BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/24/2004

F.L. Roberts & Company, Inc.

Phone: (413) 781-7444

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service12
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints13

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (13)
06/30/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Please see below.
Today at 9:45 AM paid $10.00 cash and waited for green light to proceed forward, didn't come on so I went forward hoping a sensor would help but it didn't. Worked for the 2 cars ahead of me. Called the phone# on the bldg and message was
they were closed. Waiting until Monday, I'm guessing it will be my word against theirs. I would appreciate being reimbursed my $10.00.
Thank you.

Desired Settlement
I would like my $10.00 back.

Business Response
6/28/16

Good morning,
I will send ******** a check for $10.00. This was not necessary at all. All she had to do was call back on Monday during normal business hours and we would have kindly refunded her money.

Thank you

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you for your quick response in being reimbursed. If there was an attendant on site this could have been resolved immediately.
Again thank you for your quick response.

04/29/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The Golden Nozzle car wash equipment damaged my 2013 Subaru ******* on December 28, 2015 - $40 and again on January 28, 2016 - $688.16
My vehicle sustained front end damage at the Golden Nozzle Car Wash on December 28, 2015 and on January 28, 2016 in the total amount of $728.16.

On SEVERAL occasions since purchasing my Subaru ******* sedan in early 2013, I have washed it at the Golden Nozzle Car Wash in ******* MA, a convenient location for me to stop on my way home from work.

I had not and have not made any alterations or had any repairs for damage to my vehicle since its purchase, with the exception of the below described repairs resulting from damage caused at the FL Roberts Golden Nozzle Car Wash in ******* MA.

On December 28, 2015 I drove my car through the Golden Nozzle car wash in ******* MA. I immediately filed a report with the attendant after noticing my car was damaged. The front right bumper was partially ripped off of the car. The attendant on duty was of no assistance. Basically, he handed me a report form on a clipboard and then took it back from me after I filled it out. He indicated a manager would call me the following day. I heard nothing from any representative of the company on the following day. Despite the fact that I sent an email to the corporate office and made several calls to the "main office" number provided on the Incident Claim Report - (XXX) XXX-XXXX, I was not contacted about the damage to my car. On each occasion I called, I was only provided the opportunity to leave messages (with **** ********** or the manager of the car wash division, whom I believe was identified as ***** *******), and received no response to any of my communications. I made SEVERAL attempts to contact the company, and received no response. I incurred the expense of $40 paid to ********* Auto Body, ** ********** Street, ********** MA, to repair the damage. I did not hear from any representative of the company until the day following the second incident of damage to my car on January 28, 2016.

On January 28, 2016 I drove my car through the FL Roberts Golden Nozzle car wash and it was again damaged. This time, the damage estimate is $688.16. My right front bumper was again partially ripped off of the car. The bumper cover is cracked and the corner support is broken, both needing replacement. Immediately upon exiting the carwash I filed a report. "********" an assistant manager took a look at the damage and signed the report I completed, promising someone would call me the next morning. After hearing nothing, I called the Assistant Manager ********* and left a voicemail in the afternoon of January 30th. He did call me back immediately and offered $80 (without seeing the damage to my car, any paperwork for repair or a damage estimate). He indicated to me that the car wash was not the cause of the damage and that it had not damaged any other cars. He insinuated my car is unique and is the only one that had been damaged, making it my car's fault. My husband and I met with ********* on Saturday, January 30th. I handed him the estimate for damage to my car. He stated that the $80 was all he could offer and indicated that if I "wanted" him to turn in the estimate to the office, he would. I, of course, indicated I wanted him to submit it with my claim. He told me (and my husband) to go ahead and file a complaint if that's what we needed to do, that he could do no more. He offered no further assistance or support, turned his back and walked away.

