BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/27/1967

Peter Pan Bus Lines, Inc.

Phone: (413) 781-2900Fax: (413) 734-1254

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

34 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Delivery Issues4
Problems with Product / Service27
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints34

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (34)BBB Closure Definitions
04/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Me and my girlfriend ordered2bus tickets off of the peter pan web they were e tickets which i was unaware of the refund policy until after the fact
Me and my girlfriend ordered two bus tickets off of the peter pan website they were e tickets which i was unaware of the refund policy until after the fact we purchased the tickets. I had put in a complaint letting them know know what had happened and i had asked for a full refund being that the tickets are not used. they are only a day old. I purchased the ticket on April 13 , 2015 and again i was was unaware about the refund policy which it wasn't written before i purchased the ticket. They responded back with a email that said this.

Hello,

We are sorry to learn you will not be able to use our service. However, all Peter Pan E-tickets are non-refundable tickets.

If you are unable to travel on your intended itinerary we suggest re-issuing your ticket for another travel date/time for $20 (per ticket) before your original travel time at the nearest Peter Pan Agency.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause you and we thank you for choosing Peter Pan Bus Lines.

Sincerely,

** ******** ****
Peter Pan Bus Lines *******************.com

I am very upset with the response. they offered me a discount on reissuing my tickets which i am not planning on using. i responded back to there response and said.
This ticket has been rated as Bad, I'm unsatisfied
With the following comment:
I understand that the e tickets are nonrefundable but before I had purchased the tickets I did not see a note stating that the tickets are nonrefundable while I was purchasing the tickets. being that this is my first time ordering tickets off of this website, I have no use for the tickets , I don't plan on travel anytime soon, it's only been a day since I've purchased the ticket they are not used. I feel like I've waisted money on tickets that I am not using

Desired Settlement
I would like the company to refund my $165.00 i paid for the tickets. being that it was my first time using there services it would be great if they acknowledged that it was a first time thing and give me my money back on my unused E Ticket. I would like a refund because I would like to pay for a service that I am in need of using and I don't feel like I should pay for a service that I wont be needing at the moment. I don't want my money to go down the drain. especially that much. A business should put the customer first and acknowledge that sometimes there are changes in plans. We plan on traveling and would love to use a service like this is need be. But after them refusing to return my money I will never again use this service.

Business Response
April 19, 2015

Re: BBB Case # ****** - ****** *********

Dear BBB,

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the concerns of Mr. *********. Mr. ********* contacted our Customer Care Center on April 13 to request a refund for a set of e-tickets purchased through our website. The request for a refund was not approved based on the fact that tickets purchased online are sold as non-refundable (which is noted on occasions during and after the order process).

While we can empathize to the fact that the customers' plans changed where the tickets were no longer needed, that would not change the restrictions on the ticket (being non-refundable) and result in the refund being issued.

As you contacted us the following day after purchasing the tickets, and in an effort to meet you halfway, as not to forfeit the value of the ticket, we can provide you with two Peter Pan vouchers (one for each ticket) for the value of travel from New York to ***. The vouchers are valid for one year from date of issue, are redeemed for a ticket reservation at the nearest Peter Pan ticketing location (NY Port Authority - 4nd Street if you live in the Bronx) and can be put towards another route of travel (if you do not have plans to travel to *** within one year).

We hope Mr. ********* will also accept to meet halfway in this situation. If so, we will send the vouchers to the address we have on file within his support ticket.

Thank you again,

**** ******
Peter Pan Bus Lines

03/25/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We contracted for transportation services for Worcester to Baltimore connecting through NYC. The services ended in NYC when the bus company expected two college students to wait overnight (7 hours ) for an alternate bus to complete service to Baltimore. The new timing was due to the bus running late and missing the NYC to Baltimore connection. Last minute train tickets were purchased to complete the contracted service that the bus service was unable to complete in a timely manner. It should NOT be acceptable for anyone to have to wait 7 hours overnight and especially at the NYC bus station.
Product_Or_Service: Bus ride from Worcester to Baltimore

Desired Settlement
With the bus company not completing their contracted service additional expenses were incurred for two individuals of $120 each for a train. They arrived in Baltimore at 3am and there was a $60 expense for a return ride to school. The original scheduled pickup time of 10:10 pm by a friend was now unavailable. I have written to Peter Pan and a reimbursement of NYC to Baltimore ($65) was given. With our additional expense of $300 for a safe trip minus $65-satisfactory resolution would be $235.

