BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/15/2006

CJM Construction Co., Inc.

Phone: (508) 473-2960Fax: (508) 473-9968274 Purchase St, MilfordMA 01757-3802 Send email to CJM Construction Co., Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/15/2006

BBB has determined that CJM Construction Co., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised CJM Construction Co., Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on CJM Construction Co., Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
08/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company is aware of one of the issues with their work and will not return phone calls or come by to discuss.
Bought my home May 2013 and in Dec 2012 this company (CJM) replaced the septic in the home in order for Sellers to sell it and comply with********. Spoke to *** prior to purchasing the home and they agreed the contract/warranty for the work would carry over to new home owner and that they would provide me the paperwork. They said part of the contract was to put down grass and they said they would come check the grass as well as walk me through what was done for work and how I need to maintain it going forward. They never come by over the Summer of 2013. Called them again starting in April 2014 and spoke to a woman who answered the phone and I explained how the area they disrupted for the septic is a mess and there is no grass growing and that I would like someone to come by and look at it as well as still walk me through what was done. I have either weeds or no grass at all in the areas they worked in. The ground is up too high near the pool causing debris to go into the inground pool and I have never received the paperwork for the work done.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to look at the mounds they placed in the yard to make sure there is no run off into the pool area as well as put the grass down that i was told would be done.

Business Response


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
well...apparently CJM is not aware what the seller told me about the work they did, and perhaps forgot our conversations at the time of sale, which took place April/May 2013. I also called the vendor in June/July 2013 when the FIRST mud slide went into my pool. When i spoke to CJM around time of sale, they promised to provide me paperwork of the work they did for the property at 12 ********* and assured me that any coverage was transferred to the ********** - that the works was done on the property. I never received any paperwork or visit and I was told by the sellers that they paid $30,000 for a new septic. I would still like the paperwork to be provided. We also discussed CJM coming out to show me why the stakes were in the ground and what I need to do as a first time homeowner with a septic system.

Maybe CJM does not know the sellers lied about the pool, took belongings from the home that they should not have and left a pile of junk the day of the closing causing major delays in the clsoing(amongst many other issues that will be going thru legal system unfortunately). That does not begin to cover what the sellers lied about, but that is not what this claim is about.

I asked CJM to come by in Spring 2013 and repeatedly called CJM since then going to Spring 2014. This was all prior to my year of purchase to come fix these issues.

I will work with my phone providers to get copies of my phone records to show my calls.

The fact this vendor is basing their response on the sellers thoughts of me, is appalling!!!!!

Please advise next steps.

Thank you!

Industry Comparison| Chart

Excavating Contractors, Septic Tanks & Systems Contractors & Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/07/2006Business started: 01/01/1983
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Public Safety
One Asburton Place Room 1301
Boston, MA02108
(617) 727-3200
http://www.mass.gov/dps/

BBB records show a license number of HE-026800 for this company, issued by Department of Public Safety. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/dps/. The expiration date of this license is 12/25/2015.

Type: Hoisting

Check License Status: http://elicense.chs.state.ma.us/Verification/Details.aspx?agency id=1&license id=57974&

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of HE-133715 for this company, issued by Department of Public Safety. Their web address is http://www.mass.gov/dps/. The expiration date of this license is 04/15/2016.

Type: Hoisting

Check License Status: http://elicense.chs.state.ma.us/Verification/Details.aspx?agency id=1&license id=130637&

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1985, MA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris E. Manoogian (President)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Excavating Contractors, Septic Tanks & Systems Contractors & Dealers

Products & Services

According to information provided by this company, it offers excavating contracting and septic tanks and systems contracting and dealing.

Industry Tips
CONTRACTORS

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for CJM Construction Co., Inc.

274 Purchase St

Milford, MA 01757-3802

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 274 Purchase St 

    Milford, MA 01757-3802(508) 473-2960

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*CJM Construction Co., Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Excavating Contractors

CONTRACTORS
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.