Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Reliant Mechanical, Inc.

Phone: (937) 666-5800 Fax: (937) 644-9383 3271 County Road 154, East Liberty, OH 43319 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.reliantmechanicalinc.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states they offer HVAC repair and installation, Plumbing, Process Piping and Sheet Metal services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Reliant Mechanical, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Reliant Mechanical, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Reliant Mechanical, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 15, 1996 Business started: 12/01/1986 in OH Business started locally: 12/01/1986 Business incorporated 11/24/1986 in OH
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board - The Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board (OCILB) licenses Commercial Contractors for the following trades: Electrical, HVAC, Hydronics, Plumbing, and Refrigeration.
6606 Tussing Rd, PO Box 4009, Reynoldsburg OH 43068
https://elicense4-secure.com.ohio.gov/Lookup/LicenseLookup.aspx
Phone Number: (614) 644-3493
dic.ocilb@com.stae.oh.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chris Harr, President/General Manager Mr. Pat Adams, Residential and Light Commercial Market Development
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Harr, President/General Manager
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters Air Conditioning Repair Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Furnace Sales & Service Plumbers Heating Contractors Plumbers - Commercial Heating & Air Conditioning


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Reliant Mechanical, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3271 County Road 154

    East Liberty, OH 43319

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4-21-2015 a service request was made to have Reliant Mechanical look at why my ******* Air conditioning was not working as expected. When the service technician looked at the system he noted the system was about 18 years old, and some rust on the heating exchange and said it was un-safe to continue running. The sales rep called me while I was at work and said that they found a crack in the heat exchange, and that they have already ordered replacement equipment that will be replaced with a “like for like” system, and they would be out in the morning to install the new system. I was a little in shock, and in the middle of many other issues at work. The Sales rep was very vague about what he was going to replace my system with, so I tried to ask questions, and he said that they are trying to get the best price for me, and that they are willing to work with me to be sure the payment was reasonable. After some painful run around, I managed to get some reference numbers of the system he was going to install, and I did a quick look while I was at work. Because I didn’t have specifications of my old system, in good faith, I agreed for Reliant Mechanical to install the replacement system. I was not told that the “Like for Like” was a downsize of my AC system, or any other comparison of my current system to the new system. On 4-22-2015, the system was installed, and there was no additional information given. As April was a little early to run the AC, I did not run the new system until the first of May, when I had to call to complain that it was not cooling my home like it should. It was running for about 45 min to maintain 70 degrees when the high for the day was only 80 degrees outside. A service technician came out and added 2 lbs of additional charge to my system, and the reason that Reliant gave me, was it was too cold outside to get a proper reading of the Air conditioning system when it was installed, and they needed to calibrate it when the weather was warmer. Again, it took me complaining that it was not working correctly for them to come to look at the system. On June 16th, I sent another e-mail to Reliant Mechanical expressing my concerns that the installed system was only able to reduce the temperature by about 1.75 degrees per hour, while my old system was able to reduce the temperature by about 5 to 6 degrees per hour. This was not just an estimate, I have factual data to back up my findings, based on how my thermostat is able to record a large amount of data. I provided this data to Reliant. I also pulled the model numbers from my old system to compare to the new system. I pointed out to Reliant Mechanical that my system was downsized. At this time, I requested for Reliant to replace the air conditioning system with the same size that I had, instead of the downsized system that they installed. Reliant’s reply was that they installed an AHRI Certification size system, and I should be running my AC 24/7 instead of turning it back when I was not home. With my old system (that was able to cool my home by about 5 to 6 degrees per hour) I was able to set the temperature up when I was gone, and then make it to a comfortable temperature when I was home. I ran some testing based on the suggestion of leaving the set temperature on one setting 24/7. With me running the AC 24/7 instead of being able to set back my temperatures, this caused my electric usage to increase. Reliant wouldn’t accept that my usage was higher amounts of energy, so I provided kwh usage from my electric company showing that I am now using more energy. When I showed them this data, they told me to set my temperature back by 4 degrees when I was gone, and then set it to my desired temperature 1 hour before returning. I replied that this is exactly what they told me to not do in the first place, and that it was still not able to cool my home at the same rate that my old system could. At this point, the cooling season was almost over, because of the run around that Reliant was giving me to make different changes to how to run the new Air Condition. Reliant didn’t understand why my electric consumption would be higher, and suggested we work together with the manufacture of the HVAC. The Sales Rep for Reliant had a suggestion, and I am quoting his e-mail to me; “One idea I have thought about is upsizing your AC Unit to a 2.5 ton – and upgrading to a 14 SEER. However, my concern is that it could be too large – a 2.5 ton system is designed for a home between 1500 to 1800 square foot. We do not want the AC system to “short cycle” and cause humidity to build up. That is why I have involved my ****** rep – to help determine the best solution.” Some e-mails were exchanged to try and set up a meeting with the manufacture, but all three parties could never agree on the time to meet. After 3 months of trying to get together with the manufacture (November, December, and January), I still have not had any success with getting any information from Reliant, or the manufacture. In January, I began to hear what sounded like an energy surge from a motor starting up, coming from my HVAC system. I made a phone call to Reliant, and they told me that they needed to have a yearly inspection, and we could just have that performed at the same time to investigate the sounds. On inspection of the sound, the technician said the noise was coming from the 18 year old humidifier that was attached to the duct work. Also I pointed out that my filter was not being effective because it didn't have a way to secure it down. The installation of the furnace makes it ineffective because the air is going around the filter, rather than through it. I tried to email the Sales rep for Reliant to help me get the same size system that I had before they installed the downsized for me, and to fix the air filter issue. The 18 year old humidifier, that I thought was a part of the HVAC system was not included. I told Reliant that I didn’t want them to service it, because of the history that I have had with them. I also said in my e-mail that if we are unable to get a resolution, I am requesting a full refund, and for Reliant to remove the unsatisfactory system. After 3 weeks of no-response, I tried to reach out to the Sales rep’s manager to help get this resolved. His manager is also the company owner. I sent him the same e-mail that I sent the Sales rep, with an additional plea for help. The owner called me that night around 8:00 PM, saying that Reliant installed the properly sized system and that he is not going to make any changes to my system. I told him, I have given factual data to his sales rep, showing him that the system that was installed was not as efficient. He then said “I want you to forget my number, Reliant’s number, and we do not want to ever do business with you. Do not call us anymore”. I replied that because I am dissatisfied and want you to come and remove the system. He said, “we are not going to do that, good bye” and then he hung up on me. Not only was that unprofessional, but unacceptable for a company to do. I have bent over backwards to work with Reliant, trying to not only give factual data to show that the installed system was unacceptable, but it was not as efficient as my old system. It was also not installed to a “Like for Like” system.

Desired Settlement: I have spent a year trying to work out a replacement from Reliant, but because of the business practices, I want them to remove the installed system, and give me a full refund.

Business Response: On 4-21-15 our technician discovered a bad heat exchanger on the furnace located at Mr. ********'s residence. Safety is our top priority, therefore, when a heat exchanger is bad - we react accordingly in order for our customers to safely operate their HVAC system. A very important detail that is missing is this: ****'s live-in girlfriends mother worked for us at the time - in the office right next to mine. I had dialogue with her and his girlfriend as to react quickly and get a new system installed. We did not force sell this system - we are not high pressure. As a matter of fact - we discounted this system due to the fact that **** had a close acquaintance working for us.

The equipment was ordered in order to get the customer back up and running quickly and safely. I was warned by my co-worker that **** was a "price sensitive" customer. Therefore we ordered a "like for like" on the efficiency of the furnace - 80% for 80% - in order to keep his cost down. "Like for Like" only applied to the Furnace efficiency. When we install an AC Unit - we conduct a "Load Calculation" in order to determine the correct size for the residence. His load calculation result was 1.8. Therefore - we installed a 2 Ton AC System combined with a 2.5 Ton Indoor Coil - in order to achieve 13.5 SEER (Seasonal Energy Efficiency Ratio).
This job was completed as stated. This system is not undersized. As a general rule - One Ton of cooling load conditions 600 to 700 square foot of living space. Therefore a 2 Ton system will effectively condition a house that is in the range if 1200 to 1400 square foot. Furthermore, According to the County Auditor website - the house is 1288 square foot - which is under the 2 Ton Median of 1300 square foot. **** confirmed that the square footage is correct. Industry best practice for newer equipment is to let the AC unit run for normal cycle times to condition and dehumidify the air. His old system was oversized - therefore he was able to shut it off during the day - turn it on when he came home - and it would cool the house relatively quickly. That is called "short cycling" and it is hard on the compressor. The newer equipment is engineered to run for longer cycle times - by design - to achieve proper balance point between temperature and humidity. **** was trying to operate the new system like he did the old. The ****** factory rep confirmed that is improper operation for newer equipment. We explained the sizing procedures to ****. We provided documentation on the SEER Rating from the AHRI (Air Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute), Load Calculation Sheet, and AC Zone Map Sizing Chart - all of which confirmed - we installed the correct size AC. As a matter of fact - the AC we installed for his house is even good down into parts of North Carolina and Tennessee - up to 1301 Square Foot. We did our due diligence and installed the proper equipment at a very fair price. We are not in the business of installing equipment that is not sized properly. We have hundreds of years of combined experience among all of our licensed HVAC technicians and installers. And for someone who does not work in this industry to tell us we did not install the right size AC based on the old system - is not a valid statement. Lastly Mr. ******** called to say his blower motor in the furnace was making a noise. We dispatched a technician accordingly. Our tech discovered the furnace blower motor was fine. However, the Humidifier was starting to go bad. I called **** to give him this news, and told him we would install a new humidifier - and I offered to discount $100 off of the job to install a new humidifier. He then stated that it should have been included with the new HVAC System that we installed almost one year ago. I told him we were trying to keep his cost down - and it would not matter if we installed it then or now - your price will be the same for a new humidifier. He then stated with all of the trouble he has had with the AC - he should get it for free. First of all - the AC is working fine - it is cooling and dehumidifying the home. The Furnace is also working fine and heating the home properly. A Humidifier is not a necessary part of an HVAC system - they are on less than 20% of the systems we install.
It was never brought up in conversation when we spoke many times over the last year - until it started to fail. Then he believed we should have installed one on original work order. I explained that he never got billed for a humidifier. We will not install something that was not paid for. Nor will we remove an HVAC system that is working properly for a full refund. We have decided it is time to part ways with Mr. ********, freeze his account, and focus on the thousands of satisfied customers that completely trust Reliant Mechanical. 

