BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/16/2005

Fireside Designs

Phone: (413) 733-0910Fax: (413) 737-29661769 Riverdale St, West SpringfieldMA 01089-1052 Send email to Fireside Designs

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/16/2005

BBB has determined that Fireside Designs meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Fireside Designs' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Fireside Designs

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
02/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We purchased a gas log unit for a see-through fireplace in late ********* 2014. It was installed on **** *** using the person recommended by FD. The unit when installed did not produce 40,000 BTUs which we were told by the owner/sales-person it would do. Per our request, Fireside Design sent their technician out on the **** of **** He tried to fix our problem. When he couldn't, he took pictures and told us that the owner of FD would get back to us the next day. After the FD technician left, the unit would not work at all (the pilot light kept blowing out). I then, called the company, ** ******** and spoke with their tech person. I was told if there is a problem, only FD can contact the company, which is clearly stated in the warranty. The next day we received an email from FD stating air turbulence and vortex between our two rooms caused our unit not to operate correctly. This information was surprising to us since we had taken measurements and pictures of our fireplace as requested by the owner to FD and this is the unit they told us would work. We relied on their expertise. After several weeks of communicating through emails with FD, their only solution was to remove the unit (at our expense) and return it at a 35% restocking fee. On the **** of ******** we decided to contact ********* *** and ******** *** Their technician came on ******* He adjusted the thermo-coupler and logs. He then called ** ******** Company and spoke with their technician who helped him with instructions to make our unit work correctly. Our fireplace unit now works. We are disappointed in FD because they could have asked the company for help on ******* *** but, instead, they tried to make every excuse that the unit was not theirs or the company's fault for not working properly. We found the owner to be uncooperative, rude and condescending.

Desired Settlement
We paid ****** (senior rate) for our local gas and electric company to solve this situation. We would like to recoup our ****** from FD.

Business Response
I acknowledge there was an issue in which the pilot was going out but it was through no fault of the product or Fireside Designs. The Fireside tech verified the product was operating properly and the pilot was being blown out due to a draft condition between the two rooms. I indicated to Mr. ***** we could not resolve the wind condition between the rooms. If the product had been defective we would have been more than willing to replace the product under warranty.
Although Fireside Designs was under no obligation to accept a return from Mr. ***** because the product was not defective (as he still has the product) I extended the courtesy of accepting the return of the product under our store posted return policy.
I made several suggestions to the plumber which installed the gas logs as to how he might resolve the issue with the pilot going out due to the draft. The plumber made many attempts to reach out to Mr. ***** and left many phone messages and once in person to Mrs. ***** without the common courtesy of a return call to the plumber.
Fireside Designs extended every courtesy afforded to Mr. ***** as a valued customer under this unusual condition.
I will extend the courtesy to Mr. ***** of forwarding the Twenty Dollar payment when he forwards the original bill to us.
*************** *** *** Fireside Designs

01/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We purchased a **** & *** gas fireplace/furnace when we built our home in 2008. From day one there was an issue with the product starting with the wall remote/switch. It was a recall and was replaced three times. The third time it "appeared" to work. The first season, ******** 2008/2009 we tried using the stove, it would start up and shut off. When we call Fireside for service we were told, literally by the owner, tough luck too bad, but service was booked until April, so we had no use of the stove the first year and waited for service. They came out in April and the service tech made several adjustments, told us we were all set and off he went, total time was 30/35 min. We had no use for the stove over the spring and summer and didn't use it again until 2009/2010. First time we turned on the stove, same thing happened. They came again, did the same thing, said something wasn't put back together properly at last service which is why it shut off, and they left. We used the stove about 2 times, same issues again. The smaller burner would work and the upper burner would click off. The lights only worked on one side so it looked bad when the light was on. Once again we called and this time we spoke to the owner, ****, who was extremely hostile and angry with us. He didn't want to come out and service us again and he used profanities and screamed at me, for no apparent reason other than his product was defective and he didn't want to hear it. No use in 2011/2012 but we spoke to the owner at the **** ******** Show and he apologized for his poor behavior and asked for a chance to make things right. Fast forward to 2013/2014 finally called to resolve issues, they came, announced that our wall switch is defective, nothing they can do about it, off is on and on really means off which is why the stove goes off and on? Then they handed me a bill for **** for service. I called the owner whereby the screaming at me started again. We don't feel we owe this company a cent.
Product_Or_Service: Heat & Glo

