BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
21 Counties in Central Ohio
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of shifflet enterprises inc, Dba shifflet auto care ?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

shifflet enterprises inc, Dba shifflet auto care

Phone: (614) 488-9951 Fax: (614) 272-8207 3374 Sullivant Ave, Columbus, OH 43204 http://www.shiffletautocare.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description


Since 1972, Shifflet Auto Care Center has provided motorists in the Columbus area with comprehensive auto repair services that include Car Care, General Services, Oil changes, Undercar Services, Brakes  Heating and Cooling, Electrical, Transmission,  Engine or Transmission Replacement , Electronic , Starters and Alternator Internal Engine, Alignment, Tires, Diagnostic Services,Towing through an outside vendor and Miscellaneous Services.We have years of experience working on both domestic and import gas or diesel light truck and Suv vehicles of all makes and models. Our goal is to offer fast friendly services at affordable prices to get you back on the road in a timely manner, most repairs done the same day.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that shifflet enterprises inc, Dba shifflet auto care meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for shifflet enterprises inc, Dba shifflet auto care include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on shifflet enterprises inc, Dba shifflet auto care
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 26, 2007 Business started: 12/01/2003 in OH Business started locally: 12/01/2003 Business incorporated: 01/01/2003 in OH
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael C Shifflet Sr., President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael C Shifflet Sr., President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service - Diesel Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Power Steering Brake Service Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Repair - Maintenance Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service

Products & Services

shifflet enterprises inc, Dba shifflet auto care sells the following brand(s): Carquest auto parts , Dealer parts , Federated auto parts , Napa auto parts , Recondition parts , Salvage

shifflet enterprises inc, Dba shifflet auto care offers the following product(s): BMW, Chevrolet, Dodge, Ford, Honda, Hyundai, Kia, Land Rover, Nissian, Toyota, Volks wagon

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Visa, MasterCard & Discover
Cash
Personal, Business & Cashiers Check
Debit Card
Money Order
We also offer 6 to 12 month financing thru GE care care credit 
Alternate Business Names
Shifflet Auto Care Shifflet Enterprises, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 3374 Sullivant Ave

    Columbus, OH 43204 (614) 488-9951

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Shifflet Auto Care to have the A/C on my 2004 Hyundai Santa Fe fixed after seeing their 5 star rating on Repairpal.com In May 2013 I had the shop do an evaluation on the A/C and they found that the AC compressor was noisy and had bad plates and erratic pressures. They told me that in order to provide to fix the problem they would have to replace the AC compressor, AC Condenser, replace the Expansion block/valve, and then finally do an AC flush. Initially, just to check the system they charged me $170. Then to fix everything they charged me $970 for the parts and $811 for the labor. They also gave me a 6 month/6K mi warranty. I said that this was pretty costly but if this would ensure my A/C would work I would pay it because I didn't have time to shop around and wanted to get it fixed. So after paying a total of $1950, my A/C worked for about 3 months and then stopped working. When I went back there in August 2013 (3 months later) since it was under warranty. After evaluating the car, they said that there was a new problem: the AC line from the compressor to the condenser was leaking and crimped together and would cost an additional $485 to fix. I said that since the A/C was under warranty they should fix it for free, however, they said that only the work they did was under warranty and any new problems are not under warranty. My first question was whether they may have inadvertently caused damage to the AC line during their repair, they denied it. My second question was if this was the problem in the first place as the faulty hose was causing erratic pressures and noises in the compressor. He said he did not think so. I then asked is it routine to replace these very expensive parts first or the hoses/lines. He said typically they don't replace hoses first as it is low yield in fixing typical A/C problems. So I asked him how a new problem with an A/C unit that just had $2000 worth of repairs to it could get damaged, and he could not provide an answer. At this point I got upset and said I do not trust him and feel as if the hose may have been damaged (either intentionally or unintentionally) and they did not want to acknowledge this possibility. He attempted to reassure me that they do work with the highest of integrity and he has never a customer complain of their integrity.

Desired Settlement: My biggest grievances: 1. I was overcharged: $170 for diagnosis of an A/C problem, $2000 to replace parts and a lot of labor, and $485 to fix a line/hose. (FYI: I got the hose fixed at a different shop for $180). 2. They failed to accurately diagnose the problem in the first place or they caused damage to the A/C line and did not acknowledge it as a possibility. 3. They failed to remedy the problem and attempted to overcharge me a second time.