I am now faced with a $688.16 bill to repair my car for an incident that was in no way my fault and for which FL Robert Golden Nozzle Car Wash is washing their hands of responsibility. Neither my car nor I am the cause of the damage my car sustained at the car wash located at *** ****** Street in *******

FL Roberts Golden Nozzle should be held responsible for the $728.16 ($40.00 previously incurred and $688.16 for recent damage) to repair my 2013 Subaru ******* to the condition it was in prior to entering the car wash.

Desired Settlement
Resolution of the issue described in my complaint, above, is for payment by FL Roberts Golden Nozzle to me in the amount of $728.16, the total cost to repair my vehicle to the same condition it was in prior to my entering the Golden Nozzle car wash at *** ****** Street on December 28, 2015 and January 28, 2016.

I am in possession of the following documents in support of this claim:
Copy of Incident Claim Report dated 12/28/15;
Copy of Receipt for Car Wash service dated 12/28/15;
Copy of email sent to FL Roberts from its website page on December 29, 2015;
Paid Invoice from ********* Auto Body dated 01/09/16 - $40.00;
Copy of Incident Claim Report dated 01/28/16;
Copy of Receipt for Cash Wash service dated 01/28/16;
Preliminary Estimate for repair from ********* Auto Body 01/30/16 - $688.16
Photographs
Copy of Receipt for Cash Wash service dated April 16, 2015 - as proof of prior visits

Business Response
We looked into Mrs. ***** ******** claim. We washed thousands of cars between both times she went through. We had no equipment issues or other bumpers come off during that time. Which makes us believe there was something wrong with her car prior to going through the wash. If she had the bumper re-attached for $40 the first time there was obviously some sort of problem with the clips on the bumper and that's probably why it came off the second time. We did tell her to go through her insurance co which she did and we have been in contact with them as well.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I totally disagree with this accounting. There was nothing wrong with my car before entering the car wash on December 29th and there was certainly nothing wrong with the bumper on January 29th, after having it repaired at a certified body shop. Only defective equipment in the car wash could have removed and cracked the front bumper. The body work to my vehicle for the damage on January 29th totaled over $750. Additionally, I would like it noted that I was never told to go through insurance. I was simply offered $80, which I declined for obvious reasons. I was, in fact, told to do what I had to do by an assistant car wash manager. I received no communication from any other representative of the company. I have had to pay an$300 insurance deductible for the repair of my vehicle in addition to the $40 I spent on the initial damage. While my insurance company will work on retrieving reimbursement for my deductible, I am still looking to receive $40 for the initial repair work to my vehicle.

Final Business Response
I just called ***** and spoke to her on the phone. We came to a resolution. She was satisfied with the resolution.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While I have accepted the resolution as discussed by telephone on March 4, 2016, I have received no confirmation of that resolution, i.e., I have not yet received reimbursement for my deductible, nor have I received reimbursement for out-of-pocket repairs made to my vehicle after the initial damage. Per my March 4, 2016 discussion with **** of FL Robert/Golden Nozzle, I will be reimbursed in full for these amounts. Once I receive the funds, I will consider the matter resolved. Until that time, I do not want it closed. I will be happy to add my resolution comments upon receipt of the total fund.
Hi ****,

I have been notified that my check for full payment of monies expended to repair my car is on its way.

Thank you for your help.

*****

04/14/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Would not do engine repair damage or compensate for full value to have repair done else where with estimate.
On February 5th I had the oil changed in my 2001 PT Cruiser at the Pittsfield location. Then on March 30th around 4pm the oil light went on went to drive immediately to Jiffy Lube car broke down on the way on ****** road did not make 1 mile. Called for Tow to ******** ******** Garage. The next morning *** ****** the mechanic called and asked who did the oil change because the plug was missing and the engine seized and needs to be replaced. We went to Jiffy Lube and spoke with them they did not deny responsibility but will only give us a check for $1000 not the $3000 needed to fix the engine, they said that is what the car is worth and that is all they will pay. We can not buy a car for that amount so I don't know where they are coming up with this.

