked what could be done to save the relationship. Is Heartland Bank capable of this or not? I do not accept and will not accept anything less than the apology I asked for as a remedy for this complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.