BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/25/2010

Busy Bee Nursery

Find a Location

Phone: (508) 829-5380Fax: (508) 829-666857 Broad Street Route 68, JeffersonMA 01522 Send email to Busy Bee Nursery

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/25/2010

BBB has determined that Busy Bee Nursery meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Busy Bee Nursery's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Busy Bee Nursery

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a tree, it died, the ***** agreed to replace tree with identical tree. Six weeks later a much smaller tree was planted while I was out.
I purchased an 8-9 foot tree in June. We watered as directed but it died. After several emails, the ***** did come to my home in August and agreed the tree died through no fault of mine. He agreed to replace it with an identical tree. A month went by with no contact from the company. I then sent one email a week for 3 weeks. I was told the ***** was too busy to deal with me and then I was told all of their men were ill. After the final email, stressing the need for the ***** to contact me, a tiny tree was planted while I was out. I contacted Busy Bee immediately to complain that the tree was too small. I was told the original tree that was delivered by the ***** himself, was a much bigger tree than what I paid for. I originally discussed with the ***** in my front yard the size I wanted. We received the correct size and I paid for it. Now that I have been insisting it be replaced, after waiting 6+ weeks and going back and forth with the ******* sister and all of her excuses as to why the tree hadn't been replaced, we received this tiny tree worth half of what I paid for. She admits the tree is much smaller. I believe they are mad that I insisted the dead tree be removed and replaced as I was told by the *****. Now my inquiries and requests go unanswered. I paid 158.00 plus labor. The tree is a Dogwood and was purchased in June.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of $158.00 which is the price of the tree. I also paid for labor to have it planted. I would also accept the correct size tree planted.

Business Response
Dear ***,
First, to clarify I am ****** *******, ****** Sister, my focus in the office is ******* and ***. ***** has been the person you have been conversing with. She works very hard to keep all the organization in the office, books and tracks of all ****'s appointments and jobs with all the customers. It is a challenging task and she really tries to take care of all the customers requests.
Your Kousa dogwood tree was planted on July 1st, on July 2nd you emailed ***** the tree looked good and requested care instructions, which she sent out to you on the same day. On July 15th you emailed about some other plants you wanted **** to check (which he did) but the tree looked good. On August 15th you emailed the tree really didn't look good; despite your diligent efforts following the watering directions. **** went by that same night and agreed the tree wasn't looking good and said he'd replace it. **** has always valued you as a customer and that's why he went right out to check the tree.
When you emailed ***** on September 19 looking for a date for replacement she realized **** still had your file. Unfortunately **** had been working long hours on job sites. When you emailed ***** again on September 27th she tracked down the file in his office, talked to **** and he said he'd replace the tree the following week.
When you emailed on Friday, October 4th she was very upset and wanted to be able to keep what had been promised to you. We were short handed on the crew all week as she told you because of a some bug the guys were all getting. **** was working on a job, so I intervened and checked the file for what was needed. I called down to the nursery horticulturist that was on staff that day to see if we had a nice $158.00 size kousa dogwood. He checked and confirmed we did. I asked him if he could take it to a customer and replace the one that was that was dead because we had promised it would be done this week. I again checked with him that it was a nice tree and to plant it carefully as you had been waiting awhile for the replacement.
******** got your later October 4th email on Monday morning saying you were not happy with the tree's size. She checked again that the right size was planted and emailed you back. **** did go by that week-end to check it and talk to you but you were not home. He also confirmed it was an 1-1.5" cal tree which is the $158.00 that you paid and was a very nice tree. Industry standard is generally when a tree hits 1" cal.(measured 6" up from the truck flair) that is how it graded and sold by caliper instead of by the height. If the other tree was larger than it was incorrectly billed for a smaller tree. **** also stopped by again last week to try to talk to you but again missed you. We may be very overworked here, but we do care and would never expend negative energy giving something less to a customer than what they paid for. I do apologize for the length of time it took to replace the tree.
You stated you'd like is a refund or larger tree. **** said we did plant the correct size for $158.00 ( 1-1.5" cal.), however,if you'd like a refund for the tree $158.00, plus $75.00 labor that we'd take back the tree and send you a check. You may also come to the nursery to pick out a larger tree and pay for the size difference only, no additional charge for labor to plant.
**** did suggest you may want to check out trees at other nurseries first to see what the prices are running for the size you want. If you'd like to wait for the spring when you'd have more selection that would be fine with us too we'd still honor either the refund or replacement. If you decide to keep the tree we just planted we'll extend the warranty until the Spring of 2015.

