BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of One Call Auto Mechanic?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

One Call Auto Mechanic

Phone: (614) 848-9666 6066 Busch Blvd, Columbus, OH 43229 http://www.onecallautomechanic.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

One Call Auto Mechanic provides dependable and honest auto repair service in the Columbus & Worthington Ohio area. Our ASE Certified Mechanic has over 25 years of experience and is ready to fulfill all of your auto service and repair needs.



The different services we provide are but not limited to following:



- Auto Repair Service in Columbus / Worthington Ohio

- Automatic and Standard Transmission (Services, Repairs and Rebuilds)

- Clutches, Differentials, Transfer Cases

- Preventive Maintenance Services

- Electronic and Computer Diagnostics

- Lube & Oil Change Service

- Factory Scheduled Interval Maintenance Services

- Tune ups, brakes, shocks

- Engine Replacements

- Shocks, Struts & Suspension

- Cooling System Maintainance and Repair

- Exhaust / Muffler Service

- Open Sundays By Appointment Only



Call us at (614) 848-9666 for any auto realated questions and to know about other services.



"We are here to help you."

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that One Call Auto Mechanic meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for One Call Auto Mechanic include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

28 Customer Reviews on One Call Auto Mechanic
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 28
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 28

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 19, 2011 Business started: 01/01/2006 in OH Business started locally: 01/01/2006 Business incorporated: 07/14/2005 in OH
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Matt Bayati, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt Bayati, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Transmissions - Automobile Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Repair - Maintenance Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair

Method(s) of Payment
All Major Credit Cards, Cash
Alternate Business Names
One Call Auto Mechanic, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 6066 Busch Blvd

    Columbus, OH 43229 (614) 848-9666

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The consumer has a complaint against One Call Auto Mechanic. She took her vehicle there to be worked on. She paid 64.60 for them for a diagnostic. They were wrong on telling her what is wrong with it. They will not give her a refund.

Desired Settlement: She wants a refund.

Business Response:

**** ****** **** stopped by our shop and stated that she needs to have the tire rods replaced in her 1997 GEO Metro.   We explained to **** **** that we would need to do a diagnostic on her vehicle to determine what the issues were on her vehicle.   At that time,  we also asked if she had a copy of any previous estimates or diagnostic from other shops and she stated she didn’t have any.  We explained that there is a $60.00 diagnostic fee that we charge and if she decided for us, One Call Auto Mechanic, to complete the repairs we would deduct the diagnostic fee from the cost of the repairs.

At the time our shop schedule was full and advised the customer to bring her car back when she had time and our schedule was open.  As a courtesy we checked all the fluids on the vehicle.  Customer stated that she was on a budget and had to watch the cost of what she was going to have completed. Customer returned to our shop on May 12, 2014.  She stated that the vehicle was shaking while driving on the freeway.  We completed the diagnostics on the GEO and found the  following issues:  Radiator is corroded and needs replaced, both side rear wheel bearings are noisey and causing shaking at higher speeds, rear stabilizer link is rusted and broken and exhaust is leaking from mid pipe rear muffler.  We also escorted the customer back to our service garage to show her the issues we found on her vehicle.  We also advised customer to check oil and fluids weekly.  A day or two later **** **** contacted us and asked about balancing her tires.  We stated that the cost on that would be $40.00 and it would not fix the issues that we diagnosed, it might help the problem for a short period but it would not fix the issues.  We stand by our diagnostic of **** ****** vehicle and at this time we will not refund the diagnostic fee that **** **** paid.   We request she provide proof of an error that we made in our diagnostic, from an ASE professional, reputable, creditable auto repair shop.

 

Consumer Response: The work that one call stated I needed was wrong once the tires where balanced the shimmy was gone. I am not going to take my car to have it looked at and spend more money I am on a fixed income and can not spend monies I do not have. I can sent you a copy of receipt from the tire shop that balanced the tires but it will have to be by mail as I can not send it by scanning it. I was never told about any charge, nor did I ask they to preform any checks. I was bringing the car in to have tie rods replaced for a cost of $80.00 which was the quote. This was not done but again I was told I needed $1000. in other repairs. I was never told of the charge to look at it nor was I told anything else. I feel that I was ripped off and just want my money back. I know I am not the only complaint this company has received, If you want the copies I will mail them ASAP, the quote 30 yrs  does not impress not with what I am going through. I was in the army for 26 years none of this matters the fact I was not informed prior is the issue, nor where there any signs to this anywhere . The fact they would not balance the tires after I called and requested it and asked if that would be taken off the monies they already had and was told yes. When I called to obtain the service Iwas told it was to late in the day (1:00) maybe tomorrow, shows they had no intent to honor their word.



Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: I contacted ********* on N High St and spoke to *** They would charge me 14.99 to check out my car they also stated they would only do the work I asked for and not charge me for anything else. Number 614-*********. I am not taking my car in to have it checked One call knows I am on a fixed income. I took the car in to have the tie rods fixed nothing more " Never was I informed of any other charges" that is all I wanted done but they (One Call) called and told me they did not need replaced and gave me a list of things I did not ask to be checked plus they never had the hood opened to check. I was never told about checking anything and now I see they have added the muffler which I had done a year ago at **** which has no issues, i took the car in for one thing only and got charged for an inspection I did not want or request. I signed the paperwork only because they has my car on a lift and held it hostage. The paperwork I had to sign states the monies I gave them would go toward car repair it does not say only the repairs listed. So when I asked about the tire balance they stated they would come over anytime however when I called I was told they where closing it was 1/1:30 they close at 6pm. My story has not changed however theirs has . All I want is my money back they did not do the repair nor do they ask my permission to check anything else.


































Business Response:

How much longer is this issue going to stay open.  Customer signed an agreement for the diagnostic and has been unwilling to provide any proof of our error.  In our last correspondence we advised her we would pay for her diagnostic fee if she took it to a ASE certified auto repair shop or a Dealer Service Center and they find our diagnostic is wrong and if they find it wrong we will also refund her what we charged her.     Our time is not free, is yours? Was her's when she was in the work force? We took time to look at her car, she was fully aware of the fee.  She signed a contract and paid.  

 


Business Response:

**** ****** **** stopped by our shop and stated that she needs to have the tire rods replaced in her 1997 GEO Metro.   We explained to **** **** that we would need to do a diagnostic on her vehicle to determine what the issues were on her vehicle.   At that time, we also asked if she had a copy of any previous estimates or diagnostic from other shops and she stated she didn’t have any.  We explained that there is a $60.00 diagnostic fee that we charge and if she decided for us, One Call Auto Mechanic, to complete the repairs we would deduct the diagnostic fee from the cost of the repairs.  At no time did we hold **** ****** vehicle as she claims.  No one in anyway forced her to sign the agreement, she was at our service counter checking out, signing the documentation and paid, while one of our technicians took her vehicle down from the lifts and drove the vehicle to a parking spot. At the time our shop schedule was full and advised the customer to bring her car back when she had time and our schedule was open.  As a courtesy we checked all the fluids on the vehicle.  Customer stated that she was on a budget and had to watch the cost of what she was going to have completed.   Customer returned to our shop on May 12, 2014.  She stated that the vehicle was shaking while driving on the freeway.  We completed the diagnostics on the GEO and found the following issues:  Radiator is corroded and needs replaced, both side rear wheel bearings are noisey and causing shaking at higher speeds, rear stabilizer link is rusted and broken and exhaust is leaking from mid pipe rear muffler.  We also escorted the customer back to our service garage to show her the issues we found on her vehicle.   We also advised customer to check oil and fluids weekly.  A day or two later **** **** contacted us and asked about balancing her tires.  We stated that the cost on that would be $40.00 and it would not fix the issues that we diagnosed, it might help the problem for a short period but it would not fix the issues.  We stand by our diagnostic of **** ****** vehicle and at this time we will not refund the diagnostic fee that **** **** paid.   We found no issues with her tire rods, therefore they didn’t not need to be replaced.  We advised her of the issues we found with her vehicle.    At no time during any of our conversations did **** **** get upset about our diagnostic fee.  In **** ****** contact with BBB, she stated that our diagnostic is wrong, we offered to work with her to have her take it to a reputable ASE repair shop such as ***, ********* or a *** ****** ******* **** to have them run diagnostic on her vehicle and if they find our diagnostic incorrect and provide us with documentation showing our error we will pay for the cost of that diagnostic as well as refund her our fee that we charged.  At this time, she has been unable to provide such proof.

 

Consumer Response:

One thing further I have had a single repair by One Call a head light was replaced. I was never asked to sign anything and the price was agreed of 20.00 so why is it when I took my car in to have the tie rods replaced they did an inspection and charged me 64.50 when the agreed price for the tie rods was 80.00? I never asked or agreed on an inspection.

