BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

GM Tree Service

(978) 422-3434View Additional Phone Numbers27 Worcester Rd, SterlingMA 01564

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

GM Tree Service is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised GM Tree Service's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on GM Tree Service

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
11/19/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
GM Tree verbally committed to cut and remove 3 trees from my property. They arrived on September 22, 2014, did 30 percent of the job and disappeared.
GM Tree verbally committed to cut down and remove 3 trees from my property in Groton, MA. They arrived on September 22, 2014, cut down 2 of the 3 trees, left the trunks on my lawn, and haven't returned since.

I have called the proprietor, ****** Harrington, daily asking for any information about his intended return to the job site. I have also sent a certified letter, which he accepted and signed for on October 14, 2014, also asking for a commitment or an explanation of his intent. He has made no effort to respond to my calls or the certified letter.

No money has been paid toward completing this job. In order to accommodate Mr. Harrington's equipment, I removed a fence and cut down 4 shrubs.

Mr. Harrington's outgoing phone message assures the caller that all calls will be returned. If nothing else, he should refrain from this statement as it is 1 month since I have heard from him.

Desired Settlement
GM Tree needs to finish the job and restore the fence as was promised upon completion of the job by November 14, 2014, per the certified letter Mr Harrington signed for.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: gm tree service
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Gm Tree originally took this job with an understanding of where the home owner described the septic system to be. When we showed up on the scheduled day to do the work, the home owner had marked off the septic system in a different area, which also happened to be the same spot the bucket truck would have to be positioned in order to do the work, thus making it impossible to do the tree work with the bucket truck. We accepted no money for this job, even after doing only a 1/2 day's of work on other trees in the yard, due to the circumstances. We suggested to the homeowners that taking the fence down make make it more accessible, but this too did not work. The home owners had agreed that if we took the fence down to try that angle, that they would be responsible for putting it back up. We explained to the home owner the situation and offered some suggestions of other companies in the area that may be able to do the work using a climber, as it was impossible to get to with the septic system position. We were not able to complete this job, and for that we apologize. We would love to help by suggesting even more companies that may be able to help.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
****** Harrington, the proprietor of GM Tree Service, at no time advised either verbally or in writing us that the job was terminated at our consent and offered no suggestions for individuals who could complete the job in his place.

It was at our suggestion, not Mr. Harrington's, that we remove sections of the fence to allow him access to the third tree of the three he was to remove. I asked him if removing the fence sections would grant him the access he needed to the third tree. He stated it would. He also verified with me that if I authorized the removal of the fence, that he would, himself, restore it to its original state upon the job's completion.

By removing the fence sections, there are tire tracks in the yard where Mr. Harrington's bucket truck positioned itself next to the tree he could not supposedly access. He also removed a number of branches from this same tree ahead of intending to fell it.

If GM Tree had formally terminate the job with us, as Mr. Harrington states, then why did he leave the trunks of the first two trees in my yard, unremoved, which were plainly accessible when he cut them down? Mr. Harrington left the job site in mid-task, despite his claims of terminating the job formally.

GM Tree started the job on September 22, 2014, they felled two of the three trees in question and left the trunks of those trees on site. I left a phone message with him on Wednesday, September 24, asking him when he would return to finish the job. Mr. Harrington retuned my call that night and stated he would return to the job site in Groton on Sunday, September 28, to complete the job.

On September 28th, Mr. Harrington's two assistants and the company truck bearing the GM signage on it arrived without Mr. Harrington. The two associates of Mr. Harrington's looked at the tree and stated the bucket truck would be needed and they left. At this time, they too did not state the job was not possible or that it had been terminated. As the bucket truck had already previously accessed the third tree by virtue of trimming branches well up the tree's height, Mr. Harrington's statements are inaccurate at best.

If Mr. Harrington officially terminated the job with us, I would have had no reason to call him every day for a week following his associates' brief appearance on Sunday, September 28, and then send him a certified letter on October 10, which he signed for.

In that certified letter, I requested a commitment of when GM Tree would return to the job site. I stated that the job must be finished by November 14, 2014giving Mr. Harrington a month from the time he signed for the letter. I additionally stated in the certified letter that if some event had arisen that prevented Mr. Harrington from returning to the job site, to call me and let me know. No response was received to this solicitation for more information.

The extremely divergent account of this situation that Mr. Harrington is offering as part of his formal response to this complaint should beg larger questions about what Mr. Harrington is willing to state so as to preserve his accreditation with your bureau.

I will complete the job myself, given GM Tree Service's inability to do so. I can only hope Mr. Harrington will simply admit when he has misjudged a job rather than letting it drag out nearly 2 months without any concrete information as to why he abandoned the task in mid-course as he chose to do in this case.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tree Service, Snow Removal Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/04/2005Business started: 01/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Public Safety
One Asburton Place Room 1301
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 727-3200
http://www.mass.gov/dps/

BBB records show a license number of HE-083634 for this company, issued by Department of Public Safety. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/dps/. The expiration date of this license is 05/16/2016. HE-2B- Front end loader/backhoes.

Type: Hoisting

Check License Status: http://elicense.chs.state.ma.us/Verification/Details.aspx?agency id=1&license id=101351&

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Justin Harrington (Owner)
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Tree Service, Snow Removal Service

Products & Services

According to information provided by the company, they offer tree removal and trimming services, storm cleanup and snow removal services.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for GM Tree Service

27 Worcester Rd

Sterling, MA 01564

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 27 Worcester Rd 

    Sterling, MA 01564(978) 422-3434

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*GM Tree Service is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (978) 534-2485
  • (978) 779-8383
  • (978) 433-5533
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Tree Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.