Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Brooks & Wade Auto Works

Phone: (614) 754-7383 1956 E Walnut St, Columbus, OH 43205


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brooks & Wade Auto Works meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Brooks & Wade Auto Works include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Brooks & Wade Auto Works
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 23, 2012 Business started: 04/01/2011 in OH Business incorporated 03/14/2011 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Board of Motor Vehicle Repair
77 S High St Fl 16, Columbus OH 43215
http://collisionboard.ohio.gov/
Phone Number: (614) 995-0714
mike.greene@exchange.state.oh.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brooks Steward, Owner Mr. Wade Steward, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brooks Steward, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Brake Service Radiators - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Auto Services - Oil & Lube Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
Brooks and Wade, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Brooks & Wade Auto Works has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1956 E Walnut St

    Columbus, OH 43205 (614) 754-7383

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 23, 2014, I took my car to Brooks and Wade automotive repair shop, Columbus, Ohio. I took my car to them, because the heat was not working. I dropped my car off, and I waited for them to call me to discuss what was going on. I never received any reply of any sort from them. So December 26, 2014 I called them, and they did not answer, and there was know voice mail to leave a message. I kept calling, finally on December 29, 6 days later, **** finally called me. He informed me that the price to repair the car would be $125, and that would be for replacement of the thermostat, and to look the car over. Again they never called me to say indicate if the car was ready for pickup or what was going on with my car. I called back on December 31, 2014 to check if the car was ready for pickup and still no answer. Ten minutes later ****** called me and said my car would be ready for pick up on January 2nd, 2015. ******* said that the price is now $250. I gasped and said that **** told me it would only be $125. ****** went on to justify his price, saying that I needed a water pump and that was the price difference. I told him I was only expecting to pay $125, and that they have had my car for 8 days. But, I agreed to pay it, because I was without a car, and I trusted them to be honest. If my car needed a water pump and thermostat I was willing to pay for the parts and labor. With that being said I picked my car up on January 2, 2015 and paid them the full amount of $250. The heat was working fine that day. On January 19, 2015 the car was blowing cold again, I tried to get ahold of the mechanics and again no response. Finally on January 23, I got a hold of ****, and I told him my car heat was not working. He was not concerned that the heat in my car had stopped working. I asked if I could bring the car in on Saturday since I was at work, and I needed a car. I told him that he already had my car for 10 days, and I needed my car to get to work, and I had to have others take me to work, and I could not be without a car again. His replay was No, He said that he rarely worked on Saturdays and I would have to bring it on a weekday. I told him that it had been less than 30 days, and I had already paid him $250. He said to bring it back in and he would take a look. I took the car back in on February 2, 2015, the 30 day mark. Brooks and Wade wanted to charge me an additional price to fix the car again. They told me that it needed another water pump. He told me it needed another water pump. I asked how could a new water pump go bad in less than thirty days. So, either they put a refurbished one on or they never replaced the pump in the first place. I asked for a compensation in price, since the car was not repaired. It is not fair or right to charge me again for work that they said they did. I have no heat in my car. At this point I am asking for a refund since service was not performed correctly. 1). They had my car for an unreasonable amount of time 2). Either they put a used part on my car, and charged me for a new part 3). They never replaced the water pump in the first place and said they did. At this point I do not want to have anything to do with this Automotive Repair Shop I feel that they are not an honest business. Please help! I have no heat in my car.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund service was not rendered.

Business Response: Brooks and wade did perform work stated. She called and said heat wasnt working and could she bring it in on Saturday and I stated to her that im not open on weekends and i couldn't be available, I told her any day during week I look at it and we set up a day and time. Customer never showed and now Im hearing of this. It was new parts and have at least one year warranty Brooks and wade never tried to charge customer any more money. Customer was rude and tried to control shop from beginning of encounter.

Business Response:

Talked with Brooks and he will be sending Ms Devlin a check for the $250 she is requesting by April 13th to bring closure to this dispute.  He  apologized several time for not getting back to BBB sooner.  

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 1******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


Consumer Response:

Thank you for all your help regarding the matter with Brooks and Wade. I did receive the check.

Again, thanks for your hard work.

 

 

2/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service