Business Response
BBB CASE#: XXXXXX

Dear BBB,

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to respond to this case.

We see Ms. ***** contacted us in December 2014 to report the concerns from a trip from Worcester to Baltimore on November 30, 2014. From both that original message and this BBB complaint, we understand Ms. ***** is requesting compensation for extra expenses due to a missed connection in New York to Baltimore. Our original response to Ms. ***** apologized for the situation and refunded the unused bus ticket costs (which were not redeemed for travel). It is true that the bus connection in New York was not made and that the next available service to Baltimore was at 3:45am, however these circumstances were not due to poor planning or fault on the company or customer side, but simply on that fact that the travel occurred on the one of busiest travel day of the year where the volume of passengers results in travel delays, which then results in adjustments to operational plans to accommodate each passenger, even if that accommodation is not able to be made in the time frame the customer and the company had original anticipated.

While we still maintain our position of declining the refund request for the train and taxi as we had other services available to accommodate the customers, we would like to offer the customers each a complimentary ticket from Baltimore to Worcester (or to another destination in our service area) in the interest of customer relations.

We again thank the BBB for allowing us the chance to response to the concerns of Ms. *****.

Thank you,

******* ******
Peter Pan Bus Lines

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I appreciate the communication from Peter Pan but not the resolution. Although it was a busy travel day, it seems that the bus company should plan accordingly. The company was well aware that this was going to be a hectic day. Our college students shared that the bus driver that day in the Hartford area was a new employee which significantly contributed to the missed connection and the expected overnight 7 hour wait. It was observed that The "new" employee was unsure of how to get to the NYC bus station and was frazzled by the process.
In addition, in Hartford there were too many passengers ****** and an additional bus needed to be added ( and waited for) to accomodate an overbooking which contributed to the missed connection. Peter Pan should or could have organized passengers ** earlier connections. It was instead total chaos. We believe that this overnight wait was unacceptable and the alternate travel expenses should be covered by the original service contracted to do the same. I look forward to hearing back from Peter Pan.

Final Business Response
Dear BBB,

Thank you for sharing the response from Ms. *****,

While we do not wish to appear unsympathetic towards the events surrounding the trip in question, we do feel that a refund for the unused ticket portions and the offer to provide complimentary travel in the future, is a fair compromise to not being in the position to agree to issuing a refund for the train fares; as such we continue to hold our position on not refunding the train fares yet continue to meet half-way by providing compensation for the delay and disruptions to the customers' plans in the form of future complimentary travel.

We await Ms. *****'s response and thank you again for allowing us the chance to respond to this case.

Sincerely,

******* ******
Peter Pan Bus Lines

03/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am writing in regard to the exorbitant cancellation fee of $20. charged by Peter Pan Bus Company to rebook a ticket.I was booking a ticket round trip to New York City from Mansfield, CT terminal from March 16-18th. In error the computer issued me a ticket for March 19th instead of March 18th. Immediately I contacted an agent in customer service, who advised me to go to a bus terminal and talk to someone there about changing it with a rebooking fee of $20. They claimed they could not change this computer error at customer service. Last night I drove to Mansfield terminal and no one was there and was advised by a bystander that they could not help me anyway.After talking to ***** in customer service again on March 5, I was told that I would have to rebook my ticket from NYC to Mansfield, CT with a cancellation charge of $20. no matter what the circumstances. I ended up booking an extra ticket for the one way trip ticket for March 18th from NYC to Mansfield, CT for $19. as it would cost more to rebook this ticket today rather than chance rebooking in NYC with a cancellation fee of $20.This was a computer error and no one could waive this exorbitant charge of $20. And help me correct the error at customer service. To rebook a ticket from NYC to Mansfield, CT cost $19. today Now I own a ticket for Mar. 18 and 19 because or their exorbitant policy.This is not customer service this is highway robbery
Product_Or_Service: round trip bus tickets
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I need to see that the fee of $20. is waived due to a computer error for my case. In the future it needs to be reduce to a percentage of the original ticket for rebooking fee not over 100% of the cost to rebook.

