Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

One Call Auto Mechanic

Phone: (614) 848-9666 6066 Busch Blvd, Columbus, OH 43229 http://www.onecallautomechanic.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

One Call Auto Mechanic provides dependable and honest auto repair service in the Columbus & Worthington Ohio area. Our ASE Certified Mechanic has over 25 years of experience and is ready to fulfill all of your auto service and repair needs.



The different services we provide are but not limited to following:



- Auto Repair Service in Columbus / Worthington Ohio

- Automatic and Standard Transmission (Services, Repairs and Rebuilds)

- Clutches, Differentials, Transfer Cases

- Preventive Maintenance Services

- Electronic and Computer Diagnostics

- Lube & Oil Change Service

- Factory Scheduled Interval Maintenance Services

- Tune ups, brakes, shocks

- Engine Replacements

- Shocks, Struts & Suspension

- Cooling System Maintainance and Repair

- Exhaust / Muffler Service

- Open Sundays By Appointment Only



Call us at (614) 848-9666 for any auto realated questions and to know about other services.



"We are here to help you."


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that One Call Auto Mechanic meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for One Call Auto Mechanic include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

21 Customer Reviews on One Call Auto Mechanic
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 17
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 21

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 19, 2011 Business started: 01/01/2006 in OH Business started locally: 01/01/2006 Business incorporated 07/14/2005 in OH
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Matt Bayati, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt Bayati, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Transmissions - Automobile Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Repair - Maintenance Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair

Method(s) of Payment
All Major Credit Cards, Cash
Alternate Business Names
One Call Auto Mechanic, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

One Call Auto Mechanic has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6066 Busch Blvd

    Columbus, OH 43229 (614) 848-9666

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had gone to this shop twice altogether, first time I got great service and pricing. Second time was a complete disaster. I had an issue with my truck that another mechanic shop wanted to overcharge me for part at other shop was price quoted at 318.39 for MAF sensor and labor . I called One Call Auto Shop to get a second opinion. They offered to fix what was wrong and at a cheaper price $268.00. Went to One Call Auto Shop, I told them what was wrong, they fixed it no problem. Or least that was what I thought. As I am checking out, the mechanic told me everything was all good to go. He told me after I paid he wanted to take me back and show me something on my truck. Okay no big deal. No sooner than my credit card was swiped and charged for the mechanic stated " You might as well have thrown that money in the garbage." He stated that what the other mechanics stated was wrong was not the actual problem and that it was something completely different. The mechanic knew full well I came in because my check engine light was on. I asked him "So my truck is not fixed?" **** (the mechanic I was dealing with) stated that the check engine light may be off for a little bit but will come on again soon. **** had me pay for something knowing full well that was not what was wrong. In addition to this, **** took me back to my truck and showed me the real problem of a hole in the vacuum. He offered at a "good deal" that if I went to the local Ford dealership and bought the part he would install it for free. He stated the part should only cost $15 dollars. Being in a bind, I had no choice but to get my truck fixed that day. I went and got the part which cost my $85 and not $15. **** did apologize for the price misquote. I approached him as to why he charged me for something knowing full well that was not what was wrong. **** then replied "Well it is too late now, that is what happens when you shop around, next time you should come directly to me." This shop has experience no doubt about that. From this experience I can not trust them as a mechanic to be fair to me as a client. If I can't trust a mechanic that they will not rip me off then their experience means nothing. I would recommend against going to this shop

Desired Settlement: To get a refund of overcharge for part that was not needed. It would have cost me half amount had the he just replaced the part that was actually needed. I also want it to be noted that this behavior occurred in the first place. I do not want other people to get ripped off in a similar situation. Was a complete misleading of service and misinformation to client.

Business Response:

On October 8, 2014,  ********* ****** brought her 2003 Ford Ranger to our shop.  She explained that she had been out of town and took her vehicle to a shop there and was told that she needed her mass air flow sensor replaced.

We offered to re-diagnose her problems but customer refused.  We explained that we would complete exactly what she wanted and that was the replacement of the mass airflow sensor. 

