BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/27/1994

Advanced Energy Concepts, Inc.

Phone: (508) 791-1115Fax: (508) 795-7680

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
02/19/2015Billing / Collection Issues
04/16/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Replaced heat exchanger was done improperly on 12/2012 and needed to be replace again 9/2014, lasting only 12 months of actual use.
I had my furnace repaired at **** **** ****** in Auburn on 12/8/2012. I had the entire heat exchanger replaced that was under warranty. Despite being under warranty I was charged $248 materials and an additional $520 for labor for a total bill of $784 with tax. I was selling my house 9/25/14 and on the day of the closing we were having the system cleaned. The buyer paid $137 but no cleaning was done. The Rep told me (On September 25th 2014) after only 12 months of actual use (the system is shut down May - October) we were told the heat exchanger was cracked again. The repairman told me personally over the phone that when the replacement was installed on 12/8/2012 the technician should have noticed the system was taking on air and it should have been corrected at the time of installation and it wasn't. Although the second replacement was still under warranty they charged the buyer and I another $371 for the second replacement. This is a part that has a 20 year warranty and shouldn't have failed with only 1 year's use. When we complained to the company we were told many excuses, the repairman no longer worked there, it wasn't installed wrong...After many calls I spoke with ***** the owner. He was very nice at the time. He indicated he would call the manufacturer to see if he could get a credit on the repair. He told me to call him back in 2 weeks if I didn't hear from him. Despite my many calls he will not return my call. My last phone call was to ****** (*********) she sent him another e-mail outlining my concerns of no return phone call. That was more than a month ago. They scammed us out of a second repair charge that we shouldn't have to pay because of their improper installation. And they charged us for the initial cleaning on Sept. 25th and they didn't do the cleaning on that day.

Desired Settlement
****** Advanced Energy's owner, assumed we would just go away if he just continued to ignore us. We want the labor charge for the second repair returned to us, $371. A part that has a 20 year warranty should not fail with 12 months of use. I have spent thousands of dollars in repairs with this company and I can't understand the horrible customer service.

Business Response
I will weave my response below
***** ***** Replaced heat exchanger was done improperly on 12/2012 and needed to be replace again 9/2014,
Lasting only 12 months of actual use.
**** ***** Mr. ***** I completely understand your frustration, however the manufacturer's warranty begins on the day the product is purchased not how many months of actual use.
Secondly Advanced Energy Concepts (Aec) is not the manufacture. Aec repairs systems and charges by the job or by the hour. We do not make claims for the manufacture we just help facilitate a warranty claim as a customer service.
Third, the heat exchanger had been installed correctly. There is very little that can be done to a heat exchanger during replacement that can cause failure.
***** ***** I had my furnace repaired at **** **** ****** in ****** on 12/8/2012. I had the entire heat exchanger replaced that was under warranty.
Despite being under warranty I was charged $248 materials and an additional $520 for labor for a total bill of $784 with tax.
**** ***** Mr. ***** I am sorry there has to be some confusion, when the manufacture warranties a part typically labor, shipping, incidental parts are not included. Manufactures also pro rate the heat exchanger. Aec has no control over what the manufacture charges or what may or may not be covered. Aec charges for labor and part that are not covered by the manufacture.
***** ***** I was selling my house 9/25/14 and on the day of the closing we were having the system cleaned. The buyer paid $137 but no cleaning was done.
**** ***** The technician began cleaning the unit and found the cracked heat exchanger, he charged only for labor. This is not a free service.
***** ***** The Rep told me (On September 25th 2014) after only 12 months of actual use (the system is shut down May - October) we were told the heat exchanger was cracked again. The repairman told me personally over the phone that when the replacement was installed on 12/8/2012 the technician should have noticed the system was taking on air and it should have been corrected at the time of installation and it wasn't.
**** ***** Our technicians use an electronic combustion analyzer. The technician that found the problem with the heat exchanger measured excessive oxygen in the flue gas. Excessive oxygen offers a clue to the technician that there is a problem. I not sure how that comment translated into an installation problem that could affect a heat exchanger. Heat exchangers are a welded steel manufactured product that cannot be field modified.
***** ***** . Although the second replacement was still under warranty they charged the buyer and I another $371 for the second replacement.
**** ***** I'm trying not to be to repetitive, however Advanced Energy Concepts is not the manufacture. Unless the manufacture has some type of reimbursement for labor the ***** would pay for labor ect. Charges were known by Mr. ***** and the new home ***** before the heat exchanger was replaced. This is evident by Mr. ***** paying for the first heat exchanger without issue.
***** ***** This is a part that has a 20 year warranty and shouldn't have failed with only 1 year's use.
**** ***** As a free service, I attempted to discuss the issue with the manufacture. I wasted hours trying to get answers for Mr. *****. I regret the attempt most customers appreciate this type of assistance.
***** ***** When we complained to the company we were told many excuses, the repairman no longer worked there, it wasn't installed wrong...After many calls I spoke with ***** the *****. He was very nice at the time.
**** ***** No excuses given, the technician who installed the first heat exchanger and the second heat exchanger are employed by Advanced Energy Concepts as of the date of this response.