Desired Settlement
either repair or give us the $3000 estimate we got to fix from a third party.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******* ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@*************
FL Roberts has accepted partial responsibility for the damage incurred to Mr. ******'s 20001 Chrysler PT Cruiser. FL Roberts has offered $1000 as compensation for the damage incurred. This amount is 10% more than the book value of the vehicle according to Kelley Blue Book. FL Roberts feels that this payment is sufficient for the damages incurred.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't understand why they can only claim partial responsibility when it was their negligence.

*** for us to buy a PT Cruiser in the shape and extras we put in it would be at least $2000.

They are looking at trade in values which is unfair.
We sent an email saying we were willing to settle for $2000. Which we believe is more than fair.

******* and ****** ******.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We settled for $2,000 we should have money by Friday

Final Business Response
We have settled this case per ******* ******* request

04/13/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The car wash caused damage to my vehicle. Business claiming not taking responsibility. Very little clarity or communication
The car wash left damage to the hatch door of my vehicle. I filed a complaint with the manager. The manager claimed there was no way their machines could cause such damage and they would not be taking responsibility via a voicemail message. I spoke with someone in the General Manger's office, who told me they continue to have complaints like that and that I was not the first person to complain of damage. I have tried numerous times to contact the manager and general manager to talk through the claim without success. No one has returned my calls.

Desired Settlement
I would like for the damage to my vehicle to be repaired. This would entail buffing of the deep scratches on the hatch door to prevent further wear, as well as painting over the damage in the correct color of the car.

Business Response
Manager met with customer, found that the damage being claimed was inconsistent with the operation of the wash equipment. This was explained to the customer, along with the fact that there were no equipment malfunctions on the day in question. Manager states that he offered to try to mitigate the appearance of scratches with compound on site, but the customer refused, stating that she 'wants it done professionally'. The company can offer a buff at our full service station in Springfield, MA, as a courtesy, but cannot guarantee full repair. FL Roberts & Co. maintains that the damage did not occur at our Pittsfield car wash facility, and that the company is not responsible for the damage

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The manager left a breif message on my voicemail. I attempted numerous times to then return the call for several weeks thereafter and the manager did not answer nor return my phone calls. I never was offered to attempt to buff the scratches with compound, nor did I say that I would prefer it done professionally. That is a false statement.

I never spoke to the manager after the initial voicemail that stated your business was not going to take fault for the damage because the manager never returned my phone calls.
I also attempted numerous times to call the general manager, who also did not answer not return my voicemails.

As the damage needs attention, and I am now being offered a buffering service I will accept the courtesy of a service at the Springfield location.

With that said, it's amazing at how your management team has failed to do their due diligence of maintaining customer satisfaction and that your company has made false statements against customers. The machinery is poorly maintained and causes damage to vehicles with no follow up or responsibility. The combination of these facts have been charged with people in the community.

Final Business Response
Ms. ****** should reach out to Andrew H.******** manager of Springfield Full Serve, at XXX-XXX-XXXX to set up an appointment at her convenience. We apologize for the misunderstanding, we were of the belief that they had already spoken and set up an appointment for this weekend.


Final Consumer Response
It can be closed. Thank you

Sent from my iPhone

12/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On November 6th I brought my vehicle in for a routine oil change. I left Jiffy lube and went home. On November 8th my cars engine seized on the Pike.
Date of Service- 11/06/14
Transaction Number XXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Services on my 1997 Subaru Legacy-119,498 miles
Service Checklist- changed oil
Signature service Oil System
Oil system cleaner service
engine cleaner
Replacement of serpentine belt
window washer fluidTotal Services: 115.50

After receiving services I drove my car home. I work in town less than 2 miles from my home in which I drove my car on Friday November 7th, back and fourth to work only. On Saturday November 8th I begin driving my car on the Massachusetts turnpike to visit my daughter in college in Worcester, MA. Approaching exit 10, my oil light came on and my car started to rattle, moments later my car stopped.
My vehicle was towed off the MA Pike for-113.50, then the car was towed again for 52.00 to my mechanic in West Springfield, MA.
My mechanic stated that prior to this service my engine was in clean, good shape.
The Jiffy Lube Service technician that I spoke with had me view there video tape of my cars service and stated that the oil had been changed, the oil filter had been placed in, and the plug had been put on. I additionally had the Jiffy Lube manager go speak with my mechanic. My mechanic states that within 24 hours of getting services for a car that he had seen 1 month prior, with a clean, good working engine had oil all over the inside of my engine and none left in. My cars engine seized and is now sitting at my mechanics waiting for a replacement engine. The estimated cost for this engine and labor will be 13,000$.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking the cost of a new engine provided and installed by my mechanic and the expense of tows that occurred that day, as well as a full refund for services from Jiffy Lube that was done on my car.

Business Response
The manager conducted an investigation. He went and looked at the vehicle and spoke to Ms. ******'s mechanic, as well as reviewed video of the entire Jiffy Lube service on her car.
It is clearly marked on the oil change invoice that oil was leaking severly, and oil was not reading on the dipstick in the engine when she came in. We performed and oil change as requested. The video clearly shows our technician performed the oil change correctly and performed all the proper procedures. The customer also watched this video of service. Her mechanic said the vehicle looked to have an excessive oil leak possibly from cam seals. This has nothing to do with an oil change, and the car was leaking prior to our oil change.

In conclusion of our investigation we have determined that we did our job correctly and that the existing oil leak was the cause of vehcile engine failure due to loss of oil

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It was not clearly written on my receipt
Or brought toy intention ever that there was a leak of any kind, my original receipt - which I have was supposivly unreadable and reprinted at the time of the complaint.
My mechanic also clearly confirmed that I had no issues with my engine as seen 1 month earlier for an axle change .

Page 1 of 2
08/11/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I brought my truck to Jiffy Lube for a simple oil change in June 2016. When I got it back, they had stripped a bolt causing ALL fluids to leak out...
I then called Jiffy Lube asked for a supervisor and they told me to bring it back they would take care of everything. After that, they assured me it was fixed. They ended up firing the person who worked on my vehicle because I have had multiple issues with my truck since that oil change including the now severe issue. I was in touch with the manager there named Steve in person and via text. He assured me that the water dripping from under my truck was NOTHING to worry about. My truck began overheating resulting in my having to replace the radiator, a thermostat and gasket!! Mind you this was alllllll initially from a botched oil change performed there. All these issues compiled and I now have no vehicle. Steve assured myself and my fiance that anything that happened would be taken care of. I've started a new job so I wasn't able to keep going back and forth back and forth to Jiffy Lube when I trusted that since they only do oil changes that I could trust my vehicle was in great hands. They know I'm upset and they did do their best but the end result is still my broken down vehicle. It had NO issues before I brought it to them and this has been a nightmare ever since. I would extremely appreciate your help in this matter. I am just afraid of being a female in this mechanics world and they give me the run around any chance they get. They even told me that the oil leaking out would be fixed if I simply took my truck thru a car wash??? maybe because they sponsor the car wash located directly behind the business?! THANKYOU for all your help, I truly appreciate it. I feel like everything is hopeless and if i had never brought my truck there for that infamous oil change, I would still have my truck that I LOVE so much!

Desired Settlement
I am looking for this business to be held accountable for their mishaps. They promise customers that they do quality work re: oil changes and they do everything but that. I would still have a darn near perfectly running used vehicle if I never brought it there. I have had nothing but issues ever since and they are fully aware. I would never refer anyone there if their lives depended on it.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Josh C****** ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********************
We have taken this complaint seriously. I went to the customers place of work to inspect the quality of work that we had performed on her vehicle. The vehicle does have mechanical issues, however they do not relate to the oil change. The customers vehicle is misfiring and we would recommend the customer get a mechanical evaluation from a certified technician.

