BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Allen Lawnmower Co., Inc.

Phone: (413) 786-8111Fax: (413) 786-1877

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues5
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Additional Complaint Information

BBB files indicate that this business has a pattern of complaints concerning delivery and repair issues. Consumers state they place orders and do not receive merchandise or parts of their order are missing. When they attempt to contact the business by phone or email, they do not receive return communications. Consumers also allege they present products for repair and items are returned late and/or not repaired.

On February 19, 2015, BBB sent certified correspondence to the company requesting their voluntary cooperation in eliminating the pattern of customer complaints on file with BBB. As of March 6, 2015, the business has not responded. BBB will update this alert if a business response is received.

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
05/03/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I order a riding lawnmower on 10-7-2012
It never came to my door, but my credit card has been charged.
I ordered on the internet a ********* tractor model ********** on 10/7/2012. ****************
My credit card was charged for the listed price of 3,209.90 The shipping was included. For some obscure reasons, the tractor did not get shipped.
Many phone calls later, I was told that it was shipped, but in fact it was not.In january, I called again the vendor and was told that the crate containing the tractor was still in their yard but was going to be shipped any time. That was in february. Now I am told that the tractor has been shipped, but " fell off " the crate somewhere in Missouri. A salesperson told me they are "working" on it. but a few more weeks have passed. The vendor has never given me a tracking number. I have no way to know the condition or the exact location of my purchase. therefore,I have decided that I want a refund

Desired Settlement
I want a fulll refund.
I called the company many times regarding this matter. Every time I am told I need to speak to the person in charge of internet sales.But this person is never available and has never returned my phone calls ( numerous ones)

12/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Riding mower repair service bill paid on delivery but mowing desk not working correctly, rude and vulgar Service Dept. phone response to two family members.
Product_Or_Service: Husquvarna riding lawnmower

Desired Settlement
Either the problem is corrected or a refund to go to someone who can correct it.

Business Response
We delivered back her mower after picking it up for no drive, found nothing wrong with the drive, replaced the blades that were worn out. Customer called back to say it still wasn't right e, saying the deck doesn't cut grass. We went back out there, my driver ran and tested it and cut her grass with it and found nothing wrong. She called AGAIN saying its not right even though there was no way she even tested it because she didn't think we ever went out there. 5 times in the last two years we have gone out to her house and found nothing wrong with the mower and she was never charged. She was told if we go out again she would have to be charged, then she got rude. Then she had her father call who said and I quote "all we care about was we got our money" He was told if that was all we cared about, we never would have gone back out there again and checked it like we did on Wednsday, at no cost to her. He was told we will no longer go out and check out her mower for nothing. As usual we have gone above and beyond normal service expectations. 5 TIMES IN TWO YEARS AND NEVER CHARBGED HER ONCE, WHO ELSE WOULD BE STUPID ENOUGHT TO DO THAT. CAN'T DO IT ANYMORE. NEED TO MAKE MONEY

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Allen Lawnmower Advertises free pick up and delivery service. My mower was purchased at Allen Lawnmower six years ago with a trade in rider from my parents. The current service in question was paid $200.08 in full as has every previous service request, whether leaf blower or snow blower or lawn mower. Money paid is for services satisfactorily completed. A reputable business makes sure an issue is resolved before delivery and if not resolved on delivery, makes sure it gets resolved.

"Picked up for no drive" - FACT: Mower would not go up inclines; there was indeed drive on level ground.

"Found nothing wrong with the drive" - FACT: I paid $200.08 for new blades?

"Blades were worn out" - FACT: Blades were fine - still have them as proof. Didn't request them changed.

"Deck doesn't cut grass" - FACT: The issue I had specifically explained was mowing blades had very slow revolution on start up - not that it doesn't cut grass. It was not picking up the grass well in the bags probably due to the slow revolution.

"She called AGAIN" - FACT: There was no mower pick up as had been scheduled for Wednesday - no call, no message, no note from Allen Lawnmower that there had been anyone at the house. I came home to find my mower in the same spot in the backyard, in the dark, wet from the rain. Is this the above-and-beyond service mentioned? I called the next day (Thurs.) and was told there was no issue with the mower, that it was picking up grass fine. FACT: It couldn't pick up grass fine because the tube was disconnected and in the garage where I placed it. There was still some grass in the bags from my previous cut; the bag assembly is too heavy for me to remove from the machine. If grass cutting was checked, then the issue was not checked.