Business Response: **** ****** **** stopped by our shop and stated that she needs to have the tire rods replaced in her 1997 GEO Metro.   We explained to **** **** that we would need to do a diagnostic on her vehicle to determine what the issues were on her vehicle.   At that time, we also asked if she had a copy of any previous estimates or diagnostic from other shops and she stated she didn’t have any.  We explained that there is a $60.00 diagnostic fee that we charge and if she decided for us, One Call Auto Mechanic, to complete the repairs we would deduct the diagnostic fee from the cost of the repairs.  At no time did we hold **** ****** vehicle as she claims.  No one in anyway forced her to sign the agreement, she was at our service counter checking out, signing the documentation, while one of our technicians took her vehicle down from the lifts and drove the vehicle to a parking spot. At the time our shop schedule was full and advised the customer to bring her car back when she had time and our schedule was open.  As a courtesy we checked all the fluids on the vehicle.  Customer stated that she was on a budget and had to watch the cost of what she was going to
have completed.  Customer returned to our shop on May 12, 2014.  She stated that the vehicle was shaking while driving on the freeway.  We completed the diagnostics on the GEO and found the following issues: Radiator is corroded and needs replaced, both side rear wheel bearings are noisey and causing shaking at higher speeds, rear stabilizer link is rusted and broken and exhaust is leaking from mid pipe rear muffler.  We also escorted the customer back to our service garage to show her the issues we found on her vehicle.   We also advised customer to check oil and fluids weekly.  A day or two later **** **** contacted us and asked about balancing her tires.  We stated that the cost on that would be $40.00 and it would not fix the issues that we diagnosed, it might help the problem for a short period but it would not fix the issues.  We stand by our diagnostic of **** ****** vehicle and at this time we will not refund the diagnostic fee that **** **** paid.   We found no issues with her tire rods, therefore they didn’t not need to be replaced.  We advised her of the issues we found with her vehicle.   We didn’t quote her a price on the tire rods as you can see within our invoice we never provided a quote for her tire rods.   I'd like to address the customer's comments regarding her headlight.  The customer did stop by to our shop and as a courtesy, we replaced her headlight for only $20.00 as she stated.  There is no diagnostic needed when changing a headlight therefore there was no diagnostic fee.  The customer brought her vehicle to us on May 12, 2014, complaining of shaking while driving on the freeway.  We advised her of the diagnostic fee as previously explained in several of our correspondence as well as it is clearly stated on the invoice and we have signage on our service counter advising all customers of the fee. In **** ****** contact with BBB, she stated that our diagnostic is wrong as well as file a complaint with the Ohio Attorney General’s Office stating that our diagnostic is wrong,  at no time in her orginial complaint did she state that we didn’t replace the tire rods as she requested she stated with  both the BBB and OAG office that we were wrong in our diagnostic,   we offered to work with her to have her take it to a reputable ASE repair shop such as NTB, Firestone or a Car Dealer Service Shop
to have them run diagnostic on her vehicle and if they find our diagnostic incorrect and provide us with documentation showing our error we will pay for the cost of that diagnostic as well as refund her our fee that we charged.  At this time, she has been unable to provide such proof.  This is an attempt by the customer to get something for free and to do so she is attacking our reputation and our business. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Owner (****) stated vehcile would be fixed. I belived it was a fuel pump. **** stated it would cost me extra due to having a factory instaled tow hitch (this is false). **** told me that it would be $750.00 to fix. I questioned this and his tow hitch statments. **** attempted to tell me that I was not intemidating him due to him having a large shop and I could be paying more. After **** instaled a fuel pump, **** dropped price to $620.00 after observing I was upset that the vehicle was still not fixed and he replaced a crank shaft sensor without asking. **** knew I was from Kansas and stranded out of town. It was apparent I was getting the "out of town" guy price and treatment. I contacted 5 other shops around the area that had an average price of 500.00 for the repair. Took my Jeep to a second mechanic who was refered to me by the hotel that I was staying at. My vehicle barely made it to the new garage after suposedly getting fixed by **** and paying over 600.00 dollars. Prior to arriving at the new shop I collected the old parts. **** stated he wanted me to leave the vehicle. Not going to happen, why pay more money for a vehicle that isn't getting fixed. **** also told me I could not write anything negative without calling him first on BBB or similar websites. I arrived at the new shop and the vehicle was fixed. **** put in a fuel pump that was producing 12 lbs of pressure when my Jeep requires 50 lbs of pressure. I am very concerned as to the type of buisness **** is running. I asked what his hourly rate was or how much he charged per flag hour. **** said he did not use those prices but instead was so fast he just looks and makes price. All of the above statments are true and correct. I only hope he changes his buisness practices so people that do not know any better are not taken advantage of. I do belive their might have been a cultural diffrence or language barrier between **** and I with him being from out of county and I being from the USA. However the fact is **** used bad buisness and attempted to take advantage of me more than he already did. For refrence the mechanic shop I took my Jeep to charged me $598.00 which included more work and more time. Please contact me for further supporting documents and statments. I have disputed the charge with my credit card company.

Desired Settlement: Want refund for services that were supposed to be performed but were not.

