BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company (Headquarters)

Phone: (413) 788-8411

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service16
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints23

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (23)
03/22/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My monthly annuity payment was reduced by *** from what I was originally told it would be. Also, no state taxes were taken out as I instructed.
In ***** my employer purchased a group annuity policy on behalf of its employees to provide monthly payments for retirement. I was one of those individuals. When I decided to retire in ******* 2015, well after the full retirement date in the contract, I contacted Mass Mutual to tell them I wanted to start my annuity payments on ******* I received a packet in the mail from them with all the forms to fill out, stating my monthly benefit would be ***** I filled everything out (including federal & state taxes to be withheld), got signatures notarized, etc. and returned the forms on ******* A representative from Mass Mutual called me a few days later to say they received my paperwork and, after taxes, I could expect to clear **** a month starting ******* The representative also told me the amount could go up or down "a few dollars". When April 1st came, **** was deposited in my checking account from Mass Mutual.

Every month, I was getting the **** deposit, and I thought everything was fine. Then at the end of ******* 2016, I got my 1099-R from Mass Mutual. The numbers on the 1099-R just didn't add up; no state taxes were taken out and very little federal taxes were taken out. I was sure they had me mixed up with someone else. I called Mass Mutual, was transferred all around, and promised a call back. After waiting over a week for a call back, I called again and finally got an answer. It turns out my **** benefit had been reduced to ***** When the representative told me in ******** 2015 that my monthly payment could go up or down "a few dollars", I never imagined it would be reduced by **** I was never notified of the reduction. Also, Mass Mutual said there was some kind of "glitch" in their system that failed to take out the correct taxes.

The explanation I was given this past week from Mass Mutual for the reduction in my monthly payment was that it was based on the PBGC rate for the month the payments started. In ***** 2015, the PBGC rate was reduced to **** According to the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation, a pension recipient or annuitant has a 45 day window to appeal the rate calculation. Since this 45 day window for me to appeal has long passed due to Mass Mutual not notifying me, I feel I have been denied due process.

If I had been notified of the *** reduction in my monthly annuity payment ahead of time, I would have appealed to the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation. I also may have considered postponing my retirement. Now, on top of living with this reduced monthly amount, I have a huge tax liability as a result of Mass Mutual's mistake. At the very least, I feel that Mass Mutual should change my monthly payment back to the **** amount I was told I would receive and reimburse me for my tax liability. I would also like a detailed explanation as to why I was never notified of this rate reduction ahead of time. I can't believe an insurance company which has been in business this long would treat its customers this way.

Desired Settlement
At the very least, I feel that Mass Mutual should change my monthly payment back to the **** amount I was told I would receive and reimburse me for my tax liability. I would also like a detailed explanation as to why I was never notified of this rate reduction ahead of time. I can't believe an insurance company which has been in business this long would treat its customers this way.

Business Response
I'm finding no MassMutual clients in our system with that name in Maryland. Does the client have a contract number for the annuity she mentions?

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The contract number of my annuity is XXXXX. Contractholder's Name is ** **** ***** *********** ****
Annuitant's Name is ****** *****.
Annuitant Number is XXXXXXXXX.

Final Business Response
March 15, 2016

******** ********
****** ******** ******
* **** ******* ***** ***
********** ** XXXXX


Re: Case #XXXXXX
****** *****

Dear *** *********

I am writing with respect to your letter regarding ****** *****, dated ******** *** 2016, regarding your file referenced above. You have asked that we provide a response to Ms. *****'s concerns.

While MassMutual appreciates the work that the Better Business Bureau does, given the regulatory oversight which currently exists within the financial services industry, we do not believe that this is the proper forum to address Ms. *****'s concerns.

Please be assured that we will Ms. *****'s concerns and address them directly with her.

Feel free to contact me if you need additional assistance.

Sincerely,


**** ********
********** ********
100 Bright Meadow Blvd MIP M235
Enfield, CT XXXXX


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I do accept this resolution as long as Mass Mutual does, in fact, contact me directly. As of today, ***** *** 2016, I have not heard from them. Thank you.

02/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have requested, but not received, a distribution of my 401k since I left my employer on ********* *** 2015.
I stopped working for ******** ****** ******** **** on ********* *** 2015. I have a 401k account with MassMutual. I have not received a distribution of the funds. At first, MassMutual told me that the wrong forms were submitted. Then MassMutual was waiting for confirmation that I actually left ******** ****** ******** ****
The last two emails I received from MassMutual told me that they were processing my request for distribution, and it should take up to 5 business days to finish processing my request. The last email was dated ******** ** 2015. I have called to see if all information was received, and the response was,"We will call you when processing is finished." As of today, ******* *** 2016, I have not received my 401k distribution from MassMutual.