After we completed the replacement, per her request, and we provided her with a 20% discount from what she was previously quoted by the other shop.  As a courtesy, when we then ran further diagnostic, at no charge,  and found that the intake PCV bypass hose is cracked and leaking.  We advised her that this is probably her true problem.  We advised her that the check engine light may return.  Customer stated to go ahead and do the PCV bypass repair.   At that time she wanted us to remove the mass air flow part that we just replaced, we explained that it was not possible because it’s an electric part and we can’t return it.

We advised her that she needed a part and that we would have to order it but it would be faster if she got the part from a dealer.  We advised her that she only needed a certain part and that the part should be about $15.00 or $20.00.  She went to the dealer and brought back a whole assembly that the dealer sold her, One Call Auto Mechanic did not sell this part to her, she purchased from a dealership.  She advised us that the part cost $85.00.  We explained to her that it was due to the fact that the dealer sold her the whole assembly and not the small part that we showed her prior to her going to purchase the part.

We proceeded to fix the vehicle and we only charged her for the mass air flow work and fixed the PCV bypass at no charge.  Customer was upset about the cost of part that she was charged by the dealership, which is no fault of One Call Auto Mechanic.  Customer seemed satisfied with the work we completed and that we fixed her issues she had with the vehicle.  The diagnostic she received from the out of town shop was incorrect.

We did as the customer requested, there is no fault in our work, nor in what we advised the customer.  She purchased the part from the dealer, she agreed to their terms of the price and purchased it.  Customer had a choice to purchase the part as quoted by the dealership.   If customer has an issue with the price of the part, she needs to speak with the dealership.

On November 14, 2014, we spoke to the customer regarding a review that she placed on a search engine and we thought we came to a mutual understanding and customer apologized.   She advised us that she removed the negative review.  This was the only time after October 8, 2014, that we verbally spoke with the customer. 

We stand by our diagnostic and repair.  The customer received a bad diagnostic from an out of town shop, not by One Call Auto Mechanic. 

 

Business Response:

On October 8, 2014,  ********* ****** brought her 2003 Ford Ranger to our shop.  She explained that she had been out of town and took her vehicle to a shop there and was told that she needed her mass air flow sensor replaced.

We offered to re-diagnose her problems but customer refused.  We explained that we would complete exactly what she wanted and that was the replacement of the mass airflow sensor. 

After we completed the replacement, per her request, and we provided her with a 20% discount from what she was previously quoted by the other shop.  As a courtesy, when we then ran further diagnostic, at no charge,  and found that the intake PCV bypass hose is cracked and leaking.  We advised her that this is probably her true problem.  We advised her that the check engine light may return.  Customer stated to go ahead and do the PCV bypass repair.   At that time she wanted us to remove the mass air flow part that we just replaced, we explained that it was not possible because it’s an electric part and we can’t return it.

We advised her that she needed a part and that we would have to order it but it would be faster if she got the part from a dealer.  We advised her that she only needed a certain part and that the part should be about $15.00 or $20.00.  She went to the dealer and brought back a whole assembly that the dealer sold her, One Call Auto Mechanic did not sell this part to her, she purchased from a dealership.  She advised us that the part cost $85.00.  We explained to her that it was due to the fact that the dealer sold her the whole assembly and not the small part that we showed her prior to her going to purchase the part.

We proceeded to fix the vehicle and we only charged her for the mass air flow work and fixed the PCV bypass at no charge.  Customer was upset about the cost of part that she was charged by the dealership, which is no fault of One Call Auto Mechanic.  Customer seemed satisfied with the work we completed and that we fixed her issues she had with the vehicle.  The diagnostic she received from the out of town shop was incorrect.

We did as the customer requested, there is no fault in our work, nor in what we advised the customer.  She purchased the part from the dealer, she agreed to their terms of the price and purchased it.  Customer had a choice to purchase the part as quoted by the dealership.   If customer has an issue with the price of the part, she needs to speak with the dealership.

On November 14, 2014, we spoke to the customer regarding a review that she placed on a search engine and we thought we came to a mutual understanding and customer apologized.   She advised us that she removed the negative review.  This was the only time after October 8, 2014, that we verbally spoke with the customer. 

We stand by our diagnostic and repair.  The customer received a bad diagnostic from an out of town shop, not by One Call Auto Mechanic. 

