BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

D & D Masonry & Chimney, Inc.

(508) 270-3333View Additional Phone Numbers524 Chicopee St, ChicopeeMA 01013-2138 Send email to D & D Masonry & Chimney, Inc.http://www.danddmasonryandchimney.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

D & D Masonry & Chimney, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered D & D Masonry & Chimney, Inc.'s rating include:

  • 19 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 5 complaints filed against business.
  • 2 complaints filed against business that were not resolved.
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues11
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 19

Additional Complaint Information

This company has a pattern of customer complaint alleging sales practice issues. Specifically, complaints allege unsolicited sales calls even though consumers report being on the national Do Not Call Registry. Consumers also report receiving multiple calls even after asking the business to remove them from their call list.

On May 29, 2013, BBB sent certified correspondence to the company requesting their voluntary cooperation in eliminating the pattern of customer complaints on file with BBB.

On June 21, 2013, BBB received the following response from the business:

We, the understated parties, having discussed the pattern of customer complaints filed against D&D Masonry & Chimney, Inc. over the past 36 months; hereby agree to eliminated the pattern of complaint through the procedures or steps outlined below. We further agree to abide by the promised terms.
1.) We will take them off of our calling lists provided by directory.
2.) We will make the customer know that we are indeed D and D and not another company posing as us, using our name.
3.) We will abide by these terms.

As of September 1 2013, BBB has processed 3 additional complaints exhibiting the same pattern as previously reported; evidence that the underlying cause of the pattern of consumer complaints has not been addressed by the procedures outlined by the business on June 21, 2013.

If you have had an unsatisfactory experience with this company, BBB would like to speak to you.


BBB offers the following general advice in regards to the FTC's Do Not Call rule:


The National Do Not Call Registry gives consumers a choice about whether to receive telemarketing calls at home. Most telemarketers should not call a number once it has been on the registry for 31 days. You can register your home or mobile phone for free.

Complaints about violations of the Do Not Call List can be registered at the same phone number or website used to register: 888-382-1222 or www.donotcall.gov . The consumer must have the company's name OR phone number and the date the call occurred. Even if your number is registered, companies with which you do business may continue to call you. So may charities, political organizations, and telephone surveyors.

FCC regulations prohibit telemarketers from using automated dialers to call cell phone numbers. Automated dialers are standard in the industry, so most telemarketers are barred from calling consumers on their cell phones without their consent. The federal government does not maintain a separate national cell phone registry - cell phones may be registered the same as landline phones.


Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on D & D Masonry & Chimney, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (19)
06/12/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company came to service chimmney when service was cancelled. We were on vacation. Now billing me $139.
Company cold called house and spoke with my 82 yr old altyzmers father. They then left a message regarding their call indicating my father had agreed to service. I called immediatley that day and left a message on their machine (office was closed) cancelling the service call for the following week- Monday May 13th. I indicated in my message that we are on the DO NOT Call list and my dad has altyzmers and should not have agreed to any service. I then called the office the next morning and relayed the same message to the office girl. She indicated she received my message and the service call was cancelled. We left on vacation that week. They (I guess) showed up at the house on Monday 5-13 and left a bill for $139. I called them the day we returned (today) 5/20 and spoke with a man who indicated they never got the cancellation. I was very angry and he was very rude. I asked for the name of the owner and he refused to provide it. I called twice to cancel this bogus service. They have a phone message on their answering machine from me. We Do not intend to pay this bill. Very unrepetable comany- if they have to depnd on elderly people to take advantage of.

Desired Settlement
Cancel Bill --- as we do not intend to pay anyway. I cancelled the service twice- they seem like a very shady company.

Business' Initial Response
We never sent a bill,our service tech left one when there was nobody home for the appointment made..we never got a cancellation , we r not charging them

05/29/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/27/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
06/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
New front steps were installed at ***** ******** **** ******** Final payment was made in July. Railings have not been installed yet. Every time I phone I'm told someone will be out Friday, or possibly Monday. It's now October. I want the job finished, and I want it done properly.
Product_Or_Service: New front steps with railings

Desired Settlement
I want the railings installed. There should be two and they should be sturdy.

