BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/09/2004

Sturdy Home Improvement, Inc.

Phone: (413) 543-5906Fax: (413) 543-3200

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
07/29/2015Problems with Product / Service
09/04/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sturdy home improvement engaged in a contract with me to provide 22 windows and a slider door for my home, they have not delivered anything so far.
Sturdy home improvement engaged in a contract with me to provide 22 windows and a slider door for my home, they have not delivered anything so far. The contract was signed on 07/15/2014 and they did not do anything for 15 days then I called and escalated and they sent another contractor ************** and the measured the windows on the back of his palm. There were heavy discrepancies in measurement and I had to make an effort to make him sit and go through the contract and verify the number of windows .. He mentioned they will deliver the product on August 15th and will install the following week, the product was not delivered, neither was there any communication. I sent an email to the sales person **** ******* and he replied that I should call him and somebody named ***** will call and they have placed order. There was no way to trust, so I called him today and he said the order may be delivered on Sept 1st.. I asked him to send me the invoice copy and confirmation which he has not sent and he said something about ***** on holidays - Now I am not sure if they are playing as they have already taken the money and not communicating and not delivering the products and services on time. I am looking for all avenues to try to get my money back and cancel the order if they are not a good contractor and they are going to do this kind of shady dealing.

K **************
XXX XXX XXXX

Desired Settlement
Either the company does the job on time and delivers the product or services or cancels the contract and refunds the money back to me. I am open to both the options, but I want the contracted service in good faith and form.. I dont want to accept spurious products and bad service and I need to have a date agreed for delivery and it has to be kept. If this is not possible by the company, then I want a refund of the money and cancelling the contract.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@sturdyhome.com
This customers' job is still in the manufacturing process. Sturdy has not received delivery of his windows and they are scheduled for delivery next week. Customer called in the week of 8/18 asking for an update. His sales rep, ****, asked my assistant ****** to call him. She placed the call and left him a voice mail the same day he called. Sturdy is still intending on moving forward to install the customers windows. I reached out to the customer this morning and he didn't answer, so I left him a voice mail. Below I attached the email I sent him after I left the voice mail.

This job is on the same expected track as our other window jobs, but there have been a few delays and communication wasn't what the customer expected, and for that I apologize. Sturdy strives to give each customer the same great service that is expected and will continue to do so with Mr. **************.


EMAIL I SENT:
I just left you a voice mail.

I apologize for the delays in communication. ******* my assistant, said she left you a voice mail while I was on vacation, the same day you asked for a status update from ****. She explained when they were coming in and to call her if you had any questions.

Our windows are delivered to us every other Monday, so I basically get two deliveries per month. Your windows were ordered and given a 9/1/2014 delivery date. As you know, this is Labor Day and not a working day. They are delivering to me either 9/2 or 9/3. (I attached the cover page of the confirmation they send me.)

Some of your windows have radius tops that are mulled to the windows they are attached to which makes them more of a special order and causes extra delay in time to manufacture them.

I am looking to install them during the week of 9/9/2014. Please let me know what dates during that week work for you. Expect this job to take two days to complete.

Again, I apologize for the delays in communication and I trust this will wrap up properly to your complete satisfaction.

*****

09/19/2013Problems with Product / Service
01/24/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
11/28/2012Problems with Product / Service
11/08/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Improvements, Windows, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Patio & Deck Builders, Home Improvements- Additions, Contractors-General, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.