Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Essential Auto Service

Phone: (614) 237-8809 3557 E Main St, Columbus, OH 43213


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Essential Auto Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Essential Auto Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Essential Auto Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 20, 1995 Business started: 02/01/1994 in OH Business incorporated 08/07/1997 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Arthur W. Harris, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Arthur W. Harris, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Brake Service Engines - Rebuild & Exchange Lubricating Service - Automotive Radiators - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Auto Services Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Electric Service

Alternate Business Names
J & A Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 3557 E Main St

    Columbus, OH 43213 (614) 237-8809

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service
8/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had service done to automobile at said shop and upon pick up discovered loud noise under car . I inquired why and they look under car and discovered the catalytic converter had been stolan while in their care . I asked what they were going to do to resolve the problem , and they responded that they where not responsible for anything stolan on their premises and showed me a sign that indicated that . they indicated that the car parked next to mine in their property had the same thing done . they also stated that this was an on going problem on their business lot and would not be responsible . they failed to inform me that they had an on going problem .

Desired Settlement: replace part that was stolan in their care.

Business Response:

Please be advised that Essential Auto Service wishes all our customers a satisfactory experience with our
service. On his initial arrival we gave our customer an estimate for the installation of an alternator. The
customer informed us he was not at that time able to buy a replacement alternator. He left his car on
our lot with no notification about his expected return. Three weeks after abandoning his car on our lot,
the customer returned and requested we install a new alternator. Prior to installing a new alternator,
we performed an electrical charging system check. The system check revealed that his problem was not
in the alternator and the customer again abandoned the car for another week, with no agreement
allowing further service. As he is not complaining about our service, we must take the stance that the
customer was informed by our public signage that Essential Auto cannot be held responsible for autos
and their contents left overnight in our parking lot.

It is our contention that during a period of almost thirty days, the customer abandoned his automobile
on our lot. There did not exist at that time any contract which would have made us responsible for the
automobile. We did not charge the customer a space rental fee, which is normally ten ($10) per day.
Even in cases where we do rent our parking lot spaces, we still provide no assurances of security for
customers cars. In the customers case he should be paying Essential Auto approximately $300 for the
use of our parking lot without permission.

We therefore must decline any further action on our part with regards the customers property.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Essential Auto Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)