Desired Settlement
We want Fireside to remove their defective stove and switch, repair whatever damages they cause as a result and refund our money. We will not seek further damages for loss of use and verbal abuse. We would be willing to deal direct with the factory to find another local company to do business with that can replace the defective fireplace, but not. Fireside Design.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** C ******** Sr CEO
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@fireside-designs.com
This person came to Fireside Designs on ******* and made a purchase of a Heat-N-Glo propane gas direct vent fireplace serial# XXXXXXXXXX for their new home which was under construction. It included delivery, installation on ******* and all necessary venting for a total amount of ********* We extended a ******* trade courtesy discount.
The warranty from the manufacturer is as follows: 1 year labor and 2 years on electrical and glass.
A service was performed on ******* at no charge and a fireplace finish (firing the unit up and instruct the customer on its operation) was conducted on ********
Another unrelated service was performed on ******* to replace a problematic solenoid at no charge under warranty.
Over 5 years later this person called Fireside Designs on ******* for an appointment to service the fireplace in mention. The customer service mgr. indicated the service was going to be ******* and the service date was to be on ******** between ******* which was agreed by this person.
The Fireside Designs technician arrived at the designated time and place to perform the service as requested by the customer: cleaned burner cleaned blocked orifice, installed light and general maintenance.
Although the technician was not completely finished with the service this person declared to him she was not paying for the service.
Fireside designs cannot be held responsible for a fireplace which is over 6 years old and have not heard from the customer concerning any issues in over 5 years.
This complaint is not about a defective fireplace but to cast an adverse shadow on Fireside Designs in order to justify the refusal to pay for a service call we accepted in good faith, performed quality work in good faith only to have this person refuse to pay for the service. The customer was very satisfied with the service and the fireplace was operating as it was designed to according to our technician when he left the premises.
This is a form of underhanded bullying and harassment which is beyond unconscionable.

**** ** ******** *** Fireside Designs.


Consumer Response
We did purchase in 2007 but had no use if the fireplace until 2008 as it was defective, as stated by your authorized technician. We lost the entire first year in our new home because you refused us service, your technicians were all too busy to come out. I feel this was your intention and you knew this stove to be defective. Bottom line is until I saw you in at the home show, you ignored us and our complaints. Publicly, you had to acknowledge us. I have my answering machine, from 2013, your mgr acknowledging the issue and asking to resolve it. Your authorized technician tells us after 6 yrs, we bought a defective stove and there's nothing we can do about it and this is what we call good customer service? There has to be a better way to do business
What is unconscionable is the fact that you think a consumer would orchestrate an issue with a stove that costs as much as this and continually call you for help. Harassment? The language you used on the telephone to me was disgusting. No one has ever spoken to me in such a manner, ever. The service you feel was made, vacuuming, cleaning the window and putting everything back together, did nothing. The stove still is not working. All we ever wanted was a stove that worked. When we turned it on it would simply come on and work until we turned it off. But according to this most recent service technician, this wall switch has been defective since day one and Fireside has always known that. THAT IS WHATS UNCONSCIONABLE. TO NOT DISCLOSE THAT TO US FROM THE MOMENT YOU KNEW!

