BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/31/1992

Northeast Home & Energy, Inc.

Phone: (508) 839-7001Fax: (508) 839-0218View Additional Phone Numbers21 North Main Street, North GraftonMA 01536-1564 Send email to Northeast Home & Energy, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/31/1992

BBB has determined that Northeast Home & Energy, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Northeast Home & Energy, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Northeast Home & Energy, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
04/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hired firm for roof and siding repair in the fall of 2014. During the last 2 1/2 months water has been coming into our home causing major damage.
We hired this firm to repair our roof and siding in the fall of 2014. We paid $3,300 to have the roof re-shingled and siding replaced. over the last 2-3 months we have had significant water damage, over $40,000 to date with more to come. The firm says it was "ice dams", however, this is not the case as we have hired firms to shovel our roof and have any ice removed (over $3,000 for these removals). Currently we are in the process of replacing this roof again as well as the siding. In some areas, the water was actually funneling back into the home. At this point, we now have ******** contract, which we will need to assist us in removing our damage. We tried for over 3 months to have this firm reimburse us, however, they kept on stalling us and blaming the weather, builder and or others.

Desired Settlement
We are only asking for our $3,300 back from this firm. Although our deductibles and damage (out of pocket costs) will be 10's of thousands of dollars. We have no confidence in this firm, so that is why we hired others to perform this work.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* *******,*********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
We are very sorry that the ice dams have caused damage to your home after our repairs in the fall. This has been the worst winter in the history of Boston. Your home is very new and we were trying to help solve your problem as the builder would not. Due to the complexity of your roof we brought in a ventilation expert from one of our manufacturers. He stated that the ventilation was not adequate and recommended installing an electric power vent. After much back and forth you did not want us to install the vent. We were trying to do what was right for your home and help resolve your problem as there should not be severe issues on a very new home.

After you called to notify us of the leaks we met with you to try to resolve the problem and assess a solution to the damage. We called several times to try and resolve this issue. We had set up a time to bring our crew and do a water test and infrared camera scan, but you called back to cancel. As you stated you want to go another way.

We apologize for the inconveniences you have been experiencing. Our original contract was for $3,300. You did not want us to install the electric power vent so we did not charge you for that and there was additional material and labor for siding and gutter work that was not a part of the contract bringing the total invoice to $3,200. We will reimburse you for the work completed. We urge you to reconsider the benefits of proper ventilation and insulation as your problems will continue to persist each winter. Once you cash our refund check we both agree that this complaint is resolved.

03/03/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Windows installation seems to be unfinished.Wood around seems to be far away frame and there is no cauking outside.
I have a complaint to make against Northeast Home
& Energy **** **** St. (route **** ** ******* Ma XXXXX. My ** year old mother and myself reside at *** *** St. of *** *********** Four years ago the roof had to be replaced so we received an estimate and decided to use them. The job was excellent. A little over a year ago after the roof was paid we needed to have twenty nine windows replaced.So again good price,good windows we used the same company.October 2014 the windows were installed by only two men one was the regional manager ***** ****** and someone else.Some windows has problems so I called and addressed the issues,which were more than a few.In May of 2015 I called ***** ****** the regional manager several times he came to the house and we went over the problems he said I'll be back.Several months later it's now February 2016 and nothing has been done.In between all this time I have called thirty times,again I spoke to several people.They had asked me to e-mail them pictures of the issues so I did.**** one the employers said ***** would call well nothing has been done.This is unprofessional and They don't even return telephone calls.We need this problem resolved and all we are asking is for Northeast Home & Energy to finish the job that was not completed.
Rotten wood not replaced when the windows were installed,cracks not filled in with caulking,even outside the wood around the windows are so far away from the frame of the windows,cellar window the pane fell in nothing but problems and the company has not finish the job.Can you direct me on this matter. Thank You
**** ***** 2/13/2016.

Desired Settlement
Just finish the job maybe if they did not have enough employers at that time we could of postpone to a later date.

Business Response
We apologize for not responding sooner. The number we had listed for **** was disconnected so we were unable to contact her in order to resolve these issues. We finally were able to get in touch with her and met with her on Monday 2/22/16. We are going on Monday 2/29/16 to fix all of the issues that we discussed with ****.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Windows, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors, Home Improvements

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/01/1985Business started: 05/01/1980
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulations
10 Park Plaza, Suite 5170
Boston, MA 02116
(888) 283-3757
http://www.mass.gov/consumer

Department of Public Safety
One Asburton Place Room 1301
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 727-3200
http://www.mass.gov/dps/

BBB records show a license number of 106353 for this company, issued by Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulations. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/consumer. The expiration date of this license is 07/22/2016.

Type: Home Improvement Contractor

Check License Status: https://services.oca.state.ma.us/hic/licdetails.aspx?txtSearchLN=6328

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of CSSL-099195 for this company, issued by Department of Public Safety. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/dps/. The expiration date of this license is 06/22/2017. CSSL- WS; RF / Windows & Siding; Roofing.

Type: Construction Supervisor

Check License Status: http://elicense.chs.state.ma.us/Verification/Details.aspx?agency id=1&license id=288364&

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1986, MA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Prunier (President)Customer Contact: Mr. John Prunier (Project Manager)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Windows, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors, Home Improvements

Products & Services

According to the information provided by this company they offer vinyl siding, replacement windows and roofing services.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Service Area

Massachusetts and Rhode Island

Industry Tips
CONTRACTORS - REMODELING
ROOFING CONTRACTORS
WINDOWS - INSTALLATION/SERVICE

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Northeast Home & Energy, Inc.

21 North Main Street

North Grafton, MA 01536-1564

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 21 North Main Street 

    North Grafton, MA 01536-1564(800) 828-7001
    (508) 839-7001

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Northeast Home & Energy, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 828-7001
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.