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and it came to the resolution of was a lack of communication with the dealership. One Call Auto Shop has contacted me per phone. Not 100% happy with resolution but I appreciated the dealership approaching me about issue. WE both walked away with learning something.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and it came to the resolution of was a lack of communication with the dealership. One Call Auto Shop has contacted me per phone. Not 100% happy with resolution but I appreciated the dealership approaching me about issue. WE both walked away with learning something.

7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The consumer has a complaint against One Call Auto Mechanic. She took her vehicle there to be worked on. She paid 64.60 for them for a diagnostic. They were wrong on telling her what is wrong with it. They will not give her a refund.

Desired Settlement: She wants a refund.

Business Response:

**** ****** **** stopped by our shop and stated that she needs to have the tire rods replaced in her 1997 GEO Metro.   We explained to **** **** that we would need to do a diagnostic on her vehicle to determine what the issues were on her vehicle.   At that time,  we also asked if she had a copy of any previous estimates or diagnostic from other shops and she stated she didn’t have any.  We explained that there is a $60.00 diagnostic fee that we charge and if she decided for us, One Call Auto Mechanic, to complete the repairs we would deduct the diagnostic fee from the cost of the repairs.

At the time our shop schedule was full and advised the customer to bring her car back when she had time and our schedule was open.  As a courtesy we checked all the fluids on the vehicle.  Customer stated that she was on a budget and had to watch the cost of what she was going to have completed. Customer returned to our shop on May 12, 2014.  She stated that the vehicle was shaking while driving on the freeway.  We completed the diagnostics on the GEO and found the  following issues:  Radiator is corroded and needs replaced, both side rear wheel bearings are noisey and causing shaking at higher speeds, rear stabilizer link is rusted and broken and exhaust is leaking from mid pipe rear muffler.  We also escorted the customer back to our service garage to show her the issues we found on her vehicle.  We also advised customer to check oil and fluids weekly.  A day or two later **** **** contacted us and asked about balancing her tires.  We stated that the cost on that would be $40.00 and it would not fix the issues that we diagnosed, it might help the problem for a short period but it would not fix the issues.  We stand by our diagnostic of **** ****** vehicle and at this time we will not refund the diagnostic fee that **** **** paid.   We request she provide proof of an error that we made in our diagnostic, from an ASE professional, reputable, creditable auto repair shop.

 

Consumer Response: The work that one call stated I needed was wrong once the tires where balanced the shimmy was gone. I am not going to take my car to have it looked at and spend more money I am on a fixed income and can not spend monies I do not have. I can sent you a copy of receipt from the tire shop that balanced the tires but it will have to be by mail as I can not send it by scanning it. I was never told about any charge, nor did I ask they to preform any checks. I was bringing the car in to have tie rods replaced for a cost of $80.00 which was the quote. This was not done but again I was told I needed $1000. in other repairs. I was never told of the charge to look at it nor was I told anything else. I feel that I was ripped off and just want my money back. I know I am not the only complaint this company has received, If you want the copies I will mail them ASAP, the quote 30 yrs  does not impress not with what I am going through. I was in the army for 26 years none of this matters the fact I was not informed prior is the issue, nor where there any signs to this anywhere . The fact they would not balance the tires after I called and requested it and asked if that would be taken off the monies they already had and was told yes. When I called to obtain the service Iwas told it was to late in the day (1:00) maybe tomorrow, shows they had no intent to honor their word.



Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: I contacted ********* on N High St and spoke to *** They would charge me 14.99 to check out my car they also stated they would only do the work I asked for and not charge me for anything else. Number 614-*********. I am not taking my car in to have it checked One call knows I am on a fixed income. I took the car in to have the tie rods fixed nothing more " Never was I informed of any other charges" that is all I wanted done but they (One Call) called and told me they did not need replaced and gave me a list of things I did not ask to be checked plus they never had the hood opened to check. I was never told about checking anything and now I see they have added the muffler which I had done a year ago at **** which has no issues, i took the car in for one thing only and got charged for an inspection I did not want or request. I signed the paperwork only because they has my car on a lift and held it hostage. The paperwork I had to sign states the monies I gave them would go toward car repair it does not say only the repairs listed. So when I asked about the tire balance they stated they would come over anytime however when I called I was told they where closing it was 1/1:30 they close at 6pm. My story has not changed however theirs has . All I want is my money back they did not do the repair nor do they ask my permission to check anything else.


































