BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/27/2009

Leominster Plumbing & Heating Co., Inc.

Phone: (978) 537-2246Fax: (978) 840-8133View Additional Phone Numbers70 Pleasant St, LeominsterMA 01453-5636 Send email to Leominster Plumbing & Heating Co., Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/27/2009

BBB has determined that Leominster Plumbing & Heating Co., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Leominster Plumbing & Heating Co., Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
03/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: My hot water heater broke down on 1/9/14. They came to my home and told me i needed a new heater and they never called back with a date
I am an 81 year old woman and live alone in my home. On Thursday 1/9/14 my hot water heater broke and my basement flooded and my heat stopped. This company showed up along with the fire dpt. and told me the oil burning hot water heater that I have was broken. They did not turn the heat back on even though the fireman told him to make sure he did so and I spent the night at 5 degrees with no heat. They had to come back the next day to turn on the heat and told me they had to order a new heater. On Monday 1/13/14 I called them to find out when the new tank would be ready and they told me they had no answer and I would have to wait. I was without hot water 5 days. I called another company Monday 1/13 and they came over the same day and showed up today 1/14 and are now installing the tank. I called to cancel with the Leominster home plumbing and was dismissed by thier office. I am afraid that they will be charging me lots of money for doing nothing and I now have to pay another company $***** for the new tank. They still have never called me back.

Initial Business Response

February 12, 2014
BBB Serving Central & Western Massachusetts & Northern Connecticut
* **** ******* ***** ***
Worcester. MA XXXXX
Attention: ****** ***********
RE: Case # XXXXXX - Mrs_ ****** **********
To Mr. ******* ********
In regards to Mrs. **********'s complaint on 01/15/2014 with your office, on 1/09/2014 we received in our office a frantic call from Mrs. ********** stating that she her basement flooded with water but didn't know where it was coming from and the fire department was there. The dispatcher who answered the call looked her up in the system and she hasn't used our service in over 6 years since one of our plumbers left to go to start his own business. After ******* recognized who she was she immediately dispatched one of our technicians to assess the situation. When the technician arrived he discovered that her oil fired water heater let go. The fire department had strut the breaker off for Safety reasons prior to our arrival. The technician informed Mrs. ********** of the situation and wrote down the information off the old water heater for the office to order a new one. He turned her breaker back on as well as replaced a valve to get her heat back on. She called the office and spoke to ******* and asked what will happen next. ******* explained to Mrs. ********** that the oil fired water heater that she has is one that we don't stock at our shop. We needed to call our supplier to order one for her in which we did. Our supplier called us on Friday 01/10/2014 and informed us that they were out of stock as well and ordered one to come in Monday afternoon, Mrs. ********** called the office on Friday afternoon and was upset no one had called with the install date. ******* apologized and stated she was on her list to call but the office was overwhelmed with emergency calls. At this time ******* explained to Mrs. ********** that the supply company had to order this type of water heater which was coming in on Monday 01/13/2014 and she would call her on Monday to set up a time Ibr the install.
On Monday ******* checked with the supply company to find out when the water heater was coming in and was told it this afternoon hut couldn't give us a time. Mrs. ********** did call Monday morning and ******* told her she could not give her a time at this point but stated she would call her immediately when she had the answers. In the mean time Mrs. **********'s daughter called the office and spoke to ******* and stated that she had called another company to do the install. ******* said to her ok and that she understands and the daughter wanted to continue to talk about the situation and argue. The daughter did call back later and spoke to

******* and stated Mrs. **********'s case to him and that she was not going to pay any bills that we send. I told that she would not he charged for that service call even though it is billable. I spoke to the owner prior to the phone call and the owner told me that he would waive it.
The daughter then stated to ******* that she would file a complaint with the BBB to ensure she does not receive a bill. Mrs. ********** states in her complaint that we have not yet called her back but in regards to what? When the daughter called and cancelled our services, there was no need to call her back. Leominster Plumbing & Heating Co. felt this matter was closed.
To date Mrs. ********** has not received a bill from Leominster Plumbing & Heating Co., Inc. So I am left puzzled to why this complaint was even filed.
Thank you,
******* ******* ***************

******* ****** ****** *******
Cc: mlt


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My daughter only spoke with the woman ******* in the office once. She never gave me or my daughter a date on when they expected the new water tank. I am not sure this part about speaking with a person named *******. The reason I wrote to BBB is that my daughter asked for confirmation that they would not charge me for a heater that I never reccieved. I never heard back from them after my daughter called and cancelled with *******.

Why would they evaluate my account based on past history if I am calling for service. I do not understand why someone that left their company matters when they took my call. They simply could have told me that they were not available if they held some sort of grudge that I was not a regular customer. It would have saved me multiple days of no hot water. I am fine that there is no bill.

