BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Affordable Flooring & Kitchens

(413) 532-44001029 North Rd, WestfieldMA 01085 Send email to Affordable Flooring & Kitchenshttp://www.affordablefloorsandkitchens.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Affordable Flooring & Kitchens is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Affordable Flooring & Kitchens' rating include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaints filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Affordable Flooring & Kitchens

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
08/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
5-9-13 installed floor. Want refund of $39.00 for reduser not installed . It was payed for at the time of installation.
4-8-13 Floor ordered and paid 1290.60
5-9-13 Floor installed except for reducer which was wrong. We paid the balance $374.40 which included the wrong reducer.Reducer returned by company and new one ordered. After several calls to get it installed we purchased our own and installed it ourself. Call 5-21-12 and asked for refund and to cancel ordered. I was told check for $39 would be send by *****. Several calls later still now check. Talked to ***** ***** and **** many times,but still no check . Always had different answer for not sending Check.

Desired Settlement
We would like the $39.00 refund promised to us for the wrong reducer which was never installed by company.

Business' Initial Response
We Provided the customer with a refund.
a simple oversite.

06/12/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Difficulty getting purchased product. Order was wrong and short the amount agreed upon.
In March 2014 we had an estimate for flooring done. The ********/***** **** appeared knowledgeable and helpful. Based on the measurements taken by (****) the **************** we needed 430 sq ft of flooring. We purchased the flooring at an agreed upon price of $3.49 a sq. ft. It took **** 2 months and SEVERAL phone calls and angry messages to be available for us to get our flooring. Also, every time we would visit his store it would be closed even though the answering machine and website all said that he was open. When we finally got to pick up our wood we found it was not the wood we had agreed upon. We had been waiting for it to do our floors for so long that we chose to keep it anyway and just make the best of a bad situation. We ordered solid white oak in 3/14 width but ended up getting solid red oak in 2/14 width. When counting out the square footage he had given us we found that he had only given us 300 sq ft of flooring. Not nearly enough to fill the space he measured. We were told by his measurements we needed 430 sq ft. We were 8 boxes short! As of right now we are still waiting to hear back from him about getting the rest of our wood. We were manipulated and promised something that he did not deliver. He was quick to make a deal but once he got our money he was practically a ghost. This was the WORST business experience we have ever dealt with. HIGHLY UNPROFESSIONAL. A CON ARTIST at best! We certainly learned a huge lesson from this experience. If something seems to good to be true it probably is. We are regretting ever even setting foot in this store.

Desired Settlement
Given the trouble we have been through with this company we are seeking a full refund.

05/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Work not completed had to hire additional contractor to complete refund offered but not received after numerous requests...
We purchased floors (hardwood & tile) May 2013. Work was to begin in Mid-June. Started late and cancelled numerous times.

Issues with installation. Short wood runs by forced air diffuser. Machine marks in wood from nail gun. Only partially repaired. Didn't not remove vinyl as requested causing back door to squeak and now no carpets can be laid. Must replace doors to repair. Thought we ordered custom stair treads to match wood. Had to pick up from shop in middle of night. Treads where from Home Depot and stained the wrong color and now don't match floors. Further they didn't even get the right size. ******** incorrectly measured stairs and could not install. Had to hire second contractor to repair stairs. Work finally completed in December 2013. Cost an additional $2,500. Lastly, Affordable floor to all of the materials (unopened boxes of wood and tile)that we paid for. Had request material back.

Requested refund. Agreed by ***** ******* for $525.63. Total cost was 13,084.63 sales contract XXXXX. I have all correspondence with ***********

After numerous attempts to collect we have not received the refund. Very disappointed.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting payment for the agreed upon amount. I hope not to litigate.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Floor Removal, Resurfacing and Refinishing, Contractors- Flooring, Tile Sales, Tile Restoration, Tile & Marble, Vinyl Flooring, Counter Tops, Carpet & Rug Dealers-New, Granite, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Remodeling Services, Bathroom Remodeling, Tile-Ceramic-Contractors & Dealers, Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing, Kitchen Remodeling, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/23/2012Business started: 07/06/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulations
10 Park Plaza, Suite 5170
Boston, MA 02116
(888) 283-3757
http://www.mass.gov/consumer

Department of Public Safety
One Asburton Place Room 1301
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 727-3200
http://www.mass.gov/dps/

BBB records show a license number of 174932 for this company, issued by Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulations. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/consumer.

Type: Home Improvement Contractor

Check License Status: http://services.oca.state.ma.us/hic/licdetails.aspx?txtSearchLN=76832

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of CS-093393 for this company, issued by Department of Public Safety. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/dps/.

Type: Construction Supervisor

Check License Status: http://elicense.chs.state.ma.us/Verification/Details.aspx?agency id=1&license id=282334&

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 2009, MA

Business Management
Principal: Mr. David Minchuk (Owner)
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Floor Removal, Resurfacing and Refinishing, Contractors- Flooring, Tile Sales, Tile Restoration, Tile & Marble, Vinyl Flooring, Counter Tops, Carpet & Rug Dealers-New, Granite, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Remodeling Services, Bathroom Remodeling, Tile-Ceramic-Contractors & Dealers, Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing, Kitchen Remodeling, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Products & Services

According to information provided by the company, they offer installation, repair and refinishing on various types of flooring such as wood, laminate, carpet, tile, and vinyl, as well as counter tops; and also offer kitchen and bathroom installation and remodeling services.

Alternate Business Names
Affordable Flooring, Inc.
Industry Tips
CONTRACTORS - REMODELING

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Affordable Flooring & Kitchens

1029 North Rd

Westfield, MA 01085

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1029 North Rd 

    Westfield, MA 01085(413) 532-4400

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Affordable Flooring & Kitchens is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.Westfieldflooring.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Floor Removal, Resurfacing and Refinishing

CONTRACTORS - REMODELING
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.