BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Cassa Stone Inc.

(508) 845-3100516 Boston Turnpike, ShrewsburyMA 01545 Send email to Cassa Stone Inc.http://www.cassastone.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 09/19/2014 this company's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to failure to honor an arbitrator's decision despite agreeing to do so. The company has appealed the revocation which will be considered by the Board on 10/15/2014.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Cassa Stone Inc.'s rating include:

  • Failure to comply with arbitration decision or mediated settlement.
  • BBB Accreditation was revoked because the business failed to honor its accreditation agreement with BBB.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Cassa Stone Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
09/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: In July 2012 we went to Cassa Stone to get them to install a new granite kitchen counter-tops at that time we started paying them by installments after choosing the type of granite stone we wanted. Upon completion of payment we went to Cassa for getting dates they would instal the granites at that time, (8/29/13) We met with ***** ******* who informed us that the stone we had chosen and had paid for was not available, she called their site in ********** and another site she stated to us that they did not have the particular stone. She showed us different stones on the computer website. She also stated that the stone the have may not be exactly the same ordered and therefore customers needed to verify before stone is cut out to specifications. We havent done that. We told ***** that we were not happy that she was trying to get us choose different stones than whats on display that we ordered. We told her we were going else where to get the different company work with us. We found a different company with the stone we want in stock and therefore don't wish to do business with Cassa

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ***********
Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX ext ***
Contact Email: *******@cassastone.com
In response to the complaint made to the Better Business Bureau dated September 3, 2013 by **** ******** I would like to offer the following:

On July 11, 2012 **** ******** came in to Cassa Stone, Inc. to look for granite countertops for her new cabinets. She then selected ******** ********* granite based on the wall sample in the showroom and gave a Deposit of $2500.00 with check ******

She then scheduled a template to be done on July 12, 2012 and when our template crew arrived at the house there were no cabinets installed. We then decided with the customer that she would call us when all the cabinets were installed and she was ready for Cassa Stone to come back out and do the template. She called and we competed the template on October 10, 2012. It was then that a copy of the template went to Purchasing and it was determined that 3 slabs of the material would be needed to complete her job. The material was then located, purchased and stored in an offsite warehouse awaiting delivery. (I believe the misunderstanding regarding the material not being available/ordered between the Salesperson and the client was due to the large amount of time that had passed between the initial deposit and the final payment being made)

The client made multiple payments between July 11, 2012 and July 30, 2013 until her granite was finally paid in full.

I realize that our mutual client is asking for a full refund but not only has her material been ordered and paid for by Cassa Stone since October 2012, we went to the house on 2 occasions to do a template, and she signed the invoice which states that there will a 25% restocking fee for all cancellations (I can send as an attachment). Again, I believe the misunderstanding regarding the material not being available/ordered between the Salesperson and the client was due to the large amount of time that had passed between the initial deposit and the final payment being made

***** ********** (the ***** and original Salesperson) of Cassa Stone, Inc. is aware of the extenuating circumstances of this client and will personally oversee her project thru to its entirety.

We are ready to move forward with the granite installation and await your response.



Regards,

******* ***********


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
******


Thanks again for your e.mail. I would like my refund from Cassa Stone. Please note that it is incorrect that when Cassa Stone representative initially came to our home there were no cabinets. Up to this second the cabinetry in our entire home was in place at the time this home was purchased. Nothing has been changed as far as cabinetry is concerned. The only issue that was raised at the time of the initial visit is the oven. It was being added to the existing appliances therefore had not been installed yet. Cassa Stone representative meaningfully advised me to get the oven installed first, then get the template done because (he stated) "granites should be cut to specifics : because once they are cut they are cut".

Thank you kindly for all your time and help.

Sincerely


****



Final Business Response
Thank you ******... I have a few statements to offer in regards to her e-mail:
The stone she selected was absolutely a Special Order stone and was ordered and received in October 2012- She selected ******** ********* granite based on the wall sample in the showroom - If she selected a stone from the slab yard the stone would have been tagged and held for her (as long as she wanted) upon her deposit. So with her deposit and the selection made from a wall sample, the stone was SPECIAL ORDERED and brought into Cassa Stone.
In response to the email from my salesperson, as I stated in my 9/4/13 response, she first started out with a different salesperson (***** ********** the ***** and original Salesperson) and I believe with that, the large amount of time that had passed between the initial deposit and the final payment being made, is where the misunderstanding regarding the material not being available/ordered between the Salesperson and the client lies.
In response to her request for a refund, I am not offering one. Cassa Stone has a signed invoice which clearly states that all special order materials are non-refundable (and as stated in our telephone conversation). Her stone is here and we are ready to install.


