BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/21/2007

Fuel Services, Inc.

Phone: (413) 532-3500Fax: (413) 532-0052View Additional Phone Numbers95 Main St., South HadleyMA 01075-2706View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/21/2007

BBB has determined that Fuel Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Fuel Services, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Fuel Services, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
12/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I complied with offer received to become an automatic delivery customer. Incentives promised were not delivered and service cancelled without notice.
I have been a "will call" customer since my house was built 15 years ago. Fuel Services has been the only company to deliver my oil and service my oil burner during that time. Since I also heat with firewood, I only require 2-3 deliveries of fuel oil per year. The company is well aware of this and my history of oil use, and the delivery receipt left with each oil delivery clearly notes "also burns wood".

In June of this year I received a letter from Fuel Services, Inc. stating that they were ending their will call service to my area as of August 1st, and offering to add me to their Automatic Delivery service to be "able to continue providing me with the service I deserve as a valued Fuel Services, Inc. customer." I still retain that letter with my name and address on it. The letter also states "To help you make that decision, we offer the following for signing as an Automatic Delivery Customer
1. $100.00 in coupons - 1 $20.00 coupon to be used with each of your first five deliveries.
2. A no Charge Service agreement for the first year to cover your heating system (a $289.00 value)."
I did call the company in late June or early July and informed the person I spoke to that I would take their offer and become an automatic delivery customer. I also indicated that since I also burned wood, as they were aware, I could wait longer between deliveries to make it more worthwhile to them, but would accept any schedule they wanted to provide.

I heard nothing since then from the company. I had assumed that as of August 1st I was on automatic delivery status and covered by a one year service contract. But as the weather has gotten colder, no oil has been delivered, and no coupons or service agreement were received. Today I decided to call the company to ask why I had not heard or received anything. I was told by the person answering the phone that a decision was made in September that households that burn wood or wood pellets would not be included in the automatic delivery program. That this decision was not communicated to effected customers is at the very least extremely discourteous. Since I was under the belief that I was an automatic delivery customer at the time, having complied with the terms of the Fuel Services, Inc. offer, I also believe that it constitutes termination of services and my account without notice. Since I also signed on as an automatic delivery customer prior to August 1st as requested in the letter I received, but did not receive the incentives promised solely for signing on, that the company has also engaged in false advertising or breach of promise.

Desired Settlement
I would like the company to keep its promises. I would like them to continue delivering my oil on an automatic delivery basis on any schedule they desire. They do continue to service the area I live in , so it can be at any time they desire when they are in the area. I would be satisfied with the schedule they do with other automatic customers, or monthly, quarterly, or twice a year. Whatever they desire that that may be the most efficient for them but does not require me calling for it so that I cannot be considered a "will call" customer. Their continued deliveries would be required for them to fulfill the promises made for me, to use the coupons due me, and for the year long service contract I am due for signing on as an automatic deliver customer. I met the requirements for this offer prior to the termination of the "will call" delivery program, and at least month before they made the decision to exclude customers who also burn firewood for heat. I am willing to continue being a customer. Since my oil burner is now 15 years old, it had been my intent to continue purchasing their yearly service contract when my free year had expired. I am still willing to do so.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** *****
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ********@fuelservices****
We had discussed with customer our policy of the fact if he heats with another heat source as well, we will not do automatic delivery because we have no way of judging their usage, and therefore cannot guarantee no runout will occur. we did however agree with the customer to deliver and give him our offers if we receive an emailed letter from him taking full responsibility for any runouts. he was happy with that

Consumer Response: The company has consented to continue delivering oil on a "modified" automatic delivery basis. I will email them monthly with the oil level in my oil tank so that they can decide when to include me in their scheduled round of deliveries. They also agreed to give me the incentives promised in the letter sent me. First oil delivery arrived 11-17-15. Thank you for your intervention.