Business Response:

How much longer is this issue going to stay open.  Customer signed an agreement for the diagnostic and has been unwilling to provide any proof of our error.  In our last correspondence we advised her we would pay for her diagnostic fee if she took it to a ASE certified auto repair shop or a Dealer Service Center and they find our diagnostic is wrong and if they find it wrong we will also refund her what we charged her.     Our time is not free, is yours? Was her's when she was in the work force? We took time to look at her car, she was fully aware of the fee.  She signed a contract and paid.  

 


Business Response:

**** ****** **** stopped by our shop and stated that she needs to have the tire rods replaced in her 1997 GEO Metro.   We explained to **** **** that we would need to do a diagnostic on her vehicle to determine what the issues were on her vehicle.   At that time, we also asked if she had a copy of any previous estimates or diagnostic from other shops and she stated she didn’t have any.  We explained that there is a $60.00 diagnostic fee that we charge and if she decided for us, One Call Auto Mechanic, to complete the repairs we would deduct the diagnostic fee from the cost of the repairs.  At no time did we hold **** ****** vehicle as she claims.  No one in anyway forced her to sign the agreement, she was at our service counter checking out, signing the documentation and paid, while one of our technicians took her vehicle down from the lifts and drove the vehicle to a parking spot. At the time our shop schedule was full and advised the customer to bring her car back when she had time and our schedule was open.  As a courtesy we checked all the fluids on the vehicle.  Customer stated that she was on a budget and had to watch the cost of what she was going to have completed.   Customer returned to our shop on May 12, 2014.  She stated that the vehicle was shaking while driving on the freeway.  We completed the diagnostics on the GEO and found the following issues:  Radiator is corroded and needs replaced, both side rear wheel bearings are noisey and causing shaking at higher speeds, rear stabilizer link is rusted and broken and exhaust is leaking from mid pipe rear muffler.  We also escorted the customer back to our service garage to show her the issues we found on her vehicle.   We also advised customer to check oil and fluids weekly.  A day or two later **** **** contacted us and asked about balancing her tires.  We stated that the cost on that would be $40.00 and it would not fix the issues that we diagnosed, it might help the problem for a short period but it would not fix the issues.  We stand by our diagnostic of **** ****** vehicle and at this time we will not refund the diagnostic fee that **** **** paid.   We found no issues with her tire rods, therefore they didn’t not need to be replaced.  We advised her of the issues we found with her vehicle.    At no time during any of our conversations did **** **** get upset about our diagnostic fee.  In **** ****** contact with BBB, she stated that our diagnostic is wrong, we offered to work with her to have her take it to a reputable ASE repair shop such as ***, ********* or a *** ****** ******* **** to have them run diagnostic on her vehicle and if they find our diagnostic incorrect and provide us with documentation showing our error we will pay for the cost of that diagnostic as well as refund her our fee that we charged.  At this time, she has been unable to provide such proof.

 

Consumer Response:

One thing further I have had a single repair by One Call a head light was replaced. I was never asked to sign anything and the price was agreed of 20.00 so why is it when I took my car in to have the tie rods replaced they did an inspection and charged me 64.50 when the agreed price for the tie rods was 80.00? I never asked or agreed on an inspection.

