BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/13/2006

R.C.I. Roofing, LLP

Find a Location

Phone: (413) 527-4775Fax: (413) 527-8469View Additional Phone Numbers6 Line Street, SouthamptonMA 01073

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/13/2006

BBB has determined that R.C.I. Roofing, LLP meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised R.C.I. Roofing, LLP's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on R.C.I. Roofing, LLP

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
07/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
RCI billed me for work not completed, did not communicate, and was extremely rude on the phone.
On Thursday, June 6, I called RCI Roofing to inquire about a repair on my leaking roof. The person I talked to was terse, but said she would have a repairman sent to my house. I asked for an estimate and she said that since even showing up was $75/hour, it would make more sense to just have the repair done while the assessor was here. I was led to believe it would be a matter of weeks or even months before a repairman came. Less than an hour later, I was called by a repairman who said he was at the house. I asked if I should come home to point out the leak and he said that wasn't necessary. It incidentally started raining quite heavily later that day and the leak had not been repaired (see image 1).

On Monday, June 10, having recieved no further correspondance and no indication of any work done, I called RCI back and man on the phone said he didn't have information and would have someone call me back.

On Thursday, June 13, I recieved a bill dated 6/11 for $150 indicating only "Labor and Materials: Roof Repair." I again called RCI and reached the uncouth receptionist. When I explained that in the interim I had another roofer come and confirm (and point out) holes in the effected area (see image 2) she said I was trying to weasel out of a bill,that I shouldn't have called someone else to check on their work, and that I should have called them back if the leak was still there. When I told her that I had called back, she called me a liar and said "I have caller ID!" As it escalated to a shouting match and a stalemate, I told the ************ I'd like to speak to someone else. I was put on hold for several minutes. She picked up again and said there's nobody else to talk to there. She reiterated that there was no way I wasn't paying that bill (for a repair not done) but said the crew could be sent back to try fixing it again. I asked her to confirm that I wouldn't be charged for this second visit and I then asked that the repair crew be sent tomorrow. We agreed upon 8am as an arrival time.

It is now 9 am and nobody has come and I have received no phone call.

Desired Settlement
I would gladly pay the $150 if they do the repair or I can call another company to do it. I will not give them $150 for a job not completed.

Business' Initial Response
On 6/6/13 we received a call from a man requesting a repair for a leak in his roof. Although he was not a previous customer, the ************** agreed to send our repairman over a.s.a.p., as we were having a lot of rain and he was a local resident and didn't know who else to call. He was made aware that we do not have a regular repairman and the ************** was not sure when someone could get there and that we do not give estimates on small repairs. We charge an hourly rate of which he was made aware of and agreed to. We sent our repair men over the next day 6/7/13 as we happened to have an opening and thought the prompt service would be appreciated. They repaired the area believed to be the problem and we did not hear from the customer again until he received the invoice for the repair on 6/13/13. He called and informed the ************** that he had already called another roofing company and was not going to pay the invoice as his roof was still leaking. She informed him that we had sent two men over and that they had made a repair to a problem area in the vicinity of the leak and that the invoice was valid, and that if the roof was still leaking, he should have called us and we would have sent someone back over to check for another leak (as water can travel from one area and appear in another). We do not warranty repair work on roofs that we did not install. Repairs are usually due to problem areas or improper installations and we cannot warranty someone else's work. However, we try to make the best repair possible. He was told that we would try to send someone back over to check, but only wanted the invoice voided because he had already gotten another roofing co., and demanded to speak to someone else. After consulting the ****** the ************** informed him that there was no one else to speak to as she did the billing and the ***** did not feel the invoice should be voided. She told him we could send someone over to check it which he finally agreed to, but after considering the situation the ***** felt that if another roofing company has already been there, and the customer was that insistent that he not pay the bill, that it was not in our company's best interest to get further involved. When the man called the next day and he was informed of our decision and was referred to the *****'s voicemail but left no message. At no point was there a shouting match by either party, and at no point between the time of the repair and receiving the invoice did the customer make any attempt to contact us to inform us that his roof was still leaking. It is not in our workers nature to go to a customer's house, call him to let him know we are there, and not do any work. It was the **************'s decision to schedule the repair as a courtesy to a local resident thought to be in need, and in no way meant to be terse or rude to any customer.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response is disingenuous and downright false at some points and I do not accept it. Not only does it provide no resolution, it paints me as a scammer and a liar, much as their ************** tried to do.