02/13/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was told we would not be charged for service covered under warranty but were charged anyway. Company has failed to respond to request for regund
We had a service call in **** 2014 to replace a broken thermocouple. On ******** our furnace shut off and the technician who came out to service it determined that the thermocouple was bad. We were charged ****** for the part and ****** for the service call. My spouse was home at the time of service and did not know we'd had the same part replaced 6 months prior, so she provided our bank card for payment. I spoke to a manager on ******** to dispute the charge because the company promises a 1-year warranty on parts. He said the part should have been covered and that he would waive the service charge as well. However, our bank card was charged on that same date. About 7-10 days ago I sent an email to the company via their website to inquire about the status of our refund. As of today ********* I have received no response.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting a refund of charges from ******** in the total amount of ******** directly to the bank card that Fuel Services used for these charges.

Business Response
the customer was never charged for the services in question. their account is set up as a "COD' acct, therefore the credit card was charged prior to going to their home and finding it was a warrantied part. The credit has been on their account since that day ********** they have since had another service call (unrelated) those charges were taken from the credit on their acct. the remaining credit owed to them (that is on their acct) is ****** and we have credited back to their credit card that was originally used. we are happy to do this for our customers, this was never requested of us.

02/12/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Fuel Services does not send invoices, but instead sends past due notices with finance charges before notifying us of any propane services.
I've had multiple frustrations with Fuel Services, including horrible customer service, not receiving invoices (even after countless requests), and being charged with finance fees. Within their online portal I signed up to receive both email and mailed invoices, but still do not receive either (have been signed up for both delivery methods since ****** Phoned customer service about missing invoices and their response was "sometimes they don't make it out, but that they would talk to the A/R person." That was almost a year ago and I'm still not receiving invoices! I'm sorry, but I'm not paying finance charges for invoices I have never seen! Their A/R dept. needs to pull it together.

Account number is XXXXX
Originally I paid by check, but because of all the finance charges I created an online account so I could randomly check for new charges and then started paying by debit card. The amount of finance charges billed last year was only ****** but I am done with them continuing to charge me extra when they do not send emails or mail invoices, and therefore alert me of new bills. Never have I had any issues with finance charges with any other company; all my accounts are in good standing. Fuel Services' A/R dept. is dysfunctional.

Desired Settlement
I would love Fuel Services to credit my account ***** and get their A/R Dept. in order and start sending me invoices!

Business Response
this customer has been set up and received both email and mailed invoices since the date requested (***** 2014)when these are sent out our system automatically posts in the note section that it has been sent. (i can supply copies if needed)I tried to contact ****** (whos acct this is) to verify his email address is correct however have not heard back from him as of yet. it is his gmail address that is listed on the acct and where they are being sent.the customer is the one that gives us the email address to send to. (this acct is not in ******* name) their payment terms are set up to be paid in 30 days, and are being paid every few months, which is why finance charges will come up. I have credited the finance charges for this customer but in order for them not to be added to the account, it needs to be paid within their credit terms, or unfortunately this will continue to happen. They are also a "metered" account, so there are no deliveries made to them, their meters get read once a month and the bill goes out at that time (once a month) (for exa, like the gas or electric company) their bills always are sent the 1st week of the month as well. if you need futher information from me I am happy to supply at your request.

