BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/05/2012

Aerus LLC

Phone: (413) 283-6249Fax: (413) 587-9500

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
12/01/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
High pressure sales to my 84 year old parent to purchase vacuum. We cannot get answer back whether we may return. Owner stated she would respond.
BBB Accredited Business since 10/05/2012\r\nAerus LLC\r\nFind a Location\r\nPhone: (XXX) XXX-XXXXFax: (XXX) XXX-XXXXXXXX ***** **** St, ******* MA XXXXX "
I have called the above business ( all documented with dates and times I called) multiple times regarding a salesman named ****** ********* who is employed by (I am told) a *** *****. I have called Aerus corporate number in Bristol,VA. and the local dealer in Palmer, MA and the salesman. The store in Palmer I have spoken to 2 women who will "relay" the messages to "owner "multiple times . On September 4th a representative came to my mother's home in Dover MA and was delivering tile cleaner and letting her know the Wellesley store had closed (she knew that ,they'd closed some time ago . The Aerus store he came from is 1 hour 20 minutes away. My mother is 84 and my 3 siblings and I are very upset by this strong-armed sales to an elderly mother . He then asked to see and test her vacuum He said it was not sucking well, and demonstrated her Electrolux own vacuum that is used bi-weekly ,and works well .As I continue I am speaking the words told to me by her caregiver whom I have asked to write down the interaction, and my mother's recount of the meeting. ****** ********* then said that he felt it would be $500-$600 to "fix it up, motor etc" when it needed it. When using the "new" demo he found a lot of dirt, "lots and lots the old one was leaving behind" I personally use this vacuum and it works well. ****** stated on Monday the 15th at 10:30 am having finally reaching him after 5 days of calling ,corporate calls and calls to the Palmer office , that indeed her vacume did work when I asked what was wrong with it. Yes, it is old but that is what Electrolux prides it's self on (my words). I am told by caregiver:He then demonstrated all over her living room , overly friendly showed photographs of family, child with golf clubs, went back and forth saying that he would get this $2,000 vacuum down in price..made 3 trips to the phone "tryin g to get the price down from my boss"back and forth, when she, my mother Brooks, began to ask about the price he would go again "got to make a call,let me see, I will get you a better price.." She took his pitch, he took her old in good working order, vacuum and her check for $1,328.13 and left an 84 year old woman now embarrassed and ashamed she let this happen. I learned on the 10th or 12th and started to try to nicely work this out along with my 3 sibling's encouragement to address this issue. I asked for the old vacume back- I can't not until the "higher-ups" make their decision ****** ********* told me. He said to call "the office" *** ***** I would assume would have reached out to me/us by now, she'sd said she'd call or returned a simple phone call. I apparently missed her being in the office several times ,twice again today.I feel this is egregious, aggressive predatory sales on the elderly. I have been calm and courteous but must reach out to try to resolve this. I would be happy to drive the "demo" Vacume vacuum he brought WITH him, then sold to her, and deliver back to Palmer and take back our old vacuum or be given an appropriate replacement. I have to take my mother away from 9/20-10/1 but will have voice mail and email access. I will be in a time zone 6 hours ahead. I will be leaving the still unused by us "new demo vacuum " enclosed safely, still un-used , in an airtight rubbermaid bin at the back door for pick up. My brother\'s and I would like a refund of my mother\'s Bank of America check dated 9/4/14 #5622 $1,328.13 . Elextrolux has always been a great company and never thought I would be trying to resolve an issue like this with you. The advantage taken of an older woman who is also recently widowed just adds to our trying to grasp how truly wrong this was and represents the lowest form of salesmanship. There are counsil- on -aging who warn of tihis type of practices.
Thank you ,
******** *********

Desired Settlement
Return of our old vacuum and a refund. If the have resold our old vacuum, a simulate in age, wear, and canister type.

Business Response
****,

After careful consideration we cancelled this sale. We picked up the equipment today and will issue a refund after a full inspection of the machine tomorrow as this customer has in fact been using this machine for several weeks. There will be a restocking/cleaning maintenance fee to bring this machine back to salable condition. This was explained in detail to the customers daughter by myself and a representative from our corporate customer service department.

If you need anything further please let me know.

Thanks

***


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Dear ****,

Thank you for notifying me yesterday Friday November 14th telling me that Aerus has let you know that they have mailed a refund check to me minus a restocking fee.
I will acknowledge the receipt of the refund the moment it has arrived. At that time, the matter will be completely resolved.

Thank you for your assistance,

********

06/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They lost the attachments to my Dyson vacuum cleaner and procedded to tell me that they were never with the vacuum.
I brought my Dyson vacuum in on 3/1/2014 for service and was told that I would get a call in a couple of days. I never received a call I had to call them repeatedly after 28 days my vacuum was repaired but when I picked to up the attachments were not there. I contacted them and they said they would look into it, again I never received a call from them I had to call several time and was always told that the were looking into it. Finally on 5/22/2014 after still not hearing drom them I called again and was told that they said the attachments were never with the vacuum.

Desired Settlement
I just want the attachments replaced.

Business Response
***************
BBB Complaint Department

Re: Mrs. ******* ******
Complaint ID #: XXXXXX

Dear Ms. *****,

Thank you for notifying us of the complaint filed by ******* ******, regarding replacement of vacuum parts. Our products are sold and serviced from independently owned dealers.

The transaction in question was between Ms. ****** and *************, the independent franchise in ******, Ma., however we appreciate the opportunity to assist.

I notified the franchise of Ms. ******'s complaint, and was informed that they spoke with her today, requesting the model number of the Dyson vacuum cleaner. When the information is provided, the franchise coordinator is prepared to locate and purchase the dusting brush and upholstery tool, and have them delivered to the customer.

You will be notified when this transaction is complete.

Sincerely,

************************************

07/19/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
04/18/2012Problems with Product / Service
01/16/2013Problems with Product / Service
12/27/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Vacuum Cleaners-Household-Dealers, Vacuum Cleaners-Service & Repair

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.