Final Consumer Response
I would like my refund within 7 days of this letter.


Thank you in anticipation.

****

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to meet the terms of an arbitrated decision in accordance with their BBB agreement.

04/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: I was charged 25% restocking fee when I cancelled my order for tiles within 1-2 business days although no product was shipped.
On Saturday 2/1/14 at 1:00 PM my wife and I visited Cassa Stone's showroom and picked tiles for a bathroom project with the help of ***** the showroom *******. We were presented with an estimate that included tiles and installation and we were asked if we're ready to order and we said yes and gave our credit card which was charged the full amount ($7,015.53) although it says 50% deposit 50% on completion on the estimate but we did not notice that.We left at around 3:30PM. We were not told any of the items ordered were "special orders" and we did not fill any paperwork for any special order. The estimate also does not mention that any of the items ordered was a "special order".There was no discussion about a 25% restocking fee if we cancel also nothing of the restocking fee language was in the fine print on the estimate. Over the rest of the weekend we changed our mind regarding the tiles that we selected. I called Monday 2/3/14 and asked to speak to *****. I was told she's not available now but will be available after 3:00 PM.I left a message requesting the order to be canceled. I called again at around 4:00 PM the same day and was told ***** is with a customer. I left a message again for ***** to put a hold on the order and to give me a call back. ***** returned my call on Tuesday 2/4/14 and informed me that there will be a 25% restocking fee for cancelling the order and in refunding us minus the restocking fee the store went over an beyond what's required since our orders were "special orders" and they are to be charged fully. After protesting that our orders were not "special orders" and it's not fair to be charged a 25% restocking fee when no order was shipped yet the store offered us to waive the restocking fee at the condition that we keep our business with them and to use the full amount to be used to place another order. They refused to give us even a store credit for the restocking fee to be used towards future purchase. They insisted that we have to use the full amount paid. At this point because of what we thought was an unfair practice to be charged the restocking fee when no order was shipped and because of the quality of the customer service provided we decided to take the 25% restocking fee penalty and take our business elsewhere.We requested the refund minus the restocking fee on 2/5/14 we did not get refunded until 2/20/14.

Initial Business Response
Based on BBB Case # XXXXXX, Cassa Stone, Inc. offers the following:
******* **** was working with a contractor who initially came into the showroom on January 24, 2014 for a bathroom re-model for his customer ******** ****. He spent some time in the showroom and after speaking with a sales associate, an appointment was booked for January 28, 2014 for the Cassa Stone Representative to go to Mr. ****'s home in Wellesley, MA, to take measurements and get an overview of the project. After the appointment, square footages were calculated, specific drawings were made and design time was spent to complete the estimate. The estimate was then created and sent to the builder. The builder gave the customer an allowance to spend on material/labor and whatever amount over the allowance is the responsibility of the home owner.
Mr. & Mrs. **** then came in on 2/1/14 and spent approximately 3 hours, and with the help of a Cassa Associate, picked their material/design and placed the order. It was explained to Mr. **** at that time that the estimate given to them was only for what was over the builder's allowance and that total amount was due at time of purchase (02/01/14) . Mr. **** agreed to the terms and placed the order by signing the estimate and the credit card slip. Upon their departure from the store, an invoice was created and sent to the purchasing department so first thing Monday the order could be placed. On Monday morning 2/3/14 purchasing placed the order with the Vendor (all orders have a 10:00am deadline on Monday for Tuesday delivery - which the delivery date for that particular vendor is Tuesdays)and the material was picked and put on the truck from Scranton, PA for Tuesday 2/4/14 delivery.
When the customer called Monday to cancel the order, the order had already been placed and it was being shipped to MA. By the time that Mr. **** called in to cancel the order (Which was Monday afternoon), it was already too late. By 10:30am, Monday, 2/3/14 the material was already loaded and in transit so any cancellation was out of the question, as stated on the estimate (Please see attachment).
As written on the estimate, all tile orders are special orders and non refundable. As a courtesy Cassa made the effort to call the vendor and as an exception they agreed to take the tiles back with the restocking fee. So, after going back and forth and explaining this to Mr. **** he agreed to the re-stocking fee and took the refund.
I'm sorry that our mutual client feels this way. Cassa Stone offered to absorb the restocking fee if they kept their business with us, but they wouldn't give us a chance to work on selecting replacement material. They went ahead and purchased all of there material from another store.
After spending our time, giving the customer our design ideas and expertise, we were left with the impression that the customer would be doing their business with Cassa Stone, so we do not feel we should, or that was fair, to incur a re-stocking fee of $615.51 from a Vendor when the client went somewhere else for material.
I trust Cassa Stone, Inc. has provided you with enough information to make an informed decision.