Desired Settlement
I want my 401k distribution sent to my bank account, as in the directions on the forms.

Business Response
******* *** ****

******** ********
Better Business Bureau
6 Park Avenue, Suite 100
Worcester, MA XXXXX

Re: Case XXXXXX
**** *****

Dear *** *********

I am writing with respect to your email regarding **** *****, dated ******* *** 2016, regarding your file referenced above. You have asked that we provide a response to Mr. *****'s concerns.

While MassMutual appreciates the work that the Better Business Bureau does, given the regulatory oversight which currently exists within the financial services industry, we do not believe that this is the proper forum to address Mr. *****'s concerns.

Please be assured that we will review Mr. *****'s concerns and address them directly with him.

Feel free to contact me if you need additional assistance.

Sincerely,


**** ********
********** ********
100 Bright Meadow Blvd MIP M235
Enfield, CT XXXXX
Phone (XXX) XXX-XXXX


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The company deposited the funds into my account, thank you for your help.

10/05/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
mass mutual is stalling on releasing my funds into my current employers 401k account
I requested in writing the transfer, and they continually needed more and more items. the last items was an acceptance letter from my employer, which our current 401k administrator confirms this is not a requirement. but they did it anyways for me. I re-reached out today to find out my balance owed to me is work ** less and they state my request is outdated and I have to start over. its a complete scam and I have no idea why my account balance is ** lower now. I am requesting my funds get transferred now. and their sales charge of **** gets waived!

Desired Settlement
I am requesting my funds get transferred now. and their sales charge of **** gets waived!

Business Response
I am writing with respect to your email to MassMutual Customer Relations dated ******** regarding the above referenced case. You have asked that we provide a response to Ms. ****** *****'s concerns.
While MassMutual appreciates the work that the Better Business Bureau does, given the regulatory oversight, which currently exists within the financial services industry, we do not believe that this is the proper forum to address Ms. *****'s concerns.
Please be assured that we will research Ms. *****'s concerns and address them directly with her.
I hope that this addresses your concerns. If you have any questions, or need additional information, please feel welcome to contact us at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX.
Sincerely,
******** **********


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
doesn't seem like we have a choice. I did get my check 6 months after requesting. and after contacting the BBB. glad to be gone, will not refer them business

Final Consumer Response

11/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My daughter is a minor, has been receiving letters for an account with this company she has never signed up with. This is a SCAM.
We started receiving letters for our daughter about a IATSE Annuity Fund from MassMutual, *** **** ******* *** ***** *** ***** She has never ever heard of this, she just turned 18. We started getting letters from this company when she was 17. There is even an account number of XXXXX-X-X-X. This has got to be some kind of SCAM and it should be investigated. We have received letters with financial statements containg vague financial information, our daughters name and birth year. Again, we have no idea what this is.

Desired Settlement
We want all our daughters information removed from this company and a certified letter stating this. We would also like to know how this company acquired our daughters information and if any damages occur to her from this we will proceed with litigation.

Business Response
October 30, 2014

Ms. ******** ********
Better Business Bureau
Central and Western Massachusetts
and Northeastern Connecticut

Re: Complaint Case Number: XXXXXX
****** ********

Dear Ms. *********

I am writing with respect to your letter regarding ****** ********, dated October 23, 2014, regarding your file referenced above. You have asked that we provide a response to Mr. ********'s concerns.

While MassMutual appreciates the work that the Better Business Bureau does, given the regulatory oversight which currently exists within the financial services industry, we do not believe that this is the proper forum to address Mr. ********'s concerns.

Please be assured that we will Mr. ********'s concerns and address them directly with him.

If you need additional assistance, please call our Participant Information Center toll-free at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX between 8:00 AM and 8:00 PM EST Monday through Friday.

Sincerely,




**** ********
Retirement Services
*** ****** ****** **** *** ****
******** ** XXXXX
Phone (XXX) XXX-XXXX


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response does not address any of our concerns. We have nothing to do with this organization and believe it to be a scam.

Final Business Response
This complaint was responded to directly to the Participant, ****** ********, on November 14, 2014.

Final Consumer Response
They mailed a letter saying her name was removed from their system. It had to do with a one day job she did when she was 17 or 18 a year or so ago working back stage with a theater production. She still has no idea how she was signed up with MassMutual.


This could have all been avoided though if MassMutual had sent some sort of detailed introduction letter explaining who/how she was signed up. There was nothing. We just started receiving financial statements but no details about what or where the money came from. There was nothing saying who the employer was, just a blank line where you would have expected to see it. Here social security number was not on the statement either. It looked like some sort of identity theft/scam that had our daughters name and address but nothing else.