I reiterated the problem and that I needed to be present when they arrived. Plan was for Sat. a.m. but I was told I would get a confirmation call back with the appointment time. Friday, no call back yet, so I phoned to confirm. I got a loud and very confrontational man, expressing himself in that manner to myself and later to family members on the telephone. I asked politely for him to please lower his tone as it was hurting my ear whereupon he continued much louder, "Look, mam...".

"She got rude" - FACT: It was at this point that I hung up the phone. I have never experienced such unacceptable and unwarranted behavior, from a business no less.

My father had called earlier that morning asking what could be done about my mower and was told he would be called back. Having not received a call back, that afternoon he called them himself. He got the same person as I had, and after this man's very vulgar f-word rant to my father, he also told my father, "don't bring your machine down here either". I would have to say that this indeed is an example of unacceptable "above and beyond normal service expectations".

My parents, both in their 80's, deserve an apology. My father's comment to this vulgar man on the telephone that the business is certainly going downhill is gleaned from having been a customer of Allen Lawnmower's for over a half century. Having experienced this lack of common human courtesy to myself and my parents from Allen Lawnmower, I will not recommend this business to anyone.

02/03/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
ordered a snow blower at the store, was told we would get it in 5 days, 6 weeks later we still don't have it.
Ordered a snow blower at Allen lawnmower on Nov.28 2014. Model #ST230P Husqvarna. We were told it would be delivered to us in 5 days. Never received it or heard from them. Called them once a week for 4 weeks, were told it should be in at the end of the week every time we called. Called again on tues, Dec.30, they said our receipt was put in the "delivered pile" by accident, but that the snowblower is in the store and they would deliver it on Fri. Jan 2, 2015. They never did, nor did they contact us. We called again on Mon, Jan 5, and they said that they do not have our snowblower in the store, they don't know what happened, but they do not have our snowblower to deliver to us. We told them to credit our credit card we had charged it on and to send us verification that this was done. The most horrible customer service my husband and I have ever encountered! We now have no snow blower and are hoping a different store will have some so my husband can save his back from shoveling!

Desired Settlement
We are seeking the refund for the snowblower which is $1167.68. We also hope that this complaint will prompt them to never treat a customer this poorly again.

05/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Improper charging for services not completed.
I inquired through Allen Lawnmower on their website about scheduling an appointment for pre-season service I believe on 3/25/14. On 3/26/14 I received an email from **** ***** ** of Allen Lawnmower that I would be contacted shortly to schedule a pickup of my lawnmower which is a Honda Model# ********** SN XXXXXXX.
The lawnmower was picked up for service on 3/26/14 & supposedly completed on 3/31/14. I received an email from a ************ on 4/2/14 making me aware that the mower was ready and he would like to be contacted to set up a delivery date. I called********** the following day on 4/3/14 to set up the return of my mower and to pay for the services.
The mower was delivered back to my home on the 7th of April. As I have done my whole life for a service that I paid for, I looked over the mower to make sure there was no damage and started it up to make sure it was operating the same as when I sent it out for service. After running for just more than a couple of minutes the mower stalled and was out of fuel. Looking the mower over I observed the upper deck, including the wheels, along with the engine to have the same dirt and grease **** which was from last seasons final mowing, still on the mower. I then flipped the mower on it's side and noted that the under side of the deck along with the grass chute had not been cleaned either and still had grass stuck to the under side of the deck.
Looking at the invoice part of the pre-season service is a chassis check over which is suppose to include but not limited to a cleaning of the underside of the deck, check wheels, and a pressure wash. I was also charged $9.50 for a fuel surcharge that mysteriously ended up with my mower running out of gas shortly after it was started.
I contacted Allen Lawnmower immediately to voice my concerns and spoke with a gentleman named *****, ********* had gone home for the day already. I was put on hold and when Steve returned he explained to me that sometimes these things get missed and fall through the cracks! Really! The mower was scheduled for pick up again and Steve assured me that the problem would be taken care of. The mower was picked up on the 10th of April & returned on the 14th. The mower was once again returned in the same dirty condition that it was when it left.
Now, as I see it, I was charged for a service that was NOT completed TWICE! The total amount of the service was $199.78 and I paid my bill. If Allen Lawnmower is so likely to ignore a concern of a customer, it has to make you wonder just how much of that service was really done, and how many other customers they are doing this too!
Thank you for your time and I look forward to a response.

Desired Settlement
Refund me for the service that was not completed!

05/17/2013Delivery Issues
04/09/2013Delivery Issues
01/25/2013Delivery Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tools-Electric

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.