BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/1959

The Hanover Insurance Group (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (508) 855-1000Fax: (508) 926-1966View Additional Phone Numbers440 Lincoln Street - N431, WorcesterMA 01653-0001 Send email to The Hanover Insurance GroupView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/1959

BBB has determined that The Hanover Insurance Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised The Hanover Insurance Group's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 51 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

51 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 17 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues21
Problems with Product / Service28
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 51

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on The Hanover Insurance Group

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (51)BBB Closure Definitions
02/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was involved in an accident with a Hanover Insurance Agency customer, after a week, I contacted Hanover Insurance to have one of their appraisers out to estimate my truck for damages, they sent an appraiser out, and he sent me an estimate, plus sent the estimate to the body shop I requested. Then a month later, I was able to get my vehicle in for repair, they informed me that they had no payment for the repair, so I called Hanover Insurance agency, and they informed me that they didn't have the accident report and it was still under investigation, they told me it was easier for me to obtain an accident report, but why didn't they have one, a MONTH after the accident? I sent them my copy, that I paid for, and they still say its under investigation, and now I am stuck with getting a rental vehicle and paying storage fees on my vehicle, that I was clearly not at fault.
Product_Or_Service: Repairs on a 2004 ***** ******

Desired Settlement
I want my vehicle paid, out of the body shop, I want my ****** for my report I sent them, and my rental vehicle paid for, and an apology for the inability of doing their job, and making me do the work for them!

Business Response
Thank you for forwarding this inquiry to us for research and response. As our commitment to our customers is to protect their privacy, we have responded directly to Ms. ***** with a letter mailed today regarding her concerns.
We hope that the Better Business Bureau understands our position and our commitment to protect our customer's privacy in accordance with our policy.

We ask that the Bureau contact Ms. ***** directly within the next 5 to 7 days should you want a copy of our response and to confirm this has reached a satisfactory resolution.

Thank-you,
The Hanover Insurance Group

12/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hanover Insurance can't explain huge increase in my auto insurance premium to my satisfaction.
I've been a loyal customer of Hanover Insurance for well over 20 years. My driving record has been essentially outstanding. From 2007, when I had a minor accident, to 2013, I had no accidents that were my fault and no tickets. In November 2013, I backed into a car parked too close to my driveway (total damage to other car: $1050). But just this month, Hanover is raising the annual insurance rate on my 1997 Honda Civic from $828 to $1514 (an 82 percent increase, well over the industry standard for someone my age, 45, with my fine driving record). The customer service rep I talked to said that did seem like a big increase, but she basically said it was tough, that was all they could do. I need someone to explain the math to me in detail. I believe in my heart that I am being treated unfairly and I question the company's ethics. I may raise this issue with the state insurance commissioner.

Desired Settlement
I feel that my insurance rate should go up because of the accident. That's standard practice for an insurance company. But an 82 percent increase, given the circumstances and expense of my accident, is a shady business practice. This is not how you treat loyal customers for 20+ years.

Business Response
Thank you for forwarding this inquiry to us for research and response. As our commitment to our customers is to protect their privacy, we have responded directly to Mr. ***** regarding his concerns.

We hope that the Better Business Bureau understands our position and our commitment to protect our customer's privacy in accordance with our policy. We ask that the
Bureau contact Mr. ***** directly should you want a copy of our response which was mailed to him on 11/20/14 and to confirm this has reached a satisfactory resolution.

Thank-you,
The Hanover Insurance Group

11/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
made false statements to settle a slip an fall case
slip & fall 1/10/2014 - after 9 months of trying to settle lost wages, pain and suffering & medical ins repay. settlement was $2,269. minus the $646. for medical cost. Received the check when I checked with my ins co to see if they got thier payment I was informed that the adjuster from the Hanover Group was spoke with my health insurance and the adjuster was notified of a medical lien in the amount of $1,292.68. The Hanover Ins Group sent me an email telling me the lien was only $646. I think they need to pay the difference since they misrepresented the amount to me. They were notified in July of the amount of the lien,

Desired Settlement
They need to pay the difference of $646.98 directly to my insurance carrier

Business Response
Thank you for forwarding this inquiry to us for research and response. As our commitment to our customers is to protect their privacy, we have responded directly to Ms. ****** regarding her concerns.

