BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/21/2009

V & F Auto, Inc

Phone: (413) 789-2181Fax: (413) 786-8578443 Springfield St, AgawamMA 01001-1513 Send email to V & F Auto, Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/21/2009

BBB has determined that V & F Auto, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised V & F Auto, Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
05/20/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: ****** ******** sold a used automobile to us using unethical sales practice.
****** ******** at V&M Auto sold us a used Subaru in November of 2012 . Most of our correspondence was over the phone or via email. Over the phone he told me that the car was in good shape, nothing was wrong with it, and it had a two month warranty, so any concerns I had about purchasing a car in another state were diminished. When we picked up the car, he told us that he would put the rest of the paperwork in the mail to us. We have not received any additional paperwork, and when I called the next week about warranty, ****** told me that someone else must have told me about a warranty, because there wasn't one. I spoke to no one else. He told me there was a warranty. So when I gave him the list of things that were indeed wrong with the car, his responses ranged from "That won't cost much to fix" to "Let the insurance company take care of that." The biggest issue was the broken bar that encases the windshield wiper cables. The windshield wipers do not work properly as a consequence. ****** said he would send us the part needed to fix the problem. Though I was (and still am) angry at being lied to, I chalked it up to experience--after all, I trusted a used car salesman to be honest. But even this was too much for ****** as I contacted him via phone and email, and though he told me numerous times that he was sending the part to us, he never did. I want him to send the part, and I want others to be wary of the dealer's practices.

Business' Initial Response
As the ***** this is the first I have heard of this situation. I have looked into this and found that the paperwork was delivered. This was confirmed by the signed paperwork we have from the customer. As far as the part not being delivered, that was an oversight on our salesman's part possibly due to an email change. Typically an email is sent to me when a part needs to be ordered which after investigating with the salesman, he sent me an email today and a part will be purchased and delivered to the customer. I spoke with the customer as of 4PM on 4/23/2013.

Consumer's Final Response
Hello *******.
As of right now, the car is in the shop, and ***** at V&F Auto has agreed to pay for the replacement part. I will pick up the car today, and mail the receipt to ***** today. Hopefully I have a check by next week. Thank you for checking in.
******

Business' Final Response
Thank you ******

On Tue, May 14, 2013 at 6:18 AM, ************* <****************> wrote:
Good morning, typically we would not warranty the repairs unless they were completed at our shop. We would also install a used part in a pre-owned vehicle. Due to all you have been threw and us wasting money on the wrong part already, just forward me a copy of the receipt and we will send you a check for the part.

Thank You

**************
*********
V&F Auto,Inc.
*** *********** ***
****** *** XXXXX
***** (XXX)XXX-XXXX
******* (XXX)XXX-XXXX
***** (XXX)XXX-XXXX
*** (XXX)XXX-XXXX
www.vfauto.com




From: **** ********* (mailto:************@gmail.com)
Sent: Monday, May 13, 2013 3:33 PM
To: ***** *******

Subject: Re: for ***************** form

Hello *****.
The part needed for the Subaru will cost $225--that is just for the part, not the labor. The car is at ***** ***** **** and ******** The********** name is ****, and he can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX if you want to verify this or speak to him. Thank you.
****
On Tue, May 7, 2013 at 4:57 PM, **** ********* <************@gmail.com> wrote:
We will get an estimate this week and get back to you with the price.

On Mon, May 6, 2013 at 4:33 PM, ***** ******* <****************> wrote:
How much is the part ?

From: **** ********* (mailto:************@gmail.com)
Sent: Monday, May 06, 2013 10:13 AM
To: ***** *******

Subject: Fwd: for ***************** form

*****--the photos should be attached. Would you pay the Subaru dealership the cost of the part?

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: **** ********* <************@gmail.com>
Date: Mon, Dec 10, 2012 at 10:09 AM
Subject: Re: for ***************** form
To: ****** ******** <**************@aol.com>


Hello ****. I have attached two photos of the broken bar that controls the windshield wipers.
****


On Thu, Nov 29, 2012 at 9:21 AM, **** ********* <************@gmail.com> wrote:
Hello ****. My cell number is XXX-XXX-XXXX. There is no cell service where we live, so you won't be able to reach me on my cell until after 9am tomorrow morning. Call me at home if you have any questions before then. Thank you, and see you tomorrow at 10am.
****


On Tue, Nov 27, 2012 at 6:53 PM, **** ********* <************@gmail.com> wrote:
Hello ******. ***** will visit the DMV in the late morning (10-noon). Hopefully no issues will arrive. Talk to you soon.
****


On Tue, Nov 27, 2012 at 10:32 AM, ****** ******** <**************@aol.com> wrote:
Gottit!


-----Original Message-----
From: **** ********* <************@gmail.com>
To: vf.sales <********@verizon.net>
Sent: Tue, Nov 27, XXXX XX:XX am
Subject: for ***************** form
***********************************************************************************

Thanks ********

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Service - Specialty Parts, Truck Repair & Service, Transmissions-Automobile, Auto Repairing-Foreign, Auto Inspection Stations, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Tire Dealers, Auto Parts & Supplies-New, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/17/2009Business started: 01/01/1988
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Local Auto Dealer License
Unknown
Worcester, MA01608

Registry of Motor Vehicles
P.o. Box 199100
Boston, MA02119-9100
(800) 858-3926
http://www.massrmv.com

Local Auto Repair Licensing
Unknown
Worcester, MA01608

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1990, MA

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Frank Palange (President)
Contact Information
Ms. Sheila Palange (Treasurer)
Number of Employees

14

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Service - Specialty Parts, Truck Repair & Service, Transmissions-Automobile, Auto Repairing-Foreign, Auto Inspection Stations, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Tire Dealers, Auto Parts & Supplies-New, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Products & Services

According to information provided by this company, it offers preventive maintenance and auto repair service.

Industry Tips
MASSACHUSETTS LEMON LAW SUMMARY
AUTO REPAIRS
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Purchasing a Car Online
The Hail Season is Here
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for V & F Auto, Inc

443 Springfield St

Agawam, MA 01001-1513

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 443 Springfield St 

    Agawam, MA 01001-1513(413) 789-2181

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*V & F Auto, Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.