BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Services Plus Mechanical LLC

Phone: (508) 234-2493Fax: (508) 234-24631 Main St, Suite 10, WhitinsvilleMA 01588-2201 Send email to Services Plus Mechanical LLChttp://www.servicesplusmechanical.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Services Plus Mechanical LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Services Plus Mechanical LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Services Plus Mechanical LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
01/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Over charged for service
To Better Business Bureau,
We are writing to dispute an outrageous charge for cleaning of our furnace. My husband scheduled Service Plus Mechanical to clean our oil furnace on Friday Nov 7, 2014. The company gave my husband a verbal estimate over the phone of approximately $250. The service man arrived at 10:30AM; I showed him the furnace in the basement and bulkhead so he could come and go from his truck. At noon the service man came up to say he was going to lunch and it was going to take him much longer to clean. At that point the furnace was completely apart. Someone from Service Plus Mechanical spoke with my husband at work, and told him it would take longer than expected. We did not expect that the he was going to be way off on the estimate given, at this point with the unit apart and not wanting to put my family at risk felt I had no choice but to have him continue with the cleaning. In my opinion this is a typical strong arm maneuver used by some contractors to increase the cost of service. The company was called for cleaning service only, there was nothing wrong with the furnace and was in perfectly good working condition. By the end we were charged for a broken elbow that he obviously damaged during the cleaning and other parts totaling $76.21. He did not leave the house until 5:20 that evening for a total of 7 hours to clean a furnace. He handed me a bill for $576.21! The company who cleaned our furnace last time charged us $165 and was there for 2 hrs, a much more typical time frame and dollar amount.
We tried to resolve this dispute with Service Plus Company but without any satisfaction.

Desired Settlement
$321

Business Response
on 10-28-14 ***** ****** contacted us regarding a preventive maintenance to an oil fired boiler. I told him our normal charge for this service ( p/m ) was about 2 - 2 1/2 hours plus the cost of parts : nozzle, oil filter. However, if the unit has not been serviced for a year or more it may take longer, oil is very dirty and does create alot of soot. WE scheduled the p/m for 11-07-14, when we showed up to do the p/m , the first thing we noticed was the boiler was not in a good location, it was installed in a tight corner, making the unit harder to access for cleaning and the power venter was located above the unit and not very reachable, and we do clean the power venter as part of the p/m. It had to be done from the outside of the home , which was a first for us. The technician also noticed when he took apart the unit that it was very dirty and told ****** this will take about 4 hours, she said ok. He then noticed the elbow was rotted and the draft regulator needed to be replaced, he told her he needed to go to the supply house to pick up these replacement parts, which took about an hour round trip to get. Our job is to bring the equipment back to factory specs as it is in the best interest of the consumer and to make the equipment runs the most efficient it can be. This did take longer than a normal p/m but that was due to it not being serviced in 2 years and it was very dirty with soot and having to run to get parts and that it was very difficult to access, which i did explain to ******.We were there for a total of 6 1/2 hours and only invoiced for 5 1/2 hours, the extra time was for part pick up and installation of those parts, only then we could perform the combustion report, which is done after the p/m is complete.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In response to his accusation of having a dirty furnace. A friend stopped by and happened to know more about furnaces than we do. I asked her to come down stairs to look at the furnace while the tech was there. My friend turned to the tech and said that is not dirty I have seen worse. The tech did not say a word, which I found strange. When I went back down stairs he mentioned to me that he did not think it would take as long as he thought. Those were his exact words to me. The technician did not mention any specific time to me. The tech said it is going to take a couple more hours. Before coming to BBB I did a three way call to the **** of the company his ********* and the technician. I told the **** of the company what was said and asked why the technician did not show me the elbow. The tech replied that he should have shown it to me. The elbow was put on incorrectly when the tech tried to re assemble it the first time that is why he could not get it on. The new elbow still appears to be not on the right way.
We have a pellet stove on the first floor and one in the basement of our house. We use two hundred to two hundred and fifty gallons of oil every year. Most people use up to twelve hundred gallons on an oil per year. This furnace is hardly ever used. That's why we choose to clean every other year versus every year.


Final Business Response
We feel we have made a fair offer with regards to the 2 hours @ $90.00 refund equaling $180.00. The tech informed you that is was going to take about 4 hours to do the job and you didn't refuse the work at that time, also he had to replace 2 parts which we do not stock on the truck, therefor the tech. had to go to a supply house to pick up,which was also billed to you, the cleaning was told to your husband that it probably would take more than 2 hours since it hadn't been done in over a year.We are not an oil company and do not sell oil, alot of times they are in and out in an hour and a half, we are not, which again we informed your husband of this, we do take longer than most oil companies as we bring everything back as close to factory specs as possible and do a full combustion analysis. The technician that was on your job is a ** year licensed oil burner tech.. Please note that there is also a power venter there and that also takes time to service. Both pieces of equipment are located in a poor area in regards to servicing.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am glad that your tech has ** years of experience. That's the more reason it should not have taken that long to clean our Furnace. I should hope that our New Yorker furnace is not the first furnace he had to work on. No one who has worked on this furnace has taken that long. As was said before the technician did not show me the elbow. The tech replied that he should have shown it to me. The elbow was put on incorrectly when the tech tried to re assemble it the first time that is why he could not get it on. The elbow was not broken prior to the service, so that fact that you are not only trying to charge us for the piece but the time it took the technician to go and get it is ridiculous. We are happy to pay the original quote that was given. Once again I must say no time limit was given to me your technician only said it will take longer than he expected. When I returned to the basement and the technician turned to me and said he doesn't think it will be taking as long as he expected, that was at about 1pm-1:30p. At about 5pm I went back to the basement and he was still there, at no point after that comment after his lunch did he say anything about there being a problem. I might point out too that each time I went to the stairs and made noise he would turn the vacuum on for a few minutes. But otherwise it was off. The whole situation seems shady and we are being taken advantage of. At this point we are going around in circles.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Refrigeration Equipment - Commercial - Sales & Service, Ventilating Contractors, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/08/2001Business started: 08/01/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Public Safety
One Asburton Place Room 1301
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 727-3200
http://www.mass.gov/dps/

Division of Professional Licensure
239 Causeway Street
Boston, MA 02114
(617) 727-7406
http://www.mass.gov/dpl/boards.htm

BBB records show a license number of BU-029340 for this company, issued by Department of Public Safety. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/dps/. The expiration date of this license is 02/01/2018.

Type: Oil Burner Technician

Check License Status: http://elicense.chs.state.ma.us/Verification/Details.aspx?agency id=1&license id=14453&

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of RT-015749 for this company, issued by Department of Public Safety. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/dps/. The expiration date of this license is 02/01/2018.

Type: Refrigeration Technician

Check License Status: http://elicense.chs.state.ma.us/Verification/Details.aspx?agency id=1&license id=169265&

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 4178 for this company, issued by Division of Professional Licensure. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/dpl/boards.htm. The expiration date of this license is 02/28/2018.

Type: Sheet Metal

Check License Status: https://elicensing.state.ma.us/CitizenAccess/

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen Dognazzi (Owner)Customer Contact: Ms. Nancy Dognazzi (Office Manager)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Refrigeration Equipment - Commercial - Sales & Service, Ventilating Contractors, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

According to information provided by the company, they offer installation and service of high efficiency heating, air conditioning and ventilation products and systems.

Alternate Business Names
Services Plus HVAC/R
Industry Tips
AIR CONDITIONING

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Services Plus Mechanical LLC

1 Main St, Suite 10

Whitinsville, MA 01588-2201

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1 Main St, Suite 10 

    Whitinsville, MA 01588-2201(508) 234-2493
    Fax: (508) 234-2463

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Services Plus Mechanical LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

AIR CONDITIONING
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.