BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/05/1993

Meineke Car Care Center

Phone: (508) 842-1858Fax: (508) 842-0209View Additional Phone Numbers507 Boston Tpke, ShrewsburyMA 01545-5976 Send email to Meineke Car Care Center

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/05/1993

BBB has determined that Meineke Car Care Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Meineke Car Care Center's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Meineke Car Care Center

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
11/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Damaged rims when breaking wheel locks.
I brought my SUV into Meineke to have them look over my vehicle and get any work covered under my extended warranty fixed. I receive a call a few days later asking me for the wheel lock to get my tires off to properly inspect the vehicle. I inform them I do not have the wheel lock and was told that they could break the wheel locks and would then replace them with non locking lugnuts. I stated I do not like the sound of them "breaking" anything and how much will this cost, I was informed it would not cost anything and assured it would not affect anything. I get the call stating my car is finished and I am being charged $183.00 for 20 lugnuts. I made quite the few calls including to Ford themselves who have no idea why they broke all 5 lugnuts per wheel when only 1 of them had wheel locks. Meineke had no reason for doing this just that they replaced the lugnuts so I had to pay for them as my warranty would not. I now go to pick up my vehicle and the car is dead no lights nothing, Meineke was closed so I jumped the car which took 25 minutes to start, drove it around for a half hour and realized i had a flat tire in the back. I stop and fill up the tire and notice there are all marks on my rims around the lugnauts where apparently they damaged them when trying to break the wheel locks, i checked all four tims and there are marks on all of them. I end up jumpimg my car again after getting air and it died again the next morning. I called Meineke the next day and the womaan I spoke with told me that my car being dead when I picked it up was impossible as they bring the cars into the bays every nite. I work on Rte 9 and drove by my car everyday which had not once been in the bay since the work was completed and when I explained that to her I then asked to speak with the person who she claims moved my car last as I knew that was not true. I was put on hold and another woman came back to tell me they were too full and the previous woman was mistaken yet I could come in and pay $60 to have my care checked. After I was basically called a liar I no longer wanted to deal with anyone at that location. I have new rims on my car which are black and the scrapes stick out like a sore thumb and on top of that I paid almost $200 for them to ruin my rims, I would have bought a wheel lock if I was told I would have to replace all 20 lugnuts and there was a possibility of damage to my rims. This was not the condition I dropped my car off in, I never had a problem with the battery it is not even 6 months old and my rims were spotless. I have chose reach out to the Corporate Office and the BBB.

Desired Settlement
I am looking to have my rims replaced as they cannot be repaired, a battery and a refund for 16 of the lugnuts that did not need to be broken and in turn ruin my rims.

Business Response
Although we do not agree with the customers assessment of the situation, as good faith gesture we refunded a portion of the customers money. She agreed to this in exchange not to pursue this complaint any further and signed a document stating such. The customer was satisfied with our agreement.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Industry Comparison| Chart

Brake Service, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Auto Repair - Vintage, Auto Repairing-Foreign, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Brake Fluids, Auto Electric Equipment

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/21/1993Business started: 04/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Local Auto Repair Licensing
Unknown
Worcester, MA 01608

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 1993, MA

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Philip Diblasi (President)
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

Brake Service, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Auto Repair - Vintage, Auto Repairing-Foreign, Auto Repair & Service - Diesel, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Brake Fluids, Auto Electric Equipment

Products & Services

According to information provided by this company, it offers brake service, auto electric equipment, brake fluids, auto air conditioning, auto diagnostic service,
auto repair and service, diesel auto repair and service, foreign auto repair, vintage auto repair, and mufflers and exhaust systems.

Alternate Business Names
Rustco, Inc.
Industry Tips
AUTO REPAIRS

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Meineke Car Care Center

507 Boston Tpke

Shrewsbury, MA 01545-5976

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 507 Boston Tpke 

    Shrewsbury, MA 01545-5976(508) 842-1858
    (508) 561-9769
    (508) 842-1959

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Meineke Car Care Center is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (508) 561-9769
  • (508) 842-1959
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Brake Service

AUTO REPAIRS
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.