We hope that the Better Business Bureau understands our position and our commitment to protect our client's privacy in accordance with our policy. We ask that the Bureau contact Ms. ****** directly should you want a copy of our response and to confirm this has reached a satisfactory resolution.

The Hanover Insurance Group

11/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hanover Insurance has been skimming us and finding every excuse with inconsistent answers from reps to not give us the cars worth and the rental.
We need to speak with someone very high up in the company. I have written down to record every correspondence even on the phone and also with **** ****** We have been very nice and reasonable, and consistent with specific reasons and proof to back up our answers. We have receipts pictures etc. However, The representatives continue to be unhelpful and unreasonable. Furthermore, every representative we have spoken to has given us different answers and contradicted each other. They are coming up with different answers; therefore, they are completely lying and speaking without depth and 'verbal diarhea' with out significant evidence. **** ***** was right 'they are trying their hardest'; they're trying their hardest to save a couple of dollars for the company and put a huge whole in their nice customer's pockets purposely. Your company would not be at a loss at all if they could make us happy. We haven't been helped at all. Therese Hone has a sarcastic and rude tone of voice on the phone, and she was short and rude in her letters. Her uncaring attitude left us angry and dissapointed especially after we have been so nice and reasonable. I have owned many cars and I never had this problem with my insurance; and trust me, they are all trying to make money. Furthermore, ******* wrote us back saying the adjustor *** ****** (who we researched was only with your company for 11 months and had his license since merely 2012!!!) did not factor in his add-ons for they are 'maintenaince'. A mechanic can back my words, all of our four new tires, our hands free bluetooth, including our other items absolutely adds value to the car. Especially if it is private retail which according to **** ***** you go by (all the other representatives refused to tell us you used private retail and said trade-in etc!!!). **** ***** also contradicted Therese, by saying the company did factor in the tires, but not by much basically checking the tread-depth! So basically you are skimming us!!!! They responded by telling us to spend more money to hire our own appraiser?If you factor in tread depth you must factor in the actual BRAND NEW TIRE with XXXXX warranty is much more value to a private seller than a good tread depth!!! As a dealer, for dealer trade in, I appraised cars and check the tread depth of the tire, BUT if a customer told me they had 4 brand new tires, we would write that down and factor it in!!! Because it is worth WAY MORE!**** ***** was trying to tell us you factored it in!! for 24 dollars?!!!!! The representatives also contradicted the condition of the car and told us it is clean condition and we explained it was excellent with pics before and after . However, **** ***** admitted it was excellent condition but tried to point it to something else by lying to us that we had alot more miles!! Which, you took over 700 for! The only thing he is good at is 'acting nice' to seem like he cares, but he was inconsistent and unhelpful. The Jaguar could have been leased for the first 3 years, because it still falls into the appropriate amount of miles category. When you lease a car,they give you either 12k per year or 15k per year after that like 20k lets say, they charge you more. The jaguar falls into the 12-15K per year category, and his mileage is not outstanding amount, and its relatively low. I leased my honda 2008 accord for 15k per year given standard! The whole point to lease a car is with low miles!!! We wasted so much time with your company and mentally drained and efforts researching the true value of the car. They continue to rip us off including the rental!!! I wrote a nice letter with pics and details of injuries and what our full days consist of. We have explained exactly why our situtation proves it impossible to get a car by the short amount of time you have given us!We are still in the process let alone the time it takes to write you all emails i saved and talk on the phone and exaustion! We wanted 6 weeks and that is

Desired Settlement
We want a rental within a reasonable time for us as promised nothing less than Nov 2nd to buy a car preferably until the middle of november but we will make do with Nov 2nd. We truly need until the middle of november but we have really been working with the company, and which i have seen countless people in these situations get from their insurance as a salesperson. We want 7500 for our car. All our emails and research proves these are reasonable requests.

Business Response
Thank you for forwarding this inquiry to us for research and response. As our commitment to our customers is to protect their privacy, we responded directly to Mr. ********** on 10/23/14 regarding his concerns.

We hope that the Better Business Bureau understands our position and our commitment to protect our client's privacy in accordance with our policy. We ask that the Bureau contact Mr. ********** directly should you want a copy of our response and to confirm this has reached a satisfactory resolution.