***** ***** He indicated he would call the manufacturer to see if he could get a credit on the repair. He told me to call him back in 2 weeks if I didn't hear from him. Despite my many calls he will not return my call. My last phone call was to ****** (*********) she sent him another e-mail outlining my concerns of no return phone call.
That was more than a month ago.
**** ***** I place called to the manufacture, followed up at least once a week. I did not get an answer. It's not unusual for manufactures to take months to get a credit back to us.
***** ***** They scammed us out of a second repair charge that we shouldn't have to pay because of their improper installation. And they charged us for the initial cleaning on Sept. 25th and they didn't do the cleaning on that day.
**** ***** Using the word scammed is out of line, insulting and is the also slanderous. I'm having a hard time understanding how a company you call for service and know the rates the company charges expects the service to be free after the service was performed.
Charges are explained in advance and had been agreed upon. I'm sure making statements out of context and changing the actual events to suit ones argument is based on confusion and frustration. However using comments that can only be construed as false and slanderous are beneath anyone attempting to come to a reasonable conclusion.
This statement is also inaccurate. The first heat exchanger had been installed correctly, we originally arrived to do a cleaning and found the problem with the second heat exchanger, and you were charge for the time the technician worked at your home.
I understand the frustration, however it's completely miss directed. I was trying to help Mr. ***** recover monies from the manufacture.
***** ***** ****** Advanced Energy's *****, assumed we would just go away if he just continued to ignore us. We want the labor charge for the second repair returned to us, $371.
A part that has a 20 year warranty should not fail with 12 months of use. I have spent thousands of dollars in repairs with this company and I can't understand the horrible customer service.
**** ***** Mr. *****, if you call our company no matter the time or day we respond quickly. Including nights and weekends. I believe when the first heat exchanger had an issue we came out on a Sunday so that you would have a price on a new furnace or heat exchanger. During the maintenance we found the problem. The technician explained the issue, we ordered a new heat exchanger, delivered the old heat exchanger to the manufacture also attempted to recover labor from the manufacture. I'm not sure what else could be expected.

Summary\ closing
I understand the frustration, we are not the manufacture and have no control over their policies. We attempted to facilitate a reimbursement from the manufacture to no avail. If a reimbursement is received by the manufacture I will forward the monies to Mr. *****.
I will make final attempt to receive a reimbursement from the manufacture. I will also send my request in writing to our sales representative and the ****** warranty department. Written correspondences will be forwarded to Mr. ***** including any response or follow up correspondence. If no response is received within 30 days, I will contact Mr. ***** in writing so that he can decide on a course of action against the manufacture.
This complaint should be directed to the manufacture by the Better Business Bureau, hopefully properly directed complaints will achieve the desired response.

**** *****
Advanced Energy Concepts.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1. Blaming the manufacturer for not returning AE's calls is no excuse to ignore a good paying customer. **** **** refused to return our calls, a point he skirted.
2. I WAS told the 2nd heat exchanger was installed incorrectly by the technician who came to clean the unit.
3. If a second heat exchanger was installed correctly and had no problems with taking on too much air, as your own technician told me then how does the "welded steel" crack a second time in 12 months?
4. **** ***** was a repairman with Advanced Energy who worked at my home several times. **** ***** no longer works at AE.
5. My contract was not with the manufacturer of the 2nd heat exchanger, it was with AE. I feel it is AE's obligation, because he is after all, the one I handed $784 to.

In Summary: The manufacturer held their end of the bargain, they replaced the first defective unit and the second one. It was Advanced Energy who charged once for the first replacement (understandable! but at a high price), a second time only to tell us it was cracked again and a third time to replace the unit only installed by them a year earlier. Bottom line, we are out lots of money and the only one who made a lot of money in this deal was Advanced Energy. I feel a refund is still owed. I also feel **** needs to seek damages from the manufacturer if he feels HE got the defective product the second time.

10/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Installed A/C in Aug2013. Never worked well.Same issues in 2014. No good service. ********** ********* son triggered of heat
Adv.Energy concepts installed central air for us in Aug 2013 .We already had ducts , we only needed the unit to be installed .Following are the Payment details :

Total Quote: $3595.00
July 2013 : $1468.65
March 2014: $2328.33

Entire amount paid by 2 different checks
2013:
The central A/C never really worked from the time it was installed . We were always confused about what was going on . The business never took any time to answer our questions or resolve the issue . I called the business 2-3 times about A/C not cooling enough , and the only thing they would do is send a rude technician who would fill some cooling fluid (Freon) and go . Nobody even tried to troubleshoot about why there is a neeed to refill the fluid again and again within few weeks.
By the time all this was over we were at the end of August 2013 and the issues was left behind since it was cool weather already.

This year we are still trying to figure out since June 2014 about what exactly is going on with this central A/C . The issues with it are

1) The A/C never cools to the set temp . It takes forever to cool and by this time my family literally cooks up inside the house with all the doors and windows closed .
2) few weeks back after the freon refill A/C cooled to the set temperature , the unit never turned off. Our unit never turns off .


I had conveyed the issues to the business on 5/3/14. They send a technician , who again filled some Freon and asked me to pay $144 for it. I denied to pay since I was still in the warranty period .Besides he has no clear answers for anything . He never even knew that this is a frequent issue . All he kept saying was " I don't know , I don't know how that happened . I just filled freon , you are all set , and here is the bill "
I explained to him that this keeps happening again and again . But he had nothing to do with it .Clearly there is a big communication gap between the employees and they do not communicate about what problem a customer has been having frequently . Also the technicians don't seem to be knowledgeble enough so that they could really troubleshoot a problem .

After the fluid was put , the A/C is still not cooling enough again .It would take about 10 hours to really show any difference in temperature .

Sample data after 10 hours of A/C running
Date set temp inside temp outside temp
5/21 53F 58F 55F
5/22 53F 83F 85F


I had communicated all my concerns with the business . But they have done nothing . We have been waiting since a week . I have never heard anything them . I have all the email conversations saved . I can produce them if needed.

We also have a health concern. My ********** has Asthma . I am seeing him triggered because of no ventilation and heat . I do not wish to wait any longer for the business to respond. To me it seems they are totally uncapable of handling issues and providing good customer service.

Therefore I am asking the business to take back their A/C unit and refund me all my money that I wasted .$4000 is not a small amount for us specially when my family is totally uncomfortable and I see my ********* son getting triggered .
I would never ever recommend this business to anyone . It has been a shame for us that we spend nearly $4000 for this horrible service . A $20******** fan is much reliable .
We are requesting BBB to help us in this matter and get our refund back . This is a serious matter for us and we are willing to pursue this in the consumer court if not resolved .

**** *****
* ********* drive
********** MA XXXXX

Desired Settlement
Refund whatever we paid by checks. Also we want the business to take their A/C unit back . We do not wish to deal with this summer after summer .

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** D ***** ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@Aeccomfort.com
Let me first apologize to the ***** Family, I understand your frustrations. I have five children myself and have a lot of experience with ****** issues. I deeply apologize for adding any more angst to their situation. My response I will keep factual and by no means should be taken as an attempt to circumvent responsibility.
System install 8/13
Installed A/C in Aug2013. Never worked well. Same issues in 2014. No good service. 5 year old ********* son triggered of heat
++++ Response
System install in August XX XXXX.
11 days after the installation
Mrs ***** called and felt the system was not cooling enough.
Technician **** ***** arrived at customers home, conducted diagnostics as stated on invoice #XXXXX.Performed a leak test, found possible trace of oil around an elbow at the coil. Added refrigerant, noted possible leak test maybe required.
++++ It is not unusual to find oil, or a refrigerant charge to be off on a new installation. This could be risdual oil from installation. We typically check a refrigerant charge 30 days after installation.
19 Days later 9/11/2013 Invoice number #XXXXX
Not Cooling enough
Check system operation, please review notes for test results. Technician found plugged filter. Removed filter, offer customer to supply new filter, customer declined and would change filter.
Technician explains the condition of the
10 Months later */3/2014
Not enough cooling, same technician as the first call was dispatch out. Notes system low pressures and needs leak check. Added refrigerant (per procedure) a leak check would be performed on the next service call.
11 days later
Email sent by customer on */15/2014, **** ***** ** responded within 2 hours, customer responded a second time */16/2016 a second response by **** ***** *** on same day.

The above information I feel is accurate all emails and invoice(s) enclosed.
Comments
Advanced Energy installed an air conditioner on an existing furnace and duct system. There is obviously a problem with the system. This is a mechanical system and they don't always operate perfectly the first time. We are also human and make mistakes. After 25 years in business we follow diagnostic procedures that have consistently worked.
However it's impossible to know if there is an issue after a repair is made if we do not hear back from the customer for ten days. Problems should be reported within 24 hours. Advanced Energy has 24 hour service available.
You will notice when the customer has called we responded very quickly.
I will weave answers below to the original complaint in hope to clarify a response.

The central A/C never really worked from the time it was installed . We were always confused about what was going on. The business never took any time to answer our questions or resolve the issue.
++++ Response, I'm sorry for any confusion, the system should be simple. Turn the thermostat to the desired temperature. If the system does not keep the house cool, a call to the service department is needed.
I called the business 2-3 times about A/C not cooling enough, and the only thing they would do is send a rude technician who would fill some cooling fluid (Freon) and go. Nobody even tried to troubleshoot about why there is a need to refill the fluid again and again within few weeks.
++++ Response, Above the service calls are listed, troubleshooting information is on the invoice. Please read the notes and comments. 2 calls in 2013, 1 in 2014.

By the time all this was over we were at the end of August 2013 and the issues was left behind since it was cool weather already.
++++ Response, I completely agree, however cooling system are typically turned on in May and June.
If the July 3 repair did not work. Simple call to our service dept., our service dept. would have schedule a leak check (takes about 4 hours). The service is free, the system is under warranty.

This year we are still trying to figure out since June 2014 about what exactly is going on with this central A/C . The issues with it are
++++ Response, We did not get a call until July 3.

1) The A/C never cools to the set temp. It takes forever to cool and by this time my family literally cooks up inside the house with all the doors and windows closed.
2) Few weeks back after the Freon refill A/C cooled to the set temperature, the unit never turned off. Our unit never turns off.

I had conveyed the issues to the business on */3/14. They send a technician, who again filled some Freon and asked me to pay $144 for it. I denied to pay since I was still in the warranty period .Besides he has no clear answers for anything.
++++ Response, The system is under warranty, our on board computer was down that day. Once the system came on the technician immediately issued a warranty charge. There is no money due.
He never even knew that this is a frequent issue.
++++ Response, The technician on */3/2014 is the same technician from 8/23/2013. We are computerized. Notes, history most phone calls, contracts etc. are in the system. The system had been down during the service call, however the technician added refrigerant as required. Order a leak check on the next call. Please review
All he kept saying was "I don't know, I don't know how that happened. I just filled Freon, you are all set, and here is the bill "
I explained to him that this keeps happening again and again. But he had nothing to do with it .Clearly there is a big communication gap between the employees and they do not communicate about what problem a customer has been having frequently.
Also the technicians don't seem to be knowledgeable enough so that they could really troubleshoot a problem.

After the fluid was put , the A/C is still not cooling enough again .It would take about 10 hours to really show any difference in temperature .
++++ Response, The technician has work for Advanced Energy for over 5 years, has over 25 years' experience, 4 years of schooling, hold various licenses. I believe there must be a miss understanding, I do not believe he would speak that way. Freon is not a liquid that is topped off or just filled.
I had communicated all my concerns with the business . But they have done nothing. We have been waiting since a week. I have never heard anything them. I have all the email conversations saved. I can produce them if needed.
++++ Response, Every call made to our service dept was answered and reposed to within 24 hours. Emails almost instantly. It's unfair to have a service man come out and not to call in if there is a problem. We receive ONE call in 2014.
We also have a health concern. My 5 year old has ******. I am seeing him triggered because of no ventilation and heat. I do not wish to wait any longer for the business to respond. To me it seems they are totally incapable of handling issues and providing good customer service.
Therefore I am asking the business to take back their A/C unit and refund me all my money that I wasted .$4000 is not a small amount for us specially when my family is totally uncomfortable and I see my ********* son getting triggered . I would never ever recommend this business to anyone. It has been a shame for us that we spend nearly $4000 for this horrible service. A $20 Walmart fan is much reliable.
We are requesting BBB to help us in this matter and get our refund back. This is a serious matter for us and we are willing to pursue this in the consumer court if not resolved.
Conclusion
I would appreciate if we could start back at the beginning.
I would also like to explain our procedure.
1. Level 1 A leak is suspected (in this case there is most likely a refrigerant leak). Tech orders leak check. Typically 4 hours' system evacuation and recharge.
2. Level 2 If system still is not cooling properly, duct system analyst to measure proper air flow.
3. Level 3 Heating and cooling calculation to ensure the properly sized equipment has been installed.
I will have a Qiv (Quality Installation Verification) certified technician. This is an independent verification that will insure that the equipment is installed property. And a level 2 duct analyst and a Level 3 calculation will also be performed.
If there is an issue with the equipment, it is completely covered by warranty.
The warranty will begin after the repairs are made and the system operates properly on a 90 degree day. If we do not receive a service call we will assume that the system is operating properly.
I do require the following,
1. I ask that when complete, if there is a problem a call within 24 hours to our service dept. be made.
2. The system is operated as explained in the */15 email.
**** D *****
Advanced Energy Concept.
XXX-XXX-XXXX
******@aeccomfort.com


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My response to the conclusion is
1. Level 1 A leak is suspected (in this case there is most likely a refrigerant leak). Tech orders leak check. Typically 4 hours' system evacuation and recharge.
++++++ Response : This is not required because the equipment installed is of a wrong capacity and is undersized . This is based on a quote from ***** and **** ***** . According to their assessment our house needs a 3 ton a/c unit( considering our area and other factors like the sun it receives etc ) whereas the unit installed by AEC is just 2 tons . This is the reason why
1)This unit is not able to cool the house enough (prior to leakage) even though the technician refilled freon 2 times
2)The Unit never shuts off . According to my observations (noted down in a log) , the unit was running continuously for 3 days before I had to myself shut it off considering my gas bill

2. Level 2 If system still is not cooling properly, duct system analyst to measure proper air flow.
+++++++Response : This is not required . We never ever had any issues with our heating Which clearly suggests that we don't think our ducts have any problems . We got our vents cleaned prior to A/C install. Filter was replaced immediately after the A/C install .
3. Level 3 Heating and cooling calculation to ensure the properly sized equipment has been installed.
I will have a Qiv (Quality Installation Verification) certified technician. This is an independent verification that will insure that the equipment is installed property. And a level 2 duct analyst and a Level 3 calculation will also be performed.
++++++Response: This analysis should have been done before even the quote was given. We do not want a 2 ton unit because it is undersized . And we do not wish to spend another couple of months trying to figure out whether it can magically work for us.

There definitely is a leak , but a leak fix for an undersized a/c unit is not a solution for the problem we are facing. We are not technical people to understand what size equipment should have been installed . This equipment will never cool the upper level where it is most needed coz my ********* son has most problems during the night . Besides it also lowers the market value of our house which we would never want.
I want to make it very clear that since the time of installing this central a/c , We have been totally confused . The whole thing seems complicated .. None of the technicians sat with me or had a conversation with me about how this unit is supposed to work . About AEC's response that there was just 1 service call in 2014 I had a couple of email exchanges with **** ***** and he clearly said that he will get back to me . But no one did .(Attaching those emails at the end of this response) He never told me that I should be calling the service department instead of having a conversation with him .My guess was that trying to reach to a senior would make the technicians diagnose the problem better and resolve it sooner . I was told he will get back to me and I waited . Responding to my BBB complaint after 2nd notice , after 1 month is very disappointing . We spent all of our summer with total discomfort especially for my ********* son who wakes up every morning sneezing and heavy chest . AEC's apology doesn't solve any of our problems .
We are very disappointed that a wrong equipment has been installed .Besides ,technicians involved never took enough time to explain anything . We do not wish to spend any more money with AEC . Considering my sons health issues and all the other concerns we have had with AEC , I would still demand a refund .


Email exchanges after the July service call (Prior to BBB complaint)

may be Nov dec or jan ...
________________________________________
Date: Mon, 21 Jul 2014 21:03:19 -0400
Subject: RE: A/C installation update */21/2014
From: ****@aeccomfort.com
To: ***********@hotmail.com
Hi ****
I haven't gotten a complete understanding on what has happened there and been done. I will find the final price tomorrow when I can discuss with my ****** who runs the service department.
I have a silly question, when was the last time the filter was changed?

****
Sent from my mobile device.


Original message
From: **** *****
Date:0*/21/XXXX X:XX PM (GMT-05:00)
To: **** P *****
Subject: RE: A/C installation update */21/2014
A/C is ON since 12 noon . Set on 52 . At 8 pm it is still 58 F . The outside temp is 55 F . Thought it was stupid to keep it ON and get cooked inside .Therefore turned the A/C OFF now.

**** *****
* ************
************** XXXXX
________________________________________
From: ****@AECcomfort.com
To: ***********@hotmail.com
Subject: RE: A/C installation
Date: Wed, 16 Jul 2014 14:0*:45 -0400
Hi ****,
In the heat or humidity the system should stay running. A correctly sized equipment mean it should run nonstop on a 95* day any never shut off but at the same time keep the house at a comfortable *2* (those are the standard conditions used for sizing). If you turned your system on today with this high humidity then it would still take at least 4 hour to dehumidify the air before it would drop the temp more than 1 degree; and that is how it is supposed to run.
In terms of the air flow. The strength of the air flow you feel has no dictation on the correct control, comfort, efficiency, or operation of a system. Just because another person system blows hard does nto mean there system is right. If there system cools the house down in 1 hour on a day over 80 then it is incorrectly sized and will never correctly dehumidify the air. Keep in mind that your system was installed on an existing an existing furnace and that furnace has the fan and that fan is what dictates the speed and force of the air movement. The system on the last visit passed an air flow test that was used to determine that system is moving the correct amount of air overall. I am still getting to the bottom of the service calls and will get the rest of the info soon.
I cannot stress enough that the system should be set to a comfortable temperature and left there with a maximum of a 3-4 degree adjustment when no one is home. Maintaining the temperature will cost far less in operating cost than turning the unit off and on.


**** Advanced Energy Concepts

From: **** ***** mailto:***********@hotmail.com
Sent: Wednesday, July 16, XXXX XX:XX PM
To: **** P *****
Subject: RE: A/C installation

Hi ****,

Thanks for a quick reply. About setting the thermostat . I did set it at *3 . Infact one of my neighbor came and set it up for me when I told her that I was confused about how this central A/C was working . She set it up at 6.30 / * pm and when we woke up in the morning at like 6 AM , the thermostat showed *3 but the unit was still running and I think it was pretty cold for *3 . It definitely went below *3 .

This neighbour also took me to her home to show how her A/C worked. I could tell the blow of the air was much much stronger and she said after turning the A/C on their house gets to a comfortable temp within an hour unlike us where we still need fans on for few hours specially upstairs .
thanks
****

________________________________________
From: ****@AECcomfort.com
To: ***********@hotmail.com
Subject: RE: A/C installation
Date: Tue, 15 Jul 2014 21:50:16 -0400
Hi ****,
I am sorry you are having these problem. I don't have a lot of info to work with at the moment but I would look into the service calls tomorrow and get back to you on what was found and done, from there I will find out what the best way to fix the issue is.
I do have a few concerns I have is based on your point in # 1 and #2; are you leaving there thermostat set at 58? The system should be ran at a level you feel comfortable with which is often about 53. Central A/C are designed to be turned on a maintain temperature, if your turn the temp to a lower level (53ish) and left on all day (it would take at least 5 hours to dehumidifier and drop temp in the current weather) does it ever get to the set point?
From: **** ***** mailto:***********@hotmail.com
Sent: Tuesday, July 15, XXXX X:XX PM
To: **** P *****
Cc: **** *****; ***** *****
Subject: A/C installation
Hi **** ,
We got central air installed last august and since then have been having frequent issues . To be very frank we are not at all happy with the service we have received . Last year after I expressed concerns 2-3 times , technicians came and filled the refrigerant 2 times . This year when we turned on the AC and observed again that it was not cooling enough , **** came and filled Freon again . It is surprising to me why is the actual problem not diagnosed . Besides when I talk to your technicians , I don't get any satisfying answers . The answers are " I don't know what happened , I don't know what happened last year , You ar

Final Business Response


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We still disagree with step 1) that is - leak being fixed for an undersized equipment . We agree with steps 2) and 3) however step 3) should be done prior to step 2) .
Which means heating and cooling calculation to ensure properly sized equipment has been installed , should be done prior . We have 2 more estimates from heating and cooling companies now . Total of 4 estimates clearly suggest that the equipment needed for this house is 3 tons .
Therefore a properly sized equipment should be installed and verified first. If the problem still persists then ducts can be analysed .
No company has asked to analyse the ducts before they put the proper equipment. The issues were with the equipment itself from the beginning . AEC should work on resolving that first .
If AEC does not agree to this they can refund us the amount we paid them . We want a correctly sized equipment or a refund . If this issue is not resolved sooner we are taking this to the small claims court .

*** *****

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Solar Energy Products Service & Repair, Solar Energy System Design & Installation, Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers, Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts, Energy Management & Conservation Consultant, Electric Equipment-Service & Repair, Air Conditioning Systems-Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Electric Equipment & Supplies-Retail, Radiant Heating, Hydronic Heating, Geo-Thermal Heating & Cooling, Plumbing Contractors, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.