BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Royal Flush Plumbing & Heating

Phone: (978) 597-1868Fax: (978) 597-357048 Clement Rd, TownsendMA 01474-1115 Send email to Royal Flush Plumbing & Heatinghttp://www.rfph.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 03/23/2016 this company's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to failure to respond to one or more customer complaints filed with the BBB.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Royal Flush Plumbing & Heating's rating include:

  • 3 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 2 complaints filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Royal Flush Plumbing & Heating

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
02/10/2016Billing / Collection Issues
03/24/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Deposit of $2500 was to be returned as work was never completed.
12/18 - noticed water under the overflow valve on the water heater
12/18 - called Royal Flush at 8:45pm to report the leak got answering service. Provided the contact information waited for a call back.
12/18 - rec'd call from Royal Flush - gentleman asked a few questions about situation and then said that I should be OK for the weekend and he would be out on Monday. He asked for (2) pictures and send them to his cell phone. I took (1) picture of the water heater and (1) picture of the sticker on the water heater that provided the specs of what was in the house. I asked him if he could give me an estimate for the replacement. He said about $1500. He would be in touch on Monday(12/21) and get it replaced. He said that if I did not hear from him by 9am to call.
12/21 - I arranged for a vacation day thinking this would all be completed by end of day. Called Royal Flush at 9:20am got the answering service. I had not heard from him by just after 10am so I tried to text his cell phone. That text went unanswered. I got a return call from about 10:30am. He indicated that he had been delayed in getting back to customers due to his phone being "MIA". He asked me to resend the pictures to his colleague's phone and said he would be to house at 11:30am. He reviewed pictures and told me that the water heater needed would be double the cost of what he estimated on Friday night($2500). I asked about increase and he said it was due to the unit needed and until he saw the pictures on Monday he did not know that it was not standard. He told me that he would need a deposit (which equaled $2500). I returned the call to him to ask why he needed that much? He told me that the unit that he would have to purchase was $2000 and that the $500 was for install. He told me if I wanted to write (2) checks that he was OK with me holding back the $500 but he needed the $2000. He did not show up until 1pm. When he arrived he told me that he couldn't secure a unit and that he would have to order it. He said install the next day. He also indicated that he would continue to try and get a unit but he didn't promise he would find one. I asked how I could reach him - he indicated that his cell phone had been located. I told him that I was hesitant in writing him a check for $2500 with no work yet completed. He said did not want me to feel uneasy and assured me of his A+ rating with BBB. I begrudgingly wrote the check for $250(He left a receipt for the $2500 in full) He assured me would be in touch between 3-4pm. At 3:20pm he called to say that he could not locate a unit and that he needed to order one. It would be delivered to him on Wednesday morning (not the next day as he indicated). He said he would be to me between 10-12. 12/22 - I texted him to confirm that we were on schedule for an install on 12/23. I asked if he could be there closer to 10 instead of noon. He texted that yes things were a go but he would call me by 9am. He then said if I had not heard from him by 9am then I should text or call the office.
12/23 - 9am came with no contact. I texted his cell at 9:10am. At 9:20ish no response so I called the office and got the answering service. They told me that he would call back within the hour. I said that I hoped so given that he was due to do the work approx. 10am. He called back at 10:05am and asked me how he could help me? I then asked him if he was planning on installing the water heater. He told me that he was going to do install but he had to go pick up the water heater as it was not delivered but he was planning on doing the work but later in the day. I told him that I was no longer comfortable with the arrangement and that I wanted my deposit of $2500 back. I told him that Royal Flush was no longer what I had experienced in the past.

Desired Settlement
Return of the $2500 deposit for work that was never completed due to his total lack of response and I no longer had confidence is his ability to deliver on the work promised.

03/24/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Over charged and services not completed.
Water-heater under warranty from this company, and old water heater still in my home.

Because the water heater was under warranty, I called Royal Flush when it broke. My elderly sister was at my home because I was at the hospital having testing done. The owner ****** came to my house and demanded 1000.00 from my sister before he would replace. My sister was afraid because the man smelled of liqueur and she didn't know what to do. When I returned home, I called **** and told him the cost was no where near 1000.00 to replace an under warranty item, and that he should return my money. He promised he would do the repair that day and we would talk about the cost. He came and swapped the equipment, and sent his wife in with the bill, and I told him there was no way a replacement cost 1000.00 to install. he sent the bill back in with VERBAL written in where my signature should go. I went out and told him no way was I paying 1000.00. He told me he would be back to take the old water heater out of my home, and it is still here. I have repeatedly called him and left messages with his service, and his wife. His voicemail on his phone is full, and you cannot leave a message. I am willing to pay a reasonable fee to have the heater replaced, but I told him right from the start I would not pay 1000.00. He needs to get the old water heater out of my home, and reimburse me a portion of the money he took from my sister.

Desired Settlement
I want a reimbursement of overcharge, and the old hot water heater removed from my home.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbing Contractors, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/18/2001Business started: 07/01/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board of State Examiners of Plumbers & Gas Fitters
239 Causeway Street Suite 500 Division of Professional Licensure
Boston, MA 02114-2140
(617) 727-9952
http://www.mass.gov/dpl/boards/pl/index.htm

Department of Public Safety
One Asburton Place Room 1301
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 727-3200
http://www.mass.gov/dps/

BBB records show a license number of 13192 for this company, issued by Board of State Examiners of Plumbers & Gas Fitters. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/dpl/boards/pl/index.htm.

Type: Plumber/Master

Check License Status: http://license.reg.state.ma.us/public/pubLicenseQ.asp?board code=PL&type class= M&license number=000013192&color=green&lb=PL

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 23257 for this company, issued by Board of State Examiners of Plumbers & Gas Fitters. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/dpl/boards/pl/index.htm.

Type: Plumber/Journeyman

Check License Status: http://license.reg.state.ma.us/public/pubLicenseQ.asp?board code=PL&type class= J&license number=000023257&color=green&lb=PL

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of BU-030625 for this company, issued by Department of Public Safety. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/dps/. The expiration date of this license is 03/26/2013.

Type: Oil Burner Technician

Check License Status: http://elicense.chs.state.ma.us/Verification/Details.aspx?agency id=1&license id=15646&

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2002, MA

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Zachary Zufelt (President)
Contact Information
Ms. Ann Marie Zufelt (Vice President)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Plumbing Contractors, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Contractors

Products & Services

According to the information provided by this company; it offers heating and plumbing contracting; heating and air conditioning services; and heating equipment, cleaning, and repair.

Industry Tips
PLUMBERS
AIR CONDITIONING

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Royal Flush Plumbing & Heating

48 Clement Rd

Townsend, MA 01474-1115

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 48 Clement Rd 

    Townsend, MA 01474-1115(978) 597-1868

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Royal Flush Plumbing & Heating is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Plumbing Contractors

PLUMBERS
AIR CONDITIONING
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.