BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

The Stove Place

Phone: (508) 754-7091Fax: (508) 752-8085View Additional Phone Numbers95 Hartford Turnpike, ShrewsburyMA 01545-4661 Send email to The Stove Place

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

The Stove Place is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for The Stove Place include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on The Stove Place

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
12/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
HEAT SHIELD NOT INSTALLED, BLOWER DID NOT WORK ,POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE
HAD A WOOD STOVE INSTALLED ON 11/08/2014 ORDERED STOVE AT THE BEGINNING OF OCTOBER 2014 WHEN STOVE WAS INSTALLED THE HEAT SHEILD WE PAID FOR WAS STILL NOT IN, BLOWER/FAN ON STOVE DID NOT WORK CALLED THE STORE AND WAS ADVISED OUR FIRE WAS NOT HOT ENOUGH AFTER READING ****** IT STATED THE ****** SETTTING WOULD TRUMP THE AUTO SETTING, WE THEN CHANGED THE SETTINGS AND THE BLOWER STILL DID NOT WORK, CALLED STORE AGAIN AND AFTER TWO DAYS OF STILL NOT HEARING BACK I THEN CALLED THE STORE AGAIN THEY STATED THEY WOULD BE OUT AS SOON AS HEAT SHEILD WAS IN, I ASKED WHY THE HEAT SHEILD WAS STILL NOT IN WHEN IT WAS ORDERED OVER A MONTH AGO THEY DID NOT HAVE AN ANWSER. A FEW DAYS LATER THE INSTALLER CALLED LEAVING MESSGAE ON MY HUSBANDS VOICEMAIL STATING THE SHEILD WAS IN AND HE COULD POSSIBLY COME OUT THE FOLLOWING DAY, WHEN HE NEVER CALLED THE FOLLOWING I DAY I CALLED HIM DIRECTLY AND HE AGAIN TOLD ME FIRE WAS NOT HOT ENOUGH AND I STATED IT WAS PLENTY HOT ENOUGH AND IT SHOULD WORK ON ****** SETTING HE THEN TOLD ME HE COULD MAYBE COME OUT LATER IN THE EVENING AND WOULD CALL BACK TO CONFIRM, HE CALLED MY HUSBAND LATER STATING HE WAS NOT ABLE TO MAKE IT AND COULD AGAIN POSSIBLY COME TOMORROW MY HUSBAND THEN SAID IM TIRED OF CHANGING MY SCHEDULE AROUND FOR NOT A DEFINITE ANWSER, AFTER STILL NOT BEING CONTACTED ABOUT A DAY A TIME MY HUSBAND WENT TO THE STORE WHERE HE WAS GREETED AND ASKED HOW HE WAS DOING HE STATED HE WASNT GOOD BECAUSE HE SPENT A LOT OF MONEY ON A STOVE THAT STILL DID NOT WORK AND THE GENTLMEN SAID WELL YOU NEVER TALKED TO ME AND HE SAID NO BUT I HAVE TALKED TO OTHER PEOPLE AND YOU HAVE VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THE GENTLEMEN WORKING THEN STARTED SWEARING AND YELLING AT HIM THAT HE WOULD BE AT OUR HOUSE TOMORROW TO PICK UP HIS * STOVE, MY HUSBNAD ASKED WHAT TIME AND AGAIN THE GENTLEMAN SWORE AT HIM STATING BETWEEN 12-8PM AND MY HUSBAND STATED THAT WAS NOT GOOD ENOUGH HE WOULD NEED HIM THERE BETWEEN 12-3, THIS MAN WAS RUDE AND VERY UNPROFESSIONAL WE HAD GIVEN THEM SEVERAL CHANCES TO COME OUT AND FIX THE PRODUCT. HE SHOULD NOT BE ABLE TO SPEAK TO ANYONE IN THE TONE THAT HE DID. I WOULD LIKE A FULL REFUND MY DAMPER REINSTALLED AND AN APOLOGY TO MY FAMILY FOR THE HASSEL AND THE WAY WE ESP MY HUSBAND WAS TREATED.

Desired Settlement
FULL REFUND, DAMPER REPLACED ,APOLOGY

Business Response
The customers complaints have been addressed. She has a fully operational wood insert in her home. I'm sure they will have many years of warm winters ahead.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Stoves-Wood, Coal, Etc.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/22/1999Business started: 01/01/1976
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul H. Carbonneau (President)Customer Contact: Jody Carbonneau (Manager)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Stoves-Wood, Coal, Etc.

Alternate Business Names
Carbonneau Enterprises, Inc

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for The Stove Place

95 Hartford Turnpike

Shrewsbury, MA 01545-4661

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 95 Hartford Turnpike 

    Shrewsbury, MA 01545-4661Fax: (508) 752-8085

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*The Stove Place is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 287-8683
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Stoves-Wood, Coal, Etc.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.