Business Response:

I have looked at all repair bills for *** ********* ****** and the notes that were recorded in our computer system. It is past our warranty time now when this has been brought to my attention.   I ******* ******** to my knowledge have not talked to *** ******. My service advisor ******* would have talked to him and handled any situation that would have arisen. Unless there was a call for me to be involved which after looking at the customers paper work notes and talking to my service advisor ******* is who *** ****** had talked to. he stated that originally when *** ****** came in with his 2004 Hyundai Santa fe with air conditioning problems that it did not work wanted us to find out what was wrong it was explained here this is how we here start our standard practice for all customers that it costs around 170.00 to start with to check your air conditioning system out this includes 1 pound of 134a refrigerant and dye for the system and if the system is empty we will vacuum the system down check for leaks of vacuum if none are found that way( meaning the system holds vacuum of 20 to 30inches of vacuum for 15 to 20 minutes.) Then we will charge the system with 1lb of refrigerant look for large leaks under pressure in the system. We will go ahead with the extra step at no extra charge and top off the total system to complete pressure test for proper operation if empty to see if leaks under high pressure to test the compressor or any other parts in the system that are leaking at this time as well they are operating as designed. We have the equipment to remove the refrigerant back to the one pound level which the customer would be charged for if the customer wants to let it go as the law allows us to Then we can advise of repairs from that point.  If we find repairs that need to be done to the customer’s vehicle we will put the charges towards the repairs that are needed for the check out if you have the repairs done at that time meaning that he would not be charged for the check out or it would be credited back to the repair bill. If you look at the bill he was not charged for the checking out.  Of 170.00 dollars of his vehicle because we did do an air condition repair to his vehicle the day he was in. He was charged for the repairs we did as we found a bad air conditioning compressor the plates and valveing in the compressor were rattling and making noise. Making the system not perform as designed it did spread metal throughout the system when compressor making noise coming apart internally. We replaced the compressor and we had to flush the metal out of the air conditioning system evaporator condenser and the air conditioning lines we did not replace we were able to clean them of debris with a thorough flush We then replaced the filter dryer in the system which is mounted in the air conditioning condenser this had to be removed to do this replacement of the filter flushed out of metal debris and reinstalled. The lines and evaporator were all flushed in place not removed from the vehicle this is standard practice in our industry we then install all proper amounts of pag oils and refrigerant dye as well as vacuum down the system again test for both forms of leaks again and charge the system back to factory charge. this is what *** ****** Hyundai Santa fe had done to repair the air conditioning system which is what he was charged for nothing more nothing less we used top quality parts new not reman compressor due to problems we have had in the reman part process we won’t use reman parts and his work was performed by a  ASE certified master auto technician with almost 30 yrs. experience in the field  his air conditioning system was retested after the repairs no leaks were found at that time we do our very best to make sure of this. These repairs were completed on 05/06/2013.  When *** ****** returned on 07/17/2013 he stated the air conditioning system is blowing cool but not cold need to check it out.  As per our warranty procedures we pulled his vehicle in and retested the system we found the refrigerant 134a low and recharged the system to full capacity to inspect for leaks at no charge to *** ******. we found one of the lines from the compressor to condenser rubber line where it goes to the aluminum line and is a factory crimp fitting leaking with our test equipment nothing we would have taken apart or put back together  we then explained to *** ****** that these repairs are factory parts that did not leak at the time the repair had been done they were leaking now and needed to be replaced these repairs would cost 485.00 (there was a 10% discount on total of billing estimate included to try and help at the time It would have then made our charges around the cost of what *** ****** paid for his repair which I have not seen a bill for.) for everything  which included a new evacuate and charging of the air conditioning system billed in the estimate. if I had been asked we would have did the recharging part of the repair under warranty even though it was another factory aged repair part that failed in the system we did not need to replace at the time the repairs were done originally this is also standard practice in the industry if it did not need replaced we would not replace it! If it needed it we would have replaced it! It has nothing to do with the cost of a cheap part or a more expensive part we do the repair as it is supposed to be done nothing less nothing more.  As for what we did repair on *** ****** Hyundai Santa Fe air condition system we are sorry he had another problem and wish he did not have a problem with his air conditioning system. If he would like I will still offer him something towards a future repair to help him in any way possible a 15% discount on any future repair work done here would help I am sure.  The work we did was all needed and was done correctly to automotive and industry best practices and standards.  If *** ********* ****** would like to stop by or call me I would be glad to help him understand or explain if there is something he still does not understand as well as meet him and personally take care of him with his next repair if he would like if not I am truly sorry about this situation and would only like to make it better I am glad he found a repair shop to take care of his air condition line at a really good deal. I know also that *** ****** *** reviewed us on several websites as bad before he ever talked to me or asked for help with his vehicle from myself I would have liked the chance to help but wasn’t offered  Or called the service advisors initials are on the work order that helped him thank you for your time and consideration.  All copies of bills notes and estimate for ac repair and line will be attached

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I am going to take the car to the ******* dealer and see if there is a manufacturing issue or if these items were as the repair shop is claiming as normal age related breakdowns. Their response also indicates that they followed the standard of care which I will also have confirmed by the ******* dealer. If the manufacturer indicates any problems on their part or on the standard of care as provided by Shifflet I will re-open this issue. 