Business Response: **** ****** **** stopped by our shop and stated that she needs to have the tire rods replaced in her 1997 GEO Metro.   We explained to **** **** that we would need to do a diagnostic on her vehicle to determine what the issues were on her vehicle.   At that time, we also asked if she had a copy of any previous estimates or diagnostic from other shops and she stated she didn’t have any.  We explained that there is a $60.00 diagnostic fee that we charge and if she decided for us, One Call Auto Mechanic, to complete the repairs we would deduct the diagnostic fee from the cost of the repairs.  At no time did we hold **** ****** vehicle as she claims.  No one in anyway forced her to sign the agreement, she was at our service counter checking out, signing the documentation, while one of our technicians took her vehicle down from the lifts and drove the vehicle to a parking spot. At the time our shop schedule was full and advised the customer to bring her car back when she had time and our schedule was open.  As a courtesy we checked all the fluids on the vehicle.  Customer stated that she was on a budget and had to watch the cost of what she was going to
have completed.  Customer returned to our shop on May 12, 2014.  She stated that the vehicle was shaking while driving on the freeway.  We completed the diagnostics on the GEO and found the following issues: Radiator is corroded and needs replaced, both side rear wheel bearings are noisey and causing shaking at higher speeds, rear stabilizer link is rusted and broken and exhaust is leaking from mid pipe rear muffler.  We also escorted the customer back to our service garage to show her the issues we found on her vehicle.   We also advised customer to check oil and fluids weekly.  A day or two later **** **** contacted us and asked about balancing her tires.  We stated that the cost on that would be $40.00 and it would not fix the issues that we diagnosed, it might help the problem for a short period but it would not fix the issues.  We stand by our diagnostic of **** ****** vehicle and at this time we will not refund the diagnostic fee that **** **** paid.   We found no issues with her tire rods, therefore they didn’t not need to be replaced.  We advised her of the issues we found with her vehicle.   We didn’t quote her a price on the tire rods as you can see within our invoice we never provided a quote for her tire rods.   I'd like to address the customer's comments regarding her headlight.  The customer did stop by to our shop and as a courtesy, we replaced her headlight for only $20.00 as she stated.  There is no diagnostic needed when changing a headlight therefore there was no diagnostic fee.  The customer brought her vehicle to us on May 12, 2014, complaining of shaking while driving on the freeway.  We advised her of the diagnostic fee as previously explained in several of our correspondence as well as it is clearly stated on the invoice and we have signage on our service counter advising all customers of the fee. In **** ****** contact with BBB, she stated that our diagnostic is wrong as well as file a complaint with the Ohio Attorney General’s Office stating that our diagnostic is wrong,  at no time in her orginial complaint did she state that we didn’t replace the tire rods as she requested she stated with  both the BBB and OAG office that we were wrong in our diagnostic,   we offered to work with her to have her take it to a reputable ASE repair shop such as NTB, Firestone or a Car Dealer Service Shop
to have them run diagnostic on her vehicle and if they find our diagnostic incorrect and provide us with documentation showing our error we will pay for the cost of that diagnostic as well as refund her our fee that we charged.  At this time, she has been unable to provide such proof.  This is an attempt by the customer to get something for free and to do so she is attacking our reputation and our business. 

10/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Owner (****) stated vehcile would be fixed. I belived it was a fuel pump. **** stated it would cost me extra due to having a factory instaled tow hitch (this is false). **** told me that it would be $750.00 to fix. I questioned this and his tow hitch statments. **** attempted to tell me that I was not intemidating him due to him having a large shop and I could be paying more. After **** instaled a fuel pump, **** dropped price to $620.00 after observing I was upset that the vehicle was still not fixed and he replaced a crank shaft sensor without asking. **** knew I was from Kansas and stranded out of town. It was apparent I was getting the "out of town" guy price and treatment. I contacted 5 other shops around the area that had an average price of 500.00 for the repair. Took my Jeep to a second mechanic who was refered to me by the hotel that I was staying at. My vehicle barely made it to the new garage after suposedly getting fixed by **** and paying over 600.00 dollars. Prior to arriving at the new shop I collected the old parts. **** stated he wanted me to leave the vehicle. Not going to happen, why pay more money for a vehicle that isn't getting fixed. **** also told me I could not write anything negative without calling him first on BBB or similar websites. I arrived at the new shop and the vehicle was fixed. **** put in a fuel pump that was producing 12 lbs of pressure when my Jeep requires 50 lbs of pressure. I am very concerned as to the type of buisness **** is running. I asked what his hourly rate was or how much he charged per flag hour. **** said he did not use those prices but instead was so fast he just looks and makes price. All of the above statments are true and correct. I only hope he changes his buisness practices so people that do not know any better are not taken advantage of. I do belive their might have been a cultural diffrence or language barrier between **** and I with him being from out of county and I being from the USA. However the fact is **** used bad buisness and attempted to take advantage of me more than he already did. For refrence the mechanic shop I took my Jeep to charged me $598.00 which included more work and more time. Please contact me for further supporting documents and statments. I have disputed the charge with my credit card company.

Desired Settlement: Want refund for services that were supposed to be performed but were not.