Thank-you,
**** ********

11/05/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
BILLED IMPROPERLY FOR A BILL FOR ABOUT **** FROM 2 YEARS AGO THAT I WAS NEVER AWARE OF. THEY "FOUND" THE BILL IN THEIR SYSTEM A FEW WEEKS AGO.
I PAY MY INSURANCE ON TIME, MONTHLY, NEVER A PROBLEM. I RENEW WITH THEM EVERY YEAR WITH A ZERO DOLLAR BALANCE AND NO PROBLEMS. FOR 2O YEARS MY FAMILY HAS HAD HANOVER. THEY SENT ME A BILL FOR ABOUT **** AND TOLD ME I HAD 2 WEEKS TO PAY IT. I CALLED TO GET INFO AND THE CUSTOMER SERVICE REP COULD NOT FIND WHERE THE BILL CAME FROM. THEY CALLED ME BACK A FEW DAYS LATER SAYING THEY "FOUND" THE BILL IN THEIR SYSTEM AND IT WAS FROM 2012 WHEN I SWITCHED FROM EFT PAYMENT TO MAIL IN PAYMENT. I ASKED WHY I HAD NEVER BEEN BILLED OR TOLD ABOUT THIS, HANOVER REPLIED SAYING THEY JUST FOUND THIS BILL. I TOLD THEM I WAS NOT GOING TO PAY FOR SOMETHING FROM 2 YEARS AGO THAT WAS NOT MY MISTAKE, HANOVER REP APLOGIZED PROFUSELY SAYING HE UNDERSTANDS AND WILL GET A RESOLUTION FOR ME. I WAITED ONE WEEK BUT GO NO RESPONSE. I CALLED THEM BACK AFTER WAITING 2 WEEKS. I WAS INFORMED THEY CAME TO A RESOLUTION WHICH WAS TO CANCEL MY INSURANCE AND WILL NOT RENEW IT UNTIL I PAY THE **** SOMETHING IN FULL. I WAS DRIVING WITH NO INSURANCE FOR 4 DAYS, AND THEY WERE NOT EVEN GOING TO NOTIFY ME OF WHAT THEY DECIDED!!! I TRIED TO EXPLAIN I CANT AFFORD THAT, HOW CAN YOU GIVE ME 2 WEEKS TO PAY SOMETHING THAT WAS NOT MY FAULT, AND THAT YOU HAVENT EVEN KNOWN ABOUT FOR 2 YEARS. THIS IS OUTRAGEOUS BUSINESS PRACTICE. I CALLED ELSEWHERE FOR INSURANCE BUT NO ONE WILL TAKE ME UNTIL I PAY HANOVER BECAUSE THEY REPORTED ME TO THE REGISTRY. THIS IS THE MOST UNBELIEVABLE FORM OF BUSINESS PRACTICE I HAVE EVER COME ACROSS. MY FAMILY HAS 6 CARS ON THEIR INSURANCE AND WE ARE ALL GOING TO TAKE OUR BUSINESS ELSEWHERE ONCE THIS SITUATION IS RESOLVED. HOW CAN THEY TELL ME I HAVE TWO WEEKS TO PAY, AFTER 2 YEARS OF SAYING I HAVE A "ZERO DOLLAR BALANCE" AND RENEWING MY INSURANCE EVERY YEAR WITH NO PROBLEMS. IM ASTONISHED AND EXTREMELY UPSET WITH THIS KIND OF PRACTICE FOR SUCH A LARGE, "RELIABLE" BUSINESS. THEY THEN TOLD ME TO PAY IT IN 3 INSTALLMENTS WHICH WOULD ADD ABOUT $200 TO MY CURRENT PAYMENT OF ***** MEANING I WOULD BE PAYING **** A MONTH FOR INSURANCE WHICH I CANNOT AFFORD!!!

Desired Settlement
I NEED MY INSURANCE BACK ON MY VEHICLE! AND I AM NOT SURE HOW THEY CAN BILL ME **** SOMETHING FOR A BILL THEY "LOST" FROM 2 YEARS AGO!! I DRIVE AS A VISITING NURSE FOR A LIVING SO I NEED MY INSURANCE, I CANT KEEP BORROWING CARS.

Business Response
Thank you for forwarding this inquiry to us for research and response. As our commitment to our customers is to protect their privacy, we have responded directly to Ms. ******* regarding her concerns.

We hope that the Better Business Bureau understands our position and our commitment to protect our client's privacy in accordance with our policy. We ask that the Bureau contact Ms. ******* directly should you want a copy of our response and to confirm this has reached a satisfactory resolution.