 

















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/30/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 5, 2012 I visited Shifflet and spoke briefly with the owner/Master Mechanic **** ********. I described the problem with my air conditioning system and made an appointment for the next day (July 7th) for repairs. During our initial conversation *** ******** said a basic re-charge was $150.00 and unexpected repairs averaged approximately $250.00. On Juky 7, 2012 *** ******** took my 2004 Mercury Grand Marrquis into the shop and after a 1/2 hour wait returned with an estimated cost of $539.07 (including my Golden Buckeye Discount). When I told *** ******** that the price was more than I had planned, he charged me $102.32 and made no repairs.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a more detailed explanation of the work to be performed so I can solicit competitive bids from other suppliers.I would like to have the $102.32 applied to the estimate leaving me with a balance due of $436.70 if I decide to go with Shifflet.

Business Response: i sent in paper work last week on thursday vea e mail do not see it here i will send again if do not see tuesday

Business Response:

To whom it may concern
The situation or problem with *** ****** ******* 2004 mercury grand marquis and the
air condition problem he is experiencing and the miscommunication some were that must
have happened. I ******* ******** have not talked to. To the best of my knowledge
*** ****** ******. on Thursday the 5th of July 2012 I was at a funeral for my wife's aunt she
had passcd away in the previous week due to storms and power outages as for Friday the
6th of July 2012 I was in my back office all day doing paper work and we are not open on
Saturdays at all which would have been the 7th of July.
I do believe that *** ****** had been talking with my service advisor ******* ********
on Thursday to make his appointment and Friday to check him in for his appointment for
this is his job being at the front counter taking care of customers answering the phones
which he does his job quiet well he is a very friendly people person and I am sure he
introduced himself as to who he is when *** ****** came in.
When I asked ******* about this situation he told me that *** ****** had stopped buy on
'I'hursday the 5th and had asked about getting his air conditioning looked at ******* asked
him a couple questions and told him that it would cost around 150.00 dollars to get his air
conditioning looked at and might go as much as a complete charge of 250.00 if the
system was completely empty *** ****** said that was a lot of money and *******
agreed with him and let him know that this also included 1 Ib. of refrigerant and some uv
dye for the system which we put in the system if we need it if we do not need the
refrigerant we will not use it or charge you for it *** ****** said ok und set his
appointment for Friday the 6th of July the next day.
When *** ****** came in the next day of Friday the 6th 2012 he was again gone over
with these charges and costs and how they would be and he told *** ****** that we
would get his vehicle checked out and get him the answer to repair his car. He agreed and
gave ******* his keys so we could get started on his vehicle while he waited.
The standard practice here at Shifflet auto care for checking anything out there is a
charge and for checking air condition it is 150.00 to start with and most of the time if
repairs which are found are done right then we will go ahead and credit that check out
charge towards the a/c repairs that were found or leaks that need repaired.

The procedure we due for checking out air condition system out is as follows it includes
electrical checking the system for proper operation of the blower motor the switch panel
the air condition compressor cycling properly then hooking up our refrigerant gages to
the system for testing purposes so we can tell if the system is low on charge has a full
charge or needs charged and how the system is operating is the flow of refrigerant
making it thru the lines and compressor is it working as designed. Then we will add 1lb
of refrigerant to the system and dye if there is a leak or none if the system is full to find
the problem the system will be at full charge so we can find it to the best of our ability
experience and equipment properly the first time if at all possible. Which on average this
takes about an hour of time to complete these checks if all goes smoothly as supposed to.
*** ******s vehicle took about 1 hr and 15 min time due to the restriction we found in
his vehicles a/c system that was in the area of the orifice tube we recommended to start
with replacement of the orifice tube and accumulator filter dryer and complete charge of
ac system with new virgin refrigerant due to moisture in the system but still atter we
open the system we may find that we have more than moister blocking the orifice tube
we won't know this until we check the tube for metal shavings we do believe that it is
only moisture in the system but will need to visually check to be absolute. After running
these tests on his vehicle and the estimate was presented to *** ****** and *******
explained what it was going to take to repair his vehicle at the cost of 539.07 with his
golden buckeye discount.
he said that this was too much right now and he was going to look around and get some
other estimates he declined fhrther repairs and ******* noted what repairs needed to be
done in our computer system which prints it out on the work order and gives his estimate
on the work order a copy is included with his signature on it also ******* further told him
that his system was completely full and we did not have to add any more refrigerant to
the system or dye that he was not going to be charged for this so the bill would be 102.32
total tax included for checking out your car *** ****** signed the bill and paid for it.
Then said he would call to let us know what he had decided to do whcn he was ready he
would call and set up an appointment for repairs which was fine with us ******* stated.
While I m looking at this work order the only thing I noticed was that ******* did not
give *** ****** his golden buckeye discount on this check out charge which would be
8.44 pretax dollars and cents *** ****** did not ask if there was anything else we could
do or could these charges be taken off of my repair in the future if I came back and got
these repairs done which in most cases if asked we would. He did not call me Michael
Shifflet owner master auto technician which if he did I was in the shop on Friday and
would have been happy to help if possible. I would have looked in to the situation like I
have been now. I guess I do not understand why he jumped straight to the BBB instead of
asking to talk to me first I will apply the amount of 83.77 to his future bill and will also
give him the discount he was supposed to get on his check out the first time he was in to
see us of 8.44 if he wishes for us to continue on these repairs.


