BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/27/2013

Teddy Bear Pools, Inc.

Phone: (413) 594-2666Fax: (413) 598-8823

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
07/22/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Teddy Bear Pools policy of handling warranty issues by email or USPS only. I have had limited or no success in resolving my warranty complaint.
On 3/20/99 I purchased an 18 X 33 Ester Williams Millennium pool from *********************************************. The pool was professionally installed by **************************************. Per the Ester Williams brochure the pool comes with a 60 year warranty which is now covered by Teddy Bear Pools. In February I noticed that 2 of the extruded aluminum panels were splitting apart. I contacted Teddy Bear pools by email on March 19, 2013 to file a claim. Teddy Bear pools requested copies of the original sales receipt and pictures of the damaged area by USPS. I received no response for about 3 weeks after which I received an email telling me I was not covered due to problem was due to corrosion over an extended period of time. Since the pool is covered for 60 years and sits outside in the weather, if the pool was treated properly we feel we should be covered for a corrosion problem. Since they told me that I am not covered they offered me the parts to fix the problem at a discounted price. I emailed back to find out about getting the parts and I have not received a response in about a months time. They called me after I called the main office and the representative called me and left a message to call him back. After repeated attempts to contact the representative back I have not received any return calls. I would like to get my pool fixed.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be able to order the parts for the discounted price to fix my pool even if I don't agree with their review of my claim. I don't have any other options but to get the parts from Teddy Bear pools. My settlement would be to get my parts at the discounted price.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ************ **********
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: ***********************
An email was sent to ************* (today 07/11/13) instructing him on how to order the parts that he needs along with a discount code so he can purchase them for a price that is in line with the portion that the customer is responsible for. Copy of email below.

*************,

I was forwarded the claim from the Better Business Bureau in regards to the parts you were looking for to repair your swimming pool. Unfortunately we dropped the ball in responding to your original request for ordering the parts.

Below I have inserted a link directly to the replacement slats for Interlocking walls. You can click on it and you will be brought right to the page where you can order the replacement wall slats that you are in need of. The only color available is what you see on the web. They are all also 52" in height and if you have a 48" wall they can be cut to size.

http://www.teddybearpools.com/catalog/above ground pool accessories/esther williams and johnny weissmuller pool parts/replacement slats for interlocking walls.html


When you are checking out after ordering what you need you can enter the following code to receive 60% off ( ***** ) which would be a little better discount than what you were originally quoted from the Warranty department. Once you have placed the order and it is processed the order will be shipped out within a day or so and you will receive a tracking number from FedEx in regards to the package.

If you have any further questions please feel free to let me know.


***************
******************

Teddy Bear Pools & Spas
41 East Street
Chicopee, MA 01020

***********************

Business' Final Response
Hello,

I have corresponded with ************* as you can see from the emails I copied and pasted below (highlighted yellow) and ************* has indeed placed his order which you can also see from attached copy of order (Screenshot posted below emails) with a 60% discount on all items. There were items that were not covered under warranty but the discount was applied to all of them. I am requesting that this Complaint be listed closed/resolved.

Please let me know if there are any other issues.

Thank you.

************
****************** Teddy Bear Pools & Spas



*************,

I just went in to the administration side of the website and created a discount code for you. The discount code is *********** Pleas be sure to enter that code just like you see here. You do not have to have it underlined. The code is set to expire on July 21st and the code will only work on swimming pool replacement parts.

Once you have placed the order and it is processed the order will be shipped out within a day or so and you will receive a tracking number from FedEx in regards to the package.


If you have any further questions please feel free to let me know.



***************
******************

Teddy Bear Pools & Spas
41 East Street
Chicopee, MA 01020

***********************

***********************
http://www.teddybearpools.com

"Where the fun never stops"





Sent from Windows Mail

From: *****************
Sent: Monday, July 15, 2013 3:30 PM
To: ************

Mr. *******,
I tried to order the parts needed to fix my pool and the discount code you supplied me came up expired on 12/31/12. Do you have another discount code for us to use?

