Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Law Offices of Robert A. Schuerger, Co., LPA meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Law Offices of Robert A. Schuerger, Co., LPA include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 10

Additional Complaint Information

BBB can report and pursue general customer service and billing disputes for legal services not involving underlying competency issues. This includes an attorney, lawyer or law firm acting as a collection agent or a debt collector. It has long been our BBB policy to refer inquiries and complaints about the competency of legal services providers to the Bar Association or the Court. If you would like a a background report on an attorney, lawyer or law firm, you may contact the Bar Association in the community or state in where he or she is located. For attorneys located in Columbus, OH, you may call the Columbus Bar Association at 614-221-4112 or www.cbalaw.org. If the attorney is located in Ohio, you may wish to check with the Ohio State Bar Association at 614-487-2050 or www.ohiobar.org. Or the Attorney Registration Desk of the Supreme Court of Ohio at (614) 387-9320 or www.sconet.state.oh.us. As for complaints concerning the competency of legal services, you may contact either the Disciplinary Council of the Ohio Supreme Court at (614) 461-0256 or: Clients' Security Fund Supreme Court of Ohio 65 South Front Street, 5th Floor Columbus, Ohio 43215-3431 Phone: 614.387.9390 or 800.231.1680 Fax: 614.387.9399 E-mail: csfo@sc.ohio.gov

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Law Offices of Robert A. Schuerger, Co., LPA
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 09, 2012 Business started: 01/09/2009 in OH Business started locally: 10/01/2010 Business incorporated 01/09/2009 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Supreme Court of Ohio
65 S Front St, Columbus OH 43215
http://www.sconet.state.oh.us
Phone Number: (614) 387-9000

Type of Entity

S-Corp

Business Management
Mr. Robert A. Schuerger, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert A. Schuerger, Owner
Business Category

Attorneys & Lawyers - Collections Law Collection Agencies Attorneys & Lawyers

Industry Tips
Attorneys Lawyers Legal Services Complaints Credit - BBB General Statement For All Debt, Credit TOBs

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Law Offices of Robert A. Schuerger, Co., LPA has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 81 S 5th St Ste 400

    Columbus, OH 43215

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/8/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:

I am writing to address a major issue with how this business collects. Firstly, the nature of my bill is from the University of *****, I enrolled in classes, turned in a "unenroll" form that they claim two years later that they never received (hand delivered by the way. I have tried to fight it with appeals to no avail. I was contacted by this "agency/law firm" approximately two years ago, I set up a payment plan because in the end, my credit is worth more than 5k), every month, they have been able to withdraw 114 from my bank account with no issue. I had a surgery on Jan. 7th, that I was only paid one paycheck in full, and called today to request that the next two payments be placed on hold (feb/march) until I return to work on April 1st, and they can continue taking payments.

Mr. *****, who is extremely irate and rude, stated immediately that he will garnish my wages and the remainder of 3k must be paid immediately. Threatening lawsuits and garnishment when I explained the situation will not work. I can't make this $ fall out of thin air, nor am I going to be released medically until April 1. They did receive 309.00 from my state tax return, in which I have no problem, the sooner I pay this off, they sooner I have them out of my life. Regardless, this needs rectified and if this is all this lawyer does, they need to do it with a bit more class. I'm not someone who doesn't pay my bills, I'm someone who is trying my best to pay a bill that I don't even deserve to have. There was no agreement to state tax going to them, there was a 48 month, 114 payment agreement.

Again, I had surgery and will not be returning to work until April - there is no way to continue this until then.

Desired Settlement: I want them to honor our original agreement, but allow the next two months (which will not extend our agreement since they already have received 309 from my state taxes - I'm still ahead of the game) and resume payment in April as requested per my phone call.

Business Response: Upon review, we find that the representative stated possible consequences if the original payment arrangement was broken. Given the circumstances of the consumer, our office is willing to put a hold on payments until work resumes in April. At that time, the original payments shall resume.

8/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a voicemail from this company. ****** said she was a special counsel to the Attorney General. I don't know if that is true or legal to state in a voicemail. I do not know what this call is regarding. I have saved the voicemail from today.

Desired Settlement: Do not contact me or anyone who might know me in any way using any form of communication. Provide a detailed account of the nature of your call and any documentation only through the BBB website

Business Response: *** ****** has a matter with one of our clients that requires her response. Phone and postal communications have occurred. *** ****** has not responded pursuant to the guidelines of her contract. She may contact me directly at ###-###-####. thank you- ***** ******** **** *************

Consumer Response: ****** called me again from this office on 3/5/15 at 4:46 pm. I have previously requested in my last complaint not to contact me unless through the BBB. I am requesting documentation to validate the nature of the call. I am again requesting them not to contact me or anyone who may know me in any way using any form of communication. Please provide a copy of the documentation in the response.