Business Response
Re: Case # XXXXXX

Dear BBB,

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to respond to the concerns of Mr. ******* as it relates to a recent ticket purchase and change of date request. We first wish to extend our apologies to Ms. ******* for any inconvenience she encountered both when placing the online ticket order and subsequently when attempting to revise her itinerary.

While it seems unusual our online shopping cart would, or could have the ability, to change dates the customer selected when purchasing the ticket, we understand the surprise Ms. ******* must have received when viewing her ticket and seeing a return date different than what was intended. it is true that to change a reservation, there is a $20.00 cost associated with making a change and that changes are made in person from the nearest Peter Pan ticketing location during their set business hours.

We do appreciate Ms. *******'s suggestion to make the change of itinerary cost a percentage of the ticket cost opposed to the set rate across the board.

We have submitted a refund for the original, unused, return ticket portion as we see a secondary ticket was purchased for the originally intended return date of March 18th. $21.50 will be credited back to the card used to make the purchase within 5-7 business days.

Again, we thank the BBB, and Ms. ******* for taking the time to notify us of this incident and we wish Ms. ******* a pleasant trip with us later this month.

Sincerely,

**** ******
Peter Pan Bus Lines

12/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered a ticket to bring me to the Logan airport, and the bus never showed up, leading to me missing my flight and paying for a new one.
They refuse to give me my refund, although I explained the situation to them. I am furious because of them I had to pay so much money for a new flight, and I did not use that ticket for another bus time, yet they won't take that into consideration and refund my $25. They do not care about their customers whatsoever.

Desired Settlement
I want my refund, that is all I ask from the company, but apparently that is asking for too much.

Business Response
Dear BBB and Ms. ******,

Thank you for contacting us and for providing us the opportunity to respond to the concerns of Ms. ****** regarding her son's travels from Providence to Boston Logan Airport on November 23, 2014. We see from our records Ms. ****** had contacted our Customer Care Center in regards to her concerns shortly after the incident arose.

We can confirm that Ms. ******' son had a bus ticket for travel from the main Providence bus terminal (located at Bonanza Way) to Boston Logan Airport at 7:30am on Sunday, November 23, 2014.

In Providence, RI we have two bus stops; one at Providence Downtown, Kennedy Plaza, and also the main Peter Pan bus terminal. The bus schedule has the bus departing Kennedy Plaza at 7:15am, then departing the main Providence bus terminal at 7:30am.

While it is not known which stop the customer was waiting for the bus, we can confirm the bus made all the scheduled stops, at the correct scheduled times. We have included our GPS records confirming this:

11/23/XXXX X:XX Washington St (Kennedy Plaza) Providence, RI - Arrival
11/23/XXXX X:XX Washington St (Kennedy Plaza) Providence, RI - Departure
11/23/XXXX X:XX Ramp for Exit 25a Providence, RI - Arrival
11/23/XXXX X:XX Bonanza Way Providence, RI - Departure
11/23/XXXX X:XX Logan Int'L Airport Boston, MA - Arrival

From the record it can be clearly seen that the bus arrived at Kennedy Plaza at 7:06am, and departed at 7:15am (on time). The bus then took exit 25A to the bus terminal in Providence at 7:19am and then departed Bonanza Way, on time, at 7:33am. The bus arrived at Logan Airport at 8:31am.

While we are not sure which bus stop the passenger was at, we fully believe they were at the stop, and as such we cannot account for how the passenger was not able to be accommodated on their intended schedule. Of course, in situations like this, the point of sharing the GPS information is not to prove we are right and the customer is wrong, or vice-verse; the information is shared to simply demonstrate that our coach ran as scheduled, since this information is the basis of this case.

Upon learning the customer had not traveled on their intended schedule and faced missing their flight, we arranged for the customer to travel on the next available service to the airport. We understand the passenger did not make their flight and incurred a cost of $50.00 to change their flight ticket. In a gesture of good-will, we offered Mr. ****** a complimentary ticket for her son for a trip "on us" anytime in the coming year; a gesture which was declined by Ms. ******.