06/01/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Engine seizure 11 miles after oil change on Subaru Outback on 2/14/16. Engine had no oil. Now need engine replacement and Jiffy Lube claims no fault.
Following an oil change on our Subaru Outback Legacy 2005, performed at Jiffy Lube **** ******** Ave, ****************) at approximately 2:15 PM on February 14, 2016, my family experienced an engine seizure 11 miles after leaving Jiffy Lube. Traveling north on I-91 at approximately 2:30 PM, we experienced an engine seizure. We were right at Exit 17A and able to get off the highway before the steering and brakes completely failed.

Traveling with two young children, the engine failure was a terrifying experience that could have resulted in a serious accident and injury or death had we not been driving in the right lane of the highway and right near an exit. By the time we safely came to a stop, we had completely lost all steering and brakes. The incident also caused and continues to cause considerable inconvenience, as we were on our way to a vacation, traveling from New York City, and lost a full day of vacation as a result. Adding to the inconvenience is that we have lost use of our car for two months, because the engine will not be ready until late April. We opted not to rent a replacement vehicle during this time, as the cost would be prohibitive, but the lack of vehicle is seriously impacting our mobility.

After the car came to a stop, we found that the dipstick was dry, indicating that there was no oil in the engine.

We called Jiffy Lube and they sent a technician out to the location after trying the engine and seeing that it was not turning over, he proceeded to pour what appeared to be an entire 5-quart bottle of oil into the engine though he later claimed he only poured in 1.5 quarts and that there was already some oil in the engine. He took out a large bottle of motor oil from his vehicle (large 5-quart size with a handle) - and proceeded to fill the oil tank, checking the dip stick along the way. He stopped halfway through and tried to start the car, but the engine still wouldn't turn over. He finally emptied the entire bottle into the tank, tried to start the car again, and nothing happened. If there was already oil in the engine, topping it off with 1.5 quarts of oil wouldn't have made a difference so not sure why he is claiming this. The engine still did not turn over, and the car was towed to ******* ****** of **** *********** at our expense.

Since it was Sunday evening, all local dealers and auto repair places were closed. Jiffy Lube called a tow truck for us, originally saying they would arrange the tow. The tow truck towed us to a local Subaru dealer, ******* ****** of West ************ and then drove us to a ******* *** down the road, where we had booked a room for the night. Stefan A.******* from Jiffy Lube followed the truck to ******* ******* we assumed that Jiffy Lube would cover the cost of the tow but he told us that they couldn't cover anything until it was determined that they were responsible, advised us to save all receipts.

After inspection, Subaru's technicians confirmed that the engine was destroyed and that the engine needed to be replaced. That is now happening, but the car is still not ready as of 4/26/16. The total cost of the new engine as well as tow truck, rental car, hotel and the original oil change was $7,757.05.

The following day, Mr. A.******* called us 5 different times, and Jiffy Lube offered to pay for a rental car so we could continue our vacation. They also said if it were determined they were at fault they had someone who would replace the engine cheaper than Subaru - however we did not want the work done anywhere but an authorized Subaru repair shop.

Since then, I wrote a letter to Jiffy Lube and FL Roberts (3/18/16) trying to resolve this amicably, asking them to cover the $7,705.07 costs, the bare minimum of costs associated with the incident. After coming to ******* Subaru and taking photos of the engine, they emailed me to tell me that they could not determine that they were at fault and would offer us no compensation.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking full compensation from Jiffy Lube for the engine replacement parts and labor (as well as any related damage to electrical or other automotive systems that may be discovered when the engine work commences), the cost of towing from the scene of the breakdown to the repair shop, our hotel for the night in West Springfield while we awaited a diagnosis on the car, and the cost of the rental car we obtained the following day for our vacationas well as reimbursement for the original oil change. The estimated total cost is $7,757.05.

