BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/30/2007

Ace Fire & Water Restoration, Inc.

(413) 750-5200View Additional Phone Numbers18 Elizabeth Street, West SpringfieldMA 01089-1012 Send email to Ace Fire & Water Restoration, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/30/2007

BBB has determined that Ace Fire & Water Restoration, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Ace Fire & Water Restoration, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Ace Fire & Water Restoration, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
06/24/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have issues with the billing practices, customer service from the owner and workmanship on part of the job.
This is in regard to a recent home repair performed by Ace Fire and Water Restoration, Inc. We had numerous issues with their billing practices. It was understood money that was paid for by our insurance company and allocated for specific items to be replaced or fixed were to be paid to us so we could complete the job in later spring. It involved a pellet stove ($396.71), the stack($274.92), and window blinds ($1821.36)and shutters to a window ($103.39). When we met with owner Gary and Joanne B.******* to render payment they stated that the repairs and other costs "exceeded" the scope of the job and the previous invoices that were paid didn't reflect the true cost. We paid 750.00 for an exterior door, 501.00 for re-framing and 2500.00 supervisory fees in November. They in turn charged us an additional 600.00 for the door, 350.00 re-framing and 2300.00 for supervisory fees. These added costs were never presented to us in writing for our signature and approval per their contract line 6 (also a federal guideline)"any alteration or deviation from the above scope of work will be executed only upon written order for same, signed by owner and contractor. Nothing at anytime was presented to us concerning these changes until our final meeting (2 months after we signed the completion certificate). We feel that these are deceptive billing practices and they weren't honest with us. We in good faith always paid when an invoice was presented with the expectation that job was being completed.
At this time we are having an issue with workmanship we were charged $2200 for sill paint sealant, insulation (that was never installed) and lattice work. They had come out once before to replace the lattice and repaint the peeling paint per our request. The lattice that they replaced is warped and pulling away from the house and the paint is peeling all the way around again. We feel we cannot contact Gary for these problems (and honestly don't want to) the reason being anytime that we approached Gary about something needing to be be fixed or how something was billed his response to us was aggressive, patronizing and rude. His behavior was like that from the beginning and escalated throughout the time the job took to complete. He chose to blame us for how long the process took. We have no control over the insurance company, mortgage holder ect.. that is when we stopped contact with him and spoke with his wife.

After contacting our insurance company we were instructed by them to tell Joanne ***** that they needed to contact the insurance company directly for any overages and other scope of work to be paid.

We requested the money the insurance company paid on repairs not done be returned to us. Joanne promptly stopped communication with us and forwarded the final bill to their attorney. We paid what they stated we owed them even though we didn't agree with the final bill.

We always wanted to do the right thing and pay them for the work that they did, not pay them for the work they didn't do. At this time our house is not put back the way it was originally as promised by the owner of Ace Fire and Water Restoration, Inc.

Desired Settlement
We are looking for a refund of the money that was paid for the work that wasn't done.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Joanne B******, ***
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **************************
We prepare a detailed scope of work in compliance with the insurance companies standards that shows a line item for every aspect of the clients claim. The client was credited for every line item not done by Ace. Over the course of production there were a number of additional items not covered by insurance discussed and agreed by the client added to the scope as extras. The changes were in writing and were submitted to the bank. All progress payments were approved by the homeowner before funds could be released. The job had been negotiated and settled with the insurance company. We agreed to work for a lesser number than what we had originally estimated the job to cost. We then credited the clients line items that we didn't do and added the extras not covered by insurance. The final amount exceeded the settled amount. We did not charge anything in addition to the agreed number. I explained this to the home owner several times with all the math and how I arrived at the numbers but she did not understand. She insisted we credit her for the work not done and not be charged anything for her extras. After two weeks of going back and forth I told them we needed resolution as we were now almost 90 days past their signing the certificate of satisfaction and completion. I felt we were deadlocked in our conversations and contacted our attorney. Soon after, the client paid the invoice which was for the Code Upgrades and Depreciation on the claim.
I want to add that the clients' told us they were happy with the work and signed a certificate of completion. We did go back after that to make some minor adjustments that they wanted with no problems or issues. They expressed some concerns about the paint and The owner said we would go back when the weather improved to take care of it. The clients' characterization of the owner is unfair especially considering the lengths he went to get them an adequate settlement for their rebuild. The insurance company wanted to give them $10,000. less than what he managed, through his persistence, to get for them to rebuild their fire damaged property.
In summary, we feel that our invoice was fair, the work completed to their satisfaction and unfortunately we incurred $400.00 in legal fees and a dozen hours admin time that we can't get back.

Consumer Response
Here is my response to Joanne's email.

I do understand the statement that you had given me on March 23. I am disputing that anything was put into writing for us to see before that date. When we agreed verbally about some of the changes (The door, the hatch way, the tile) we expected to see something in writing soon after for our records. There was an issue with the original door that was measured wrong by **** ********, the owner of Ace Fire and Water. We were told we were not responsible for his mistake yet we were billed an additional $600 for an already paid for door. We were never presented a receipt for the door, had we known in advance that it was going to cost an additional $600 we would have reconsidered it. The last invoice for the bank that was presented only stated "Completion of Certificate payout from insurance. That last invoice was not detailed at all. There was nothing on it concerning ANY details of the job or overages.

When we met on March 9th **** stated to us that he just wanted to pay us the money for the blinds stove/stack and "not bother with the insurance company" and call it a wash. Bruce and I wanted to go over the estimate that we had from November (we had no other estimates that were current sent to us) to make sure we were all on the same page. Once again when we questioned **** he became very hostile towards us and blamed us for all of the delays (no control over insurance etc..). We chose to leave the meeting at that time.

Joanne and I went back and forth for a few weeks and she stated in an email that she didn't have any numbers for me that **** was working on the breakdown of the invoice for us. We received those figures March 23rd. We still feel we are owed money for the blinds, pellet stove/stack. **** stated that we were receiving those funds on the 9th of March, then after our leaving the meeting the money is no longer available? That part we don't understand, you would think that he could put his emotions aside and honor his word to us.

I am sorry if she thinks that I don't understand the billing process, then it shouldn't be so vague. What we do understand is that we don't appreciate the owner badmouthing other customers, being told that he is "$250,000 in the hole in unpaid jobs out there" and being called at work to be yelled at because of an issue out of our control with the bank. **** behaving that way made us feel that he didn't care at all about my property or our situation. We now have a three season sun room that should be a four season sun room. Yet, it isn't because Ace Fire and Water took the money allotted for it and we are not happy about that at all. We would also like Ace Fire and Water to remove our house and any pictures or descriptions about the work done on our property removed from their website/Facebook page. We feel that it is misrepresenting the job that was actually done. They state that it is a four season sunroom, yet it is not because of them. We will now have to save the money to have it done later.


Final Business Response
The owner of Ace said that the credits for the pellet stove/stack and blinds would be applied and they were. The extra expenses approved by the client were applied as well and that is where the term "wash" came up.The extras washed out the credits.The money was not taken from the client,they simply chose to spend it on other things not covered by insurance. The client was provided a detailed line item accounting of all costs incurred.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The extras that were added were the door, which we knew about. The basement entryway, again that was discussed with us. The tile work, that had to be done because the piece of wood for the threshold of the door came from who knew where was unacceptable and looked awful, we agreed for tile. Those three things we knew about and accepted. Still doesn't add up to almost $5000 that wasn't completed. The overage on the labor we were never told about. Ever. You charged us 40 hrs (our insurance company paid for 10 hours in November) then went back and charged us 33 hrs when we questioned it. You should have contact our insurance company for those labor overage, per our insurance co. These are the things that we had a problem with. Your company being very vague in your billing practices. Also at no time did **** ever say that the money for the blinds/pellet stove, stack would be credited he stated that it would be given to us in the end so we may finish the sunroom with the blinds and stove. Those two things could not be done until this springs. Honestly you didn't want the job to go on until then. That was money the insurance company allotted for the jobs to be complete. You should have gone to the insurance company for any overages in your labor/cost/overhead.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Water Damage Restoration, Mold & Mildew Removal & Remediation, Contractors-General

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/23/2007Business started: 01/01/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Public Safety
One Asburton Place Room 1301
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 727-3200
http://www.mass.gov/dps/

Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulations
10 Park Plaza, Suite 5170
Boston, MA 02116
(888) 283-3757
http://www.mass.gov/consumer

BBB records show a license number of CS-074416 for this company, issued by Department of Public Safety. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/dps/.

Type: Construction Supervisor

Check License Status: http://elicense.chs.state.ma.us/Verification/Details.aspx?agency id=1&license id=263418&

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 151246 for this company, issued by Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulations. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/consumer.

Type: Home Improvement Contractor

Check License Status: https://services.oca.state.ma.us/hic/licdetails.aspx?txtSearchLN=52350

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2006, MA

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Gary W. Brunelle (President)
Number of Employees

12

Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Water Damage Restoration, Mold & Mildew Removal & Remediation, Contractors-General

Products & Services

According to information provided by the company, they offer construction and remodeling services as well as fire, water, and mold damage restoration services.

Industry Tips
CONTRACTORS

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Ace Fire & Water Restoration, Inc.

18 Elizabeth Street

West Springfield, MA 01089-1012

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 18 Elizabeth Street 

    West Springfield, MA 01089-1012(413) 750-5200
    (413) 626-2081

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Ace Fire & Water Restoration, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (413) 626-2081
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Fire & Water Damage Restoration

CONTRACTORS
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.