Thank-you,
**** ********


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have not received ANY contact from Hanover regarding this matter since I have filed this claim. That is a plain lie on Hanovers part

Final Business Response
Our records do not indicate any notice of change of address for the account in question, We apologize for any confusion, but we have sent the response for this complaint to the consumer at the new address which UPS indicates was received on 09/30/14 at 6:35PM.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There is no resolution. They continue to tell me I need to pay **** by ******* which makes no sense becuase I recieved this letter stating this information on ******** And they are now stating they don't want me back as a customer. What kind of a business are these people running at Hanover? That's not a resolution! Horrible customer service

Page 1 of 9
11/10/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On June *** ***** I paid **** to Look Insurance company for a down payment of full coverage insurance on my vehicle. At that time, I was told my first payment would be **** by ******* an Agent at Look Insurance. He also told me my payment would not be due until August *** ***** Prior to the August *** **** date, I spoke with ******* and confirmed the payment and he told me that my first payment would now be ***** I informed him that he stated to me that my payment would be **** and the **** was too high for me. He could not explain to me why the payment was changed by **** I explained to him that I needed to change the full coverage insurance to no fault so that I can afford the insurance. Sometime in August, before the due date, I changed the insurance to no fault and my payments changed to ******* a month. The full coverage was ***** for four months and for the no fault it was ***** I received a bill from Hanover Insurance Company for ******* a month with a credit refund of ***** I spoke with Hanover Insurance in August about the credit on the bill and asked if the credit could be applied to the premium due and was told I could not apply the credit to the premium and I would not get a check for the credit. On September 16, 2014, I called Hanover regarding a refund and I was told I owe ****** for June *** **** through September *** ***** I do not owe this company anything because this insurance was changed in the middle of the policy from full coverage to no fault and I have received bills showing a refund due to me for ******* and I want the refund. This company has lied to me and refuse to give me a refund and their practices are not truthful. I want a resolution.
Account_Number: **********XX

Desired Settlement
I want a refund of***** because this is the amount showing on the bill I have from Hanover Insurance Company.

Business Response
PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT WE ARE MAILING OUR RESPONSE TO MS. ****** TODAY, SEPTEMBER *** *****

Thank you for forwarding this inquiry to us for research and response. As our commitment to our customers is to protect their privacy, we will respond to Ms. ****** regarding her concerns. We hope the Better Business Bureau understands our position and our commitment to our clients in accordance with our policy regarding their privacy. We ask that the Bureau contact Ms. ****** directly should you want a copy of our response and to confirm this has reached a satisfactory resolution.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have not received a response from the business.

Final Business Response
PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT WE ARE MAILING OUR RESPONSE TO MS. ****** TODAY, WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER ** *****

Thank you for forwarding this inquiry to us for research and response. As our commitment to our customers is to protect their privacy, we have responded to Ms. ****** regarding her concerns. We hope the Better Business Bureau understands our position and our commitment to our clients in accordance with our policy regarding their privacy. We ask that the Bureau contact Ms. ****** directly should you want a copy of our response and to confirm this has reached a satisfactory resolution.

Sincerely,
****** ** *******

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I received Citizens letter and I have responded via email to Ms. *********

Thank You

********** ****** and

10/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Delay/Failure to process an insurance claim.
On ****** **** **** my vehicle was hit by a person carrying Hanover Insurance. I have been calling and emailing since and have had zero response. They state they are waiting for more information from their insured, but he is not coming forward with the information. I just want this claim to be processed so I can move forward with my vehicle repair. The only communication I had with their company was a woman names ***** and she told me if I carried full coverage on my vehicle, I wouldn't have to deal with their company. THEIR insured hit MY car in a parking lot. It is NOT my responsibility to carry different insurance. I have also left multiple voicemails and emails for her ********** ***** and have had no response.

Desired Settlement
Claim to be processed and an adjuster to be sent to my location to asses damages/issue a check for repair. Additional funds paid for time loss due to the constant followup required to complete business with this company.

Business Response
PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT WE ARE MAILING OUR RESPONSE TO MS. ********* TODAY, ******* ** *****

Thank you for forwarding this inquiry to us for research and response. As our commitment to our customers is to protect their privacy, we will respond to Ms. ********* regarding her concerns. We hope the Better Business Bureau understands our position and our commitment to our clients in accordance with our policy regarding their privacy. We ask that the Bureau contact Ms. ********* directly should you want a copy of our response and to confirm this has reached a satisfactory resolution.