Business Response
D & D Masonry & Chimney contract w/ this customer was to put one railing on one side up.
We told the customer that if she wanted to upgrade, she could put 2 railings on 2 sides. Customer refused to upgrade. Our contract was to put one railing on one side.

Thx, D & D


Consumer Response
From the sidewalk there are 6 steps, then a platform about 3 feet deep, and 3 more steps to the front porch. The railing is to be on one side in 2 parts; from sidewalk to platform, from platform to porch; platform left empty so lawnmower can get by. The railing installed goes from the porch to half way through the platform and is not stable enough to hold while going down the stairs.
Regards,
***** ********

05/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company solicited chimney cleaning on the telephone; recommended significant repairs to the chimney. Job when done was significantly substandard.
This company solicited my husband, cold call, for a chimney cleaning(we were new to the area). The chimney cleaner recommended a number of repairs, including repointing, attaching a rain cap, new flashing. They did the repair, but after the repair there was still rain getting into the ceiling area. We got a contractor we had used previously to look at it. He took pictures, and told us that they had not repaired a crack they had said they would, the flashing was all wrong, and the cap doesn't fit. Our contractor made minimal repairs and we attempted to get D and D to fix this, but they wouldn't come back. Then we started to get calls telling us it was time for our yearly cleaning. I would ask the caller to come out to look at the job they had done, and he would tell me that they would not come out unless we agreed to a $40 service fee. I refused to do this. Meanwhile, they call every once in a while. I have these conversations with Linda, who says her husband will come out to look at it, but he never does. I probably would have given up on this long ago, but every time they call me, having forgotten what happened, and tell me it's time to get my chimney cleaned, it really makes me mad. We have since contacted an Amherst company who agrees with our contractor that the work needs to be redone. They were going to come out last fall, but never got around to it. I have invoices from D and D, as well as our contractor ***** ******** at *** ***** ******** who is more than happy to speak to you, you could call ****** ******* as well(the ******* company). I also have pictures that Mr. ******** took before he made the minimal repairs. I should point out that D and D did the repair in 2011, so the complaint is a bit late, but as I said every time they call again, I get angry, and finally decided to pursue this. I should also point out that the address on the invoices from D and D is different from their current Chicopee address, but Linda assured me that this is a family business, and that they did indeed do that work.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have a refund of 2700, which is what they charged us, since the work was useless and the cause of much aggravation.

Business Response
we did this work over 3 years ago and went out 4 times we told them multiple times the was also a roof issue there was no crakes in any masonry work we told them that we would not give them a refund they never called use it was us doing follow up calls with them that they said they had this issues we went there for free 3 years ago that's when we and told them once more they needed a roofer

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It's possible that they came three times: once to clean the chimney, once to assess the work "needed" and a third time to "do" the work. They have never returned since the work was "completed" They have never looked over the work which they admit was done by one of their contractors, people that Linda told me had worked for them, but did not now work for them, supposedly because of their substandard work. The owners of this company have never seen the work, so it would be difficult for them to say exactly how bad it was. Also if it was a roof issue, why didn't they tell us that before they started the work? The roof has not leaked since Mr. ******** came out and made minimal repairs of their work. The chimney cap is the wrong size! How can that be okay? We have gotten two other opinions of this work, which should count for something in terms of credibility. I also have pictures of the deplorable job that they did on the flashing. We never called them because we didn't realize the problem for a while, until the roof started to leak, and then it was a while before Mr. ******** came out and told us the situation up on the roof (we are elderly and don't get up on the roof). When I looked the company up on line, which I should have done before they did the work, I found out that they had lots of complaints against them, and at that point I figured we were stuck, we had been scammed. It was only when they kept calling us that I revisited the issue. Linda promised me at least 3 different times that they would come to look at it, and she sounded so sincere, I just kept waiting for them. Basically their only defense is that it's too late to complain, but it's not too late to make it right. The defective cap is still up there for anyone to see who is interested.

03/17/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have asked them to stop calling them and I would call them when and if I was ready however, they call everyday, several times a day!
They disregarded my request to stop calling me.

Desired Settlement
Stop calling, mailing and any other form of contacting me! For ever!