Business Response: August 12, 2013, Mr. ***** ******* had his 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee towed to my shop, One Call Auto Mechanic.  The vehicle was not running.  We explained to Mr. ******* that the first step in diagnosing his problems with the vehicle would be to replace the fuel pump modular assembly, customer agreed.  We also advised Mr. ******* that the tow hitch on his vehicle was very rusty and since it has to be removed in order to get to the fuel tank to replace the fuel pump, we explained that it may be damaged due to the rusty bolts and it may end up costing more money if that gets damaged.  As it turned out we successfully removed the tow hitch and were able to replace the fuel pump without damage. After we replaced the fuel pump and got the vehicle running.  There was still issues with the vehicle it was running poorly and backfiring.  So as a courtesy to the customer, we replaced FREE OF CHARGE, the crank position sensor.   We found that even with the replacement of the fuel pump and crank position sensor, vehicle was still experiencing issues.   At this point, we felt that the vehicle needed further diagnosing.   We advised Mr. ******* to please leave the vehicle and we would attempt to find why the vehicle was not performing as well as it should be.   Customer was being encouraged by his friend to leave and take it to another shop that he knew of. We encouraged customer to please leave the vehicle with us but he refused.  He asked for the old parts and we provided them.  This was the last contact we had with Mr. *******. After reading his complaint customer stated that there was a problem with the new fuel pump that we installed.  As most customers and companies know, all new parts come with a warranty in case the part is defective.  If the customer had left his vehicle as requested we would have run further tests and may have discovered that the fuel pump was defective and could have contacted the supplier and got a replacement.  There is no way for anyone to know if a part comes defective from the manufacturer until its installed and other things are ruled out that might be causing the issues with the vehicle.   However, since the customer left and did not contact us again we were never aware of an issue with the new fuel pump.  Our invoice clearly states if any future repairs after vehicle release date are made to vehicle from any company or individual other than “One Call Auto Mechanic”, we will not be responsible for any previous repairs or damage to your vehicle.  In addition, warranty and/or service agreement will be void.  I have supplied a copy of Mr. *******’s invoice and it again clearly states this policy at the bottom of the invoice.  Since the customer failed to use the warranty extended to him for the services rendered by One Call Auto Mechanic, we feel we are not responsible for the expenses he incurred due to his lack of use of our warranty and in taking his vehicle to another mechanic/company, he voided our warranty.

Consumer Response: ****'s rebuttle statment didn't resolve anything or even attempt to. First **** didn't write that response, secondly it was fully of inaccurate information. ****'s is operating his buisness by seeing who he can take advantage of. How is it that he can tell a customer i.e. me, that he is so fast he doesn't have hourly rates or flag hours like most all other professional mechanical shops do. **** changed his price by a diffrence of $150.00 in a 10 minute time period due to me asking more questions about their prices.   In the statement **** provided he wrote the cost would possibly be higher if the hitch was damaged; **** goes on to write that he was able to remove the hitch without issue and didn't charge any more. When he spoke to me in person that day, what he said was "it'll cost more due to having the tow hitch." **** wrote in bold letters that he got the vehicle running. This is only partially correct. The vehicle would not run and took numerous attempts to start. Once it started and on the way to the other mechanic the vehicle broke down and stopped running in traffic three diffrent times.   Again in bold letters **** wrote he replaced the crank position sensor free of charge. That is because I told him I would not pay for it due to not being consulted or spoken to prior to the replacement of the part. **** then told me I was not allowed to contact the AG of OH or BBB with any negative information about his buisness. **** said that I was allowed to write positive comments about the buisness, however any negative information could be subject to slander.   Refrence ****'s comments about his warranty; that the warranty would be voided if I went to another mechanic. Why would I leave my vehicle at his buisness after being treated the way that I was and the lack of service that was provided. Furthermore, I needed to get home to Kansas and ended up spending an extra night in OH and had to pay an additional $350 dollars for a rental car to return home. I am asking for partial or full payment for the extra expenses I incurred or no payment for his charges. The way that I was treated was horrific. The totality of circumstances is that I payed for a service. That service was not provided. My vehicle was not properly serviced. I was lied to and given false information. Due to the fact that I refused to be treated that way and knowing better I left his buisness to cease that type of treatment. I used to work in the auto industry before I became a law enforcement officer. I do all of my own work on my vehicle. If I can not do some work then I take it to a professional. **** is not a professional. How can a buisness change their prices, lie about charging extra for a hitch, state that I can't contact the OH AG or BBB and replace parts without my consent after specifically telling him not to replace any extra items without contacting me. I am assuming that **** will continue to defend his deplorable actions and we will need a mediator. In addition upon request I will produce supporting documentation.