Best,
******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
All I received was a letter summarizing how the entire claim was handled. I'm aware of how it was handled, I lived thru the process. I found it amusing that the letter came from a woman that i left 5 voicemails and numberous emails too, but never heard from her once.

Final Business Response
We have responded to Ms. ********* by letter and provided contact information to her, both telephone and e-mail, if she would like to discuss any substantive concerns with us.

Thank you,
******

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Hanover insurance has no concern for the safety or wellbeing of my family and is only in the business of making others lives miserable. To call themselves and insurance company is a complete joke. Geico (my insurance company) has fully taken care of the damages to my car, but that still doesn't gain me back the 60 days of headache from having to deal with Hanover Insurance. I will continue to warn every single person I come into contact with to stay as far away from them as possible and I pray I never have to deal with them again.

08/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had billing/incorrect posting problems. When I cancelled my policies *************** did not respond.Took mos of my Efforts/Time toGetCorrect refund


BECAUSE I HAD TO GO THRU 4 MOS OF HASSLE,
PH-CALLS,EMAILS ETC TO GET MY POLICIES CANCELLED AND THEN KEEP PRESSING FOR THE CORRECT AMT REFUNDED, I ASKED PRES FOR $175 AS A COURTESY FOR ALL MY INCONVENIENCE DUE TO THEIR DROPPING THE BALL.

OF COURSE THEY WOULD HAVE BILLED ME IF THE PROBLEMS HAD BEEN ON MY PART.
I BELIEVE THIS IS A SMALL AMT TO ASK FORCONSIDERING THE AMT OF TIME & EFFORT IT TOOK ME TO GET THEM TO DO THEIR JOB.
THEY DROPPED THE BALL &DID NOT EVEN HAVE CORRECT RECORDS ON MY POLICIES.
WITH ALL DUE RESPECT, I AM STILL REQUESTING HANOVER COMPENSATE ME $175 AS A COURTESY FOR MY INCONVENIENCE. THEY HAVE DENIED THIS 3 TIMES.

ADDITIONALLY, THEIR INITIAL REIMBURSEMENT TO ME WHEN IT FINALLY WAS PAID OUT WAS $31.69,

****WHICH WAS SHORT $307.50 THAT THEY OWED ME.***

I HAD THE 'JOB' OF MORE MONTHS OF FOLLOWING UP TO SHOW AND EXPLAIN TO THEM THE REST THAT WAS DUE ME.

AGAIN, AS A COURTESY FOR MY INCONVENIENCE, I AM ASKING FOR A SMALL FEE OF $175 FOR THIS 'EXASPERATING 4-MONTHS JOB' THAT WAS PLACED ON ME IN ORDER TO GET HANOVER TO REIMBURSE ME THE CORRECT AMOUNT DUE OF $339.19.
I AM THANKING HANOVER INSURANCE IN ADVANCE FOR THEIR UNDERSTANIDNG THAT THE $175 IS BECUASE MY TIME IS IMPORTANT ALSO.

***PLEASE ALLOW ME TO PUT THE DETAILS BELOW:


DETAILS:
RE: Hanover Insurance - Home and Auto Policies.
LTR I WROTE ON *******
HANOVER PROMISED TO GIVE ME MY TXN HISTORY BUT THEY HAVE NOT-
I THINK THEY MESSED UP MY ACCT SO MUCH THEY DON'T KNOW WHAT MY TXN HISTORY IS....

I CANCELLED MY HOME AND AUTO INS. POLICIES ON XX-XX-XX AND FAXED A REQUEST FOR REFUNDS SAME DAY. I CALLED AND ASKED FOR THE FAX NBR BEFORE I FAXED IT AND TOLD HER I WAS FAXING CANCELLATIONS AND A REQUEST TO REIMBURSE UNUSED AMTS.

