BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/04/1987

The Home Store

Find a Location

Phone: (413) 665-1266Fax: (413) 665-1122View Additional Phone Numbers73 State Rd, WhatelyMA 01093 Send email to The Home Store

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/04/1987

BBB has determined that The Home Store meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised The Home Store's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on The Home Store

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
06/06/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Modular home was delivered 2/22/16 and we still can't move in because we can't get a certificate of occupancy
We purchased a modular home from the Home Store in Whately, MA in September 2015. They were supposed to deliver it 1/10/16, 1/20/16 house was finally delivered 2/22 and we still have not been able to move in. We can't get a Certificate of Occupancy because there are so many things wrong. We are missing doors, windows, toilet, faucets, plumbing, kitchen counter tops, tub is not installed and no plumbing. We don't have shutters on the outside that we paid for. Upstairs rear dormer was put in the wrong location. There was supposed to be a doorway from laundry room to hall and its missing, not door and no framework. 2nd floor there is no door or framework for a door either. When they set the house they dragged house over wires and tore casing off wires. The house was not set on foundation squarely. They continue to make promises to come and make repairs and deliver missing items but never show up. There is ply wood over 2 window openings which causes rain to enter.There is damage in the kitchen ceiling from water entering where a door was missing on the 2nd floor. They finally put that door in but it isn't the door we bought, doesn't match other french doors in house. The roof shingles don't line up and some are bubbling up. There is a crack in one of the upstairs windows. There are missing columns from kitchen into dinning room. They charged for upgraded carpet and its not. Charged us for a stair railing but never gave it to us. Molding is off doors and windows. Missing cabinets in the master bathroom. The building inspector was so frustrated he told us to get the rest of the house and then call him back. We paid them in full with certified check with no bank involved.

Desired Settlement
We want them to fix all the issues with the house and provide us the product that we paid for. We also want all this issued resolved immediately. At this point we also want monetary restitution. We have spent a tremendous amount of time and money to try and fix this. We have lost time/wages from work and have also had to pay for estimates to have these things fixed.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Andy G.******, President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX x **
Contact Email: *****@the-homestore.com
Our service rep is delivering the needed materials and completing the needed repairs today and tomorrow. The reason this has taken so long is because the modular manufacturer, ***** Homes, who we bought the modules from on behalf of Mr. and Mrs. **** has filed for bankruptcy. They no longer are doing business. Consequently, we have had a difficult time getting the materials. In fact, we have had to buy them ourselves, even though they were owed to the customer by ****** We have also had to pay for the service crew that has done all of the repairs. They were not paid for by ****** even though it was their responsibility to send their own crew. The materials and labor will have cost us many thousands of dollars. (I believe Mr. and Mrs. **** think the materials and labor were supplied by ****** In fact, ***** has done nothing to help Mr. and Mrs. ****)

I sincerely apologize to Mr. and Mrs. **** for the delays. But I want them to know that we are really trying to do the right thing for them.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We are aware that ***** has filed bankruptcy but the house was delivered on 2/22/16 and all the issues with the house were evident then. I don't know how bankruptcy works, I'm assuming if ***** is already closed they must have known when they delivered the house, if the Home Store has been paying for all the repairs since it's been delivered they were also aware.The Home Store should have known it would be a problem yet they still delivered the house and took our money.He put in his response they would be at our house the day he responded or the next day, in fact it was 3 days later. I agree, some of the issues are ******** mistakes but some of them are the Home Store's. And there are still a number of unresolved issues. It has been a constant fight to get them to make repairs and I'm completely convinced the only reason they showed up the last time was because of this complaint. I just want to make sure they make ALL the repairs and deliver ALL the items that are still missing. I have emailed the President Mr. G.****** a number of times and he has never once reached out to apologize.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The Home Store did arrive on Monday, 5/16 and made some of the repairs that needed to be made however they're are still a lot of things that need to be fixed. My husband and I had a telephone conversation with Mr. G.****** and he said the Home Store would make good on all of the items. I would like to keep this open until everything is complete.

Final Business Response
Here is the plan that we have sent the customer.
* Install and adjust the triple window after obtaining the correct mullion kit. Materials should arrive within a week
* Replace the kitchen cabinet trim strip after obtaining matching materials. Provide a matching touch up kit for the kitchen cabinets. Adjust cabinet doors as needed. Materials should arrive within 3 weeks.
* Install two pantry/linen cabinets (one included with home; one supplied as an extra for no charge from The Home Store).
* Supply the necessary bases and tops for the wooden columns. Materials should arrive within 3 weeks
* Supply door to utility room. Materials should arrive within 3 week.
* Build close-off at top of stairs. Supply interior door to close off. The framing, drywall, and door are supplied as an extra for no charge from The Home Store. Door should arrive in 2 weeks.
* Verify whether French door for the upstairs dormer is correct. If not, replace. (We will do this when we bring the other materials.)
* Replace window sash above front entrance door. (We will do this when we bring the other materials.)
* Replace a kitchen electrical switch with one that is Décor flat. (We will do this when we bring the other materials.)
* Adjust window BR 2 entrance door. (We will do this when we bring the other materials.)
* Repair the excessive drywall cracks in house and the damaged drywall in BR 2 ceiling. (We will do this when we bring the other materials.)
* Meet with their electrician to obtain a price for repairing the three damaged wires (if it really is only three wires, as they stated, we will rewire them). We've asked customer to schedule the meeting with the electrician

Industry Comparison| Chart

Modular Homes, Buildings - Pre - Cut, Prefab & Modular - Dealers, Home Builders

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/04/1987Business started: 11/01/1986
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Public Safety
One Asburton Place Room 1301
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 727-3200
http://www.mass.gov/dps/

Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulations
10 Park Plaza, Suite 5170
Boston, MA 02116
(888) 283-3757
http://www.mass.gov/consumer

BBB records show a license number of CS-065296 for this company, issued by Department of Public Safety. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/dps/. The expiration date of this license is 02/24/2018.

Type: Construction Supervisor

Check License Status: http://elicense.chs.state.ma.us/Verification/Details.aspx?agency id=1&license id=254246&

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 127319 for this company, issued by Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulations. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/consumer. The expiration date of this license is 10/07/2016.

Type: Home Improvement Contractor

Check License Status: http://services.oca.state.ma.us/hic/licdetails.aspx?txtSearchLN=27283

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1988, MA

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Andrew Gianino (President)
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

Modular Homes, Buildings - Pre - Cut, Prefab & Modular - Dealers, Home Builders

Products & Services

According to information provided by this company, they offer over 400 standard and custom designs. In addition, they build homes that are "Universally Designed" so you can enjoy your home regardless of age, size, abilities, or disabilities. The Home Store serves Massachusetts - MA, Connecticut - CT, Rhode Island - RI, New York and Long Island - NY, New Hampshire - NH, Vermont - VT, and New Jersey - NJ.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 12:00 PM to 04:30 PMTue: 12:00 PM to 04:30 PMWed: 12:00 PM to 04:30 PMThu: 12:00 PM to 04:30 PMSun: 12:00 PM to 04:30 PM
Industry Tips
HOME BUILDERS

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for The Home Store

73 State Rd

Whately, MA 01093

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 73 State Rd 

    Whately, MA 01093(800) 974-1266
    (413) 665-1266

  • PO Box 300 

    Whately, MA 01093-0300

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*The Home Store is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 974-1266
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Modular Homes

HOME BUILDERS
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.