Since Jiffy Lube has turned down our initial claim in full, we are also having the engine taken apart by an independent auto specialist to perform a forensic evaluation to determine the cause of the engine seizure. If Jiffy Lube does not settle with us soon, we would also add the cost of the engine core and expenses for the evaluation and report to the total we are requesting from Jiffy Lube/FL Roberts, estimated to be approximately $1,000 in addition to the $7,757.05 originally requested.

Business Response
In speaking with the dealership, they could not conclude we caused the engine failure. AT this time they further looking into the matter. According to our inspection everything related to the oil change was correct.

Consumer Response
Dear Ms. ********

Thank you so much for speaking to me on the phone last Friday morning, and for your assistance in reopening this matter.

I understand that my previous complaint with the Better Business Bureau (BBB Complaint Case# ****** (Ref#XX-XXXXXX-XXXXXX-X-XXXX)) was closed following Jiffy Lube/FL Roberts' response to BBB, stating that according to their inspection everything related to the oil change was correct, and that they could not conclude that they caused the engine failure.

We are not satisfied with this response and, as I mentioned on the phone, we have obtained new information that Jiffy Lube was at fault. This information was obtained from a teardown of the engine by an independent automotive engine expert - *** ***** of ******* **** *** Sales in *******, MA. His report confirms that the cause of the engine damage that led to the breakdown was absence of motor oil.

With this email, I am attaching the original letter we sent to Jiffy Lube/FL Roberts on 3/21/16, with copies of all invoices/receipts for the tow truck, hotel, rental car, engine replacement - and the original oil change. I have also attached Jiffy Lube/FL Roberts' response of 4/6/16, in which they claimed there was no evidence that they were at fault and would not process our claim.
I have also attached *********'s engine report here, as well as a brief summary of his experience in the auto industry, and the invoice for his services.

The final attachment is the NEW invoice from ******* Subaru (the one attached to my 3/21/16 letter was still an estimate, although the total is very close to the original estimate, with tax adding an additional several hundred dollars). I have highlighted in yellow the parts for the engine replacement and at the bottom of the page the labor cost ($2,062.50), and in pink the cost for purchase of the engine core, which was needed for the teardown. The final page shows the tax. Note that there were several other repairs done on the car and I have not included all of those pages so as not to confuse anyone - the only pages included are those that pertain to the expenses associated with the engine replacement.

We will also now need to add the cost of *** ******** engine inspection and report ($1,120) as well as the cost for the purchase of the engine core ($500) to our requested settlement from Jiffy Lube/FL Roberts. Our total claim request is therefore now $9,748.40, as itemized below:

Engine Replacement Costs:
Remanufactured engine (same as quoted): $4,395.90
Other parts: $575.88
Tax (6.25%): $310.74
Labor (as quoted): $2,062.50
SUBTOTAL: $7,345.02

Additional Costs
Towing: $128.70
Hotel: $133.81
Car rental: $443.48
Original oil change: $46.14
Engine core purchase: $500
Tax on engine core: $31.25
*** ***** engine teardown and report: $1,120
SUBTOTAL ADDITIONAL COSTS: $2,403.38

TOTAL: $9,748.40

We are very hopeful that Jiffy Lube/FL Roberts will acknowledge at this time that they bear responsibility for the engine seizure, and compensate us in full, so that we do not have to hire a lawyer and drive up the cost even further, not to mention the considerable inconvenience this has caused our family. We were without a car for several months as a result of this, and the original incident was quite traumatic for all of us. All we are asking for is fair reimbursement for expenses related to an engine seizure which all evidence shows was caused by a faulty oil change at Jiffy Lube.

Final Business Response In looking over the attachments, we do not see a spec sheet from the inspection. Can we please see a copy of the inspection. Thank you for this information. We are going to contact Mr. ***** and are going to resolve this issue. Based on the report there is evidence that we were at fault.

Thanks again
John

02/12/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Attendant refuse to allow time to get car properly aligned on belt. Impatiently turn belt prematurely causing damage to wheels .car got stuck in washe
Car was damaged. Incident report done on Friday. Was told someone will call in a day yet on Tuesday night February 2nd at 7.28 pm manager told me he had looked at video and had no time to call me.