Business Response: August 12, 2013, Mr. ***** ******* had his 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee towed to my shop, One Call Auto Mechanic.  The vehicle was not running.  We explained to Mr. ******* that the first step in diagnosing his problems with the vehicle would be to replace the fuel pump modular assembly, customer agreed.  We also advised Mr. ******* that the tow hitch on his vehicle was very rusty and since it has to be removed in order to get to the fuel tank to replace the fuel pump, we explained that it may be damaged due to the rusty bolts and it may end up costing more money if that gets damaged.  As it turned out we successfully removed the tow hitch and were able to replace the fuel pump without damage. After we replaced the fuel pump and got the vehicle running.  There was still issues with the vehicle it was running poorly and backfiring.  So as a courtesy to the customer, we replaced FREE OF CHARGE, the crank position sensor.   We found that even with the replacement of the fuel pump and crank position sensor, vehicle was still experiencing issues.   At this point, we felt that the vehicle needed further diagnosing.   We advised Mr. ******* to please leave the vehicle and we would attempt to find why the vehicle was not performing as well as it should be.   Customer was being encouraged by his friend to leave and take it to another shop that he knew of. We encouraged customer to please leave the vehicle with us but he refused.  He asked for the old parts and we provided them.  This was the last contact we had with Mr. *******. After reading his complaint customer stated that there was a problem with the new fuel pump that we installed.  As most customers and companies know, all new parts come with a warranty in case the part is defective.  If the customer had left his vehicle as requested we would have run further tests and may have discovered that the fuel pump was defective and could have contacted the supplier and got a replacement.  There is no way for anyone to know if a part comes defective from the manufacturer until its installed and other things are ruled out that might be causing the issues with the vehicle.   However, since the customer left and did not contact us again we were never aware of an issue with the new fuel pump.  Our invoice clearly states if any future repairs after vehicle release date are made to vehicle from any company or individual other than “One Call Auto Mechanic”, we will not be responsible for any previous repairs or damage to your vehicle.  In addition, warranty and/or service agreement will be void.  I have supplied a copy of Mr. *******’s invoice and it again clearly states this policy at the bottom of the invoice.  Since the customer failed to use the warranty extended to him for the services rendered by One Call Auto Mechanic, we feel we are not responsible for the expenses he incurred due to his lack of use of our warranty and in taking his vehicle to another mechanic/company, he voided our warranty.

Consumer Response: ****'s rebuttle statment didn't resolve anything or even attempt to. First **** didn't write that response, secondly it was fully of inaccurate information. ****'s is operating his buisness by seeing who he can take advantage of. How is it that he can tell a customer i.e. me, that he is so fast he doesn't have hourly rates or flag hours like most all other professional mechanical shops do. **** changed his price by a diffrence of $150.00 in a 10 minute time period due to me asking more questions about their prices.   In the statement **** provided he wrote the cost would possibly be higher if the hitch was damaged; **** goes on to write that he was able to remove the hitch without issue and didn't charge any more. When he spoke to me in person that day, what he said was "it'll cost more due to having the tow hitch." **** wrote in bold letters that he got the vehicle running. This is only partially correct. The vehicle would not run and took numerous attempts to start. Once it started and on the way to the other mechanic the vehicle broke down and stopped running in traffic three diffrent times.   Again in bold letters **** wrote he replaced the crank position sensor free of charge. That is because I told him I would not pay for it due to not being consulted or spoken to prior to the replacement of the part. **** then told me I was not allowed to contact the AG of OH or BBB with any negative information about his buisness. **** said that I was allowed to write positive comments about the buisness, however any negative information could be subject to slander.   Refrence ****'s comments about his warranty; that the warranty would be voided if I went to another mechanic. Why would I leave my vehicle at his buisness after being treated the way that I was and the lack of service that was provided. Furthermore, I needed to get home to Kansas and ended up spending an extra night in OH and had to pay an additional $350 dollars for a rental car to return home. I am asking for partial or full payment for the extra expenses I incurred or no payment for his charges. The way that I was treated was horrific. The totality of circumstances is that I payed for a service. That service was not provided. My vehicle was not properly serviced. I was lied to and given false information. Due to the fact that I refused to be treated that way and knowing better I left his buisness to cease that type of treatment. I used to work in the auto industry before I became a law enforcement officer. I do all of my own work on my vehicle. If I can not do some work then I take it to a professional. **** is not a professional. How can a buisness change their prices, lie about charging extra for a hitch, state that I can't contact the OH AG or BBB and replace parts without my consent after specifically telling him not to replace any extra items without contacting me. I am assuming that **** will continue to defend his deplorable actions and we will need a mediator. In addition upon request I will produce supporting documentation.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

6/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had an estimate for work on my car from another business for the lower intake gasket replacement. I called One Call Auto Mechanic because they have an A+ rating and it's good to get more than one estimate. Because of the "service engine soon" light being on, I first took it in to an auto parts store. They ran a quick diagnostic check and told me it was a faulty coolant fan relay that was causing the light to be on. I then took my car immediately over to One Call Auto because I had called them earlier and inquired how much it would cost for a lower intake manifold gasket to be replaced. I already knew approximately because I had an estimate from the other business. **** told me on the phone I'd have to bring it in so he could look at it. He charged me $53.38 to look at it and told me the very same thing that I told him because I had backup regarding the coolant fan relay and the intake gasket. He said he would apply the $53.38 to my bill if I had the work done by him. This was late in the day of May 17. I told him I'd be in the first thing Monday morning May 20, 2013. When I showed up at 8am, as I stated I would, he commenced to tell me he had too many cars to get out and he'd call me when to bring it in. I told him I couldn't keep driving my car with a leaking intake gasket. He said that I had weeks before it needs to be repaired. I couldn't afford to take a chance my engine would be ruined. It was my impression then and now that he didn't want my business. So, I took my car to the original business I had gone to for the work and had them do it before I wound up with a blown engine which is what could've happened if I had waited too much longer. Today is May 29th, 2013, 12 days after I first took my car to One Call and I have yet to hear from them. I feel I have given them sufficient time to get back to me. I paid up front, in good faith, and One Call Auto did not fulfill their agreement which I authorized by signing the estimate and paying their charges. Integrity is definitely an issue here

Desired Settlement: All I want from this business is for them to send me a check for the full amount I paid, $53.38, not just the $50 but the tax as well. Nothing more nothing less. Most repair facilities don't enjoy sending business to a competitor. Evidently not One Call Auto Mechanic.