Business Response
We do not call - if this is a previous customer that we did work for we will take them off the list. We do not do any sort of mailings either

10/07/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Multi-Year Do Not Call List violations - Call repeatedly
This company repeatedly calls me and I am on the Do Not Call List. Back in 12/2011, I filed the same BBB complaint when they were also harassing me with multiple phone calls.

I want them to STOP CALLING ME!

Desired Settlement
Stop Calling me and honor the Do Not Call List.

Business Response
We didn't call you

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is a lie. They did call me. They called me from XXX-XXX-XXXX on September 26, 2013 at 7:57 P.M. While it may not have been their main line, this is still a D&D Masonry number. Saying they didn't call is simply lying, and is not an agreement to never call me a gain which is what I'm looking for.

If the company wishes to deny calling me, that is silly, but ok with me, provided they promise to NEVER EVER call me again.

Final Business Response
If we accidental ly called you- we will not again

08/30/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unsolicited sales calls to cell and home phones. I am on the do not call list, and asked to be taken off their call list. I continued to receive call
After requesting D&D Masonary to take me off their call list, they called back and asked for my husband by name. I don't know how they got my cellphone number.

Desired Settlement
Cease and desist unsolicited sales calls,

Business' Initial Response
We do not telemarket
Please be advised there is a scam company calling our previous customers

08/20/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company making unsolicited sales calls late (8:54 PM) at night to residences on Do Not call List.
Hang up as soon as confronted.
I received an unsolicited sales call on Aug 8th, at 8:54 PM. I am on the Do Not Call Registry. When I confronted the caller they hung up. Looking at the BBB report on them I see they have a history of this and have made a statement they were stopping this practice.

They have not.

Desired Settlement
Cease making unsolicited phone calls.

Business' Initial Response
We do not cold call
We only call previous customers
This may be another d and d
If this is a previous customer
I will take you off of our records

08/20/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have repeatedly asked D+D masonry phone number XXX-XXX-XXXX to stop calling me. they call once a week. they are disrupting my life, they argue.
Three years ago I stopped using D+D masonry. I was a good customer. I had them clean my chimney every year for about four years. They even replaced the top of my chimney. Then I caught them in a lie and stated do not come. Then I got another chimney sweep. We are happy with the new company yet D+D continued to call. I have asked them each time to stop calling me. They call once a week. I work at night and sleep during the day. They call and disrupt my sleep. They disrupt my evening supper. I called the number on my caller id: XXXXXXXXXX and left a message August 2, 2013 do not call me again. I have tried everything. I am now reporting them to BBB also to national do not call registry. After three years of not using them you would think they would take no for an answer but call WEEKLY. Please help me get rid of these pests. Thank you.

Desired Settlement
i do not want them to call me again. EVER. Not even to apologize.

Business' Initial Response
We only call previous customers
We do not cold call
There is another d and d who does call
If you are a previous customer and it was us
We will take you off our records

Page 1 of 2
07/27/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Agressive, rude business practices
I received a call at my home from this company. We could tell from caller ID that they had been calling for weeks and I decided to just get rid of them. The person launched into her pitch and I gave her a few seconds and then interrupted to simply say that I am not interested and that we would call if we needed anything. Before I could get those words out I was hung up on. I decided to call back and tell them how rude that was. When calling I could hear a man say "just hang up" after the receiver was lifted on their end. Then my call was disconnected. I called back and then did this again. I decided to look them up on yelp (all 1 star complaints) and called that number. A lady answered and initially led me to believe I had a wrong number - up until I apologized for the errant call by stating that they are a "scum bag" outfit and probably put the wrong # on yelp. She responded by defending them and acknowledging that she was part of D&D and then called me a bunch of vulgar names and hung up on me.

Desired Settlement
to remove me from their solicitation list.

07/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
D & D Masonry took our check for $139 to place our rain cap back on the flue but never actually did the job.
On April 30, 2015 Lou from D & D Masonry came to place our chimney cap that flown off during the winter. Unfortunately his truck didn't have a long enough ladder to reach the top of our chimney so he called his boss, Nick ****. It was decided that they would return in 2 days to do the job and he asked that I pay then so I wouldn't have to be home when they returned again. They have done other jobs for us in the past so I felt comfortable with this arrangement. Well, they never showed up and they have made 2 other appointments and never showed for those, either. I have left messages for them (since they NEVER answer their phone!) and we now just want our money back. We do not want them to do the job anymore. We were patient for a while but we now feel like this is theft on their part. I paid $139 with a personal check ***** on April 30, 2015 and they cashed it on May 5, 2015.