Regards,

Cassa Stone, Inc.


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We find it hard to believe that an order placed on Saturday at 4:00 PM would be located, loaded on a truck and shipped by Monday 10:00 AM for a Tuesday delivery. That's a super express service with next day delivery for tiles. If Cassa Stone Inc. incurred a re-stocking fee from the vendor would it be possible to provide a receipt showing the amount incurred?

Final Business Response
As clearly stated in the above explanation, the tile was indeed ordered on Monday morning, February 3, 2014 with a delivery scheduled for Tuesday afternoon February 4, 2014.

In addition, prior to the refund being processed, it was agreed upon by both our mutual client and Cassa Stone that a re-stocking fee would apply and they accepted.


Regards,

Cassa Stone, Inc.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We would like to see a receipt of the cost incurred by Cassa Stone Inc. for the re-stocking fee to back up their claim that they incurred a cost from the said vendor that they passed ** to us.

We didn't accept the re-stocking fee. We recouped our money minus the re-stoking fee to pursue this by other means because we did not believe Cassa Stone Inc. claim that they incurred a re-stocking fee from the vendor thus the BBB complaint.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/30/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Delivery Complaint Issue

Complaint: I paid $60 for delivery of goods to my home address and no such delivery was made. I had to pick up material at store and the charge was not removed.
On September 10th 2013 I signed an estimate (#XXXXX) stating a ship to address of ************** *********** XXXXX. I paid $60 for such delivery and yet no merchandise was sent to my home. I had to pick up material at the store located at 516 ****************************** XXXXX. When confronted about the shipping charge the store told me that it is their policy to ship to the store. However, our agreement plainly states a ship to address and a charge for such service.

Initial Business Response
Dear *********,
I am writing in response to our mutual clients complaint for the shipping charges she incurred when she made her tile purchase here at Cassa Stone, Inc. All shipping charges are from the Vendor direct to Cassa Stone with the tile to be picked up by the client. Upon delivery to Cassa Stone, the clients are notified that their tile has been received (some clients don't wait for the call and call the morning of scheduled delivery date) and it is then that the clients make arrangements to pick up the tile.
The *************** spoke with Mrs. ************ today (10/17/13) and explained to her in detail that when tile is purchased, the shipping charge(s) are the charges from the Vendor to Cassa Stone, Inc. , only.
If you have any questions or require any additional information please fell free to contact me at XXX XXX-XXXX ext. 104 or e-mail me at *******@casastone.com.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Again, I still expect a full refund as is stated on all documents a ship to address of my home.

I was guaranteed shipment by September 20th, however no such shipment or call was made from Cassa Stone on that date. I then had to call the company the following day and request that I pick up the material on Monday morning since I had installers coming that day. I did bring up the issue of shipping to the front desk and I was told that not only would I pay shipping for that tile but also an additional $15 shipping for grout that was picked up at the same time. I refused to pay such amount since I picked up the grout from their store and there was NEVER any mention of an additional $15.

The amount of tile that the front desk stated I needed only increased to 54sq ft after I refused to pay an additional 30% over the price listed on their tile boards. As that brings up other questionable practices by Cassa Stone.

I did mentioned numerous times, via phone and in person regarding the $60 shipping charge.

As to why it is not mentioned in their letter is due to the fact that they would not refund my other $102 if I continued to make any reference to shipping.

Cassa Stone has questionable business ethics and practices. If the company did not intend to ship to my home then the front desk should have crossed off my address in their statements.

Also, regarding any discount given. That was due to me paying in cash and in full.

Again, all material states a ship to address and an amount paid for such. I still expect a full refund of $60.


Final Business Response
There is more to the transaction that our client is revealing. In response to our mutual clients response regarding the refund of $60.00 I offer the following:

Mrs. ************ was and is fully aware that the shipping charges were charges direct from the Vendor to ship their product direct to Cassa Stone. not a charge for Cassa Stone to deliver direct to her home. She was told when the tile would approximately be in and that she could pick up after that date (September 20, 2013). As far as the "glitch" in our system goes, we are a granite and tile company and 90 % of the time we are doing the installation. So when the estimate and invoice is filled out in our system the customer information goes on the left and if its going somewhere other than the customers house (i.e. a new residence, or if its a builder and the product is going to the josbsite) the address the work will be taking place in would appear in the ship to on the right, if its someone just buying tile, granite, or any type of other materials and the address is the same as in the customer information, the ship to is the customer's address. I am not offering her a refund.