Business Response: Mr. ****** * *******, came to One Call Auto Mechanic on Friday, May 17, 2013.  He stated that his vehicle, a 1998 Buick Century, was making a gurgling noise and he suspected that it was the coolant system.  We advised him that we charge a diagnostic fee of $50.00, which will be deducted from the total charge if the repairs are completed by One Call Auto Mechanic.  Mr. ******* advised us that he was had taken the vehicle somewhere else and they told him what the problem was, we advised him to show us the diagnostic that the other place had completed and we wouldn’t need to do our diagnostic, he refused to show us and  gave us the okay to do our own diagnostic. We found the following, very low coolant, engine oil was low , coolant reservoir was contaminated from lower intact gasket leak.   Check Engine light was on due to code P1651 which is for coolant fan relay fault, low and high speed fan is not working. The first step would be to replace the relay to determine the fault.   Oil pan and front crank seal are leaking oil.   We provided the customer with an estimate for the issues we discovered, which are noted below.  We have also attached a copy of the invoice as well. LOWER INTACT GASKET which includes thermostat with gasket and coolant temp sensor  $660.00 OIL CHANGE & FILTER  $30.00 We advised the customer that  this would be a big job and we advised him to check back with us to schedule an appointment.  On Monday, May 20, 2013, around 8:00 am  he arrived to see if we had time to do the job.  At that time we had many vehicles ahead of him .  We advised him to call us on Tuesday or Wednesday and he stated that he didn’t want to wait and had concerns about driving, we explained that he has been driving for weeks with this issue but advised the customer if he didn’t want to wait , to take his vehicle somewhere else, especially if he didn’t want to drive his vehicle with the issues we diagnosed.  We never heard back from the customer again. One Call Auto Mechanic gave him an accurate diagnostic.  The customer was unwilling to wait for an opening in our schedule.  We are not responsible if Mr. ******* choose to take his vehicle to another shop.    Since there was no error in our diagnostic we will not be refunding the fee that customer was charged.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to "One Call" on 03/08/2013 because the engine was louder than normal and it smelled like something burning. They called me around 10am to tell me what was wrong with it, They listed (Alternator, Thermostat, driverside wheel bearing, and left front axle)So I told them to just replace everything, so they did. Well i picked my car up that evening and it cost me $1014.13 I paid it because i thought everything was fixed correctly, but i was wrong. That night my driverside was making a loud noise, so i called them and the guy said to bring it in the morning because he knew what the problem was, well if he knew what the problem was why didnt you fix it right to begin with? I brought it back in the morning he fixed he noise problem. BUT i pulled out of the garage on Sunday moring 03/10/2013 and my car was making a loud noise and smelled awful. I called him and he said to bring it in and he would look at it, but they werent open on Sunday so i would need to drop it off, he would look at it Monday. I wanted a second opinion on the car so i took it to ******** and they popped my hood and said it looks like the alternator was bad and they said alternators have all white labels on them and this alternator that was suppose to be "BRAND-NEW" but it had a yellow label on it, so i doubt it was new. So i called the guy back at One Call and he said there is no way the alternator was bad, but ******** ran a diagnostic test on it and it wasnt working at all. So I had them replace the alternator i told the man at "one time" i'd give him back the old alternator if i could get my money back, he said NO! he said once i had them put in the new alternator that my contract was void. *** **** was going to charge me an extra $40 to keep the old one and i was willing to pay it to give the old one back to him, but he said no so i didnt keep it. One call charged me $465 for the bad alternator and *** **** charged me $370 and theres works GREAT! I tried to talk to one call about it and he wont give me nothing back

Desired Settlement: All i want is my money back for the faulty part. I want my $465 back!

Business Response:

On March 8, 2013, Mr. ***** ****** brought to our shop his 2005 Scion TC.  He stated that he had the following problems, vehicle was overheating, there was an odor coming from vehicle.

We then proceeded to complete a diagnostic on the vehicle.  We found the following issues:

Thermostat was bad

Alternator was not charging

Wheel bearing on the driver side was bad

We then contacted the customer and advised of all the issues we found and got the authorization to start working on vehicle.  We replaced the thermostat with a new thermostat.  We replaced the alternator with a new alternator and its standard procedure to replace the serpentine belt along with the alternator, which we completed as well.  When we started repair on the wheel bearing we found that the axle was bad as well and would need fixed before we proceeded with the wheel bearing.  At this time we contacted Mr. ****** again and advised what we discovered about the axle and he gave the approval to fix the axle.   When we did the work on the axle, we only charged him our cost for the part and did not charge him for labor.   After all the work was completed, we contacted the customer to advice that the vehicle was complete. The customer and his friend came to pick up the vehicle and I showed them all the old parts that were removed and showed them and explained in detail what was completed.  The customer was very pleased and thanked me for the service and paid.