Regards,
******* ******

Business Response: Any future communications with complainant will be through legal channels

3/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* ** ***** *** ** ********* *** ***** **** ***** ###-###-#### (home phone)   Re: Cease and desist letter   I am getting continued harassing phone calls from this law office. This firm calls twice a month looking for ******* *****. This is a bill collection. He has not been with this number since our divorce in 2001. I always give them a courtesy call telling them they have the wrong number.   Below are recent documented calls that I received and returned. March 5, 2015 Feb. 23, 2015 Feb. 9, 2015 Jan. 28, 2015 Dec. 17, 2014 Nov 13, 2014   ****** ** ********* *** **** ** ***** *** ****** ***** *** ********* **** ***** Phone ###-###-#### Fax ###-###-#### *********   What do I need to do have them quit calling me every other week?   Thank you, ******* ** *****

Desired Settlement: What do I need to do have them quit calling me every other week?

Business Response: The phone number mentioned "###-###-####" has been removed from our records and placed in a "DO NOT CALL" status.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  


However, that being stated, this is the same answer the business has given me every time I have given them a courtesy phone call stating they had the wrong number.  I will hope that they will truly no longer call my number in the future.

Thank you.
******* **  *****

1/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The first communication I received from this business was at my place of employment, there was no attempt by this business to contact me on my personal phone or by mail to my residence. I explained that I can not take personal calls at work and would have to call them back the next morning before work. I called them back the next morning at 8:30am and they proceeded to tell me that they were representing the **** Attorney Generals Office in regard to unpaid **** state taxes. This business demanded that I give them my bank account number and bank routing number so that they can withdraw payments and that if I did not agree to this and call them back with the information by 10:00am that same day they would contact my employer and start a wage garnishment process. I asked that they provide me with proof of the tax debt and time to review and verify that their claim was legitimate and if so I would be more than willing to discuss arrangements with them to settle the debt. They refused to give me time and demanded again for my bank information or they would contact my employer directly and then they hung up on me.

Desired Settlement: I expect them to cease any communications with my employer and only communicate with me directly during non-working hours. I expect them to provide me with documents showing detailed proof of the debt I owe and allow me time to review and research the documentation to determine if this is a legitimate request, and if so then I expect them to work with me to negotiate a fair resolution plan.

Business Response: Investigating complaint. Will formally respond by 01/05/2015.

8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A rep from this company calls the consumer's place of business everyday leaving messages. The consumer is not allowed to have personal business calls while at work.

Desired Settlement: Would like business to not call consumers place of employment as it has caused a problem at work. Please allow consumer to contact business at their convenience or contact by personal phone.

Business Response: We have noted her account and this office will make no further contact with her at work.  All future contact will be made via Home phone number provided.Thank you.

1/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:  The consumer is receiving unsolicited phone calls from ****** ********* regarding debt collection. The consumer has been on the DNC registry for over 31 days. The supplier calls from ###-###-#### to the consumer's home number of ###-###-####.

Desired Settlement:  The consumer would like for the unsolicited phone calls to end.

Business Response:

These were not sales calls. So the DNC registry doesn't come into effect.  However at the consumers request we ARE removing their phone number from our data base.  They should receive no further calls....

 

***** ** ******
******** ** **********

Law Offices of Robert A. Schuerger Co., LPA

11/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my wife and i are being charged fees and interest for medical bills.I told this company we would pay the bill when interest and fees are removed. I will send in another payment after I get bill in writing.

Desired Settlement: all interest and fees be taken off the account.

Business Response:

We have contacted our client (the medical provider) to see if they would be willing to waive any interest or fees.  As soon as they respond we will advise.

Thank you.

***** ******
Law Offices of Robert A. Schuerger

10/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife was sent medical bills from Robert Schuerger Co.,Lpa. I agreed to pay medical fees but not added interest and fees!I request these fees and interest be taken off our account or i will file more complaints!

Desired Settlement: Added fees and interest be taken off our account.

Business Response: Interest and statutory collection fees have been added to the account by the Ohio Attorney General's Office, per State of Ohio Statute.  We have spoken with the States Client, The ********** ** ****** Medical Center, and they are not going to waive the interest or fees. According to the Hospital, they attempted to get financial assistance for the patient, but they didn't return the required paperwork to their office with their down payment on the bill.  They Hospital made several attempts to contact the patient by phone without any return calls from the patient. If I can be of any further assistance in this matter, please don't hesitate to contact me.  

Consumer Response: we were not properly notified of this enormous medical bill. I would suggest the fees and interest be removed or I will file further complaints until this matter is resolved.
































Business Response: Any interest or fee adjustments MUST be made by our client.  This office has no authority to make those adjustments.  As previously stated in our response to your complaint, we DID check with our client and they rejected your request to waive the interest and penalties. I understand your frustration, however any adjustments to the amount due, is totally out of our control.  


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Law Offices of Robert A. Schuerger, Co., LPA
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart