BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/04/1999

Enchanted Fyreside, Inc.

(508) 856-9900View Additional Phone Numbers728 West Boylston St, WorcesterMA 01606-3039 Send email to Enchanted Fyreside, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/04/1999

BBB has determined that Enchanted Fyreside, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Enchanted Fyreside, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Enchanted Fyreside, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
05/13/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Falsely advertised a service for $179 that was much more. Then charged my credit card AFTER I told them to cancel the appointment!
I received a postal flyer advertising a pellet stove cleaning for $179. I called to make an appointment for July. I was told I was REQUIRED to add a $75 flue sweep. Then they said I had to pay a $100 deposit and asked for my credit card. After that I said "This is for the $179 price, right?" I was told no, that was a misprint and the price was really $225 (plus the $75) or $300 total! I told them to cancel the appointment I was not interested. I just checked my credit card online and they charged me $100 for a deposit on the appointment that I cancelled!!! I am thinking about contacting the Postal Service and filing a mail fraud complaint.

Desired Settlement
I demand an immediate refund of my "deposit" which should never have happened in the first place.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******, *****
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ******@enchantedfireside.com
Please remove this complaint from our record. The customer has falsely represented what transpired; his card was charged prior to his decision to cancel his appointment, and the refund was issued the next morning (on April 15th) when the (part-time) person authorized to process refunds arrived for work. Details are described below, and phone and credit card logs are being sent via separate email.

His claim was filed April 16th, after his refund had already been processed.

"Falsely advertised a service for $179 that was much more. "
This is not true. There WAS a misprint on the postcard that was fully explained when he called in to book the appointment. However, the postcard also clearly stated that the special was a 25% discount off the regular $300 price. So, the correct price was described, but the display on the card of the calculation of that price which should have been shown as $225 was shown as $179- a $46 difference. This was fully explained to him before the card was processed. So, in spite of the misprint, the postcard did show the correct price.

"Then charged my credit card AFTER I told them to cancel the appointment! "
This is absolutely untrue, and is why I am requesting this fraudulent complaint be removed form out file. Our phone records show that at 12:14pm on 4/14, the customer called in to book his cleaning appointment,and all the information was explained to him, including the information about the misprint. Eight minutes into this 9 minute 33 second phone conversation, (at 12:22pm), we charged his credit card (at his request) to book the appointment. At the end of the phone call (XX:XX) he cancelled the appointment - after the card had already been charged. (Phone log and call logs being sent via separate email). When the accounts receivable clerk arrived the next morning, the refund was processed at 9:33am - as soon as it was possible to do so. The credit card processing system log is also being sent via email.

"I received a postal flyer advertising a pellet stove cleaning for $179. I called to make an appointment for July. I was told I was REQUIRED to add a $75 flue sweep. Then they said I had to pay a $100 deposit and asked for my credit card. After that I said "This is for the $179 price, right?" I was told no, that was a misprint and the price was really $225 (plus the $75) or $300 total! I told them to cancel the appointment I was not interested. I just checked my credit card online and they charged me $100 for a deposit on the appointment that I cancelled!!! I am thinking about contacting the Postal Service and filing a mail fraud complaint. "

Most of this part of his complaint has already been addressed above. As to the chimney sweep issue, the customer is either required to the sweep on their own prior to the appointment (which would be free for them) or have us do the sweep. If the flue is not swept we cannot guarantee the work of the cleaning. In the past, people have had chimney sweeps clean the flue AFTER we have cleaned the appliance, and the chimney sweeps have smashed all the soot into the stove, destroying all of our work and requiring the stove be cleaned again.

The misprint was an unfortunate error. Our customers have been very understanding, especially becuase the $225 is the same price it has been for 7 years, and the $225 was very easily calculated from the correct information on the postcard. This customer's last cleaning service was August 24, 2011 at which time he paid $225 and took responsibility for cleaning his own flue.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response contains two complete falsehoods. NOTHING was said to me about the price of the service until I asked about it directly at what I thought was the end of the transaction, when I immediately responded by asking them to cancel the entire transaction. I did not REQUEST to make a deposit this was demanded immediately from me and that is why I read them my credit card number over the phone. Before I hung up, after telling them to cancel the appointment, I was informed that my card had already been charged and it would be refunded. It was refunded after two days. There is simply no excuse whatever for mailing false, prominently highlighted prices on a flyer and then saying "customers are very understanding". Tell it to the Judge, is what I'd say.

Final Business Response
Attached is our 2nd response to the customer's complaint, including our phone and credit card logs.
The entirety of this information - which shows that we refunded his deposit as expeditiously as current credit card processing systems permit - cannot be entered into your online response system.

Please let us know if you need any further information.

Thank you.

01/14/2013Problems with Product / Service
01/04/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fireplace Equipment-Retail, Chimney Sweeper, Chimney Cleaning, Stoves-Wood, Coal, Etc., Fireplaces, Pellet Stoves

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/04/1999Business started: 01/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulations
10 Park Plaza, Suite 5170
Boston, MA02116
(888) 283-3757
http://www.mass.gov/consumer

Department of Public Safety
One Asburton Place Room 1301
Boston, MA02108
(617) 727-3200
http://www.mass.gov/dps/

BBB records show a license number of 118810 for this company, issued by Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulations. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/consumer. The expiration date of this license is 04/25/2017.

Type: Home Improvement Contractor

Check License Status: http://services.oca.state.ma.us/hic/licdetails.aspx?txtSearchLN=18772

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of CS-094134 for this company, issued by Department of Public Safety. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/dps/. The expiration date of this license is 10/23/2015.

Type: Construction Supervisor

Check License Status: http://elicense.chs.state.ma.us/Verification/Details.aspx?agency id=1&license id=283075&

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1998, MA

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Rocco Diverdi (President)
Contact Information
Ms. Karen Diverdi (Treasurer)
Number of Employees

9

Business Category

Fireplace Equipment-Retail, Chimney Sweeper, Chimney Cleaning, Stoves-Wood, Coal, Etc., Fireplaces, Pellet Stoves

Products & Services

According to information provided by the company, they offer sales and installation of fireplaces and fireplace accessories and wood, pellet and gas stoves for home heating purposes.

Alternate Business Names
Enchanted Fireside
Industry Tips
REFUNDS & EXCHANGES

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Enchanted Fyreside, Inc.

728 West Boylston St

Worcester, MA 01606-3039

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 728 West Boylston St 

    Worcester, MA 01606-3039(508) 856-9900
    (800) 782-5500

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Enchanted Fyreside, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 782-5500
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Fireplace Equipment-Retail

REFUNDS & EXCHANGES
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.