BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/13/1994

Cleghorn Oil, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (978) 345-4188Fax: (978) 345-7215409 Princeton Rd., FitchburgMA 01420 Send email to Cleghorn Oil, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/13/1994

BBB has determined that Cleghorn Oil, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Cleghorn Oil, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Cleghorn Oil, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
06/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cleghorn Oil serviced my furnace without permission and is charging me for unauthorized service.
I was considering having my furnace tuned up by cleghorn oil. I told them id like to at some point setup an appt in the beginning of 2013. I then told them we would need to hold off on the tune up. They came randomly to my house, entered my property and performed work I didnt authorize. They proceeded to charge my account. Now they want to put the bill into collections. I do not want to pay for unauthorized service, I was going to but this is not fair to me as I am also going through financial hardship.

Desired Settlement
I have partially paid the bill they sent me. I want to stop at what I paid and call it even. They can remove the remainder of the bill.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** ***
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@cleghornoil.com
Sorry I did respond and it must not have gone through.** ***** requested a quote on a cleaning.was qouted two price a cleaning @ 125.00 and a cleaning and ultra sonic test 165.00 special.Requested the 165.00 Job.October 5thand stated that he will be working and will leave the basement door around back unlocked,
On Sep 27th had to Reschedule his cleaning,on the 5th,when asked when he said any time during the last week of the month was fine and he would leave a check on the step.
He did call once we did the cleaning and asked if we had been to his home,we replied yes to do the cleaning.he then said he never reschedule. we explained he did he said any time the last week of the month. we then tried to take the high road and said sorry for any confusion,not sure what happened.some time's it;s just easier knocked 30.00 off the 165.00 bill and mr was fine with that.In one of his last conversations he questioned what 85% efficiency meant.after his explanation he said I will be sending in what I owe.and also requested prices on other repairs.
In the end he did cancel original appt,but said he would like to reschedule when asked when he said anytime the last week of the month and I will leave door unlocked.
As far as I am concerned,If someone came to my house and did work that I know I didnt order why would you even pay a penny towards that work.He knows he rescheduled and I will hold firm to the balance.mtr has already paid 50.00 towards the balance and still owes 85.00.
I am fair when it come's to my customer's but when I know someone is scamming I stick to what we agreed to.If there was a slim chance we always give the benifit of doubt to the customer.** agreed on the terms and as I said previously.he continued to communicate back and forth on different issues he was having with his system and requesting different prices

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They never stated they would take 30 off the bill and I do not have any other issues with my heating system. If they're not going to budge ill pay the 85 remainder balance in two increments and be done with dealing with this type of company .

Business' Final Response
**.***** originally contacted us in july : via i/m asking for prices on a cleaning,Our response on july 19th was 125.00 (special price)for you basic cleaning,If you would like the tank xray package,we had a special at the time for 165.00 for both.July 19th 1:26pm He replied back October 5th the 165.00 plan.On september 27th he I/m stating he needed to reschedule his oct 5th maintenance appt.we replied @ 10:51 same day, no problem what day he stated any time last week of october i can leave a check on the door step,and in his previous I/m he also stated that he would be working so he would leave the basement door un locked. My Tech went to his address on October 29th the door was unlocked. when he was all done he went to the door step,there was no check,so we just bill him In his original appointment he stated he wanted the 165.00 plan.his bill was 135.00,This = the 30.00 he didnt get charged.he has paid 50.00 and the balance is 85.00..I do believe he may have forgot we were coming,But why was his basement door unlocked.If he always leaves this door unlocked why did he state in his original I/M that he would leave the door un- locked.If some one was to let us in to do the cleaning why wasn't it questioned before we did the cleaning.What I don't think is fair is in ** *****'s 1st complaint he stated that he only called and inquired on a price and never set any appointment up.there was clearly more to it than just that.In the end we never submitted the tank sure program information and removed that portion from his bill,and only charged him the 135.00 current rate of a cleaning at that time..Cleghorn didn't know where the confusion came from but tried to work with ** *****.and he seemed satisfied.to the point as i sated before he also called to see if we could send him information on the tank sure program and to come back out and perform this task.and again said i will check on tank and door open...as i stated before ** ***** isn't being 100% truth full on this whole thing,Every thing i have explained above was via I/M with ** ***** and I have all these transcripts on our computer.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Oils-Fuel, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating & Air Conditioning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/22/1993Business started: 09/23/1922Business started locally: 01/01/1923
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board of State Examiners of Plumbers & Gas Fitters
239 Causeway Street Suite 500 Division of Professional Licensure
Boston, MA 02114-2140
(617) 727-9952
http://www.mass.gov/dpl/boards/pl/index.htm

Department of Public Safety
One Asburton Place Room 1301
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 727-3200
http://www.mass.gov/dps/

Division of Professional Licensure
239 Causeway Street
Boston, MA 02114
(617) 727-7406
http://www.mass.gov/dpl/boards.htm

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1961, MA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Howard Peterson Jr. (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Daymian Bartek (cust. serv. mgr.)Ms. Kristen Peterson Hallus (Vice President)
Number of Employees

25

Business Category

Oils-Fuel, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating & Air Conditioning

Products & Services

According to information provided by this company, it offers home heating oil delivery services.

Industry Tips
AIR CONDITIONING

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cleghorn Oil, Inc.

409 Princeton Rd.

Fitchburg, MA 01420

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 409 Princeton Rd. 

    Fitchburg, MA 01420(978) 345-4188

  • PO Box 947 

    Fitchburg, MA 01420-0009

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cleghorn Oil, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Oils-Fuel

AIR CONDITIONING
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.