BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Bexley Automotive Repair Center?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This automotive repair shop provides services for both domestic and foreign cars, trucks, vans and sport utility vehicles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bexley Automotive Repair Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bexley Automotive Repair Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bexley Automotive Repair Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 03, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1977 in OH Business started locally: 01/01/1977 Business incorporated: 03/29/2000 in OH
Business Management
Mr. Keith Harris, President Ms. Penny P. Harris, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Keith Harris, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Tune-Up Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Radiators - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Auto Services - Oil & Lube Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Diagnostic Service

Hours of Operation
M: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
All Major Credit Cards
Cash 
Personal, Business & Cashiers Check
Debit Card
Alternate Business Names
B.K. Harris Enterprise, Inc.

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to provide accurate auto service. Incomplete service resulted in engine lost. Date of service 3/21/12 Left Knuckle and Oil Change I sent my car to Bexley Automotive to have some work done on the left side of my car. They were able identify exactly what was going with the left side of my car and they was able to fix the problem. During the process of fixing my car I asked them to change the oil. They agreed to change the oil and added the service to my final bill. We paid for the service and I picked my car the same day with the notion that everything was complete. Nearly two months later my car began to make noise during my lunch hour. I had my car towed ***** *******/Brake & Service (**** ****** Rd Columbus,OH 43220) to figure out where the noise was coming from. I left my car with ***** to look into the issue and a few hours later a technician (*******) told me I didn't have any oil in the engine. I told him that's impossible because I had my oil change almost two months ago. I asked him did it leak out and he said he notice any leaks. He asked if I had my oil changed recently at *******? I told him my oil was change the last time I had my car worked on from Bexley Automotive. He explained the oil was never changed because the blue seal ******* placed around the cap was never broken. I confirmed with ******* that they will place a blue seal to signal a complete job. ***** did a complete oil change adding oil to my car. They looked at my after their service I was able to drive my car home. The next day my car stopped on the way to work. I had my car towed back to ***** where they told me the motor in my engine is blown out due to lack of oil. I called Bexley the next to explain to them what happened to my car. When I told them what happen they refused to believe that the problem started from their shop. They were unable to give me explanation of why there was no oil in the car. I explained the seal was never broken from the last time I had my oil changed from *******. I faxed paper work to Bexley Automotive with a statement from ***** and they refused to speak to "oil change guy, because they don't know what they're are doing". I provide them with enough paper work to at least give me an explanation of what could have happen. After a heated conversation he told my wife and I get a lawyer and hung up the phone. My car was sent to ***** *******/Brake & service May 17,2012.

Desired Settlement: At first I just wanted an explanation on the service and what could have happen with the oil change. They refused to give me or my wife an explanation and refused to speak to the mechanics at ***** *******/Brake & Service. I want my problem resolved by having my car fix. It's very unfortunate that I now have to make car payments.

Business Response: Repair was performed on ******* and ***** ******s 1999 Mitsubishi Galant on March 21, 2012. Included was an oil change special, consisting of oil filter and lube. Each technician has a checklist to perform on each and every car. It is initialed and then rechecked by *** and or myself (*** is our Service Advisor). Is it possible we didn't change the oil? Sure it is possible, we are human beings, but very unlikely. We also check the oil and antifreeze in every vehicle that we work on! The oil and antifreeze are topped off at no charge to the customer on every vehicle! The technician sheet is rechecked again by *** or myself. I would say it is Almost impossible not to change the oil and also not to check the oil level. Mr. ******* called me on May 21, 2012 to tell me he had his car at ****** ******* and Brake at 1265 ****** ****. Mr. ******* stated that the blue dye seal from ******* was not broken. It is very hard sometimes to tell if the dye seal is broken on the drain plug especially if it is tightened back to the same location. I asked Mr. ******* if he had saved the oil filter to see if it was our **** FILTER. He said he had not. I also asked Mr. ******* if his oil light had been coming on ( The oil light indicates the oil is low, RED MEANS DANGER)! Mr. ******* said the red oil change light had been on for days. I explained to Mr. ******* that it was not an oil change light! It meant stop the care immediately and check the oil. My Office Manager (****) witnessed our conversation and I repeated it again to verify I was hearing him right. His wife then called me stating that she wanted a new engine, no ifs ands or butts. She was very Hostile and upset. She threatened attorneys, ******* ****, Better Business Bureau, ****, *******, etc. I was very uncomfortable already when we did not even get the chance to see the car. I called the manager at ****** at 1265 ****** **** on May 21, 2012 at 5:55 pm. He said it seemed possible that the seal had not been broken on the drain plug. I asked him if he had saved the oil filer that he removed (Ours would have been a **** FILTER). He said he did not know the brand and that the filter had been thrown away. I also felt that to be odd. I would think the filter would have been saved if there was any doubt that the oil had been changed or not. The next question I had was, he said after the oil was changed it was fine and the next day it was towed backed with a blown engine. I am not trying to put the blame on ****** - I am just a little bit confused. I did not want to upset Mr. or Mrs. *******-but I knew when Mrs. ******* was threatening with lawyers and slanders online at such an early stage we may have problems.
I do feel that the driver of the vehicle must have some responsibility before he or she operates a motor vehicle. When the red oil light comes on that means STOP THE VEHICLE IMMEDIATELY AND CHECK THE OIL! Mr. ******* drove the vehicle (according to him) for days with the red oil light on assuming it was an oil change light. I was stunned! Driving on old oil for two months will not blow an engine. I have customers over due on oil changes for a year or longer - 10,000 miles over due or longer. In 30 years at this location I have never seen someone blow an engine because it was 2 months overdue on an oil change! I did tell Mrs. ******* we would be happy to tow her car and check it out. I also explained that I do not install engines. I asked what it would take to make her happy. She stated: A new engine or she would contact her lawyer. She was very unreasonable and threatening. I said it sounded like we could not make her happy and maybe she should contact her lawyer and she said ''Game on'' and hung up. Please advise me what to do from here. We take pride in customer satisfaction. We have received *****'s Super Service Award since the first year it existed (since 1999) a total of thirteen years. We are also on *****'s honor roll each and every month. I do not think we have even had one unhappy customer during that time. I am sure we have but I do not remember it. We are also in excellent standing with the Better Business Bureau and we take pride in that. I think that should speak for itself and I would welcome any comments from other *****'s List subscribers or Better Business Bureau members or Bexley Automotive customers! Thank you,


Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because it is still very difficult to understand how my vehicle would be empty of oil within a two month time frame. Given that there were no leaks nor was the car burning oil I have to ask what happened to the oil that we paid for on March 21st? If the oil change was completed there would have still been oil in the car; hence the mechanic at ***** would not have determined that there was no oil on the stick (please see the attached document) and the engine would not have blown. Additionally, the mechanic would not have even questioned if the oil change was conducted a ******* IF the seal had been broken. I applaud Mr.****** for his years of service; however his company simply made a mistake with my vehicle. Again, my wife nor I wish to hurt his business we just desire for Mr. *****s to be a man of integrity and do the right thing by paying for the blue book value for the original (pre-engine damage) condition of the vehicle, our rental car cost (1 week) and the cost of the oil change that was not completed on March 21st.  Please see the attached documents for additional information.































BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

1