I DID NOT HEAR ANYTHING BACK FOR OVER A MONTH, SO ON ******** I CALLED HANOVER TO FIND OUT WHEN I WILL RECEIVE REIMBURSEMENT.
I CALLED 800# OF HANOVER:
...SPOKE WITH ***** ******* - SHE ANSWERED AND SAID WILL CHECK ON REFUND...I REQUESTED THEY MAIL MY REFUND IF NOT DONE ALREADY. I SAID THAT POLICIES WERE CANCELLED OVER A MONTH AGO ON ***********

ON XX-XX-XX ***** REPLIED TO MY EMAIL:

___, Thank you for your patience. There was an error in the system that was corrected, and a refund of 31.69 will be mailed 10-12 business days. Thank you again and hope you are enjoying your holiday!
Thank you,
***** ***** ********************

I received A CHECK FOR $31.69 WITH NO EXPLANATION OF HOW CAME UP WITH THAT AMOUNT. It did not seem accurate. I KNOW THERE WAS 'AN ERROR IN THE SYSTEM' AS SHE SAID...SO I NEED MY TXN HISTORY.

ON X-XX-XX WE CALLED HANOVER AGAIN AND ASKED FOR A DETAILED TXN BREAKDOWN OF AUTO AND HOME POLICIES SO I COULD SEE HOW THEY CAME UP WITH $31.69..
**** ANSWERED PHONE AND SAID HE WILL EMAIL US TOMORROW THE ITEMIZED BREAKDOWN.
They had made a mistake a few MONTHS earlier and credited my payments incorrectly and frankly I don't think they ever got their bookkeeping corrected.
I WANT TO SEE A BREAKDOWN OF HOW THEY CAME UP WITH THE REIMBURSEMENT OF THE REFUND OF $31.69. I WANT TO SEE WHEN MY PAYMENTS WERE POSTED AND HOW MUCH FOR MY PREMIUMS. I WAS ONLY WITH HANOVER A COUPLE OF YEARS, SO THIS SHOULD NOT BE DIFFICULT.

***I AM PARTICULARLY DISTURBED THAT THEY NEVER CALL ME BACK OR FOLLOW UP WHEN THEY SAY THEY WILL, AND I HAVE TO KEEP FOLLOWING UP. WHY DID **** ON **** NEVER FOLLOW UP WITH AN EMAIL THE NEXT DAY AS HE PROMISED? THAT WAS 4 WEEKS AGO.

**** email: *** has not followed up since his promise on X-XX-XX to email me the itemized breakdown for the two policies Auto and Home.

I would appreciate your help in getting my transaction history, since I don't know what I have to do to get Hanover to follow up on ANYTHING. I'm tired of calling.


Thank you,
***

END OF LETTER

Desired Settlement
AGAIN, AS A COURTESY FOR MY INCONVENIENCE, I AM ASKING FOR A SMALL FEE OF $175 FOR THIS 'EXASPERATING 4-MONTHS JOB' THAT WAS PLACED ON ME IN ORDER TO GET HANOVER TO REIMBURSE ME WHAT WAS DUE AFTER I CANCELLED THE POLICIES....AND THEN TO GET THEM TO REIMBURSE ME THE CORRECT AMOUNT DUE OF $339.19.

I AM THANKING HANOVER INSURANCE IN ADVANCE FOR THEIR UNDERSTANIDNG THAT THE $175 IS BECUASE MY TIME IS IMPORTANT ALSO.

ADDITIONALLY, THEIR INITIAL REIMBURSEMENT TO ME WHEN IT FINALLY WAS PAID OUT WAS $31.69,***
****WHICH WAS SHORT $307.50 THAT THEY OWED ME.***

THUS HANOVER'S ERROR GAVE ME ANOTHER JOB:
I HAD THE 'JOB' OF EVEN MORE MONTHS OF FOLLOWING UP TO SHOW AND EXPLAIN TO THEM THE REMAINDER THAT WAS DUE ME SINCE THEY HAD REFUNDED ME LESS THAN 1/10TH OF WHAT WAS DUE ME.

Business Response
Thank you for forwarding this inquiry to us for research and response. As our commitment to our customers is to protect their privacy, we have responded directly to Mr. *********, letter dated **** **** regarding his concerns. We hope that the Better Business Bureau understands our position and our commitment to protect our client's privacy in accordance with our policy. WE ask that the Bureau contact Mr. ********* direct should you want a copy of our response and to confirm this has reached satisfactory resolution.