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Your service technician cane to my house and performed a service that DID NOT FIX the issues. He made it clear that the stove is not fixable because the wall switch is defective, has been from the day we purchased it, and there was nothing we can do about it!! Furthermore the reason for the service call wax to complete the service made to the stove two years prior where a different one of your technicians finished the installation of the light kit which fireside neglected to install from day I've some small pieces of coals as well. I still have a voicemail on our answ machine from Jay stating how he wants to come complete the service and acknowledging my visit to your booth at the home show. Don't pretend to hide behind my trying to cast an adverse shadow on your business, your poor customer service and arguing here proves how you conduct yourself with a customer complaint. Your a bully to me, a paying customer, you sold me a defective stove, you've refused service to me the first year we owned it and I lost use of the stove and its been the same issues each year. I don't like doing business with men who think they can bully , swear at and intimidate women. I want to know what you're going to do about this defective stove and wall switch. And why would you offer another service call, free? The service call did not fix anything. The fireplace does everything it did after the service or rather vacuuming, which you call service. It still won't shut off from the wall switch, defective wall switch at that, from your techs mouth. We are stuck with it. Fireside Designs doesn't stand behind their products and knowingly serviced a defective stove hoping I would go away. Your service tech had more integrity by telling us the truth. There is no one do in that Mr. *********

Final Business Response
The fireplace included a two year parts and labor warranty, this person had the opportunity for two years to bring any issues concerning the fireplace to Fireside Designs to address and if we did not meet her expatiations she could have pursued the matter with the manufacture which she elected not to because there was no issues. However we did perform a no charge service during the warranty period.
Fireside designs cannot be held responsible for a product that is beyond the warranty period and over seven years old. We did not manufacture the product however we are responsible for implementing the warranty which we did during the warranty period. Anything beyond that period we assess a customary service fee plus the cost of parts if needed. We are no different than any other company when it comes to charging a service fee after the warranty period.
Some of this person issues concerning the fireplace materialized after the warranty period was over and feels Fireside Designs is still responsible.
This rhetoric from Mrs. ****** has surfaced only now because of a service call fee which she elected not to pay even thought she was aware of the service fee when the appointment was made. If this issue was about a defective fireplace it would have surfaced years ago as she claims but we didn't hear from her in over 5 years.
If she had issues pertaining to her fireplace she could have called me and discussed her issues in a civil manner and possibly we could have worked out an amicable solution but she chose to make a service appointment with the intent not to pay. That is the matter at hand!
Let me reiterate again this complaint is not about a defective fireplace but to cast an adverse shadow on Fireside Designs in order to justify the refusal to pay for a service call we accepted in good faith, performed quality work in good faith only to have Mrs. ****** refuse to pay for the service. The customer was very satisfied with the service and the fireplace was operating as it was designed to according to our technician when he left the premises.
This is a form of underhanded bullying and harassment which is beyond unconscionable.
This is my final comment concerning this issue.
**** ******** *** *** Fireside Designs.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fireplace Equipment-Retail, Wood Pellets, Fireplaces, Pellet Stoves, Barbecue Equipment & Supplies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/14/1999Business started: 01/01/1980
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Public Safety
One Asburton Place Room 1301
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 727-3200
http://www.mass.gov/dps/

BBB records show a license number of CSSL-099194 for this company, issued by Department of Public Safety. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/dps/. The expiration date of this license is 04/26/2016.

Type: Construction Supervisor

Check License Status: http://elicense.chs.state.ma.us/Verification/Details.aspx?agency id=1&license id=288363&

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 1981, MA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jean Peloquin (President)Mr. Jay Peloquin
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

Fireplace Equipment-Retail, Wood Pellets, Fireplaces, Pellet Stoves, Barbecue Equipment & Supplies

Products & Services

According to information provided by the company, they offer sales and installation of fireplaces, wood stoves and pellet stoves.

Alternate Business Names
P & P Marketing, Inc.
Industry Tips
REFUNDS & EXCHANGES

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Fireside Designs

1769 Riverdale St

West Springfield, MA 01089-1052

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1769 Riverdale St 

    West Springfield, MA 01089-1052(413) 733-0910
    Fax: (413) 737-2966

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Fireside Designs is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Fireplace Equipment-Retail

REFUNDS & EXCHANGES
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.