While I appreciate the prompt service (it was in fact the same day as the initial phone call), there was no communication of any kind prior to my second call on 6/10, which they insist never took place. An image of my phone call log can be seen here. http://i.imgur.com/dtoDedE.png

I talked to a man there and was told I would be called back with more information. Because I had received no call back and the leak was not repaired, I did call another person to inspect the roof. They pointed out a couple of holes on the roof and I arranged for them to come back the next week to fix it.

I then received the bill and inquired about the repairs I was being charged for. When I mentioned the other roofers who had come and seen (but not yet performed any repairs on) my roof, It seems I struck a nerve with the **************, as she became very aggressive and scolded me for "having someone else check on their work." I'm curious to know the basis on which the respondent insists no such escalation took place. The angry ************** insisted repeatedly that I was trying to cheat them out of payment of this bill but she was unable to provide details of the work they are said to have performed. On a side note, my tenant informed me he saw the technicians eating lunch in their truck, and I'm assuming this is one of the things I'm being billed for.

As I mentioned in my original complaint, I asked the ************** who else I could talk to and I was put on hold for several minutes. She came back on the line (thankfully with a cooler head) and told me that there was nobody else I could talk to there. Since she had suggested sending technicians to address my still leaking roof, we agreed upon a time, which was 8 am the next morning. At no point was I "insistent that I not pay the bill" when this was suggested.

I only found out about the *****'s decision to send no one when I called several hours after the agreed upon time. The ************** said my only recourse was to leave a voicemail, which I did, asking for a call back. This response indicates I left no voicemail and unfortunately I have no way of proving I did since I'm guessing it's been deleted.

There are many points throughout this whole exchange that things could have gone differently. I could have been informed they don't repair roofs they didn't install (which I would suggest as a policy henceforth). I could have been told what was supposedly done on my roof. I could have had more pleasant, or at least less hostile interaction with the **************.

None of these things took place. So far I have a still leaky roof and a name off my shortlist for a planned roof replacement.

RCI can continue to vilify me all they want, I'd really just like to know where we stand at this point, because where we left off is RCI demanding payment for something that wasn't done.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Commercial Roofing

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/18/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulations
10 Park Plaza, Suite 5170
Boston, MA02116
(888) 283-3757
http://www.mass.gov/consumer

Department of Public Safety
One Asburton Place Room 1301
Boston, MA02108
(617) 727-3200
http://www.mass.gov/dps/

BBB records show a license number of 126235 for this company, issued by Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulations. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/consumer. The expiration date of this license is 05/06/2016.

Type: Home Improvement Contractor

Check License Status: http://services.oca.state.ma.us/hic/licdetails.aspx?txtSearchLN=26198

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of CS-074334 for this company, issued by Department of Public Safety. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/dps/.

Type: Construction Supervisor

Check License Status: http://elicense.chs.state.ma.us/Verification/Details.aspx?agency id=1&license id=263336&

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Christopher Thompson (Partner)
Contact Information
Mr. Mark Delisle (Partner)
Number of Employees

20

Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Commercial Roofing

Products & Services

According to information provided by the company, they offer residential, commercial and industrial roofing services.

Industry Tips
ROOFING CONTRACTORS

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for R.C.I. Roofing, LLP

6 Line Street

Southampton, MA 01073

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*R.C.I. Roofing, LLP is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 527-4775
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

ROOFING CONTRACTORS
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.