Anyway, thanks again for your help in resolving this matter.


****** ********

11/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Whole life insurance policy #XXXXXXX payable at death of **** ** *******. Death of insured on ***** ** ***** Company unable to provide information.
Whole Life insurance policy #XXXXXXX purchased on ********* ** ***** Total annual premium $39.88. In possession of receipt indicating "Paid-up at nearest age 65". A letter from ********* ******** in Policyholder Services states that coverage under this policy terminated more than 7 years ago, and is unable to provide additional documentation or information.

Desired Settlement
Face amount of policy is ****** plus interest would be the settlement sought in this matter.

Business Response
Re: Complaint Case: XXXXXX
Complainant: *** *******
**** *** *********
I am writing with respect to your letter to MassMutual Customer Relations, dated ******* *** ***** regarding your case referenced above. You have asked that we provide a response to Mr. *******'s concerns.
While MassMutual appreciates the work that the Better Business Bureau does, given the regulatory oversight, which currently exists within the financial services industry, we do not believe that this is the proper forum to address Mr. *******'s concerns.
Please be assured that we will research Mr. *******'s concerns and address them directly with him.
I hope that this addresses your concerns. If you have any questions, or need additional information, please feel welcome to contact me at ************ XXXXXX.
Sincerely,
***** *****
***** *****
Customer Relations Consultant
Customer Relations
U.S. Insurance Group, Compliance
1295 State Street, C420 Springfield, MA 01111


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This company is giving you the same runaround as they gave me. They claim that the policy was "cashed out", but have no records nor information concerning this policy because of its age. How is that possible? It is a relatively modest amount and it is their error for not keeping accurate records. The insured lived to be 94 years old. The company had use of that money for an extremely long period of time.
I am not satisfied with their reasoning nor their response.
Please continue on my behalf.
Thank you.

Final Business Response
Case # XXXXXX
Re: Mr. ****** *******

Good Afternoon ********,

A letter was mailed to Mr. ******* on ******* *** **** in response to your inquiry. I also spoke directly with Mr. ******* on the same day.

This issue has been resolved. If you have any questions regarding the specifics of our resolution, you may reach out to Mr. *******.

Thank you,

***** *****
Compliance Consultant
USIG Compliance, Customer Relations Department
1295 State Street, C420
Springfield, MA 01111
Phone (XXX) XXX-XXXX *** ****

Page 1 of 2
05/09/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
1 don't know if you can help me or not I have a 457 deferred compensation account, it was with ******* now Mass Mutual.
Rolling funds over from Mass Mutual to ********* was charged a service charge.
I have the account through the City of Alameda Municipal Power, the company I work for.
The city no longer has Mass Mutual. I have never seen any paperwork stating
there is a service charge to roll a 457 retirement plan. I was under the impression this is a retirement plan and fields are secure.
I have requested proof that the city has a clause in the contract where they can charge a service fee, as of now I have not received anything.

Desired Settlement
The service charge is ********* I think this is excessive and I would like to know why I have not received anything from the City or Mass Mutual stating they are allowed to do this. I didn't even get a call from Mass Mutual or I would have changed things. I don't feel this is good customer service on their part.
I rolled the plan from *******. and did not get charged anything. If Mass Mutual charges a fee it should not be on the roll over amount to them only the funds made while the account was with them and not on the total amount.
If there is anything you can advise or refer me to I would appreciate it.

Business Response
April 29, 2016

******** ********
Better Business Bureau
6 Park Avenue, Suite 100
Worcester, MA XXXXX


Re: Case #XXXXXX
****** ******

Dear Ms. *********

I am writing with respect to your letter regarding ****** ******, dated ***** *** 2016 regarding your file referenced above. You have asked that we provide a response to Ms. ******'s concerns.

While MassMutual appreciates the work that the Better Business Bureau does, given the regulatory oversight which currently exists within the financial services industry, we do not believe that this is the proper forum to address Ms. ******'s concerns.

Please be assured that we will Ms. ******'s concerns and address them directly with her.

Feel free to contact me if you need additional assistance.

Sincerely,


**** ********
********** ********
100 Bright Meadow Blvd MIP M235
Enfield, CT XXXXX
Phone (XXX) XXX-XXXX

01/22/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
daily email harassment from massmutuals 3rd party affiliates
mass mutual has been asked to cease and desist daily email harassment bombarding us daily with ads from 3rd party affiliates. this means they are also violating our privacy rights by sharing our info. We do not have any dealings with mass mutual

Desired Settlement
notify all affiliates to cease and desist and continue to do so indefinitely

Business Response
I am writing with respect to your letter to MassMutual Customer Relations dated ********* regarding the above referenced case. You have asked that we provide a response to Mr. ***** *****'s concerns.
While MassMutual appreciates the work that the Better Business Bureau does, given the regulatory oversight, which currently exists within the financial services industry, we do not believe that this is the proper forum to address Mr. *****'s concerns.
Please be assured that we will research Mr. *****'s concerns and address them directly with him.
I hope that this addresses your concerns. If you have any questions, or need additional information, please feel welcome to contact us at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX.
Sincerely,

******** **********


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is a joke response from MassMutal. If they had addressed my concerns when I asked them to do so, I would not have had to contact you. Therefore, this is the perfect forum when one is totally ignored by the offending party.

Final Business Response
As stated in my previous correspondence, we will respond directly to Mr. ***** regarding his concerns. I am in the process of researching this matter. I will email him directly at the email address provided (***************) upon the completion of my review.
Kindly,

******** **********

09/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Fraudulent activity with my accounts.
Upon the recent passing of my spouse, I inquired as to the balance of my 3 accounts, to find they were surrendered in 2003, without my permission, or knowledge. Mass Mutual has been deficient in verifying to me the details of these transactions.

******* ** *********** ***
XXXXX ********* *** ****
******* ****** ** XXXXX

was the representative in regards to my accounts.
He hasn't returned my calls either.

Desired Settlement
Would like verification to said transactions, as well as reimbursement of funds missing with interest.

Business Response
I am writing with respect to your letter to MassMutual Customer Relations dated ********* regarding the above referenced case. You have asked that we provide a response to Mrs. ***** *****'s concerns.
While MassMutual appreciates the work that the Better Business Bureau does, given the regulatory oversight, which currently exists within the financial services industry, we do not believe that this is the proper forum to address Mrs. *****'s concerns.
Please be assured that we will research Mrs. *****'s concerns and address them directly with her.
I hope that this addresses your concerns. If you have any questions, or need additional information, please feel welcome to contact us at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX.
Sincerely,
******** **********

05/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
MassMutual Financial Group emails advertisements from which there is no legitimate way to unsubscribe.
MassMutual Financial Group sent me advertisements through email I did not request. When I clicked on the link to unsubscribe, I was sent to a page advertising more of their products--not a place to take my email address off of their list. I don't know if this is purposeful or an oversight, but I consider it offensive and a bad business practice. I get to decide from whom I want to receive emails; that means I have the ability to deny others the right to use my address. When that right is taken away, their customer service is at fault.

Desired Settlement
I want MassMutual Financial Group to provide a legitimate and clear unsubscribe link in every email they send out; and, I want my email address taken off their mailing list.

Business Response
I am writing with respect to your letter to MassMutual Customer Relations dated *** *** 2015 regarding the above referenced case. You have asked that we provide a response to Ms. *******' concerns.
While MassMutual appreciates the work that the Better Business Bureau does, given the regulatory oversight, which currently exists within the financial services industry, we do not believe that this is the proper forum to address Ms. *******' concerns.
Please be assured that we will research Ms. *******' concerns and address them directly with her.
I hope that this addresses your concerns. If you have any questions, or need additional information, please feel welcome to contact me at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX XXXXXX.
Sincerely,
******** **********

03/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had email twice now regard two ***** forms which I received. No respond regarding the one. The other one I knew about.
I email mass mutual twice now. Then I roll over my 401k I ask before hand if I was going to pay tax. I was told no by ****. I understood that I was going to receive one for my loan which it not correct. I have not heard from anyone but **** which I could not speak with nor do I wNt to talk with him. I send an email **** and **** Nothing from mass mutual. I was lie too and not explain everything. Not happy at all with the service . If I had known that I was going to pay tax I would.d had never switch my account over. But no one said anything but **** said it was a miscommunication no I ask him and ask again. There was no miscommunication .

Desired Settlement
I would like them to pay the amount of the federal that I had which over that one head told me but I ask them more than twice regarding this.

Business Response
*****************

******** ********
****** ******** ******
* **** ******* ***** ***
********** ** XXXXX


Re: Case #XXXXXX
******* ******

Dear Ms. *********

I am writing with respect to your letter regarding ******* ******, dated ******** ** 2015, regarding your file referenced above. You have asked that we provide a response to Ms. ******'s concerns.

While MassMutual appreciates the work that the Better Business Bureau does, given the regulatory oversight which currently exists within the financial services industry, we do not believe that this is the proper forum to address Ms. ******'s concerns.

Please be assured that we will Ms. ******'s concerns and address them directly with her.

Feel free to contact me if you need additional assistance.

Sincerely,


**** ********
********** ********
*** ****** ****** **** *** ****
******** ** XXXXX
***** (XXX) XXX-XXXX

Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Insurance Services, Retirement Planning Service, Insurance-Disability

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.