BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/30/2007

Ace Fire & Water Restoration, Inc.

(413) 750-5200View Additional Phone Numbers18 Elizabeth Street, West SpringfieldMA 01089-1012 Send email to Ace Fire & Water Restoration, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/30/2007

BBB has determined that Ace Fire & Water Restoration, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Ace Fire & Water Restoration, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Ace Fire & Water Restoration, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
08/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

My new walls have sheetrock screws popping out, unfinished painting, and uneven sanding. New vinyl siding falling off house.
I hired Ace to repair my tornado damaged home after June 1, 2011 tornado. Ace, working as the general contractor for the repairs, sub contracted out the sheetrock work. I have continually voiced my displeasure with the job that was done. My walls and ceiling both have screws popping through, none are sanded level or evenly. ************* assured me he would return to my house and make repairs I was not satisfied with after my heat had been off for a month. I have emailed ************, and have received no replied. I have many pictures showing the poor workmanship. I have a ceiling in my Bathroom where the painters never finished painting, so it is 2 different colors. I have a wall in my hallway where someone used a black marker and wrote on the sheetrock and it has bled through the paint. I have a wall in my bedroom where you can see was repaired, but poorly. Almost every room has sheetrock screws coming through. I have a piece of vinyl siding which keeps falling off the top of the house because it was not secured properly. The exterior door jambs were never painted.
Again, I made ************ aware of all of these issues and I was told by him , "Well your ceilings and walls are not going to be perfect". I do not expect perfect, but I do expect quality workmanship. I also expect my dissatisfaction with a job to be addressed by the general contractor. I am very aware it does not matter if the heat is on or off, it is not going to change the quality or lack there of, of drywall.
I have emailed ************ regarding my displeasure and need for repair. I have not received any replies form Mr. Brunelle.

Desired Settlement
I would like my walls and ceilings repaired, they are brand new and should appear brand new. The piece of siding that keeps falling off my house needs to be repaired.

Business' Initial Response
The staff and sub-contractors hired by Ace have made every attempt to satisfy this client. The walls were resanded and repainted five times and the floors were sanded three times and the client was still not happy. The client was credited $19,000.00 because of her dissatisfaction. Ace feels they have done all they can do and that client will never be happy with our further involvement. *** ******** has not heard from client.

Consumer's Final Response
Yes I did receive your letter regarding arbitration, but at this point, it looks like I will have to retail legal counsel. The contract is black and white and ************ was paid the full amount and then some, which he is well aware of. The 20% profit was already calculated in the contract price. Bottom line is ************ did not compensate me for his poor quality of work. I did not see the pages he sent you, but I am sure they look very different from the papers I received from him. I thank you for all your assistance. I really did not want to seek legal counsel, but I do feel I have no other options. I only hope another consumer won't be taken advantage of like I was. I was devastated by the loss of my house, from the June 1, 2011 tornado and it is unfortunate that a company live Ace would take advantage of the situation.

Business' Final Response
We stand by our position that it is impossible to satisfy this client. The $19,000.00 credit was above and beyond the other credits she received for her out of pocket expenses. All of this is documented in detail. We went over her invoice line item by line item and everything was addressed. Her allegations of double and triple charging are false and we discussed this with her. We transformed her small cape into a much bigger 2 story colonial with a 16x16 addition on the back of the house with cathedral ceilings all of which were beyond the scope of the insurance claim. We removed her old siding and rotted wood underneath, again not charging her. Also did plumbing and pool repairs not on scope of work as a favor. We releaded her chimney at no extra cost. The electric awning could not be reattached because of the new position of a door in the new addition. It was out of total frustration that we credited her money rather than to continue to argue with her over these ludicrous claims.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Water Damage Restoration, Mold & Mildew Removal & Remediation, Contractors-General

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/23/2007Business started: 01/01/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Public Safety
One Asburton Place Room 1301
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 727-3200

Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulations
10 Park Plaza, Suite 5170
Boston, MA 02116
(888) 283-3757

BBB records show a license number of CS-074416 for this company, issued by Department of Public Safety. Their web address is The expiration date of this license is 09/18/2016.

Type: Construction Supervisor

Check License Status: id=1&license id=263418&

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 151246 for this company, issued by Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulations. Their web address is The expiration date of this license is 05/23/2016.

Type: Home Improvement Contractor

Check License Status:

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity


Incorporated: January 2006, MA

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Gary W. Brunelle (President)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Fire & Water Damage Restoration, Water Damage Restoration, Mold & Mildew Removal & Remediation, Contractors-General

Products & Services

According to information provided by the company, they offer construction and remodeling services as well as fire, water, and mold damage restoration services.

Industry Tips

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Ace Fire & Water Restoration, Inc.

18 Elizabeth Street

West Springfield, MA 01089-1012

To | From


1 Locations

  • 18 Elizabeth Street 

    West Springfield, MA 01089-1012(413) 750-5200
    (413) 626-2081

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Ace Fire & Water Restoration, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (413) 626-2081

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Fire & Water Damage Restoration


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.