BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/24/2004

F.L. Roberts & Company, Inc.

Find a Location

(413) 781-744493 West Broad St, F.L. Roberts Corporate Office, SpringfieldMA 01102

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/24/2004

BBB has determined that F.L. Roberts & Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised F.L. Roberts & Company, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
12/17/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Sales Complaint Issue

Complaint: FL Roberts car wash BOGO (Black Friday) bait and switch along with failing to refund money back to original Card.
On Friday November 29, 2013 I placed a web on line order at www.http://flroberts.com the offer listed both on the website and in print showed Bug one get One Free Car wash this would be added at time of "check out" after Successfully completing the "check out" I received an e-mail conformation and a receipt (***********) that shows a total of $95.00 being billed to a company visa card. Moments later I was called by a lone female whom identified herself as one **** **** from customer service confirming my order and acknowledged that the car wash order was in fact Buy one get one. The reason for the call was I was unable to see my rewards card # Star confirmed my order **** and stated that the rewards will be posted to my card and did in fact update my at the time out of date information.
On Wednesday December 4 2013 Star called again to advise me that my order will not be "BOGO" and asked if I wanted to proceed with the order. I advised Star the offer that was stated on the web and on the flyer I received showed "BOGO". I was advised at this point that it excluded the Wilbraham MA. Location and was for "books" only Star was advised to do the by one get on on that location she refused then was advised to cancel the order. They money was to go back to the original Visa card that was charged. Star claimed this would "Not be possible" and said they check request has been completed I advised Star that it needs to be refunded to the original card. Star was given 72 hours to process said credit.

On Friday December 6 2013 I checked with our merchant services and no such credit was ever issued from this vendor. The Vendor was called and I was sent to voice mail advised to wait for a check this was not an option. Call transferred line disconnected.

This is a possible bait and switch and shall be kept on record. Accounting or Star could not give me a reason as to why they can't credit or refund to the Visa card.

Initial Business Response
12/9/13

Please close this case. Mr. ******* ordered a touch-free gift card for our touch-free car wash. touch-free gift cards are not BOGO free. Only our car wash booklets were BOGO free which is clear stated on our fyler. I called Mr. ******* and told him that the touch-free gift card is not part of the bogo promotion. I asked him if he still wanted the gift card. He said only if it was bogo. I told him I can't do that. I submitted a check request to refund his order. He didn't want that, so I sent an email to our accounting department asking them to contact our merchant carrier to see if they could credit his card back. They got back to me on 12/6/13 saying they were able to credit his card back and that Mr. ******* would see a credit this week. The week of 12/9/13. I sent Mr. ******* an email informing him of the credit to his card and I sent hime 2 complimantary car washes for the inconveniece to his home address on 12/6/13.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

08/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Substandard service for oil change resulted in oil spewing from the gasket at the filter. Repeat oil change by same co. resulted in engine damage!
On Tuesday, July 23, 2013 my daughter took advantage of this Jiffy Lube's Crazy Tuesday discount oil change rates for the first time with te 2006 Ford Fusion which we had previously owned since new & serviced meticulously elsewhere. She was charged the full rate $42 & when she next drove the car on Thursday, July 25th, it ran rough & the engine oil light came on as she rolled into our drive 15min. away. Her father found NO oil in the engine when he checked immediately & an hour later. ******, the manager from Jiffy Lube, rode with me to our house on the morning of Friday, July 26th, in our other vehicle to check the 2006 Fusion. He too found NO oil in the engine & added 4 quarts of SAE 10W30 which he stated was the only weight oil they had in bottles. He assured me that he would remove all the heavier weight oil & replace it with manufacturer recommended SAE5W20 when they did a repeat oil change. We drove the Fusion to the Jiffy Lube on Memorial Drive in Chicopee where I was told they had done a complete repeat oil change after "finding the oil filter gasket blown" (******* words) from the first oil change done there. When asked what would cause a new oil filter gasket to "blow out" ****** could not give me an answer. ****** stated that it is Jiffy Lube's protocol to check pressures after every oil change to be sure the filters/parts are secured properly. He did not know how this could have been missed. He assured me they had washed the leaked oil from the engine and checked these pressures after the repeat oil change. I returned the car to our daughter 15 minutes away where the car was parked until she drove it that night. We both noted a slight chemical odor from the engine & thought it just residual from the cleaning. She next drove the car from ******************* in South Hadley to the scenic look out on I-91 North near Easthampton, where she emergently pulled off the freeway when she saw smoke billowing from her car in the rear view mirror. She had the fusion towed to ***'s Auto in South Hadley, a mechanic we trust. *** informed us today that oil is gushing from ** area near the starter. He is not equipped to pull the engine so suggested if we need to do so to determine the problem in order to deal with Jiffy Lube, that we take tow the car to the Family Ford where we purchased the vehicle new in 2006. Until this issue, this 2006 fusion was running smoothly & had mostly freeway miles which we had put on it. I returned to Jiffy Lube today & left a message on the ****************, **** ******* phone (XXX-XXX-XXXX) and have now received a call back from the *************, ****** (XXX-XXX-XXXX) who said he will contact our mechanic, ***, to discuss the status of the 2006 fusion engine problem.