Consumer Response
I just checked the BBB site and saw my complaint in which BBB said "Complaint resolved with BBB assistance.'
Thank you for your assistance, but it was not resolved.
Hanover did not resolve this as I had asked them in several letters and in BBB complaint.
I MADE THE FOLLOWING REQUEST A NUMBER OF TIMES TO HANOVER --ASKING FOR A SMALL FEE OF $175:
"AGAIN, AS A COURTESY FOR MY INCONVENIENCE, I AM ASKING FOR A SMALL FEE OF $175 FOR THIS 'EXASPERATING 4-MONTHS JOB' THAT WAS IMPOSED UPON ME IN ORDER TO GET HANOVER TO REIMBURSE ME THE CORRECT AMOUNT DUE OF $339.19."
I FIND MYSELF BEING FORCED TO SPEND WAY TOO MUCH TIME FOLLOWING UP AGAIN AND AGAIN WITH COMPANIES THAT DO NOT DO THEIR PART IN FULFILLING THEIR OBLIGATION TO THE CUSTOMER.
IF I TOOK 4 MONTHS TO PAY HANOVER A PAYMENT, YOU CAN IMAGINE ALL THE 'CONSEQUENCES' THEY WOULD DUMP ON ME. IT HAS TO GO BOTH WAYS. COMPANIES ARE RESPONSIBLE TO BE FAITHFUL IN FULFILLING THEIR OBLIGATIONS TO THE CUSTOMER. FOR THAT REASON, I HAVE REQUESTED SEVERAL TIMES, AND AM NOW AGAIN REQUESTING, AS I STATED ABOVE....THE FOLLOWING:
"AGAIN, AS A COURTESY FOR MY INCONVENIENCE, I AM ASKING FOR A SMALL FEE OF $175 FOR THIS 'EXASPERATING 4-MONTHS JOB' THAT WAS IMPOSED UPON ME IN ORDER TO GET HANOVER TO REIMBURSE ME THE CORRECT AMOUNT DUE OF $339.19."
THANKING YOU, BBB, IN ADVANCE FOR THE IMPORTANT ROLE YOU PLAY IN THESE PROBLEMS.
PLEASE CHANGE MY BBB COMPLAINT TO SHOW THAT I AM NOT SATISFIED WITH THE HANOVER RESPONSE.

10/22/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Changing billing date from the first of the month to mid month. They have not changed it and keep charging me a late fee.
My name is **** ****** and my account number is XXXXXXXXXXXX. The telephone customer service is horrible especially for a 77 year old senior citizen. I have to go thru a million steps just to get to a real person and even then I do not get satisfaction. I have been explaining that my SSI check does not come until the 4th of each month so I couldn't possibly pay my bill by the 1st and they keep charging me a late fee. I have been dealing with this for over a year explaining that I am not willing to pay the $25- late fee that they keep imposing on me since in their eyes my payment is late. I keep telling and telling them that I need a mid-month payment plan. Finally I had to get my daughter involved who lives far away to find out what is going on and she also had a difficult time getting through to Hanover. My daughter found out how to correct the situation however Hanover is not absolving the late fees in which I feel I do not owe. I am on a fixed income and they have never called me back to explain how I could get the date changed to mid month. My agent was suppose to call and see what they can do and they also have not contacted myself or my daughter.

Desired Settlement
all the late charges they put on my bill. They told me it was $25 X 3 = $75.00 for 3 months of late payments.

Business Response
Thank you for forwarding this inquiry to us for research and response. As our commitment to our customers is to protect their privacy, we have responded directly to **** ****** regarding her concerns.

We hope that the Better Business Bureau understands our position and our commitment to protect our client's privacy in accordance with our policy. We ask that the the Bureau contact Ms. ****** directly should you want a copy of our response and to confirm this has reached a satisfactory resolution.

Thank-you,
**** ********


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I myself called Hanover Insurance Group a few times within months and it was not made clear to me what had to be done so that I would not incur late fees. I explained over and over that my SSI check does not get deposited until the 4th of each month. It was not until my daughter called and understood what had to be done to correct the situation. I am a senior and going through numerous numbers just to get to an agent is preposterous. I now know from my daughter what has to take place so I do not incur late fees however, Hanover Insurance Group has not credited my late fees for the month of June and July.
I am on a fixed income and DO NOT pay my bills late and since they could not explain it that I could understand then why should I incur late fees? I am asking for the late fees to be taken off my bill.