Later that evening after work hours customer contacted me and stated that the vehicle was making a noise from the driver side and I explained that the noise maybe the mud shield and I advised him to stop by the next day and I would fix it for him.  He was unable to bring the car himself but his friend stopped by March 9, 2013 in between 8:00am and 8:30am.  I placed the vehicle up on the floor jack and raised it up and fixed the mud shield which took approximately 3 to 5 minutes.  The friend then took the vehicle for a test drive to make sure that the sound was gone.  He came back and it was fine and thanked me for my services. 

March 10, 2013 I received a call from customer around 7:53am and he stated that the vehicle had an odor again and the vehicle was making noise and I advised him that I would meet him at the shop since its Sunday and our shop is closed.  I called the customer at 8:54 and told him that I was going to the shop and to meet me there.  When I arrived at the shop customer was not there.  I waited for approximately 40 minutes and the customer still had not arrived.  I called the customer and he stated he dropped the vehicle off at *** **** to have it looked at and he was going to pay the $20.00 diagnostic fee and I explained to him that’s fine but do not let them replace the part if it’s a bad alternator.  I explained to him several times that since I did the work and I ordered the part he has a warranty and I would fix it for free.  He said ok and he hung up.  I waited another 40 minutes or so still no call back from customer.  I finally got a hold of the customer and he stated he was hadn’t heard from *** **** yet.  He called me back at about 12:50pm; he stated that *** **** advised him that the alternator was charging not charging.  I told him again NOT to let *** **** touch it, it’s my part and he has a warranty and I will replace the part and do the work at NO Charge.  I explained this several times and told him that parts have a warranty for a reason because they can be bad even if they are new.   I offered to provide free transportation to him both to and from my shop while I fix the vehicle if he would bring the car back to me today or Monday and I could do the work at NO Charge since he has a warranty on my work.  The customer stated what if I bring your part back and you give me my money back.  I explained to him that Part Suppliers don’t give cash back for a defective part they will replace it with a new part especially when it has a warranty.   I explained that there could also be another problem with the vehicle that is causing the part to go bad.  I never heard back from the customer.

March 12, 2013, I received the BBB Complaint.  I then contacted *** **** and spoke with the service manager, **** at ###-###-####.  They advised me that they did not tell the customer that the alternator was used.  They advised customer to bring the vehicle back to me because the alternator was bad and it had a warranty and the work I completed had a warranty and the customer refused and told *** **** to do the work.  I never heard from him again after the last call where I advised him to bring the car back to me for me to fix it since he has a warranty.  The quality of my work is not a problem, the part was defective and it had a warranty and I could have had all the work done at NO CHARGE to the customer.

I feel that I tried everything to work with customer by offering him free transportation and doing the work at NO CHARGE.  If a part come defective there is no way to know this until it goes bad or has problems, this is why they have warranties.  The customer never allowed me the chance to use the warranty that I gave him.  Our invoice clearly states if any future repairs after vehicle release date are made to vehicle from any company or individual other than “One Call Auto Mechanic”, we will not be responsible for any previous repairs or damage to your vehicle.  In addition, warranty and/or service agreement will be void.

Since the customer failed to use the warranty extended to him for the services rendered by One Call Auto Mechanic, we feel we are not responsible for the expenses he incurred due to his lack of use of our warranty and in taking his vehicle to *** **** and having the work done against our advice he voided our warranty.

 

Consumer Response: The man at one time did NOT show me the old parts that he replaced, when i did take my car to *** **** the man did say that he has NEVER seen a brandnew Alternator that has had YELLOW labels on it. So i took it has that he used a faulty part/used... When i called one time back he kept repeating to me that it is not the alternator that is wrong when *** **** told me it was and i will say my car is runnung just fine right now with the alternator they put in my car. I tried to reason with one time and he would give me anything for the faulty part other than him replacing it, but he kept telling me that the alternator was not bad, so i didnt trust him to fix it correctly. Then when i contacted BBB the owner of one time mechanic called me and left me a threating voicemail stating that he was going to sue me, BBB, and *** ****... he kept on saying that in the voicemail, i still have it saved incase BBB would like to hear it. I will say that he did offer give me free transportant while he figures out the problem. The voicemail he left me was completly uncalled for and very unprofessional. Again all i am asking is for the refund of the faulty part he put in my car. I also told him that i was having *** **** to check out my car before he was going to meet me at his shop. Then i told him i was going to have the part changed at *** ****. I again NEVER saw the old parts of my vehicle that he claims he replaced.  



Regards,

Kacey Wright






























Business Response:

 This is in response to Mr. ***** ******’s response dated March 26, 2013.

