BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Pellets Direct, LLC

(508) 731-0047View Additional Phone Numbers73 Ironstone Road, UxbridgeMA 01569-2219 Send email to Pellets Direct, LLChttp://www.pelletsdirect.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Pellets Direct, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Pellets Direct, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Pellets Direct, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
11/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i was told id receive my order in october. after 1.5 mos for the order i received a call from customer service who told me it was being cancelled.
i placed an order for 3 pallets (tons) of pellets on september 15, 2015. since this is our primary source of heat, i asked when we could expect soonest delivery. i was told they would be delivered sometime in october, and would be given 1 week notice. i waited 1.5 months and started calling the last week in october to find out when i would receive my order. i left at least 10 messages in the span of a week and finally received a call back today. the man who called had an attitude from the start. when i asked when i could expect my shipment he said 'we have the pellets here. you can pick them up whenever you want' even though i had paid an additional $79 for delivery. he went on to say that he works 15 hrs a day and doesn't appreciate how many messages i had left. when i said that i was disappointed in how terrible their customer service has been, and also that it is our primary source of heat and its getting cold and this is the first we've heard back from them...he lost his temper, told me that he didnt have to deal with this, and that he was canceling my order and then hung up on me. now, we are left in a very unfortunate situation since most pellet places are selling out of their stock and if available, we'll have to wait another month for delivery. I'm wondering if we have any legal rights here...i placed an order, gave them my cc# and waited the allotted time they told me. i dont believe they charged my card, but if we placed an order and then they just decided to cancel it because their customer service rep is hotheaded, it seems we should have some type of recourse.

Desired Settlement
i would either like to receive the pellets that i originally ordered, or i would like a civil explanation of why they cannot complete my order...something more sensical than just that their worker lost his temper and just decided to cancel my order.

Business Response
After placing an order on 9-15 we contacted the customer via email that there would be a delay for shipping of this product due to delivery distance and availability of trucks. We informed the customer of an October time frame but could not guarantee depending on weather or other delays. The customer accepted this with the understanding that the order would not be finalized with payment until a delivery date was set. The customer left 1 out of control insulting message then a 2nd even more insulting message in the same day before we could get back to her. The Dispatch Director did return her calls later that day to try to resolve the situation with a set delivery date and time. The Dispatch Director tried 3 times during the call to set an agreeable date and time for delivery. unfortunately the customer was not done with the insults and continued to insult and insult but not listen to a solution. It was then decided to end the call due to the defamation of character that continued by the customer. The customer was informed from the day the order was placed that due to distance and availability of trucks the order may not meet her expectations. To verbally attack us in phone messages and live on the phone just to get a response cannot be accepted. To falsely accuse and call an employee of ours a name in this complaint is just wrong and discriminatory. We have been up front from day 1 with the customer and have not finalized the order via payment as the delivery date & time could not be confirmed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Absolutely nothing about the above response is accurate. I left a message a day for 10 days straight, before i received a return call from their 'customer service' rep. When i finally heard from someone, he was very antagonistic from the start of the conversation. He yelled at me that he worked '15 hrs a day, and didnt have time to get back to every call' following up with a very antagonistic 'we have the pellets. if you want them, just come pick them up'! At no point in the conversation did i insult the person or defame their character. in fact, the most insulting thing i said was that their customer service was 'horrible', which is when he screamed he was canceling my order and hung up on me. Ive honestly never experienced this in my life. I ordered my pellets with another company the next day, and when i told them about Pellets Direct, the woman said she had heard the same exact complaint from SEVERAL other people who ordered with them. Serious anger management problems with employees at this company. Stay away from ordering with them.

01/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Pellets direct had an early buy program for Green gold hardwood pellets.I followed the instr.& ordered them,finally were del. but they are incorrect.
I ordered my Pellets early buy 5 tons of green gold hardwood pellets ordered may XX XXXX, I called in July to secure a delivery date. they said they were running late I called back in October, they set up a date. When I called in late fall.I was told by the owner, Sorry we had an inventory problem and I am sending you Lignetics wood pellet fuel.They are a different Pellet I was upset and concerned as I followed instructions for Early Buy guarentee and was now Not getting what I ordered in the spring. The pellets came and my contractor put pellets in storage for a $200.00 charge.I started to burn the pellets and my stoves, were getting smoke, and clogged. I called and said these are not working ***** "HUNG UP" on me and was not going to help me. I called ***** Well over 7 Times, He called back after several days and said he had my pellets in that I originally ordered, however in his contract it clearly stated in the condition it was sent. The pellets are all in storage in my home in the bags stacked neatly. He explained he wanted them put back in the driveway on the wooden pallets and I was to have them shrink wrapped again. I explained i paid someone $200.00 to store them , I am a single parent alone and the pellets are all saved in storage. He then said he did not have the manpower to swap the pellets for the original pellets I ordered. Upon reading the contract his terms are: "Pellets Direct LLC will replace or credit pellet purchases when authorized by the manufacturer. We strongly recommend and encourage all out customers to try all products before purchasing full tonnage." ***** did NOT give me the option to try the pellets.
Not only did I not order this pellet I feel it is a switch & bait for the pellets that were delivered to me. I want him to come get the pellets he sent and replace them with the pellets I ordered. My pellet stoves were smoking and had smoke odor. I called ******* Home & Garden they came out and inspected my stove, They explained that the lignetics wood pellet fuel clogged up my stove and was not a good match , I paid them over $200.00 to hammer out debris from the Lignetics wood pellet fuel pellets.

