BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/07/2003

Adam Quenneville Roofing, Siding & Windows, Inc.

Phone: (413) 536-5955Fax: (413) 536-1448

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
07/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: Siding and windows on my house were damaged during roof replacement. Now 4 weeks later the roofing shingles are popping up and seperating.

I had hired Adam Quenneville Roofing to replace the roof on my house.They started the job on June 25th. While the workers were stripping the roof the tarp they had placed on the house to prevent damage had fallen off. None of the workers stopped to put the tarp back up, they just continued to strip the roof letting all the debris hit the siding and windows.The day after, I called the salesman I was dealing with, ***** ********* and told him what happened and that there was some damage to my house and the bay window that I had just had installed the previous year. ***** came out with another salesman named *** to see the damage and take pictures. They had told me that they would take care of the problems. Now 4 weeks later, I am having issues with the shingles seperating and they never installed a ridge vent. I had made numerous phone calls and e-mailed them numerous times about the repairs that they still have not fixed or turned the claim over to their insurance company. After complaining to ***** again last night about the roof and the damage, ***** stated that he would be here at my house to check out the roof and to go over the damage again. He stated that he would be here with *** at 2:00, well it is now 5:30 and I still have not seen them or received a phone call. An employee of The Home Depot came over yesterday to check out the damage to the window because that is where I purchased the bay window, they ( Home Depot ) will repair the window at no charge to me or **** *********** Roofing due to the warranty on the window. That employee noticed quite a few problems with the roof and advised me to call the building inspector and have him come out to check it out. I left a message for the building inspector last night. I explained to ***** last night about the issues that were found including a paper bag with napkins and food that were stuffed in a corner molding on the dormer. Now I have bees forming a nest around the debris that is hanging out of the molding. Four weeks later, I still have not received any satisfaction from **** *********** about the problems and the damage. I had financed the roof replacement with a credit union they had set me up with. **** *********** Roofing had the check for $9900 sent directly to them and now I have serious issues and they will not honor their committment to repair the damage. I am having other companies give me estimates to repair the damage and will be filing a lawsuit in court after I receive all the estimates.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

02/08/2013Problems with Product / Service
01/16/2013Problems with Product / Service
05/11/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/06/2011Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
04/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a contract with them to do roof and siding on the house They have damaged the house ,havent finished the job and havent returned any of my phone calls ,emails and text messages.I have given them a punch list of the issues in writing which they havent addressed .Im very concerned that the roof maybe leaking into the house cause water was noticed on the rug around the fire place .I cant get a phone call back from them to address these issues .I have asked the salesman and ***** in the office to have the owner meet me at the property to address the issues .The salesman instead met me and agreed that my complaint is legitimate.The have taken my money and refuse to complete the job

Initial Business Response
*****,
I have received your e-mail and am responding to it.
Job address: ** ******** *** * ******* You contracted with us to do this job on 10/9/13. Your date of loss on this claim was 10/30/2011. You have two years to get the work done and bill for the deprecation. As you can see there was a tight deadline to get this job
completed. Our requirements to submit a signed contract for production is to collect all of the ACV funds and the deductible before we do any work. You said that you had already dealt with several contractors and didn't feel comfortable giving us all the ACV funds until the work was done. We agreed to go ahead and to do the work with the understanding that the money had to be paid before I could collect the rest of the insurance money and no additional work would be done until the first contract was paid in full. We moved sub-contractors around and started your job on 10/18/13 and finished in time to collect the deprecation. I spoke with your adjuster and he said that you had already been paid enough for the claim and didn't have the proper receipts to show that all the work on the claim had been done and that there would be no more money released. Since we deal with this adjuster often I went to bat for you and got the deprecation released. As per our conversation you have received the final payment on this job and have not provided us with the funds to complete your obligations. You said that you were very pleased with our work and had no complaints until the final bill was due. You have provided us with a punch list and we have sent our contractors out to get those items handled. There are a couple more items that ***** will handle this week when he gets back (He was in an auto accident and has been out of work for a while). I know there was a gutter that was thrown away and that you wanted to keep. I have agreed to credit you 50.00 for the cost of the gutter. There is still a balance owed on this job of 3806.59


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I spoke with ********* about the issue with the corners and he told me that the siding would have to be removed 3 feet from the ground all the way around the house and reset he said it was hung to tight *** also told me that they wouldnt do this work until the temps reached over 40 degrees .so its likely that this work wont be done for some time .also I spoke with the adjuster and we agreed that the only thing i could get the deprecation for was for the work that adam quenneville did and not the work that i did myself with friends in the trade .Because i was told by the adjuster that I would need to spend the acv on everything and that the homeowner cant profit from the insurance company.I was glad to see the roof done in 1 day and the siding started shortly after .I was never expecting that it was hung too tight and it would all have to be removed and reset

Final Business Response
***** ******
** ******** ***
******* *** XXXXX

Regarding: The siding issue with the mismatched corners.


*****,

I took another drive out to your property on ******** ****** in an effort to inspect the right rear corner and see if the problem with mismatching siding corners existed there as well. I was able to enter the back yard as the snow had melted just enough to allow access. I found that the problem does exist on both corners and my previous assumption regarding a tight install was probably incorrect. I measured both the new and old siding and found the old to be 3 15/16" to the weather and the new to be a strong four" to the weather. The combined dimensions would be approximately 3/32 of an in different per course and over ten courses almost an inch of difference which is just about what is showing on your home.

The insurance company has only paid to replace two sides of your home and their reasoning was that white is white with no discussions about the mismatching profiles. In my opinion we would be unable to remedy this situation without replacing all sides of the home with the same product that was applied to the rear and left side of your home. We would be willing to side both the front and right side of your home with the same product used on the rear and left side at no additional cost to you if you would be willing to rescind in writing all of your complaints to the Better Business Bureau. In addition you will agree to sign the hold harmless agreement presented to you before any of the work suggested above commences.

If this attempt to respectfully conclude our business is un-acceptable to you, you would be responsible to go back to the insurer and see if they will agree to pay for the additional squares needed to complete your job. We will deem our job and contract complete and expect full payment immediately upon your dismissal of our proposal. No further work will be done and no additional warranties beyond that which the state requires would be granted to you.

Please respond in writing.

Thank you for your considerations,


****** ******

****************@gmail.com


Final Consumer Response
Ive fax out the paperwork for the siding match company .This is a company that ***** ********** had used to send a piece of siding out to match .Which they had found a place in ** that sells it .So the insurance company did find a company to buy the correct siding from and Adam Quenneville was the one that found it fair to install the wrong siding .This paperwork was given to ***** the salesman for Adam Quenneville along with the insurance companies estimate of damage .So what I would like is the correct siding installed on the house ,the correct building permit pulled on the job ,and the siding cleaned as noted on the punch list on the drive way side .Im not signing off on any paperwork in warranties ,job finished ,or rescinding my complaints from the bbb
Ed stated that I couldnt have that bad of luck with contractors but I had two jobs with Adam Quenneville and both Ive had problems with .Im so glad that I didnt pay for any of these jobs in full like ** wanted me to ..

Complaint Resolution: Company agreed to arbitration in accordance with their BBB agreement, but the consumer declined.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Windows, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors, Home Improvements, Gutter Leaf Guards, Gutters & Downspouts

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.