BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/21/2009

V & F Auto, Inc

Phone: (413) 789-2181Fax: (413) 786-8578

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
05/20/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: ****** ******** sold a used automobile to us using unethical sales practice.
****** ******** at V&M Auto sold us a used Subaru in November of 2012 . Most of our correspondence was over the phone or via email. Over the phone he told me that the car was in good shape, nothing was wrong with it, and it had a two month warranty, so any concerns I had about purchasing a car in another state were diminished. When we picked up the car, he told us that he would put the rest of the paperwork in the mail to us. We have not received any additional paperwork, and when I called the next week about warranty, ****** told me that someone else must have told me about a warranty, because there wasn't one. I spoke to no one else. He told me there was a warranty. So when I gave him the list of things that were indeed wrong with the car, his responses ranged from "That won't cost much to fix" to "Let the insurance company take care of that." The biggest issue was the broken bar that encases the windshield wiper cables. The windshield wipers do not work properly as a consequence. ****** said he would send us the part needed to fix the problem. Though I was (and still am) angry at being lied to, I chalked it up to experience--after all, I trusted a used car salesman to be honest. But even this was too much for ****** as I contacted him via phone and email, and though he told me numerous times that he was sending the part to us, he never did. I want him to send the part, and I want others to be wary of the dealer's practices.

Business' Initial Response
As the ***** this is the first I have heard of this situation. I have looked into this and found that the paperwork was delivered. This was confirmed by the signed paperwork we have from the customer. As far as the part not being delivered, that was an oversight on our salesman's part possibly due to an email change. Typically an email is sent to me when a part needs to be ordered which after investigating with the salesman, he sent me an email today and a part will be purchased and delivered to the customer. I spoke with the customer as of 4PM on 4/23/2013.

Consumer's Final Response
Hello *******.
As of right now, the car is in the shop, and ***** at V&F Auto has agreed to pay for the replacement part. I will pick up the car today, and mail the receipt to ***** today. Hopefully I have a check by next week. Thank you for checking in.
******

Business' Final Response
Thank you ******

On Tue, May 14, 2013 at 6:18 AM, ************* <****************> wrote:
Good morning, typically we would not warranty the repairs unless they were completed at our shop. We would also install a used part in a pre-owned vehicle. Due to all you have been threw and us wasting money on the wrong part already, just forward me a copy of the receipt and we will send you a check for the part.

Thank You

**************
*********
V&F Auto,Inc.
*** *********** ***
****** *** XXXXX
***** (XXX)XXX-XXXX
******* (XXX)XXX-XXXX
***** (XXX)XXX-XXXX
*** (XXX)XXX-XXXX
www.vfauto.com




From: **** ********* (mailto:************@gmail.com)
Sent: Monday, May 13, 2013 3:33 PM
To: ***** *******

Subject: Re: for ***************** form

Hello *****.
The part needed for the Subaru will cost $225--that is just for the part, not the labor. The car is at ***** ***** **** and ******** The********** name is ****, and he can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX if you want to verify this or speak to him. Thank you.
****
On Tue, May 7, 2013 at 4:57 PM, **** ********* <************@gmail.com> wrote:
We will get an estimate this week and get back to you with the price.

On Mon, May 6, 2013 at 4:33 PM, ***** ******* <****************> wrote:
How much is the part ?

From: **** ********* (mailto:************@gmail.com)
Sent: Monday, May 06, 2013 10:13 AM
To: ***** *******

Subject: Fwd: for ***************** form

*****--the photos should be attached. Would you pay the Subaru dealership the cost of the part?

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: **** ********* <************@gmail.com>
Date: Mon, Dec 10, 2012 at 10:09 AM
Subject: Re: for ***************** form
To: ****** ******** <**************@aol.com>


Hello ****. I have attached two photos of the broken bar that controls the windshield wipers.
****


On Thu, Nov 29, 2012 at 9:21 AM, **** ********* <************@gmail.com> wrote:
Hello ****. My cell number is XXX-XXX-XXXX. There is no cell service where we live, so you won't be able to reach me on my cell until after 9am tomorrow morning. Call me at home if you have any questions before then. Thank you, and see you tomorrow at 10am.
****


On Tue, Nov 27, 2012 at 6:53 PM, **** ********* <************@gmail.com> wrote:
Hello ******. ***** will visit the DMV in the late morning (10-noon). Hopefully no issues will arrive. Talk to you soon.
****


On Tue, Nov 27, 2012 at 10:32 AM, ****** ******** <**************@aol.com> wrote:
Gottit!


-----Original Message-----
From: **** ********* <************@gmail.com>
To: vf.sales <********@verizon.net>
Sent: Tue, Nov 27, XXXX XX:XX am
Subject: for ***************** form
***********************************************************************************

Thanks ********

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Service - Specialty Parts, Truck Repair & Service, Transmissions-Automobile, Auto Repairing-Foreign, Auto Inspection Stations, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Air Conditioning, Tire Dealers, Auto Parts & Supplies-New, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.