Final Business Response
RE: Case # XXXXXX -- Mrs. ****** ********** -- Final Response To Mr. ******* O'Hara:
In regards to Mrs. **********'s rebuttal on 02118/2014 with your office and your request for us to move to a middle ground, we feel that Leominster Plumbing & Heating Co., Inc already did-Mrs. ********** spoke to ******* on that Monday to find out when the water heater was going to be installed. ******* explained to her that she had paged ******* ******* the owner to find out. He was on and emergency call and he had not responded back. ******* told Mrs. ********** she would call her as soon as he called into the office. Shortly after, Mrs- **********'s daughter called and cancelled out the service call. Later on that afternoon ******* had stepped out and ******* was answering calls when Mrs. **********'s daughter called back. She did ask for ******* but was told she had stepped out and if he could take a message or if there was something he could help her with. That is when she explained Mrs. **********'s situation to *******. He explained to Mrs. **********'s daughter he understood and that he had spoken to ******* early and he was going to waive the charges for Mrs. **********. ******* felt that if Mrs. ********** was having her daughter call to speak on her behalf there was no need to call Mrs. ********** back for confirmation. As Mrs. ********** stated in her rebuttal she wrote to the BBB to ensure she would not receive a bill. Again to date Mrs. ********** has not received a bill from Leominster Plumbing & Heating Co- Inc. In response to evaluating her account and holding a grudge, we always review customers accounts before heading out on a service call for several reasons -- they may owe company money, may be the tenant and not the owner, or to check information is current etc. Regardless of length or priority dispatching, both ******* and ******* recognized Mrs. ********** immediately when she called and ******* did respond to Mrs. **********'s frantic call. When you have been in business for over 90 years and a staple in the community you never forget your customers. Obviously there was no grudge held against Mrs. **********.
Mrs. ********** and her daughter did not want to receive a bill for any services from Leominster Plumbing & Heating Co., Inc_ To date, Mrs. ********** has not been billed which was already stated to her daughter by *******, Alter ******* spoke to her daughter that afternoon we considered this matter closed and again we apologized that Mrs. ********** was inconvenienced.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/28/2013Problems with Product / Service
01/31/2013Billing / Collection Issues
10/03/2011Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbing Contractors, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating & Air Conditioning, Pipe & Valve Fitters - Gas, Heating Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/1983Business started: 01/01/1923
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board of State Examiners of Plumbers & Gas Fitters
239 Causeway Street Suite 500 Division of Professional Licensure
Boston, MA02114-2140
(617) 727-9952
http://www.mass.gov/dpl/boards/pl/index.htm

Department of Public Safety
One Asburton Place Room 1301
Boston, MA02108
(617) 727-3200
http://www.mass.gov/dps/

BBB records show a license number of 8631 for this company, issued by Board of State Examiners of Plumbers & Gas Fitters. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/dpl/boards/pl/index.htm.

Type: Plumber/Master

Check License Status: http://license.reg.state.ma.us/public/pubLicenseQ.asp?board code=PL&type class= M&license number=000008631&color=green&lb=PL

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 16750 for this company, issued by Board of State Examiners of Plumbers & Gas Fitters. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/dpl/boards/pl/index.htm.

Type: Plumber/Journeyman

Check License Status: http://license.reg.state.ma.us/public/pubLicenseQ.asp?board code=PL&type class= J&license number=000016750&color=green&lb=PL

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of BU-021876 for this company, issued by Department of Public Safety. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/dps/.

Type: Oil Burner Technician

Check License Status: http://elicense.chs.state.ma.us/Verification/Details.aspx?agency id=1&license id=8124&

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 1536 for this company, issued by Board of State Examiners of Plumbers & Gas Fitters. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/dpl/boards/pl/index.htm.

Type: Plumbing Corporation

Check License Status: http://license.reg.state.ma.us/public/pubLicenseQ.asp?board code=PL&type class= C&license number=000001536&color=green&lb=PL

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1963, MA

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Stephen M. Douglas (President)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Michael Thomas (Office Manager)Mr. Bernie Landry (Sales Manager) Valerie Reed (Secretary)
Number of Employees

9

Business Category

Plumbing Contractors, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating & Air Conditioning, Pipe & Valve Fitters - Gas, Heating Contractors

Products & Services

According to the information provided by the company, they offer plumbing, heating and air conditioning services.

Industry Tips
PLUMBERS
AIR CONDITIONING
Air Conditioning Service and Maintenance
Dont Get Burned by Furnace Fraud
Fall Inspections Make for Warmer Winters
Heating Your Home
Safety Considerations When Using Kerosene Heaters

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Leominster Plumbing & Heating Co., Inc.

70 Pleasant St

Leominster, MA 01453-5636

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 70 Pleasant St 

    Leominster, MA 01453-5636(978) 537-5539
    (978) 537-2246

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Leominster Plumbing & Heating Co., Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (978) 537-5539
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.