Desired Settlement
We want our money back so we can pay someone else to do the job.

08/15/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered new tile work for the chimney nearly 2 years ago and it was never provided, even after multiple phone calls.
We ordered new tile work to our chimney. Afterb a cleaning, we were told by the serviceman that someone would be out in a week. After a week, n one had arrived to conduct the tile work. We called multiple times only to hear that we were "next on the list," "someone would be out right away - next day, Monday, etc," "someone will call you," someone will call to schedule an appointment," "the president of the company will call you." After hearing all these excuses for 2 years, nothing has ever been done. We want a refund of the $600 we have paid to this scammer.

Desired Settlement
$600

05/27/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Telemarketing call on April 18, 2014 @ 7:00PM. My phone number is on the National Do Not Call list.I have NEVER conducted any business with this firm.
Telemarketing call on April 18, 2014 @ 7:00PM. My phone number is on the National Do Not Call list.I have NEVER conducted any business with this firm.

Their name and telephone number showed up on my caller id as:

D&D MASONRY &
X-XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
Add me to their DO NOT CONTACT list.

12/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company did not complete the work that was stated on the estimate. The company charged the full amount stated on the estimate.
We received an estimate to have our chimney repaired. The estimate stated that they would install a stainless steel chimney liner for fireplace flue, need to remove firebox will rebuild, and something illegible about the flue. We received the estimate in Sept., 2013 for $2500. The work was started on 10/21/13 and the liner was installed on 10/22/13. The firebox was not touched. The worker left with a tarp covering our chimney and a bill on our table for $2600. I called the company to ask why the firebox was not touched. The ******* who answered the telephone said that the firebox would only be worked on if needed. It was stated on the estimate that this work would be done. This was the reason we chose this company to do the work. We had a cheaper estimate from another company to just install the stainless steel liner. My husband paid the worker in a check for $2500. We felt threatened by the ******* who started screaming at me over the telephone that he demanded his payment. I said all the work wasn't completed! We paid him to shut him up. I feel that we should be compensated some money for the work that wasn't done, so that we can hire a more reliable company to complete the job.

Desired Settlement
We would like to be compensated in the amount of $700. This is the difference between the first estimate we received to just have the stainless steel insert installed in our chimney and the estimate we received from D & D Masonry. We need to hire another company to complete the work that D & D did not do.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Mason Contractors, Chimney Lining Materials, Animal Carcass Removal, Chimney Cleaning, Stair Builders, Waterproofing Contractors, Patio & Deck Builders, Chimney Builders & Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/24/2007Business started: 01/01/1994
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Public Safety
One Asburton Place Room 1301
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 727-3200
http://www.mass.gov/dps/

Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulations
10 Park Plaza, Suite 5170
Boston, MA 02116
(888) 283-3757
http://www.mass.gov/consumer

BBB records show a license number of CS-102135 for this company, issued by Department of Public Safety. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/dps/.

Type: Construction Supervisor

Check License Status: http://elicense.chs.state.ma.us/Verification/Details.aspx?agency id=1&license id=291072&

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 160105 for this company, issued by Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulations. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/consumer.

Type: Home Improvement Contractor

Check License Status: http://services.oca.state.ma.us/hic/licdetails.aspx?txtSearchLN=61512

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Danielle Fornataro (Vice President)
Number of Employees

44

Business Category

Mason Contractors, Chimney Lining Materials, Animal Carcass Removal, Chimney Cleaning, Stair Builders, Waterproofing Contractors, Patio & Deck Builders, Chimney Builders & Repair

Products & Services

According to information provided by this company, it offers mason contracting, chimney building and repair, patio and deck building, waterproofing contracting, stair building, chimney cleaning, chimney lining materials, and animal carcass removal.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for D & D Masonry & Chimney, Inc.

524 Chicopee St

Chicopee, MA 01013-2138

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 524 Chicopee St 

    Chicopee, MA 01013-2138(508) 270-3333

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*D & D Masonry & Chimney, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (413) 593-1002
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Mason Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.