Business' Initial Response
Jiffy lube had the vehicle diagnosed with Prefered Auto in West Springfield. It was found that the rear main seal was leaking. We authorized Prefered Auto to replace the seal. At this time the car is back in the customers hands.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

06/13/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased $20 fuel for my car on 04/26/2013, the lady on the cash register swiped my credit card twice by mistake, because she thought the first swipe did not go through. It came on my credit card a duplicate charge, then the ******* said to come back in a week to refund me the $20 to my credit, i tried so far 4 times to collect my money back and to get an apology, with no luck, i complained about the ******* with Mobile.Thanks

Consumer's Final Response
I got a call from the Mobile gas station *******, she apologized and she refunded me my money($20) back. The complaint is resolved now, thank you so much BBB for your help.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

01/19/2012Problems with Product / Service
05/30/2013Problems with Product / Service
12/28/2012Problems with Product / Service
05/23/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Service Stations-Gasoline & Oil, Gasoline & Diesel Fuel - Wholesale / Commercial , Gasoline-Wholesale, Lubricating Service - Automotive, Car Wash & Polish, Auto Detailing, Truck Stops, Diesel Fuel, Convenience Stores

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/11/1989Business started: 12/01/1920
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1931, MA

Business Management
Customer Contact: Ms. Mary Greeley
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Roberts (President)
Number of Employees

500

Business Category

Service Stations-Gasoline & Oil, Gasoline & Diesel Fuel - Wholesale / Commercial , Gasoline-Wholesale, Lubricating Service - Automotive, Car Wash & Polish, Auto Detailing, Truck Stops, Diesel Fuel, Convenience Stores

Products & Services

According to information provided by this company, it offers automotive lubricating service, car wash and polish, service station for gasoline and oil, and convenience store products.

Alternate Business Names
Jiffy Lube, FL Roberts, Jiffy Lube - West Springfield # 2561, Memorial Avenue Sunoco, Mohawk Trail Exxon, Allen Street Sunoco, Ludlow Sunoco, Greenfield Valero, Armory Street Sunoco, Easthampton Mobil, Whately Truck Stop, Leeds Sunoco, Belchertown Sunoco, Turners Falls FL Roberts, Longhill Sunoco, Agawam Mobil, Wilbraham Mobil, Broad Street Groc. Sunoco, Amherst Mobil, Westfield Street Sunoco, Broad Street Truck Stop Sunoco, Memorial Drive Mobil, Northampton Laser Wash, Memorial Avenue Car Wash, Westfield Car Wash, Riverbend Car Wash, Interior Clean Car Wash, Hadley Car Wash, Easthampton Car Wash, East Longmeadow Car Wash, Chicopee Car Wash, Ludlow Car Wash, Riverdale Car Wash, Greenfield Car Wash, Fillin Station, Wilbraham Laser Wash, Jiffy Lube - Feeding Hills # 2562, Jilly Lube - Hadley # 912, Jiffy Lube - East Longmeadow # 18, Jiffy Lube - Chicopee # 119, Jiffy Lube - Northampton # 1164, Jiffy Lube - Springfield # 177, Memorial Ave Laser, Longhill Laser Wash, Amherst Laser Wash, Jiffy Lube - Pittsfield # 948, East Columbus Mobil, Riverdale Mobil, Boston Road Car Wash, Pittsfield Golden Nozzle, Westfield Sunoco, Feeding Hills Sunoco, East Longmeadow Sunoco, West Springfield Sunoco, Breckwood Sunoco, Boston Road Sunoco, Sumner Ave Sunoco, Montgomery Street Sunoco
Industry Tips
REFUNDS & EXCHANGES

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for F.L. Roberts & Company, Inc.

93 West Broad St

Springfield, MA 01102

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*F.L. Roberts & Company, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Service Stations-Gasoline & Oil

REFUNDS & EXCHANGES
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.