His total amount that will be credit to his future a/c repairs of 92.21 if he would like to
have these repairs done. For these recommended repairs the cost estimate will be 446.86
total due after repairs are completed unless we find metal shavings blocking the orifice
tube then the hole estimate will have to change but when the system is open we would
continue to offer the money spent goes towards the leak repaired or repair of the system
which is standard practice here at Shifflet auto care.




Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:



Regards,

****** ******


Note: The text of your complaint may be publicly posted on the BBB web site (BBB reserves the right to not post in accordance with BBB policy). Please do not include any personally identifiable information in describing the nature of your complaint. By submitting your complaint, you are representing that it is a truthful account of your experience with the business. BBB may edit your complaint to protect privacy rights and to remove inappropriate language.


While reading the response from Shiplet, I was really encourage until the owner added the following proviso "...


unless we find metal shavings blocking the orifice tube then the hole estimate will have to change but when the system is open we would continue to offer the money spent goes towards the leak repaired or repair of the system which is standard practice here at Shifflet auto care.

All that means to me is that if they can't get me one way, well, they will get me another way. I paid $102.00 for an estimate and had zero work done. Now Shifflet is trying to weasel out of their own estimate. They should have check for shaving when they diagnosed the car. These are very poor business practices and an example how the average working man doesn't stand a chance. Shifflet should be required to stand by their estimate they charged me $102.00 for. I am very disappointed and I am going to tell my friends exactly what happened to me.






















Business Response:

here at shifflet autocare we are here to help i said that i would stand by my estimate and i will give the amounts stated! but this is a mechanical system which unless we take the system apart which is not done as i stated in my letter as part of the check out.  we can not see in side of the system and most likley your system will be just fine as we have estimated but what we all need to understand is that it is a mechanical system.

you have to start some were and you have to trust someone if you dont trust us well i suggest you find someone you do i would be happy to do what i said i would do. i would be happy to be the repair shop you decide to trust. beyond that i have no exray vision , crystal ball or magic wand the only thing i can do is be upfront with you which we do our very best to do. i did not buy your car or build your car we are just trying to repair your car to the best that it can be done for you at as reasonable rate. it seems to me you have a trust issue and for you being a first time customer to our repair center you sure did not give us much of a chace to take care of you!

i am sorry you seem to feel that way i hope you let the people know that you tell about us that you did not give us much of a chance either i would be happy to meet with you and to repair your vehicle as we stated we would but i am not or due not feel we have purchased your vehicle or do not wish to either it is your vehicle and you are free to repair it any were you wish.

sincerly

******* ******** **********  

************                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     

shifflet autocare

3374 sullivant ave

columbus ohio 43204

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:



Regards,

****** ******


Note: The text of your complaint may be publicly posted on the BBB web site (BBB reserves the right to not post in accordance with BBB policy). Please do not include any personally identifiable information in describing the nature of your complaint. By submitting your complaint, you are representing that it is a truthful account of your experience with the business. BBB may edit your complaint to protect privacy rights and to remove inappropriate language.



This is my final comment on this matter. Yes, I do have trust issues, so do a lot of people who struggle to make it day to day and who are being forced to deal with auto mechanics. Thus, the creation of the Better Business Bureau.

 

If you were a new startup company, perhaps your position would have merit. But I hold a veteran company like Shifflet to a higher standard. I really expect you to know your business and for your billed estimates not to be open-ended. I expect you to have experience and know what you're doing.  

 

 
























BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.