Desired Settlement
I want Pellets Direct to come pick up my pellets in storage and deliver the correct pellets that were ordered under Early Buy Green Gold Hardwood pellets .also I want pellets direct to reimburse me in pellets my out of pocket expenses

Business Response
This order and pricing was placed during the Early Buy Season (opportunity to secure spring pricing for postponed delivery)for a delivery to be made later in the summer per request of *******. When ******* called looking for a delivery date she was informed that the product desired would not be available for a few more weeks but if she would like a specific date we could upgrade here product to a higher grade product with no additional cost to her. The recommended upgrade is burned by hundreds of our customers as well as myself in Breckwell stoves, like hers, with improved performance. Theresa agreed to the upgraded product and the delivery time frame. The product was delivered on shrink wrapped pallets during the agreed upon time frame and signed for by the customer. Weeks later we were contacted by ******* stating she was having issues burning the pellets and wanted the product returned. After playing phone tag thru several attempts to contact ******* we agreed to exchange her product for any other product we have available. When we tried to set up a swap out date ******* informed us that she had dismantled all the pallets and stored them in her basement. We informed her that we can swap out any product as long as it is in the condition we delivered it in(per our terms and conditions). Because ******* dismantled the product from the delivered pallets she is more than welcome to bring back any product she desires to our retail location for swap out. ******* refused this offer. ******* did not state the particular issue with her stove until this complaint. The statement from the customer, in this complaint, that the stove had smoking issues and build up in the burn pot lead me to believe an underlying stove safety issue needs to be addressed before any further use. It is recommended in the maintenance intervals by Breckwell (the stove manufacture) to stir the burn pot daily with the tool provided to prevent build up. Pellet Stoves generally do not emit smoke in a home unless an air flow (mechanical or sealant) issue is present. Air flow issues that may cause improper combustion in the burn pot will cause a build up in the pot. A pressure/vacuum test of the stove could help to reveal the underlying issue. We wish the customer would have given us all the information that was needed so that this issue would not have to come to this complaint. It looks like a maintenance issue may be to blame for the performance issue of this particular pellet. If the customer would like to return this product to our retail location for exchange anyway we would be more than happy to accommodate this.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
These are the facts and the issues surrounding Pellets Direct: ****** ordered Pellets in the Spring as in years before in good faith of a agreement. July 2013 was a month I remember ,I called to see when the pellets would be delivered, as we had 2 deaths in my family my sister Kathleen, I had taken care of her in hospice and also my nephew.With these 2 emergency's I needed to know when the truck was coming . Pellets Direct said they were behind in there delivery schedule,. I never heard from them until I called in the fall.Pellets direct explained that they had "an inventory problem" and the pellets I ordered were not available and could not predict when they could get more.I suspect they told me that because they DID NOT hold my order for me. This was a SECOND issue first running behind in the schedule now they gave my order away to another customer. I explained that I wanted to know when they would be arriving, they said they had not idea when, but they could upgrade my pellet and send me a pellet that was similar.At no time did I agree to accept the change. I told them I had at least 1/2 ton of green gold left from last year. They told me they had no idea when they could get me the pellets I ordered. They set up a date and delivered "5 Tons" of pellets , I was burning the green gold for weeks to use them up. When I began using the pellets they delivered my stoves smoked, and clogged the stoves were full of ash and the pellets did not burn well.My house was not as warm and then it became so bad I called ******* Stove and Garden from Oxford Ma.They had cleaned my stoves in the summer to keep up maintenance for the winter,. They concluded that when I began burning the new pellets it was not the best for my stoves and it was better to stick with the Green Gold pellets , they also explained they had a lot of problems with people using that pellet on some of the Brickwell Stoves. When I called Pellets Direct ******** and explained what has happened & ******** stated " THIS CALL IS OVER " and proceeded to HANG UP ON ME. This was so unprofessional and inappropriate. I called for several days and Pellets Direct would not return my calls,They called my office phone after hours * they were aware that the best time to reach me is on my cell phone in the evenings. When we spoke, they agreed to swap the pellets if I carried 5 tons of pellets to my driveway; and shrink wrap the pellets. I am a single mother, and over 60 and I paid $200.00 to have someone bring the pellets into the storage room. I said it was unreasonable that " Pellets Direct" gave me a product they picked out, I had NO choice. They delivered 5 Tons . Pellets Direct explained " I do not have the time or manpower to help you. Why would a company do the opposite of a policy that they put in every contract? Why would they deliver 5 Tons of Pellets to me without allowing my family to try the pellets, offer my the opportunity. I find this misleading on their part. If they followed the Policy they put into place, when I began burning the pellets this problem could have been avoided,. I paid for the Pellets & Rollins $200.00 the contractor $200.00. and I only wanted to have a warm home for the winter. We can resolve the problem by. 1. I want them to deliver to me pellets I ORDERED. Swap out the ones that were delivered. Reimburse me for the cost of the repair for my stoves damages. Here are the Facts: This is a " Switch & Bait". The product I ordered was not delivered. I was told 24 hrs in advance they were bringing a different product. I did not realize there were bringing all 5 Tons. In closing: I have all documentation from Robbing Home & garden on maintenance on my stoves. they were at my home to clean and perform maintenance earlier in the year and they also documented that they Pellets debris & ash needed to be hammered out.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Stoves-Wood, Coal, Etc., Wood Pellets

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/28/2008Business started: 01/01/2004
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Tammy Robbins (Manager)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Robbins (Manager)
Business Category

Stoves-Wood, Coal, Etc., Wood Pellets

Alternate Business Names
Pelletsdirect.com

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Pellets Direct, LLC

73 Ironstone Road

Uxbridge, MA 01569-2219

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 73 Ironstone Road 

    Uxbridge, MA 01569-2219(508) 731-0048
    (508) 499-3769
    (508) 779-0481
    (508) 449-3769

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Pellets Direct, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (508) 731-0048
  • (508) 499-3769
  • (508) 779-0481
  • (508) 449-3769
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Stoves-Wood, Coal, Etc.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.