08/19/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company cancelled my policy in error then sent me a notice stating they were withdrawing one amount from my bank but did another.
I received a notice that they were going to cancel my auto policy unless I made a payment of **** by 6/25. I made the payment in my agency office that day. My agency called to report said payment but my policy still cancelled. I received 2 notices 7/9 they'd draft **** in July and on 7/10 they'd draft **** in August. On 7/17 ******* was drafted with no notice. I called twice to get this resolved.

Desired Settlement
A supervisor is refunding my overdraft fee from my bank, but now I'm afraid they will miscalculate in the futureand take out a higher amount. They should pay the remainder of my auto policy premium out of their own discretionary funds; this will give me peace of mind an overdraft will not happen again.

Business' Initial Response
Thank you for forwarding this inquiry to us for research and response.

As our commitment to our customers is to protect their privacy, we have responded directly to Mr. ******** regarding his concerns. We hope that the Better Business Bureau understands our position and our commitment to protect our client's privacy in accordance with our policy.

We ask that the the Bureau contact Mr. ******** directly should you want a copy of our response and to confirm this has reached a satisfactory resolution.

Thank-you,
**** ********

Consumer's Final Response
They made a mistake and bill me **** but never billed me correctly for ******* just simply attempted to take it out of my account without notifying me and now are stating its my responsibly to pay ******* by 8/24 when this is their fault? That is completely unethical and unfair to me as a consumer. Then in the middle of the month they ask me to send them bank statements? I can have my bank forward them a copy of my charges, but everyone should know monthly statements are generated towards end of the month.

Please have them take me off EFT. I will pursue actions stated by the MA attorney general in the interim. This has to be illegal. You can let them know my bank will be faxing ****** the overdraft fees and to take me off EFT. But I do not accept I should pay ******* for their error. They should waive that premium as it is their error.

Business' Final Response
Thank you for forwarding this follow up inquiry to us for research and response.

As our commitment to our customers is to protect their privacy, we have responded directly to Mr. ******** regarding his concerns. We hope that the Better Business Bureau understands our position and our commitment to protect our client's privacy in accordance with our policy.

We ask that the the Bureau contact Mr. ******** directly should you want a copy of our response and to confirm this has reached a satisfactory resolution.

Thank-you,
**** ********

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Insurance Services, Business Brokers, Investment Advisory Service, Insurance-Auto, Insurance Companies

Additional Information

top

It has come to BBB's attention that scam artists' have been using Hanover Insurance Group's name to perpetrate consumer fraud. Please contact your BBB if you feel you have been solicited by a scammer.

To learn more about the types of schemes using Hanover's name please click the following link: http://www.hanover.com/thg/news/articles/2010/1123-mail-scam-alert.html

BBB file opened: 03/01/1959Business started: 01/01/1844
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Division of Insurance
One South Station, 5th Floor
Boston, MA02110-2208
(617) 521-7794
http://www.state.ma.us/doi

BBB records show this business has a registered license with Massachusetts Division of Insurance.Their web address is http://www.state.ma.us/doi.

Type: Insurance Agency

Check License Status: http://agentfinder.doi.state.ma.us/ProducerProfile.aspx?TYPE=1&ID=5324&RETURNQRY=LNAME%3d%26FNAME%3d%26AGENCY%3dAllmerica%26COMPANIES%3d%26CITY%3d%26STATE%3d%26ZIP%3d01653%26PROX%3d25%26INSTYPES%3d18%

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 1995, MA

Contact Information
Mr. Jon Brynga (Chief Compliance Officer)Mr. Michael Buckley (VP Corporate Communications)Principal: Mr John Mancini (Sr. Regulatory Compliance Manager)
Number of Employees

2800

Business Category

Insurance Services, Business Brokers, Investment Advisory Service, Insurance-Auto, Insurance Companies

Products & Services

According to information provided by the company, they offer a variety of insurance services for individuals and businesses.

Alternate Business Names
Allmerica Financial, Citizens Insurance, Hanover Insurance
Industry Tips
INSURANCE CONTRACTS

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for The Hanover Insurance Group

440 Lincoln Street - N431

Worcester, MA 01653-0001

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*The Hanover Insurance Group is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 853-0456
  • (800) 628-0250
  • (800) 922-8427
  • (800) 446-8379
  • (866) 478-9828
  • (203) 639-0778
  • (508) 855-8000

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (508) 852-7588
  • (203) 639-0562
  • (508) 853-5698
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Insurance Services

INSURANCE CONTRACTS
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.