05/02/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
fuel services changed my stove over from natural gas to propane. After the changeover my pilot kept going out.
Contacted Fuel services on 1/26/16 to change my stove fittings from natural gas to propane. tecnicician showed up later that day and said he was familiar with this type of stove. This stove can be run with natural gas or propane. The stove had been delivered with the natural gas orfices installed and I had run it with these the first 2 times I ran it, and then realized that had to be changed. Contacted fuels services and was told this was something they could do. He first cleaned the stove because running propane thru the natural gas fittings had caused it to run dirty. After cleaning the stove he installed the propane pilot,main burner orfice,and the pilot injector. He then lit the pilot, and left.That night the pilot went so I re-lit, the next morning the pilot was out again so I re-lit, that night the same thing. I looked at manual that night and noticed that it said when installing the new pilot and burner orfices that there should be pipe dope used and that they should be torqued to an inch pound amount, none of this had been done. I called fuel services and talked with one of the vice presidents, I explained the situation and was told to get the company I purchased the stove from to come and fix it.I was treated very rudely and unprofessionly by this person because I questioned the installation, never did he offer to send a technician back to look at the problem. I contacted fuel services on 2/10/2016 the to see if they could check my propane pressure to see if this could be causing the pilot to go out, they sent someone who said the pressure was good. I then contacted a technician from another company to look at the stove, he came and removed the pilot and the main burner orfices and reinstalled with pipe thread tape, he said the pilot orfice was installed way to tight. he then started the stove and adjusted the pilot screw and the primary air adjustment rod. The stove has run perfect ever since. He charged 120.00 for this. I feel I was treated unfairly by fuel services. Because of the fact their tech did not install and adjust the orfices properly it cost me 69.00 for fuel services to check my gas pressure, 120.00 dollars to have another technician fix the problem. you also charged me 196.00 for the original visit which was not done correctly.If their tech was familiar with working on these stoves they should have told me that when I first called. I am very disappointed in the way I was treated and talked to by the Vice president of this company, during my phone call with him I told I would like to be taken off automatic fuel delivery and look for propane a new propane company once my propane was gone, his response was "you only use 50 gallons a year, do you think we care" he ended our phone call by hanging up on me. On 2/23/2016 I came home from work to find a slip at my door from fuel services saying they had filled my tank, I am now stuck with a full tank from a company I do not want to work anymore after I asked the vice president to take me off automatic delivery.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have my bill adjusted to reflect the money I had to spend to rectify the initial visit from your technician.

Business Response
cust called our company w/ a sooting issue from their fireplace. we went out and found their conversion was never done from their installer.(from natural gas to propane) we cleaned the fireplace & completed the conversion to propane. upon completion, the cust was upset with the final bill and preceed to yell at the technician about the billing. Mr N.**** received a call that day from cust (who was irate)about pricing. Mr N.**** tried to explain that we did NOT install his unit and were trying to help him and get it connected *as cust was aware) explained to him he should have contacted his original install company to save $$. Cust proceeded to tell us what our rates should be and refused to pay for the service that was done.he stated was still having issues at which point we told him to contact the original installer to save on charges. on 2/10 we received a call back from cust after he had another company come out,(who also charged him for their call) said this company suggested the gas pressure incorrect. we explained to cust we will come back out and check..if correct pressure will be charged, if not there would NOT be a charge. we went out, pressure was 12.1" water columns(which is correct pressure for unit). and AS EXPLAINED PRIOR TO SENDING TECH.. cust was charged for the call. while there we asked if anything else they wanted done, the MRS said no all set and we left. (mrs was aware of the fee for the calls also) and wife agreed to pay the 69.00 for that serv. call. If the cust. wishes to end our business relationship, we will be happy to pick up our propane tank and credit him for the propane currently in that tank. Mr N.**** has also left messages for cust to contact him back and cust has failed to do so.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not except this response. I have looked at my phone records for the last 30 days and there is 1 call from fuel services on 3/28 on 4:59 p.m with no message left on my machine.I will not even respond to the claim I "YELLED at the techncian. The technician did not repair the stove properly, I called and asked them to come back, Mr N.**** told me to get someone else to repair it then sent me a bill for 195.00. I got the stove properly repaired for $120.00 and fowarded this bill along with a check for 75.00 to fuel services to cover my repair. Fuel services cashed this check. I am willing to pay the 69.00 that Mr N.**** says my wife says she said she would pay.Once my tank is empty I would like to end this this business relationship when my tank is empty, I do not know how it could be figured fairly to show how much I paid for the propane that is left in the tank so that I get the right amount. just let me know how much propane should be left for me to call and have it picked up and i will do that.

Final Business Response
On 4/19 pete spoke to the customer...." Spoke with customer and will credit the first service call and he was happy he will call us back to schedule the tank pickup of tank will give info to Mary Beth." (copy of note in acct dated 4/19/16)

Looks like he is happy now, we will be picking up our tanks when he contacts us to do so.

