BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Wayne's Auto Repair?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Wayne's Auto Repair

Additional Locations

Phone: (614) 891-6368 5995 Westerville Rd, Westerville, OH 43081 http://www.waynesautorepair.net

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers automobile repairs

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wayne's Auto Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wayne's Auto Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wayne's Auto Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 18, 2009 Business started: 02/01/1999 in OH Business started locally: 02/01/1999 Business incorporated: 05/20/2009 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Wayne Little, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wayne Little, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Brake Service Lubricating Service - Automotive Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Tire Dealers Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Diagnostic Service

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Method(s) of Payment
Visa, MasterCard, Discover & American Express
Cash
Personal, Business & Cashiers Check
Debit Card
Money Order
Refund and Exchange Policy
Coupons must be redeemed at time of checkout.
Alternate Business Names
The Little Company, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 2375 Schrock Rd

    Columbus, OH 43229 (614) 890-0449

  • 5995 Westerville Rd

    Westerville, OH 43081 (614) 891-6368

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Wayne Auto Repair to get a quote on a rebuild or replacement of the transmission of my 1999 VW Jetta GLS. I informed them that my mechanic had already determined the transmission would need to be replaced or rebuilt. They informed me that they would need to see the vehicle to determine their quote and that there would not be any charge to receive the quote. The vehicle was dropped off on 5/14/14 and they contacted me the following day with a quote of $3400 to rebuild the transmission. I responded that the amount was too high to move forward with a repair and that I would be picking up the car. I arrived on 5/16/14 to pick up the car and was informed I would be charged $107.41 for the inspection of the vehicle. When I challenged this, reminding them that I was told that there would not be any charge for the quote, the representative said "Well, that's only if we do the transmission work". So I was forced to pay the amount to get my car back. As I was never informed of any inspection charge on the telephone or when I dropped of the vehicle, I believe that this is a violation of the agreement made verbally to acquire the quote. I checked many other Westerville auto repair shops for pricing on the transmission work and was presented with estimates from $1876 - $2500. So the quote exceeded the the highest competitive quote by $900, and the competitors did not charge me for the quotes. I was referred to Wayne Auto by my mechanic, I am very disappointed about this entire experience, and would caution others not to be caught in this trap.

Desired Settlement: I wish an entire refund of $107.41 as I was never informed by Wayne Auto Repair at any time in the telephone call or direct one-on-one interaction during the drop off of the car that I would be charged for this quote for service. I have been advised by my attorney to file a BBB complaint as a first step in resolution of this issue.

Business Response:

Dear BBB, thank you for forwarding me this information. I have talked to ***** and agreed to refund the $107.41 that he was charged. My employee dropped the ball on this one. ***** should not have been charged a diagnostic fee when all we did was an inspection and verification of the problem.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The consumer took her vehicle to a shop for repairs on 02/04/2014 and the vehicle was kept at the vehicle until 02/13/2014. The consumer states that when she picked up the vehicle the same issue was still ongoing The problem with the vehicle is it was losing power and not accelerating. The consumer took the vehicle back to the shop after the issue persisted and the shop told the consumer that a different part was needed. The consumer paid $530.41 for the repairs.

Desired Settlement: The consumer wants her money back since the issue was not fixed.

Business Response: On Feb. 4th 2014 a 2004 Lincoln LS showed up at our shop with the complaint of several lights on in the dash and loss of power when accelerating. Upon investigating/diagnosing we found that the left rear wheel speed sensor had no output and was causing the Traction control light and ABS light to stay on. This was resolved by replacement of the sensor. Total time for this diagnosis and repair was three hours. Upon calling the customer and getting additional diagnostic time approved we moved on to the engine control computer and found after hours of testing that the Throttle Body needed to be replaced and that their was an update to the cars computer that needed to be done as well. We called the customer and they approved a total cost for both repairs including the reflash of the cars computer. This amount which is at the bottom center of the repair is order is $1661.59 Once again, this amount was approved. Well, the Throttle Body had to be ordered by the dealer and they said it would be a couple days. In the meantime we had the computer updated. 48 hours later the Throttle Body arrived, the technician was beginning to install the new part when he noticed a poor electrical connection to the old throttle body. The technician paused and said "Hey, I don't feel right about replacing this expensive part if it was just a bad electrical connection". So, we repaired the poor connection and with an updated computer took the car on an extended test drive. Everything was fine! We called the customer with the great news. Instead of your bill being $1661. now it is only $964. BUT, if the problem returned the Throttle Body would have to be replaced. We thought the customer would be thrilled, but no such luck. They complained about the price and said it would take a few days to come up with the money. three or four days later they came in with half the money and we agreed to let them make payments on the other half of the bill. So they left us with three post dated checks dated 30 days apart for $176.80 each. They left with the car and everything was fine for the next few days.  Then the car acted up again. They returned and we re-inspected the car and informed them that the Throttle Body was going to have to be replaced after all. This went over like a lead balloon. They insisted we buy the part and install it for free. As far as we can tell, the only thing we did wrong was to try to save them money! But, to try to appease them, we gave them back the three checks they had left us totaling $540.98  Since the ABS sensor was replaced, the computer was updated and the Throttle Body was correctly diagnosed, we feel we have earned the money we have received.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our 1999 Land Rover Discovery was towed to Wayne's Auto, Friday July 20th, 2012. My husband called them to let them know that the car had stopped, after we heard a loud "clank" and would no go back into gear. We told them we suspected it was the power steering or transfer case, where you switch to 4x4. We did not hear back from them, I had to call them to find out what was going on. One person their told me it was gear box and center link with a repair cost of $2500 and another person said it was the gear box and intermediate shaft with a repair cost of $1100. When we picked up the car it was still not driving properly, and had no power steering when turning to the left. the steering wheel was mis-aligned and there was a leak of power steering fluid from the top of the gear box. the housing to the center console and steering column was not put back together properly and nearly fell off while driving. And oil was leaking from the swivel ball housing on the drivers side front wheel. There was no center link or intermediate shaft repair mentioned on our invoice. The part they said was ordered online, was actually purchased from another repair shop-not the reconditioned part we were charged for. We know this because they left the receipt for it in the car. They told us it was test drove and ran and drove smoothly. Once the car was home, I called and spoke with ***, whoe worked on the car, who assured me all repairs we completed and the care was "safe". He also stated the part was purchased on eBay, and would call me back with the eBay sellers ID. I suspected he was not being honest and arranged for another repair shop to look at the car. On the way there, all 4 wheels locked up at 55 mph, causing the car to tip on to 2 wheels. ***** at **** ****** ***** inspected the car and said the transfer case and rear differential were not inspected, and that there was a obvious CV joint problem.

