BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/11/1983

Hannoush Jewelers, Inc.

Find a Location

Fax: (413) 439-0075View Additional Phone Numbers1655 Boston Rd Unit B7, SpringfieldMA 01129-1155 Send email to Hannoush Jewelers, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/11/1983

BBB has determined that Hannoush Jewelers, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hannoush Jewelers, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
03/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: Ring was defective, when repaired jeweler broke two of the emeralds. Tried to pass ** off as already broken
I purchased an engagement ring 14k white gold, with a .75k sapphire and two .33k emeralds. The gems were suppose to be AAA quality. I recieved emerald beryls instead of emeralds. I spent 2800 on the ring. The ring was defective and had to be repaired. The setting had to be ground down where the ring was improperly casted. During this process the north Dartmouth ******** store damaged the two beryl emeralds. I had the damage looked at at another ******** location and they said that one of the emeralds was chipped and the other whacked extremely hard with a tool or something. I took it back to the north Dartmouth ******** store where the sales person I bought the ring from tried to lie to me about the damage. He said the the damage was an inclusion in the stone and that the stones were not damaged. When I said that we had the damage assessed at a fellow ******** store he became very rude and treated me as if I didn't know what I was talking about. The whole experience since I bought the ring in December this year has been horrible. The ring is not even three months old and the stones have been broken as well as the defective setting and the horrible customer service. I would think that when a customer spends 2,800 on a ring that the customer service would be halfway decent. I'm a disabled veteran and I get treated as if I have no knowledge of the ring or of the damage that was done to the ring. I was lied to about the guarantee on the ring. When I purchased the ring the sales person said that the entire ring and emeralds and the sapphire would be covered but that was not the case as I found out later. I would like the money I spend on the ring back or the product that I was promised. A ring that has the real emeralds I paid for and a decent sapphire. Not the almost black sapphire I got and the the two pale green beryl emeralds

Initial Business Response
This complaint should be directed to:
*******************
dba ******** Jewelers
********************
************************
North Dartmouth, MA XXXXX

This store is not a corporate owned ******** Jewelers store it is an ******** Franchise store.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

02/14/2013Problems with Product / Service
04/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: Brought watch to ******** and left it for repairs. Within 24 hours of pickup it stopped working. This happened twice. Asked for refund, they said no.
Brought watch to ******** Northampton store and left it there. Called a few times after about one month, got vague response, they had no idea when it would be ready. When it was ready (5-6 weeks later) I picked it up and after 24 hours it stopped working. Returned it for second repair, after I got it back the same thing happened.

So I went back to store and asked for a refund. They said they did not have information at the store about the repair warranty when I asked for it. They said no refund. I spent 100 dollars for repair.

Called ************** of customer service dept. and she said I should email Mr. ******** directly and "I'm sure he will get back to you." I emailed him and got no reply. I have given up on getting refund and just want the complaint registered.

Initial Business Response
We strongly disagree with the situation regarding the customer's watch repair as she has reported.



The customer brought her vintage pocket watch in to our Northampton location for repair on 9/9/13. As noted on the repair the watch, a manual wind, was no longer working. It was sent to our watchmaker for a free repair estimate. On 9/12 the store left a voice message for the customer advising her of two repair options and requesting her response. Her options were either to repair the original movement at a cost of $160.00 or to update the watch to a quartz (battery operated) movement for $100.00. The customer called the store 11 days later and gave the go ahead to have the watch movement converted to quartz. She insisted that the original watch hands be reused and not replaced. She was advised that the second hand would no longer work with this option.



Work was completed on the customer's watch on October 1st. She picked it up on October 7th.



The customer brought the watch back to the store on October 14th because the hands fell off. Her watch was sent back to the watchmaker who replaced the movement with one that would better accommodate her watch hands. Work was completed on November 12th and the customer picked up the watch on November 14th.

On December 19th, the customer called ******** Jewelers corporate offices and left a customer service complaint regarding her watch on the phone operator's voice mail. The operator forwarded the message to the Northampton store. Three messages requesting that she contact the store were left by the Northampton assistant manager on the customer's voice mail on December 23, December 27th and January 2nd. The customer never returned her calls.



On February 24th, 2014 the customer went to the Northampton store and stated her watch was not working and requested a refund. The ************* explained that ******** Jewelers has a six month warrantee on watch repair and that the store would gladly re-service her watch free of charge under the warrantee. The customer became agitated, stated she was in a hurry and wanted to see a copy of the watch warrantee. The store could not immediately produce one and the customer left without leaving her watch for service. The store located the warrantee and emailed it to the customer later that day. She responded in an email dated 2/26 that she was no longer going to pursue the matter and wished the store staff the best in our future.



In its 30 years of operation, ******** Jewelers has worked hard to earn and maintain its good reputation with our valued clients. As jewelers and manufacturers, we stand behind everything we sell or service. We do not know what has taken place with this watch while in the customer's possession, but nonetheless, we are committed to honoring her warrantee in a timely fashion and would still like the opportunity to do so.



Respectfully,





************

****************



Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The watch does not work after a quartz battery was installed. The hands fell off. The company did not offer to replace the hands. I would like a refund for the repair. I do not want to bring the watch to ******** a third time. I understand the warranty is still an option but after two tries, I have had enough.

My complaint still stands. I find it outrageous that a company with their revenue would deny a refund to a customer of 100 dollars.

Final Business Response
We stand by our offer to repair/replace the watch movement that was installed, which would include replacing the hands, under our warranty guidelines.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would like to request a refund. It would be a waste of time to go through the process all over again with this company, since I already brought the watch to them twice.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Jewelers-Retail

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/14/1981Business started: 01/01/1980
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 1980, MA

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Chris McCaslin (Administrative Assistant)Mr. Anthony Hannoush (President)Mr. Camile Hannoush
Number of Employees

36

Business Category

Jewelers-Retail

Products & Services

According to information provided by this company, it offers jeweler services.

Industry Tips
SELLING GOLD & BUYING JEWELRY

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hannoush Jewelers, Inc.

1655 Boston Rd Unit B7

Springfield, MA 01129-1155

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hannoush Jewelers, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 325-3935

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (413) 584-8973
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Jewelers-Retail

SELLING GOLD & BUYING JEWELRY
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.