I also offer the following history in regards to her transaction with Cassa Stone, Inc.

On September 10, 2013, and after multiple visits to Cassa Stone, Inc., Mrs. ************ purchased/ordered 54.15sf feet of tile for her kitchen backsplash. Upon her ordering, she received a courtesy discount line of the tax ($46.19) and was informed that it was special order from the Vendor and would arrive to Cassa Stone, Inc. approximately Friday September 21, 2013. Special order means that the Vendor will not except any returns (as underlined in the copy of the signed estimate attached). She agreed, signed the estimate and paid in full.

On or about September 19, 2013 the customer told her salesperson that she had found the tile less expensive at another store and wanted the tile Cassa Stone to match the price she found at another store. This all took place AFTER the tile was paid in full and ordered. As a courtesy to the customer, the salesperson honored that request as well and the discount was given.

The material arrived on the said date and she came and picked up her backsplash tile. At that time nothing was said about a refund for the shipping.









It was after she picked up the tile (and probably installed it) that she stated that we ordered her too much tile (tile quantities are supplied by the customer unless Cassa Stone, Inc. doing the installation. (As a courtesy, the salesperson looked at her drawing (per the drawing provided she needed 42sf with no waste - to figure waste, it is COMMON practice to add 10% of additional material which brought her total square footage to 46.2 - so, based on the square footage per box (10.83sf) she had the choice of 4 boxes which is 43.32 square feet or 5 boxes which is 54.15. She chose the 5 boxes). She then proceeded to tell us she would like a full refund of the extra box of tile. It was explained to her again that it was a special order tile and the Vendor would NOT let us return it. After numerous phone calls to Cassa Stone and the salesperson insisting on the refund, it was again decided as a courtesy to the customer to give the refund of $102.00. This was a total loss to Cassa Stone as there is nothing we can do with 1 box of tile, we are unable to return it to the Vendor.

I have attached a copy of the refund document that our mutual client signed. If there was an issue with the shipping why would it not be brought up and stated on the refund letter on that date? She called numerous times to get a refund for the tile and at no time was the shipping brought up.

Thanking you in advance for your courtesies

Cassa Stone and Floor

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

02/17/2012Problems with Product / Service
12/09/2011Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tile-Non-Ceramic-Contractors & Dealers, Contractors- Flooring, Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication, Tile Sales, Water Damage Restoration, Floor Materials - Retail, Counter Tops, Cabinets, Millwork, Hardscapes, Outdoor Kitchens, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/13/2005Business started: 01/05/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulations
10 Park Plaza, Suite 5170
Boston, MA02116
(888) 283-3757
http://www.mass.gov/consumer

Department of Public Safety
One Asburton Place Room 1301
Boston, MA02108
(617) 727-3200
http://www.mass.gov/dps/

BBB records show a license number of 163277 for this company, issued by Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulations. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/consumer. The expiration date of this license is 05/27/2015.

Type: Home Improvement Contractor

Check License Status: http://services.oca.state.ma.us/hic/licdetails.aspx?txtSearchLN=65026

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of CS-079319 for this company, issued by Department of Public Safety. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/dps/. The expiration date of this license is 05/14/2015.

Type: Construction Supervisor

Check License Status: http://elicense.chs.state.ma.us/Verification/Details.aspx?agency id=1&license id=268267&

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 2003, MA

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Terri Cassanelli (Account Manager)
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

Tile-Non-Ceramic-Contractors & Dealers, Contractors- Flooring, Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication, Tile Sales, Water Damage Restoration, Floor Materials - Retail, Counter Tops, Cabinets, Millwork, Hardscapes, Outdoor Kitchens, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Products & Services

According to information provided by this company, it offers tile and stone importing, fabrication, and installation as well as flooring, home improvements and home additions.

Industry Tips
CONTRACTORS - REMODELING

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cassa Stone Inc.

516 Boston Turnpike

Shrewsbury, MA 01545

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 516 Boston Turnpike 

    Shrewsbury, MA 01545(508) 845-3100

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cassa Stone Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Tile-Non-Ceramic-Contractors & Dealers

CONTRACTORS - REMODELING
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.