Sincerely,
****** *******





Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept their response. First ****** was not a part of the original consultation, second she was not the person who I was corresponding with. The most important reason their statement is incorrect is because my husband and I had a consultation with the owner about the size tree we wanted. We never specified a price just the size. The correct size came on a flatbed truck. My 16 year old son was home when the second tree came. It was so small it could fit in the back of a pick up truck. More importantly, the first tree was delivered by the *****, ****. Like I said it was the correct size. Size was the most important part do our discussion. Not price! I was then billed. The bill priced the tree at $158.00 plus labor. It took the entire month of August to get the ***** to come look at a tree that was dead. He finally came on August 22 and told us the tree was absolutely dead and it was not our fault and he would replace it. After the 7 weeks of back and forth with ****, not ****** or **** the owner, who I repeatedly asked to call me. Not one phone call. I do not believe he came here twice. I asked him to call so we could connect, not randomly come by. I asked repeatedly to speak to him. Regardless, the issue now is that I was told by **** that the tree I originally got was worth a lot more than $ 158.00. In the original consultation we asked for size not price. It was then up to Busy Bee to send me a bill for what the tree was worth. Now all of a sudden they have done me a favor and given me a larger tree than I paid for originally. I contacted them told them I Wanted a refund yesterday. Less than 6 hours later they came to my house an removed the tree. Again less than 6 hours. It took 7 weeks and then they delivered a tree half the size. When they want their tree back it took less than 6 hours. If they had provided me with customer service like that in the first place, I would not be disappointed. Now they have the tree and my $233.00. I do not know when to expect my money. I cannot believe it took less than 6 hours for them to retrieve the tree. I am concerned that I will not receive a refund seeing how fast they came to collect the tree. Again, now I am out the tree and my money. This is not resolved. All that is resolved is they have both the tree and my money now. If they had just tried to call like I requested at any point. ****** writes how busy they are. Well they are not so busy they couldn't come yesterday and dig up the tiny tree in less than 6 hours. In order for this matter to be resolved, I need the refund of $233.00 immediately.

Final Business Response
On October 23rd when the customer made it clear she wanted the tree removed and a refund check of $233.00 issued, that is what we did. I would like to assure the customer the moment the Nursery staff returned with the tree a refund a check was issued to her for $242.88 ($158.00 tree, $9.88 tax & $75.00 labor). That same day, I personally took the check to the Jefferson Post Office on my way home from work and handed it to the postmaster so the customer would receive it promptly. The customer may refer to the postmark when she receives the check to see it was mailed the 23rd the same day we removed the tree.


Again I'd like to apologize for the delay in time for the planting the tree as well as for the confusion of the size. If size was the customer's main concern, we did offer to let the customer pick out the tree of her choice and if it was a larger size just to pay the difference, with no added labor cost to plant. We also offered to honor this into the spring, so the customer would have the opportunity to look at other nurseries and pricing before she made a decision.


Sincerely,

******

Industry Comparison| Chart

Nurseries-Plants, Trees, Etc, Contractors - Retaining Wall, Irrigation Systems - Maintenance/Repair, Irrigation Systems - Install/Design, Irrigation Consultants, Mulches, Garden Centers, Patio Builder, Hardscapes, Walkway Design, Landscape Masonry, Grading / Leveling Contractor, Excavating Contractors, Tree Service - Pruning, Tree Service, Landscape Designers, Hydroseeding, Landscape Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/09/1993Business started: 04/01/1977
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Public Safety
One Asburton Place Room 1301
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 727-3200
http://www.mass.gov/dps/

BBB records show a license number of PM-019951 for this company, issued by Department of Public Safety. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/dps/. The expiration date of this license is 08/08/2016.

Type: Pipefitter/Master

Check License Status: http://elicense.chs.state.ma.us/Verification/Details.aspx?agency id=1&license id=157289&

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of CS-051237 for this company, issued by Department of Public Safety. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/dps/. The expiration date of this license is 01/23/2017.

Type: Construction Supervisor

Check License Status: http://elicense.chs.state.ma.us/Verification/Details.aspx?agency id=1&license id=240199&

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of HE-072848 for this company, issued by Department of Public Safety. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/dps/. The expiration date of this license is 01/23/2018.

Type: Hoisting

Check License Status: http://elicense.chs.state.ma.us/Verification/Details.aspx?agency id=1&license id=404126&

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1975, MA

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Richard Lovely (President)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Sharon Taubert Vice Pres.
Number of Employees

15

Business Category

Nurseries-Plants, Trees, Etc, Contractors - Retaining Wall, Irrigation Systems - Maintenance/Repair, Irrigation Systems - Install/Design, Irrigation Consultants, Mulches, Garden Centers, Patio Builder, Hardscapes, Walkway Design, Landscape Masonry, Grading / Leveling Contractor, Excavating Contractors, Tree Service - Pruning, Tree Service, Landscape Designers, Hydroseeding, Landscape Contractors

Products & Services

According to information provided by the company, they offer a fully stocked nursery, full landscape and design including plant, hydro-seed, sod, walks, patios, excavation, grading, and sewer and water connections.

Alternate Business Names
Paxton Lawn Maintenance Co., Inc.
Industry Tips
LANDSCAPERS
CONTRACTORS

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Busy Bee Nursery

57 Broad Street Route 68

Jefferson, MA 01522

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 57 Broad Street Route 68 

    Jefferson, MA 01522

  • PO Box 109 

    Jefferson, MA 01522-0109

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Busy Bee Nursery is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Nurseries-Plants, Trees, Etc

LANDSCAPERS
CONTRACTORS
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.