Thank you

**************

From: ************ (mailto:***********************)
Sent: Thursday, July 11, 2013 1:09 PM
To: *********************
Subject: Warranty Claim
Importance: High

*************,

I was forwarded the claim from the Better Business Bureau in regards to the parts you were looking for to repair your swimming pool. Unfortunately we dropped the ball in responding to your original request for ordering the parts.

Below I have inserted a link directly to the replacement slats for Interlocking walls. You can click on it and you will be brought right to the page where you can order the replacement wall slats that you are in need of. The only color available is what you see on the web. They are all also 52" in height and if you have a 48" wall they can be cut to size.

http://www.teddybearpools.com/catalog/above ground pool accessories/esther williams and johnny weissmuller pool parts/replacement slats for interlocking walls.html


When you are checking out after ordering what you need you can enter the following code to receive 60% off ( ***** ) which would be a little better discount than what you were originally quoted from the Warranty department.

Once you have placed the order and it is processed the order will be shipped out within a day or so and you will receive a tracking number from FedEx in regards to the package.

If you have any further questions please feel free to let me know.


***************
******************

Teddy Bear Pools & Spas
41 East Street
Chicopee, MA 01020

************************

***********************
http://www.teddybearpools.com

"Where the fun never stops"






************
****************** Teddy Bear Pools & Spas

06/26/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This letter of complaint is in reference to a disagreement with Teddy Bear Pool & Spas of Chicopee, Massachusetts regarding the installation of a new in ground pool liner (see endosed document).
I was present during the installation and noticed that after the side and bottom moldings were installed to the stair area the excess liner material was cut away. I then noticed the seam in the front of the stair area was not placed in the 90 degree corner formed at the side and bottom of the eight foot length section along the bottom of the liner thus creating a "tenting" problem of the liner where the liner does not fit properly to the 90 degree angle between the side and bottom of the pool.
I questioned this and 1 was assured that upon filling the pool with water this would stretch and fit properly. I was advised to fill the pool to a depth of six inches of water in the low end and they would come back the next day to ensure all was ok. I called Dave Ballucci (salesman) and asked him to come over and take a look at the tenting problem at the stairs. He stated he would be over with the installer the next day.

The following day the installer and **** arrived at 9:30 AM. I explained the tenting concern with both of them and asked why this seam was not like all the other seams around the sides and bottom of the pool which fit perfectly at a 90 degree angle.
***** stated if they did that there would be wrinkles on the bottom of the pool and thought that the wrinkles would not be acceptable to me. He then assured me after fill up the downward vertical pressure would correct the problem and settle the tenting to the 90 degree corner. iwas advised to fill the pool to capacity and start the filter operation for a few days before adding any pool chemicals to balance the water.
I started filling the pool the morning of Wednesday, May 28th and by 6:00 PM Friday, May 30th the pool water was at the level arrow on the skimmer. The filter was then started. I checked the water and there were no problems through the weekend.
Monday morning, June rd the water level was down 1.5 inches. I called Teddy Bear Pools and Spas and spoke to **-*** and she stated she would get someone over to check the leak.
Mike the installer of the stair liner arrived to inspect the pool that afternoon. When he came into the pool area he went immediately to the bottom right side of the stair to check for a leak. He used a dye solution and determined that the leak was in this area of the stair.
He then stated they would return the next day to empty the pool water beneath the stair level to repair the leak. When they returned on Tuesday the water level was down eight inches and the liner had ripped and pulled away from the bottom plastic molding 3-4 inches. To correct this they pulled up the tom lining, added 2-sided tape to only the left side of the stair area, reinstalled the molding, and added oversized screws. After completion i was directed to fill the pool with six inches of water and they would return the next morning to check on the repair.
That morning before they arrived I requested the salesman also come to see the results of the repair. When they arrived i stated that I was not completely satisfied because although they had attempted to repair the problem the tenting problem still remained. Dave then said the liner ripped because my walk-in stairs are too old to have a proper installation. l was never made aware of the stairs posing a potential
problem. I asked why he never raised this issue initially and he replied they did the best he could. He then asked what I would want to correct the problem of the poor installation. I stated, "Replace the liner." He stated boldly, "That's not going to happen."
I then asked if Ted Hebert (the owner of Teddy Bear Pool & Spas) was available to come over and assess the repair. When Mr. Hebert arrived he saw the repair and was given all the information after which he also stated replacing the liner was not going to happen. He did offer a guarantee to fix any future liner problem in the stair area concerning this installation for the life of the liner.
We are extremely dissatisfied with the installation of the liner around the eight foot stair bottom section of the pool. I am hoping that these complaints will give your bureau enough cause to look into this matter.
Enclosed you will find a letter from Teddy Bear Pools & Spas as well as roe of the many photos showing the poor installation and patch repair of a new pool liner. Thank you in advance for reviewing our complaint. If there is any other information you require please feel free to contact us and we look forward to hearing from your organization.