6/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had an estimate for work on my car from another business for the lower intake gasket replacement. I called One Call Auto Mechanic because they have an A+ rating and it's good to get more than one estimate. Because of the "service engine soon" light being on, I first took it in to an auto parts store. They ran a quick diagnostic check and told me it was a faulty coolant fan relay that was causing the light to be on. I then took my car immediately over to One Call Auto because I had called them earlier and inquired how much it would cost for a lower intake manifold gasket to be replaced. I already knew approximately because I had an estimate from the other business. **** told me on the phone I'd have to bring it in so he could look at it. He charged me $53.38 to look at it and told me the very same thing that I told him because I had backup regarding the coolant fan relay and the intake gasket. He said he would apply the $53.38 to my bill if I had the work done by him. This was late in the day of May 17. I told him I'd be in the first thing Monday morning May 20, 2013. When I showed up at 8am, as I stated I would, he commenced to tell me he had too many cars to get out and he'd call me when to bring it in. I told him I couldn't keep driving my car with a leaking intake gasket. He said that I had weeks before it needs to be repaired. I couldn't afford to take a chance my engine would be ruined. It was my impression then and now that he didn't want my business. So, I took my car to the original business I had gone to for the work and had them do it before I wound up with a blown engine which is what could've happened if I had waited too much longer. Today is May 29th, 2013, 12 days after I first took my car to One Call and I have yet to hear from them. I feel I have given them sufficient time to get back to me. I paid up front, in good faith, and One Call Auto did not fulfill their agreement which I authorized by signing the estimate and paying their charges. Integrity is definitely an issue here

Desired Settlement: All I want from this business is for them to send me a check for the full amount I paid, $53.38, not just the $50 but the tax as well. Nothing more nothing less. Most repair facilities don't enjoy sending business to a competitor. Evidently not One Call Auto Mechanic.

Business Response: Mr. ****** * *******, came to One Call Auto Mechanic on Friday, May 17, 2013.  He stated that his vehicle, a 1998 Buick Century, was making a gurgling noise and he suspected that it was the coolant system.  We advised him that we charge a diagnostic fee of $50.00, which will be deducted from the total charge if the repairs are completed by One Call Auto Mechanic.  Mr. ******* advised us that he was had taken the vehicle somewhere else and they told him what the problem was, we advised him to show us the diagnostic that the other place had completed and we wouldn’t need to do our diagnostic, he refused to show us and  gave us the okay to do our own diagnostic. We found the following, very low coolant, engine oil was low , coolant reservoir was contaminated from lower intact gasket leak.   Check Engine light was on due to code P1651 which is for coolant fan relay fault, low and high speed fan is not working. The first step would be to replace the relay to determine the fault.   Oil pan and front crank seal are leaking oil.   We provided the customer with an estimate for the issues we discovered, which are noted below.  We have also attached a copy of the invoice as well. LOWER INTACT GASKET which includes thermostat with gasket and coolant temp sensor  $660.00 OIL CHANGE & FILTER  $30.00 We advised the customer that  this would be a big job and we advised him to check back with us to schedule an appointment.  On Monday, May 20, 2013, around 8:00 am  he arrived to see if we had time to do the job.  At that time we had many vehicles ahead of him .  We advised him to call us on Tuesday or Wednesday and he stated that he didn’t want to wait and had concerns about driving, we explained that he has been driving for weeks with this issue but advised the customer if he didn’t want to wait , to take his vehicle somewhere else, especially if he didn’t want to drive his vehicle with the issues we diagnosed.  We never heard back from the customer again. One Call Auto Mechanic gave him an accurate diagnostic.  The customer was unwilling to wait for an opening in our schedule.  We are not responsible if Mr. ******* choose to take his vehicle to another shop.    Since there was no error in our diagnostic we will not be refunding the fee that customer was charged.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

21 Customer Reviews on One Call Auto Mechanic
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart