BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/09/1995

Rescom Exteriors, Inc.

Phone: (508) 832-5202Fax: (508) 832-8795

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues8
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
07/01/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was continuously harassed by this company last summer, and I just received another call. They don't understand "Please stop calling me".
I understand it was my fault by falling for their "enter a drawing to win free window installation" when they visited my previous address of ** ***** ****** in ***** ********** After receiving roughly 3-4 phone calls a day for a few weeks, it took me threatening to take legal action against them to stop calling. The manner in which this company makes these calls is appalling. You can imagine my anger as I received another call from this company to "verify my information on file" a few moments ago. When I asked to please take me off their list they kept asking "may I ask why" and I told them. I received no answer back, the operator promptly hung up on me when I said "I was harassed last year by this company and the customer service reps on the line were extremely rude each time". I am running out of options on how to get these phone calls to not start up again as the call goes to my cell phone so I figured I would enter a complaint here. I would hate to have to take legal action against them, but I am prepared to do so.

Desired Settlement
I wish for my information to be deleted from their system and for Rescom Windows to never call XXX-XXX-XXXX ever again.

Business Response
We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused and put Mr. ****** phone number on our Do Not Call List, so he will never receive a call from us again.

02/11/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Constantly receiving telephone calls, on the average of 4 per evening. The company would not stop calling after we told them of the harassment.
Since January 16, 2014 I have received 20 telephone calls from this company. This is harassment. I have contacted the company and they have done nothing to stop the constant calling. The number has been blocked and that has resulted in an increase of calls to our number. Please help us to stop this constant calling
I first contacted them in July 2013 to try to get them to stop calling.

Desired Settlement
Please BBB get these people, company, BBB members to stop the telephone harassment.

Business Response
We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused and put **** ****** phone number on our Do Not Call List, so she will never receive a call from us again. This is the first time I have had to do this with an existing customer. Our factory is experiencing there 30 year anniversary and offered all existing customers special saving and free extended warranty.

10/08/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been receiving robocalls form the company since May
In May, I signed up for a sweepstakes at a local festival. Since then, I have received almost daily robocalls asking me to call back and give even *more* information to "process my sweepstakes entry". As it is now September, it's fair to say that the sweepstakes is over.

Currently, my phone is set to auto-hang-up on their number, but they recently switched to a new phone number, which means their robocall service isn't "taking the hint".

I would call them directly, but I am afraid that would just encourage them to call even more often (several complaints online suggested that would be the outcome).

The cell phone number they are calling is:
************

Desired Settlement
I would like them to stop calling me, and I would like them to stop using their robocall service (since robocalls are illegal)

Business Response
We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused and put ************** phone number on our Do Not Call List, so they will never receive a call from us again. We do not use a robocalling system, if we receive an answering machine when calling the computer will leave a message of who we are and why we are calling instead of having an operator do this in the effort to best communicate with possible future customers.

10/08/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Constant, constant calls from this company. I have called back to request removal from their call list and been hung up on.
Foolishly gave my number for a drawing and have been absolutely plagued by calls ever since. I have called them to request removal from the system and been hung up on. Their website offers no option for contact that is not a request to be further harassed.

Desired Settlement
Removal from call list. Never call again.

Business Response
We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused and put ************ phone number on our Do Not Call List, so she will never receive a call from us again

09/03/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Harassment. They continue to call after I have declined services.
Feel I am being harassed by them. I signed up to win new windows at a trade show. On 6/26 I spoke with someone who wanted to sell me windows. I declined. On 8/2 they called again. I did not accept call. On 8/6 they called, I was not around to pick up. 8/7 they called again. I did not pick up. They do not leave a message. I called them back and spoke to ******. I have asked him to be taking off the call list. He began a sales pitch. I interrupted him and asked if it was clear I wanted no contact. He asked if I forfeit my chance to win new windows. I agreed to forfeit them.

Desired Settlement
At this time I am seeking nothing. I simply do not want to be on their list. If they continue to call I will seek a settlement.

Business' Initial Response
We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused and put Mr. ******* phone number on our Do Not Call List, so he will never receive a call from us again. I have our computer company that designed our software and our marketing manager review the cause of this complaint. Potential customers should only receive one contact from us and that is it.

11/07/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company calls at 5:45 and 8:45 every single night to sell me their product, i have begged and begged them to stop calling - email,facebook no luck
The company calls at 5:45 and 8:45 every single night to sell me their product, i have begged and begged them to stop calling - email,facebook no luck with getting them to stop - this is harassment

Desired Settlement
please stop calling me!

Business Response
We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused and put Mrs. ***** phone number on our Do Not Call List, so she will never receive a call from us again

05/13/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We attended the 47th annual NH State Home Show at the Manchester, NH Radisson on March 21, 2014. We entered a RESCOM contest for free windows.
I attended a home show at the Manchester, NH Radisson on Friday, March 21, 2014. RESCOM sold energy efficient windows and exterior doors. I entered a contest at the provider's booth for free windows and doors. I received a call on March 24th from **** at RESCOM to verify my contest entry data, but in reality, ****, advised me that in order to receive future promotions that I needed to schedule an appointment with their ******************** to get an estimate and future discounts. I told **** more than once that windows and doors were not a priority at this time. It didn't seem to matter to ****. I surmise that he gets some sort of compensation for each appointment he makes, thereby, getting their foot in the door of a potential customer. I made an appointment for March 25th at 6:30 PM. The ********************, ***, arrived on time but was perplexed when we advised him that we did not have a current need for windows. *** began his presentation by telling us about the ********s and how ethical they were. *** was excellent but perplexed as to why he was dispatched to our home for the sales pitch. I advised him that his telephone scheduler insisted that a ******************** had to make a visit to our home in order for us to get future discounts on windows and exterior doors. We explained to *** that in the middle of renovation we ran out of money. He gave his presentation, took note of our window needs and gave us an estimate. At the end of his sales pitch *** called one of the ********s of the company named ****.******** ****, was authorized to make us a better offer. We were quoted an estimate of ******* plus dollars for 14 casement windows and two sliders. We told *** that a refrigerator, stove, dishwasher, kitchen sink, faucets and cabinetry were priorities. *** made another call to ******** ****. **** then made an offer via *** for ******* plus dollars. We kept telling *** that we weren't window and exterior door shopping but he wouldn't take no for an answer. Upon hearing this **** became angry. His voice was very loud and we could hear every word he said even though the call was not on speaker phone. The presentation was all very scripted. ******** **** or a person pretending to be ******** **** proceeded to insult myself and my husband, said that he didn't understand why we had their ***********, ***, come to our house if we did not need windows or doors at this time. We advised *** that their telephone representative had called us the day prior to verify our contest entry information and insisted that in order to get a promotional rate for their windows at some future date that a representative would need to come to our house. ******** or actor, **** used high-pressure, intimidating, sales tactics. He was insulting, demeaning, belittling and a **** *****. Failure to make a sale was not accepted well by ********/actor ****. **** inferred that we had wasted their time. ********/actor **** said, in a frustrated tone, "Our product is not for everyone," inferring or insinuating that we were ignorant or uninformed or something unflattering. ********/actor **** behaved very unprofessionally thereby undoing all the good work that his *********** *** had made in the span of three hours, and, was insulting and demeaning to the degree that, when windows are needed at some future date, we will find an even better window solution. I don't know if their contest is legitimate or not but would like that investigated. In some of the Better Business Bureau complaints filed by others, it was said that their names were deleted from the contest when they advised the company to stop the incessant phone calls. *** said that if one were to sign a contract and then, win the contest, their money would be refunded. I'd like to see the list of contest winners. At this point, RESCOM is starting to have the feel of a ********* salesman.

Desired Settlement
I'd like for the business to disclose at their tradeshow presentations that they may ask to remove your name from their contest if one doesn't agree to incessant, high pressure sale tactics. I'd like to know when the contest winner is drawn and who the winner is. I'd like them to provide the Better Business Bureau a list of all previous contest winner's names.

Business Response
Our marketing efforts are always intended to leave potential customers with the understanding that we provide the highest quality products and customer service. We strive to earn this trust so when potential customers are ready to replace their windows or doors they will call us. Mrs *****'s complaint is very disturbing to us as her perception is just the opposite of our goal. We received over 20,000 sweepstakes entries last year and we do make every effort to contact each of them to verify their information. Every entry is forwarded to Bristol Windows, our factory, for the drawing regardless if we are able to contact them or not. There is no cost or obligation to enter nor is anyone required to have a presentation to enter. The sweepstakes this year runs from 5/1/2013 through 4/30/2014 as stated on our website as well as our factory's website. Winners are selected at random and purchase is not necessary nor will it increase the chance of winning. All winners are notified as stated in the rules. A list of all winners can be requested as is also stated in the rules. Rescom is the exclusive distributor for Bristol windows and doors in New England and we are fortunate due to the large number of entries, to have winners in our territory. The Grand Prize winner in 2012 was Mr and Mrs. ******** in ***** ********* There are a couple of videos of them on YouTube and our own website explaining how happy they are with the product and experience they had with Rescom. I am forwarding this complaint to all company department managers to show how important customer experiences and perceptions are for Rescom's continuing growth.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This customer's perception of RESCOM is spot on. Their marketing efforts are extreme and aggressive. They have had eleven previous complaints about them. The previous complainant's reported in their complaint's to the BBB that RESCOM had pursued them relentlessly by telephone even though they were not interested in their product. Several of them also reported to the BBB that RESCOM had requested to remove their name from the contest when they were told that they were not interested in purchasing their product. Is RESCOM suggesting that those complainant's were lying? The Company states "There is no cost or obligation to enter nor is anyone required to have a presentation to enter." This is not true. I was told that the presentation WAS REQUIRED in order to get promotional pricing. I told the Company that I didn't need windows or door in the near future. Their reply was that in order to get the promotional rate at a future date, I would need to have their representative come to the house and give an estimate. When they got to the house, their representative took up three hours of mine and my husbands time but said the promotion was only good for 90 days. We are not going to require windows or doors within 90 days and I was clear with their representative on the telephone that we didn't need windows or doors in the near future. 90 days IS THE NEAR FUTURE! The Company states, "We received over 20,000 sweepstakes entries last year and we do make every effort to contact each of them to verify their information." No company is going to expend that kind of manpower to verify that they have accurate information for a contest. The Company isn't calling to verify sweepsteak's information. Their primary goal is to verify your information so they can dispatch a salesperson to your house and pressure you into buying windows and doors.

Final Consumer Response

I'm writing to you today to get this case closed. The businesses contest is simply a way of gathering data for possible sales. It's a sneaky way of getting their foot in the door. No company spends the cost and the manpower to verify that their 20,000.00 plus contestent's data is correct. The ******* ***** must have come up with that line. If Mr. ***** ******* is so despondent about his company's despicable behavior, I wouldn't mind his Company installing two slider patio doors at no cost to me.

****** *****

fyi- of course that's not going to happen.

02/18/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vendor continues to call using an automated service despite no interest on my part in the products and services. Please stop.
My***** and I attended a Home Show in ************* over approximately 2 years ago and filled out raffle information. Subsequent to this event, ResCom has been attempting to contact to validate information provided "to be entered into the sweepstakes". I have expressed on multiple occasions that I am not interested and, more recently, that we may be relocating due to work so we are certainly not interested. The calls continue to my cell phone, provided in this complaint, on a daily basis. Please stop calling, it is a simple request.

Desired Settlement
Please remove my name and number from all of your advertising, sales or service lists. I am not now, have never been nor have I any intentions of becoming a customer.

Business Response
We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused and put *** ******* phone number on our Do Not Call List, so he will never receive a call from us again.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Windows - Installation & Service, Windows, Doors - Installation, Doors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.