Desired Settlement
I need my wheels repaired to their original condition prior to entering that establishment

Business Response
We investigated this claim and found nothing wrong with the equipment. We washed thousands of cars before and after ******* went through and had no other cars with any sort of rim damage. All the equipment is in fine order. According to the staff they were trying to direct him onto the conveyor and he wasn't paying attention to the instructions instead he stuck his head out the window and tried to put himself onto the conveyor. The manager checked the video and the equipment and determined that we were not responsible for the rim damage and it must have been pre-exisiting.

10/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
on 9/05/2015 I drove my 2007 Chrysler Town and Country Van into the car wash located at 630 Main Street Springfield Ma. When I was ready to leave the company's lot I noticed that the passenger side view mirror was missing and the plastic housing was broken. I reported it to an employee of Golden Nozzle and he found the mirror inside of the building and returned it to my vehicle. However the plastic holder was broken so I filed an incident report immediately before leaving the premises. I was told that the manager of the car wash would contact me to discuss the incident. About a week later Andy ****** called me to view the damage to my car and I took the car back to show it to him. Two days later he called to inform me that his business would not pay for the damages due to "preexisting damage" and the age of the vehicle. There was no preexisting damage, and the age of my vehicle should have no bearing on this complaint.as the mirror was intact when I arrived and broken when I left.I went to ******* ************* **** and got an quote for the damage in excess of *******

Desired Settlement
I would like Golden Nozzle to get a replacement for my right side view mirror and pay for the labor to install it on my car.

Business Response
The manager of the location Andrew ******* met with Gail ****** about the claimed damage of the passengers side mirror. Andy noticed white scuffs on the mirror and dents along the passengers side of the vehicle. The scuffs and the dents along the side of the vehicle indicated to him that the mirror had pre-existing damage and this is why the mirror housing and mirror was broken.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There were no white scuffs on the housing of the right side view mirror. The mirror itself was intact however the holding of the side view mirror was broken on the outer edge. This happened at the car wash there was no preexisting damage to my car. There was no dents on the side of my car. I continue to request a replacement for the right side view mirror housing and the labor to put it on my car. I do not believe that this damage has never happened before. I did not see any posted signs about limited liability for damage caused by the machinics of the interior of the car wash.

Final Business Response
We still strongly disagree with this claim. The vehicle itself was is in poor condition and this mirror came off because of this.

08/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
If you want to be threatened by Mr **** *******, call with a situation where their car wash machinery caused damage. He will deny any responsibility.
On June 17, we had our car washed and during the wipe down noticed a dent in the rocker panel with paint missing. After the manager denied any fault, we coiled customer service. Our first two calls went unanswered. When Mr. ******* returned my third call, he refused to consider any liability and finished his part of the conversation by saying, "If you don't like it, take me to court". Quite a remarkable display of customer service! That was not our intent. We hoped we could have a reasonable solution since we had been loyal FL Roberts customers for decades.

Desired Settlement
Our insurance will cover the damage, but we have a $500.00 deductible.

Business Response
We investigated Mr. ****** ***** claim and found there was nothing that substantiated his claim. We washed 347 cars that day and had no other problems. All the equipment is new and the location was recently renovated in May. To this date we've had no other customer cars dented or scratched. Our maintenance staff double checked the equipment and found nothing wrong with it. Based on these facts, we concluded that the car wash could not have caused this damage and that was what we informed Mr. ****** ***** ** well.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response does not address the rude manner in which Mr. ******* treated me: "If you don't like it, take me to court."

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Service Stations-Gasoline & Oil, Gasoline & Diesel Fuel - Wholesale / Commercial , Gasoline-Wholesale, Lubricating Service - Automotive, Car Wash & Polish, Auto Detailing, Truck Stops, Diesel Fuel, Convenience Stores

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.