Desired Settlement: We paid Wayne's Auto $435.01, and I feel that this is more than sufficient to cover their cost, since they did not fix the problem we came in with or inspect the car thoroughly enough to determine the issue. They told us the car was safe to drive and it was not. They told us a reconditioned part was purchased on ebay and strung us along waiting on shipping, and that was not true. They told us it needed an intermediate shaft or center link and those repairs were not made- and not explained.

Business Response: Our shop has provided repair services for the *******’s vehicles for 2 years. On July 20, 2012, their 1999 Land Rover was brought to our shop. Our diagnosis and investigation found a multitude of issues with the vehicle including the gear box and most pressing was the steering gear which would not hold any fluid. We quoted $2500 for a variety of repairs including gear box and the center linkage. The *******’s directed us to only fix the steering case with used parts. It was made clear that there would be no warranty with used parts. They allowed no other repairs at that time. Total cost for the services performed was $1087.51. The customer paid us $435.01 at the time of pickup of the vehicle on July 26th, 2012. They also left 3 checks of $217.51 each to be deposited around the 26th of each month starting in August. After the vehicle left our facility on 26th of July, the vehicle was never returned to us by the *******'s for a recheck of repairs. I was not aware of any issues until the check which was deposited on 8-26-12 was returned Stop Payment in early September. All subsequent checks were returned for the same reason. There was no communication from the *******s concerning any other issues with their car so we could have resolved them to their satisfaction. When we referred the checks to our Collection agency for collections,this is where they disputed the repairs were not done properly thus the Stop Payments. Here at Wayne's Auto Repair customer satisfaction is always a major concern for us. Therefore, we will accept the $435.01 payment and cancel the debt occurring from the returned checks.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 





















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 2002 Mitsubishi Lancer ES to Waynes to have a front end noise diagnosed, I also mentioned that I was wondering what they would charge to replace the blower motor since the blower was out. The repair tech ***** advised me that they would come up with the estimate and call me back however I was never informed of a diagnostic charge nor did I sign anything agreeing to a charge as I dropped the car and keys off after hours. When I got a call I was advised of a total price for the repair of the bearings and drive shaft however after I paid $621.48 to pick up the vehicle I noticed on the repair invoice that they charged $89.95 just to diagnose the blower motor. I was very upset as a consumer these days I need every penny possible to support my family and when I called to see what could be done they were not willing to refund any of that charge as they stated it took 2 hours to diagnose and I was charged an hourly fee. I would of never authorized them to do a diagnostic fee period let alone at that rate. I thought it was an unspoken claim that you are always supposed to inform the customer of any and all charges they will incur prior to doing the work and I am very upset that this wasn't a courtesy that was extended to me. I was told they were to small of a dealer to do disgnostics for free which would of been understood had I been told that before they charged me $89.95 I didnt have to give.

Desired Settlement: I think that it is only fair especially since I paid over $500 to have a wheel bearing and drive shaft repaired that I am refunded the $89.95 that I didn't authorize nor never agreed to pay. I was very surprised when I was told basically that it was just to bad and that I was "stuck" paying the charge even though they were very aware that I was on limited money and certainly would of passed on an estimate. I asked for a ballpark for the blower motor as a worse case scenario.

Business Response:

 

  Dear ********, thank you for bringing your car to us for repairs. I trust everything is ok with the repairs we made.

As for the diagnostic fee, you are absolutely correct. All charges over $25 must have customer approval.

I apologize for the mistake and will remind ***** of company policy including if a customer does have a problem, that it be brought to my attention immediately. A check for $89.95 plus tax will be mailed today.

I hope we can be of service in the future.

 

***** ******, President

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I want to thank ***** so much for his prompt response and refund as it was greatly appreciated. I am very satisfied with his compliance and his service.

Regards,

******** *****














Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I want to thank Wayne so much for his prompt response and refund as it was greatly appreciated. I am very satisfied with his compliance and his service.




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1