Business Response
We received notification from the Better Business Bureau that you are not happy with your liner installation.

In regards to your complaint about your liner install, it was discovered that once the liner was removed, that the age and condition of your stairs, might make the install difficult. We were called back because you were losing water and it was discovered to be leaking at the stair area. The crew came the following day, dropped the water level, made the repair, and began filling the pool again. The installation of your liner was compromised by the age of the stairs in a 40 yr old pool. Because of that, the liner does not fit perfectly. Your calls were always answered promptly, and the installation was done professionally and on time. In order to get a perfect installation, ***** suggested that you would need a new set of stairs, which would be very costly, and something you were not willing to do at this time.

We did offer an extended warrantee, and replacement of the liner, if deemed necessary. We would cover the liner and you would cover the cost of water and labor. This is standard procedure for our industry.

We do value you as a long time customer and are saddened by the thought that we were not able to come to a satisfactory agreement. I do feel that my staff has gone above and beyond in working with you at the store with your chemical needs and also with facilitating your order and the schedule of your installation. Unfortunately, we do not believe that we **** ever be able to make you completely satisfied with the set of stairs you currently have.

We have had several discussions with you in order to come to a satisfactory conclusion. We'll return your full deposit, as requested. Please call another company and schedule a liner replacement to be completed with in 3 months. Once they've installed your new liner, we **** come out and pick up ours for another project we have in mind. At that time, we'll issue you a refund for your full deposit. This letter, along with your deposit refund, **** void any future responsibility with your pool and liner.

Regards,

***** * ********* ** of ******** **********


******** G ******, Owner of Teddy Bear Pools & Spa


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Re: Case XXXXXX Teddy Bear Pool & Spas Inc.

Dear ****,

Received your letter dated X-XX-XXXX in response to information from Teddy Bear Pools. A liner replacement is in the process of being finalized with another pool company.

I do have some concerns as before, in the first sentence of Teddy Bear Pools letter, dated 8 July 2014, the following was never passed **** me Re: age, condition, or difficulty that would make installation a problem. It was the improper installation of the liner that is the problem. The fiberglass stairs are not the problem. Tenting and vertical downward water pressure caused the liner to pull away from the plastic molding. Teddy Bear Pools offer to this matter is not acceptable to me. I **** not take the responsibility for removing the liner for which Teddy Bear Pools has another use for. I propose the following; at a mutual time for both parties Teddy Bear Pools at their expense can empty the pool water and remove their liner for future use. Please note standard procedure for liner replacement by pool companies is to cut the liner for ease of removal and then dispose of the liner, just as Teddy Bear Pools did when installing the current liner.

I **** not allow myself or the new pool company to be responsible for any rips, tears, or damage that would jeopardize my deposit. If Teddy Bear Pools declines the above request to remove the liner then I **** need written permission from Teddy Bear Pools to empty the pool water and remove the liner at my expense with no guarantee of the liners condition due to the removal.

Sincerely,

******* *********


Final Business Response
To whom it may concern,

In my last conversation with **** on July 13th in reagrads to Mr ******** last request. We **** not pay $300 to have the liner removed in one piece, please remove in pcs if necessary and leave it in its entirety in one place. We'll pick it up, and deliver Mr ********* refund of $2000. We **** not reimburse for any water and call it a wash for him using the pool since installation.

Regards

***** *****
Manager
Inground Dept
Teddy Bear Pools

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Spas & Hot Tubs-Supplies & Parts, Spas & Hot Tubs-Service & Repair, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Swimming Pools - Maintenance, Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Swimming Pools- Above Ground, Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.