In closing, we are empathetic that the customer had to change their flight plans (an often costly and stressful situation), however given the fact our coach ran as scheduled, given we made sure to accommodate the customer on the next schedule and extended the courtesy of a complimentary ticket, we feel our efforts were fair and we re-iterate our offer for the complimentary ticket to Ms. ******.

Thank you again,

Mike ******
Manager, Customer Care
Peter Pan Bus Lines

11/05/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I travelled on Peter Pan Bus and when I arrived at my destination my bag was missing. Peter Pan Bus did nothing to help and should compensate me.
On 6/22/14 I travelled from Hartford, CT to New York, NY using Peter Ban Bus Lines. My confirmation number was: XXXXXXXX.

When I arrived in New York my bag was missing. I went to the baggage claim desk who gave me a phone number to call. I called that number again and again for days on end without getting through to a single person. The number would go to voicemail every single time I called. I then emailed, hoping I might be able to get through to someone through email. Each time the person would respond and tell me to call the number I was calling, and I would tell them that the number isn't working. I got so desperate I practically begged for someone, anyone to just call me. No one did. I can provide copies of these emails.

I then decided to make the trip to New York JUST to go in-person and formally file a missing baggage claim. I did this on 07/18/14 (I even have a picture of this claim ticket). The claim ticket # is XXXXXXX. After I filed this claim I received absolutely no correspondence or response from Peter Pan Bus Lines. I reached out through email again and again, getting exceedingly desperate for someone to just get back to me about my bag. To this day, I have received no response from Peter Pan Bus Lines about my bag. I don't know what they did with it or where it went. It had valuable textbooks inside of it and many of my personal belongings.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting a reimbursement of $500. Peter Pan Bus Lines lost my bag and then proceeded to make this experience a living **** for me. I have hardly ever had to go through so much mental anguish dealing with what is supposed to be a 'reputable' company. If you read my emails you would see just how frustrated and desperate I was. A penny less than $500 would be unfair given the value of my belongings in that bag and the way Peter Pan handled this.

Business Response
October 21, 2014

Dear BBB,

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to respond to the concerns of ****** ******* Our initial review of this claim can confirm that ****** had a bus ticket for travel with us on June 22, that he had made repeated attempts to our offices for assistance with his misplaced bag which did not yield any results of note.

We made steps to locate the baggage claim filed in New York, however upon checking with both our baggage claim team and ********* Bus Lines (who manage the Lost & Found offices and ticket counters in New York City), we could not locate the claim.

Mr. ****** states he has a photo, or copy, of the claim ticket. If he could kindly share this photo (or if he has his copy of the claim form that would be even better) with us so we can progress further. It is our hopes that the photo or the copy of the form contains both the items missing and their value as well as a signature for who accepted the claim.

Again, we appreciate the BBB's assistance with this incident and await Mr. ********* response so we can move forward with a resolution.

Sincerely,

******* ******
******** ******** **** ******
Peter Pan Bus Lines


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Hello Mr. ******,

Thank you for your response.

I've sent the BBB an email with the photograph I took of the claim ticket at the NY office. I assume that BBB will forward that over to you. I'm very happy that I took a photo of the claim ticket despite that your staff didn't tell me it was necessary and hesitated when I asked to take a picture of it.

I would like to address the following statement you made:

"It is our hopes that the photo or the copy of the form contains both the items missing and their value as well as a signature for who accepted the claim."

The form did have a field to write down some of the missing items within the luggage. You'll see there I wrote "Test Masters books" as well as a couple of other identifying information.

I do, however, want to emphasize this: the form (as you can see) has *no* field for the receiving staff member to sign, OR the value of the missing items to be stated. I want to make this clear because, Mr. ******, I hope that you do not try to tell me that because the value of the items wasn't written, or there was no signature on the form, that you will not be recompensing me. This would be a farcical argument to make, given the form that your company itself designs, does not have these fields.

Thank you,

****** ******


Final Business Response
Dear BBB and Mr. *******

We have had the chance to view the claim stub you received at the bus terminal. The form you were given (by ********* Bus Lines, a bus company we partner with and whose staff runs the ticket counters and Lost & Found in New York City). This form is used to enter the description of the misplaced item in a shared database, where if the item is located in another terminal the employees at that location can then know where to send the bag and how to notify the passenger.

I will mail you a proper baggage claim form in the mail. Please complete this form to the best of your ability (most importantly, the items in the bag and their value). If you have receipts or any proof of the value of the items, please also include those. This is the appropriate next step for filing a baggage claim with us. As soon as I have the claim form, receipts (if possible) and see the items and their value, we can make a decision on how best to resolve with you, keeping in mind the time, effort and monetary loss you experienced. I will include a pre-paid envelope for you to return the claim form to us.

Thank you again,

******* ******
Peter Pan Bus Lines

Page 1 of 7
09/19/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Peter Pan Bus Co does not guarantee a seat on its bus when it sales a ticket for a specific time, even if the customer arrived ahead of time.
Peter Pan Bus Co does not guarantee a seat on its bus when it sales a ticket for a specific time, even if the customer arrived ahead of time. It serves first comes first serves. This puts customers who bought a ticket ahead of time in uncertain and stressful position. Customers deserve to be assured that if they buy a ticket for a certain time slot and arrive at time to the bus station, they will be guaranteed to have a seat. This issue is especially sever when it come to long routes at the end of the day (say ** to **********).

Desired Settlement
The bus company should not over sell more tickets for a bus than the number of seats and should guarantee customers who have a ticket and arrive on time to have a seat on the bus.

Business Response
Dear *** ******,

Thank you for taking the time to contact the BBB as it relates to our ticketing and boarding services between ********** and ***** We would like to explain how our system currently works and our plan for the near future in hopes it will demonstrate our understanding of the situation and the steps we're making to improve the service model, as it relates to ticketing and boarding.

For 80 years, our bus line and the entire industry, has been an "on demand" form of transportation. We are currently in the process of converting our bus service to an all reservation based system. Not all of our passengers buy their tickets in advance; approximately 50% of our passengers continue to buy tickets anywhere from 15 - 30 minutes prior to departure ... we have no way of knowing how many people are going to show up. In addition, as it relates to those people who purchase tickets online, a large percentage do not show up, i.e. they choose to ride a different schedule on the same day. To further complicate the matter, the return portion of a round-trip ticket is valid for a year ... we have no way of determining when a return ticket purchased weeks or months ago will be used. Not to mention that passengers could be coming in from other parts of the country on other bus lines; most of the companies that connect with us are "on demand" companies and again we have no way of knowing how many people may show up.

What we currently do is look at how many advance tickets we have sold ... and we look at history and passenger trends ... to determine how many buses we may need on each schedule. If a bus fills up we employ extra equipment and drivers at major locations and we deploy a second bus.

Until we are able to convert all of our customers to buying in advance, and until the "on demand" tickets that may have been purchased months ago are flushed out of our system, we simply cannot foretell the number of potential passengers with 100% accuracy.

We will be sending you a voucher which can be used for complimentary one-way ticket with us from ********** to *** *****

Thank you for your understanding and thank you for riding with Peter Pan.

Sincerely,

******* ******
Customer Care Center
Peter Pan Bus Lines, Inc.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response to complaint describes the current practice by the bus company but does not provide any solution to the complaint:
Here is one way to resolve the complaint:
If a bus for a specified time has X seats, the first X tickets sold for that time (including transfer passengers) should indicate: SEATING GUARUNTEED. Any subsequent tickets sold for that time would indicate: CONTINGENT ON SEAT AVAILABILITY. Since tickets sold can be tracked automatically on the computer system, this should be feasible. In this form a passenger that does not have a guaranteed seat can arrange back up plans and the ones who do have a guaranteed seat would not have to wait in line nervously unknowing whether he/she will be on the bus. This is the practice in other western countries (and even in some third world countries).
One of the basic rights of consumers is to know what product he is paying for and what is the time frame he/she will receive it. This obviously should be true for a customer who uses a bus service. A service in which you have several customers, who bought a ticket for a specified time waiting nervously unsure they will be on a bus they had a ticket for, is a bad if not terrible service.

03/06/2013Delivery Issues
07/27/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Bus Lines, Shuttle Bus, Tours-Operators & Promoters, Buses-Charter & Rental, Buses-Repair & Service, Motor coach Companies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.