I did show Mr. ****** exactly what we did on his vehicle as I do with most customers when there are several repairs or services being completed.  I would also like to correct Mr. ******, the name of my company is not “One Time” it is One Call Auto Mechanic. I have over 26 years of experience and I’m a ASE Certified Mechanic.   I pride myself on excellent service and always try to go over and beyond for my customers. 

There are other companies that supply auto parts besides *** ****, such as Federated Auto Parts, Advance Auto Parts, O’Reilly Auto Parts and Napa just to name a few.  I purchased Mr. ******’s part from Federated Auto Parts and the product was new.  I have supplied a copy of the receipt to show that it was new.  Most parts come with a warranty because some parts maybe be defective this is a common issue with parts. 

I never stated to Mr. ****** that there is no way that the alternator is bad, I over and over again asked him to bring his car back for me to resolve his issues at NO CHARGE.  I did explain to him that there may be other issues that is causing the alternator not to charge.  Mr. ****** continued to ignore my offer to resolve the issues and that there would be NO CHARGE and that my part has a warranty so if it is in fact a bad alternator it would be replaced by my auto part supplier at NO CHARGE

Mr. ****** states that I called him and threaten him.  I did call Mr. ****** and explained to him that I have a right to sue him and *** **** for defamation of character.  I offered everything to assist Mr. ****** and he ignored my offers and ignored the warranty that was extended to him.

As I explained before I contacted PEP Boys and spoke with the service manager, Rich at 614-784-1266.  They advised me that they did not tell the customer that the alternator was used.  They advised customer to bring the vehicle back to me because the alternator was bad and it had a warranty and the work I completed had a warranty and the customer refused and told PEP Boys to do the work.  I never heard from him again after the last call where I advised him to bring the car back to me for me to fix it since he has a warranty.  The quality of my work is not a problem, the part was defective and it had a warranty and I could have had all the work done at NO CHARGE to the customer.  I have supplied a copy of a letter from Rich as well.  He states that he informed Mr. ****** that the yellow label could have been caused by the overheating of the alternator, the alternator was overheating and was hot.  It also states that the customer was advised several times to bring the car back to where it was worked on, which would have been my shop, One Call Auto Mechanic. 

I feel that I tried everything to work with customer by offering him free transportation and doing the work at NO CHARGE.  If a part come defective there is no way to know this until it goes bad or has problems, this is why they have warranties.  The customer never allowed me the chance to use the warranty that I gave him.  Our invoice clearly states if any future repairs after vehicle release date are made to vehicle from any company or individual other than “One Call Auto Mechanic”, we will not be responsible for any previous repairs or damage to your vehicle.  In addition, warranty and/or service agreement will be void.  I have supplied a copy of Mr. ******’s invoice and it again clearly states this policy at the bottom of the invoice. 

Since the customer failed to use the warranty extended to him for the services rendered by One Call Auto Mechanic, we feel we are not responsible for the expenses he incurred due to his lack of use of our warranty and in taking his vehicle to PEP Boys and having the work done against our advice he voided our warranty.

Sincerely,

Ahmad Bayati

One Call Auto Mechanic

6066 Busch Blvd

Columbus OH 43229

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had issues with my car cutting off and not staying on. I towed my car to this shop on 12/16/11 to have it checked out and hopefully fixed. I didnt receive a call back until the next day when the owner advised me that the MAP sensor and mass airflow sensor needed to be changed and it would cost $340 in order to make the car run. I simply asked the man to only do one sensor and see if that fixes the issue and then if not we would do the other one. The man became upset, and told me no, he has to do both, that whoever is telling me that he doesnt have to dont know what they are talking about and are backend mechanics, he has been in business for 26 years and I am trying to tell him how to do his job. I told him to pull my car out and I will get it towed elsewhere. He immediately hung up on me while I was talking to him. I then caught a taxi to his place of business and called a tow truck to pick up my vehicle. When I arrived at the business, the owner began fussing about the sensors and I cant tell him how to do his job, that he has been in business for 26 years and he isnt starving so he doesnt need my business,that he knows more that anyone else that works on cars, and they dont know what they are talking about however he charged me $53.37 for the diagnostic. To keep from arguing with him, I got in my car and rolled up my windows. The auto shop that I took my car to after leaving this horrible establishment fixed my car by replacing my MAP sensor and the cost was only $88, almost 4x less than the owner at One Call Auto Mechanic who claims to know more than everyone else that does work on cars. He is very rude, has no customer service skills or common courtesy and disrespectful as a business owner and that is not the way to treat paying customers.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like my $53.37 refunded because he was trying to scam me and he didnt do any work for me. In addition to that, he was very rude and disrespectful and doenst know how to do business. Had he have just honored my request to do one sensor first and see if it fixes the issue then proceed, he wouldve had my business and I wouldve had my car fixed instead of having to spend the whole day carless.