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

I am rejecting this response because:
Reliant has not fulfilled the original quoted work.
I am not denying that my live-in girlfriend’s mother was working for Reliant at the time, but ultimately I am still the customer. 
Thank you Reliant for proving my point.  The furnace was replaced with a “Like for Like”, but the AC system was not.
As the response from Reliant said, the “Like for Like” to reliant only applied to the furnace.  When they called me originally and told me it would be a “Like for Like” replacement of the HVAC system, they gave me no reason to believe that my AC system would resized.  I am not complaining about the furnace; my complaint is about the cooling system of the HVAC system.
I was willing to pay for the increased cost for the “Like for like” size system, but I was never given the option, or amount it would cost for the size difference.
I have spent a year trying to get Reliant to make the installation correct, and they are not willing to fulfill my original requirements. 
Because the heating and cooling system was installed as a compatible unit, and the business practices that Reliant has shown me over the past year, my requirement has elevated to have Reliant remove the entire HVAC installed system, and give me a full refund.
Regards,

**** ********


1/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company installed my unit incorrect and destroyed it. Had them come out to fix it and they told me it would be almost 1,000.00 to fix it. Had another company come out and they fixed it for 500.00. I called the owner and he yelled at me and told me never to call again. WHAT?

Desired Settlement: To give me back my 500.00 and fix the tape job back to solid metal instead of cut up pieces.

Business Response: ***************************We pride ourselves on exceptional customer service and a sterling reputation. And we have thousands of customers that will testify to that.

Mr. ********* has flaws in his claim. First of all - we were not the original installers on his furnace - which is over 10 years old - and out of warranty.
Secondly, he claimed our tech broke his furnace (circuit board). This is completely false - our tech did not even take the cover off the furnace, there was no need to.
We were working on a humidifier relocation. We did not touch any part of the circuit board. His circuit board went bad - and he tried to blame it on our tech.
Thirdly, The price we offered to fix was not "almost $1000.00" it was $700 - which included a new circuit board, ignitor, and burners. Which anyone that understands this business - knows that is a very fair price for that scope of work. Mr. ********** insisted that we broke it and should fix it. However, our Service Manager did an investigation, and found several wires disconnected - which would have disabled the furnace completely.
This was a clear indication that the homeowner attempted to fix the unit himself, and was unsuccessful. Then tried to blame us - in order to get it fixed for free.
We tried to be fair and reasonable with Mr. *********. It did not work out.
Our owner decided it was in everyone's best interest not to conduct anymore business with Mr. *********.
We have a satisfaction rate over 99%. This is a a very rare case.

Sincerely,
Pat A****

Consumer Response:

This just a protective opinion. I had another company come out and tell me that this circuit board had be wet by the company that installed the humidifiers, reliant mechanical, because of not fully connecting the drain line. They fixed it all for 350.00 not 1,000.00 like non-reliant mechanical wanted to steal from me. Also to verify the system being install wrong the first time leaving holes and patch work in my system for every, im correct about that as well. You never put the humidifier on the intake unless you are using hot water, I"m not using hot water. Thanks for your time. ******

Regards,

*********** *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Reliant Mechanical, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart