BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1983

Spencer Furniture, Inc.

Phone: (508) 885-3678Fax: (508) 885-5766View Additional Phone Numbers6 Olde Main St, SpencerMA 01562-2419 Send email to Spencer Furniture, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1983

BBB has determined that Spencer Furniture, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Spencer Furniture, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Spencer Furniture, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
03/31/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They have not repaired 2 pieces of a dining room set. They did not return last e-mail.
We purchased a dining room set much less than a year ago. During the first holiday, our first use of the set, the locking mechanism came right out of the wood as I tried to lock the table together. Also, a chair that came with the set had the legs fall apart...not by anything breaking but just fell apart like the pieces that they assembled were not put together. We called them and they asked for pictures. We sent them pictures....and didn't hear anything more. A few weeks later a bubble envelope arrived with repair pieces for the table and for the chair. We waited a few days figuring they had sent the parts and were going to send someone to do the repair. We heard nothing. We sent them an e-mail asking them what we needed to do next for the repairs. We have never heard anything back from them regarding the repair.

Desired Settlement
We would like to hear back from them with a satisfactory answer to our last question. Namely, repair of the table and repair of the chair.

Business Response
The customer called on 12/30/2014 stating that when they tried to put their table back together that the lock fell off and that a wrung on the chair would not go back in. The owner called the customer to let them know that the company who makes the furniture would need pictures showing what the problems were. They were given the email address of the office manager to forward the pictures to. After receiving the pictures the parts were ordered. The customer in the meantime sent an email to our general email address from our website even though they had a direct contact email. The parts were already on their way to them via FEDEX when we received this email. We were not aware that the customer did not want to do this simple repair themselves which a phone call would have brought this to our attention. We at Spencer Furniture take pride in our A++ rating with the Better Business Bureau. If the customer would like us to go into their home to do the repair we are more than happy to do that. A simple phone call would of taken care of this matter. Please advise as to whether this is an acceptable resolution to this matter.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was surprised to read the response from Spencer furniture regarding this matter. It has always been my experience, when dealing with a company that "takes pride in our A++ rating" that a company with that attitude would be sure to follow up (in fact, dare I say, take the initiative) to be sure that a customer with their defective merchandise is satisfied. For a company to wring their hands of a problem after sending replacement parts to a customer is laughable. For them to assume any customer will make repairs UNLESS THEY CALL THE REPAIR SHOP BACK...borders on the absurd. Thank god our auto body shop did not send the left front fender and suspension parts to me assuming I would put the car back together after my accident. I am sure to them....that was a simple repair too!!
I am still left wondering why Spencer Furniture never contacted us until the BBB contacted them. I have a copy of the e-mail that I sent to them AFTER I had received the parts. In it, I ask "what they would like me to do with the parts".....contrary to Spencer's response, this e-mail question was sent to "**************************, the same address we sent the pictures to and NOT a general e-mail address. I have this saved if the BBB would like to see this. At that point any reasonable company would know they needed to contact the customer or at least answer the question I posed. Instead, they now choose to skew the focus and question why we would contact them by e-mail instead of a phone call. In fact, my e-mail was in response to the last contact they had made to us which was through e-mail!
As of this writing, I am still awaiting a simple response (phone call or e-mail) responding to my last question... so we can move forward with a solution.

Final Business Response
We went to the customer's home on Saturday, March 21st and repaired the customer's table and chair. They should be all set now.

03/31/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
failure to put in my order as well as failure to mail me a copy of my reciept after multiple calls
on 2/7/15 i went into to spencer furniture to inquire about a hutch purchase on or about 2/14 i called to place my order over the phone as i needed to measure my future purchase at home. i called and gave June Schwartz my credit card information and was promised a copy of my reciept. after about two weeks i called on March 5th to find out my order was missing and then was never placed. Which was only discovered after i was the one who placed the phone call for my reciept. After speaking with June she assured me that she was going to put my order through and mail me a copy of my recipet. As a paying customer this should have been automatic to mail out as this was my second time calling on it. I should have recieved something showing my order, my downpayment and a copy of my blance due. i called again on March 12th they now can not find my order slip and again did not mail me a copy of my reciept. This is unacceptable custmer service.i should not have to be calling a business multiple times for something that is rightfully mine.

Desired Settlement
i feel that the business should waive the delevery fee and offer me some kind of discount as this has been nothing but a completed hassle for me. this order is already taking 8-10 weeks and now i have to wait even longer and the company should find a way to expedite my order

Business Response
We are handling this with the customer directly.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture-Retail, Bookcases, Table Pads, Pillows, Novelties-Retail, Mirrors, Mattresses, Lamps & Lamp Shades-Retail, Gift Shops, Furniture - Rustic, Clocks-Dealers, Carpet & Rug Dealers-New, Blankets

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/01/1983Business started: 01/01/1960
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1972, MA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Raoul M. Chalifoux (President)
Number of Employees

11

Business Category

Furniture-Retail, Bookcases, Table Pads, Pillows, Novelties-Retail, Mirrors, Mattresses, Lamps & Lamp Shades-Retail, Gift Shops, Furniture - Rustic, Clocks-Dealers, Carpet & Rug Dealers-New, Blankets

Products & Services

According to information provided by the company, they offer retail sales home furnishings and accents.

Industry Tips
REFUNDS & EXCHANGES

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Spencer Furniture, Inc.

6 Olde Main St

Spencer, MA 01562-2419

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6 Olde Main St 

    Spencer, MA 01562-2419(508) 885-3678
    (800) 233-0123
    Fax: (508) 885-5766
    Fax: (508) 885-5766

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Spencer Furniture, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 233-0123
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Furniture-Retail

REFUNDS & EXCHANGES
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.