Business Response: On 12/15/2011, Ms. (****) had her vehicle towedm by (****) Towing, to my shop located at 6066Busch Blvd, Columbus, OH 43229, in the late afternoon. The car was not running and the check engine light was on. We advised the customer that there is a diagnostic fee of $50.00 and that If the work is completed by us than the $50.00 is applied to the work that is completed. Customer agreed to the diagnostic fee. My worker, (****) and I ran diagnostic on the vehicle shortly after its arrival to the shop. The next morning we contacted the customer to advise her of the following. #1:Car needs mass air flow sensor and map sensor as the first step to start the car. #2: Needs front brake pads, brake rotors, calipers. Reconiditioned and brake fluid system flushed. #3: The left front wheel hub bearing is bad. Note: Caution the oil pan is dented very rusty and leaking motor oil. As part of our procedures when a car is towed not running we always check the oil and the coolant. When advised the customer of the items in step one told her that both need to be replaced to ensure that the problem is fixed and to see if the check engine light goes off. Customer tells me only to do the map sensor and I explained to her that it may not fix her issues just replacing the one. I advised her that once the new sensor is placed in the vehicle it can not be returned. Customer would not give me a yes or no if she would pay for the work done if I just replace the sensor. She advised me that she would call someone else and then a man called me back and understood what I was explaining, he advised me that I was right and he seemed to know what I was talking about and told me he would call her to explain the issues. She then called me back and stated that a mechanic told her that she could just replace the map sensor. I again explained that yes I could do that but it may not fix her issues and asked her if she would be responsible to pay if I did that and she kept saying we will see, we will see. Again I explained that once that part is in the vehicle I can't return the part to the company and I need her to assure me that she will pay for it. Again she said we will see, we will see. She was telling me what other mechanics told her to do and told me to just do what she says. I explained to the customer that I have over 25 years of experience and I'm ASE certified mechanic and not some backyard mechanic that will do incomplete work. After much going around with her, I advised her to come pick up her car and pay for the diagnostic. Customer came and picked up her car and paid for the diagnostic fee only. If customer had brought in a diagnostic from another professional mechanic or shop I would have been willing to change the sensor only if the customer was willing to support the part and labor cost. Which would have been less than $70.00. Prior to bring her car to my shop she had no knowledge of the issues with her car. She took my diagnostic and had someone replace the sensor only based on my diagnostic. Customer paid for diagnostic of her vehicle and that is what was completed. At this time I feel that I should not have to refund any fees because based on my work she got her part replaced somewhere else. I also noticed that you state that I was sent something prior to the notice dated on January 2, 2012. I have been in business since 1996 in Ohio and never had a complaint.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) His story is not accurate. I never had another person call him, I did call with someone else on the line who happens to be a manager at (****) and has been for years. The person I called with never stated that he was correct, in fact the person I called with asked him to change one sensor first and see if that solves the problem and then if it doesn't I can decide on if I wanted to change the other which is what I asked him to do before he became irate. He began screaming that I will not tell him what to do, he owns his own business, that I'm dealing with back end mechanics and we don't know what we are talking about and that he isn't hurting for money implying that losing my business will not hurt him. No real business man would ever make a comment like that to a customer. What he doesn't know is, I got my car fixed that same day and it only cost me $88 and the only thing fixed was the MAP sensor and my car is running very well. This business owner was very rude, disrespectful and inconsiderate. As a person that works in a service industry and has been for years, I know customer service and any reputable business man would know the proper way to address a situation such as this. Simply knowing how to talk to your customer and listening to their concerns, will get you a long way. If he would focus on customer service and not trying to get the most money he can for any job done, he wouldn't have an issue with refunding the free $53.37 he got from me for doing absolutely no work on my vehicle at all. I do not accept his response and would appreciate if he would take responsibility for his actions refund the money that was charged to me. The only reason I paid the money is because he wouldn't release my car to me or the tow truck driver until it was paid. In fact after he hung up on me and I caught a taxi to his location to get my car and wait for the tow truck, my car was still jacked up in the bay and he didn't take it down until they received payment. Sounds like he was ensuring that he would get the money first. Everything about his actions screams sneaky and not trustworthy and any real businessman would do the right thing and refund the money that he did not rightfully earn.

Business Response: I'm not a dishonest business owner. The customer agreed to the diagnostic fee of $50.00 plus tax. She signed the agreement and thats exactly what was done on her vehicle. The company she took the car to did the work based on my diagnostic. I didn't charge her anything other than the diagnostic fee. Any garage / shop charges a diagnostic fee whether the cusotmer fixes there car or not. She was unwilling to agree to pay for the work done if I replaced just the map sensor and if it turns out that the car still had problems. Once a sensor is placed in the vehicle it can not be returned and I would be out the funds and time that was used, I couldn't get her to agree to pay for the work if I just did the map sensor. She did call someone else and they did call me back. I spoke with them directly on the phone. Customer got her vehicle fixed based on my diagnostics. It was not incorrect therefore I feel no refund is required. She agreed to pay for the diagnostic fee as its shown on the recepit that she signed.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1