08/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In January 2015 they installed furnace and water heater and they have not provided us w/a receipt with brand and model yet. It's needed for rebates.
In January 2015 we hired their company to provide us with a brand new furnace and water heater, it's been 8 months and several calls and emails requesting an invoice with the brand and model of the water heater included, so far only the furnace information is there. We need this information on the invoice to be able to get our energy rebate from the state.

Desired Settlement
We need the company to provide us with the detailed invoice. At this point they should also refund a portion as a courtesy for all the headaches they've caused and their lack of professionalism.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** ***** ** ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@fuelservices.biz
Emails and information, as well as extra help with letters we sent to the housing authority to help this customer w/complaints from his tenants have been going since this installation. Mr ******* first request for a copy of the invoice was emailed to **** on march 24th at 9:32pm. stating he wanted info for rebates. **** responded the next day. then on *** 20th at 4pm, (rebates take approx.6i-8 weeks.customer emailed **** stating gas networks was requesting a model# on the 21st at 3:15 **** responded saying he will have to him by the next week (as he was out of the office till then) but that he did not believe there WAS a rebate on that.**** requested more info from the customer so that he may help him, customer did NOT respond or call us with the info needed. the next contact from customer was on Wed aug 12th at 9:27 am asking for another invoice and **** sent the invoice on fri. aug 14th at 2:46 pm. There are many more emails/correspondence between this customer and **** prior to those I have just listed. I am happy to supply the copies of ALL emails upon request. I can also supply copies of account transactions if needed. The customer does have all the info that was requested. We are happy to help all of our customers and take great pride in our customer service.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Oils-Fuel, Gas-Propane-Equipment & Supplies, Gas-Propane, Heating & Air Conditioning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/19/2004Business started: 09/19/1989Business started locally: 10/19/1989New Owner Date: 07/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

U.S. Department of Transportation
1200 New Jersey Ave SE
Washington, DC 20590-0001
(202) 366-4000
http://www.dot.gov

Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulations
10 Park Plaza, Suite 5170
Boston, MA 02116
(888) 283-3757
http://www.mass.gov/consumer

BBB records show a license number of US DOT 1630459 for this company, issued by U.S. Department of Transportation. Their web address is http://www.dot.gov.

Type: Transportation Certificate

Check License Status: http://safer.fmcsa.dot.gov/query.asp?searchtype=ANY&query type=queryCarrierSnapshot&query param=USDOT&original query param=NAME&query string=1630459&original query string=FUEL%20SERVICES%20INC

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 165483 for this company, issued by Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulations. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/consumer.

Type: Home Improvement Contractor

Check License Status: https://services.oca.state.ma.us/hic/licdetails.aspx?txtSearchLN=67298

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1989, MA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephan C. Chase (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Mary Beth Nolan (VP Customer Relations)Mr. Chris Chase (Executive Vice President)
Number of Employees

34

Business Category

Oils-Fuel, Gas-Propane-Equipment & Supplies, Gas-Propane, Heating & Air Conditioning

Products & Services

This company offers home heating fuel, 24 hour service, and installation of heating and air conditioning.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:30 AM to 04:30 PMTue: 07:30 AM to 04:30 PMWed: 07:30 AM to 04:30 PMThu: 07:30 AM to 04:30 PMFri: 07:30 AM to 04:30 PM
Service Area

Western MA & Northern CT

Alternate Business Names
South Hadley Fuel Services, Lou's Fuel, Tom's Fuel Oil, paylessforoil.com
Industry Tips
AIR CONDITIONING

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Fuel Services, Inc.

95 Main St.

South Hadley, MA 01075-2706

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 95 Main St. 

    South Hadley, MA 01075-2706(413) 532-3500
    (855) 645-4537
    Fax: (413) 532-0052

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Fuel Services, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (413) 562-0650
  • (855) 645-4537

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (413) 562-0657
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Oils-Fuel

AIR CONDITIONING
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.