BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Brake King Automotive

Find a Location

Phone: (413) 783-3727Fax: (413) 783-7123View Additional Phone Numbers1179 East Columbus Ave, SpringfieldMA 01105-2537 Send email to Brake King Automotive! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Brake King Automotive is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Brake King Automotive

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
03/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On July 2, 2013 on my car for overheating problem. On January 16, 2014 a part of my engine came of my car while driving.
On July 2, 2013. Brake King did work on my car 2000, Subaru Legacy. The diagnostic was for a water pump, thermostat, coolant and timing belt. I ended up paying for a harmonic balancer. I thought it was part of the adjustment but it says on the receipt that for the price of $465.00 covers all listed parts and adjustments.but I paid over $700.00 for it.(I have all receipts. but the final total is not clearly indicated by store.) I think that was the part that came flying of my engine on January 16, 2014. My son was driving and I was with him. We had the car towed home. We talked to Brake king about it but got no help.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund for the work done and compensation for what is needed to fix my engine that is now broken, missing a part and undrivable also for my son to get the day that he missed from work paid for. I don't want to take my car back to Brake King but have it fixed some where else.

Business Response
The consumer came into the location on July. 2, 2013 and the car was over heating and like I said we did the work for the consumer and everything was all set. On Sept. 10, 2013 two months after consumer came in and we recommended a list of more work be done to the car and the consumer declined. The car has 210,000 miles obviously because of the mileage the car needs repairs and we cannot help the consumer if she does not make the necessary recommended repairs to the car. The only way for the vehicle to be healthy the consumer needs to do the recommended services.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The work that Brake King did on the car was faulty and caused more damage to my car. Therefore I did not get more work done from there company. One of the parts that they worked on came flying out of my car while my son was driving it. They should pay for the damages they caused.

Final Business Response

YOUR REPLY TO THE COMPLAINT: (We are denying anything was faulty, anything that is happening to the car was recommended to get fix a while ago, which she declined to repair. Bottom line in order for consumer to have a good running vehicle she needs to do the recommended repairs do to the age and high mileage of vehicle.)


If you have any questions about this, let me know!

10/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid for two services; one was performed very poorly and the other should not have been performed at all. I am being denied a refund.
Brake King Invoice #XXXXXX
On August 24, 2013, I brought in a used vehicle that I was about to purchase to the Brake King in *********, MA for a pre-purchase inspection. Brake King was informed at this point that the air conditioner was not working and the car was pulling to the left. The result of the inspection was that I needed two tires, front sway bar links, and a full diagnostic test of the air conditioner.

Brake King Invoice #XXXXXX
On August 28, 2013, I brought the car back to Brake King, at which point they replaced the tires with two used tires that I had supplied, and changed the sway bar links.

At this point, the car was still pulling to the left, so I brought it back to Brake King for an alignment; I was told here that I needed a new right lower control arm. There is no receipt of this, as no work was performed. I had this work performed at a different mechanic, which resolved the vehicle's pull to the left. This cost $270 (*******************, Westfield, MA, Invoice #****).

When I brought the car in for MA State inspection, I was informed that not only were the two tires Brake King had mounted un-passable, but 3 of the 4 tires (including the two they mounted) on the car were the wrong size altogether.

This prompted me to request a second inspection of the vehicle, despite the sale of the vehicle having been finalized at this point. The second inspection revealed a significant amount of work to be done, including: oil change, spark plugs, timing belt, windshield wipers, cabin air filter, rusted front/driver side brake line and corroded transmission line, and extensive damage to the air conditioner, as per inspector: "quick look - not working. Compressor locked up and no belt - Has been bypassed."

When Brake King was consulted as to what a pre-purchase inspection entails, I have been told - by the ********* branch and the Boston Rd, *********** branch: they "check the entire vehicle," "fluids, brakes, tires, front end, rear end." I specifically asked about the air conditioner, because I knew it was not currently functional, and was told they would tell me what was wrong "if it was something visible."

If these things had been done, every problem reported by the second inspector should have been discovered before my purchase of the vehicle. It also seems as though the right lower control arm should have been discovered by Brake King's initial inspection, as well, because repairing it resolved the original pull-to-the-left. I would not have purchased this vehicle had these things been discovered as part of the original PRE-PURCHASE inspection. At this point, I have spent $3700 on a vehicle that Brake King told me only needed $150 worth of work. I have currently invested $978 in to the vehicle, while the air condition projects to cost another $600-$1200.

I am being denied a refund of the cost of the pre-purchase inspection and mounting the two incorrect tires, and would like to be reimbursed the cost of the right lower control arm.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of the pre-purchase inspection ($79.95), the cost of mounting the two incorrect tires ($40), and to be reimbursed the cost of repairing the right lower control arm ($278.23)

Business Response
I really cannot add anymore, there is nothing to add from our first response. 1. Our inspection was done in good faith 2.The complaint about the tires they were his he brought them in and that his responsibility. 3. If you have an issue with the car you bought from someone else, that is between him and the seller.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The inspection was NOT done in good faith. If it had been, I would not have had to invest an additional $1200 in to the vehicle within the first two weeks of owning it. If the inspection had been done in "good faith," i would not have purchased the vehicle at all. This is no longer between the seller and I -- the sale has long been finalized. The seller allowed me to bring the vehicle for a professional, independent inspection, which if done properly would have prevented this sale from ever happening. And how can you say that it's okay to mount tires of the wrong size and impassible ***** without at least warning the customer of either of these safety hazards? And let me drive away? I am demanding a refund of the inspection and the mounting of the tires, and I will continue to follow up in any manner necessary. Thank you for your cooperation.

09/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Brake King intentionally cut into and destroyed my catalytic converter while performing other repairs and only said it needed replacement afterward.
My 2000 Grand Prix GT was having issues with the MAF sensor and the IAC sensor. Brake King advertised a fixed diagnostic price of $59.99, and my father towed my car there on my behalf while I was at work.

On 26 June 2013, after 2-3 days of my car being at their shop, Brake King stated to me that it would cost $360 for diagnostics alone, or $950 to repair all the issues they found. I did not want any repairs done and questioned why they were charging $360 and not the $59.99. They explained that it took three days to accurately track and trace all problems. I then told Brake King that I did not want any repairs done, and Brake King then told me it would be $500 for them to reassemble all the components of the vehicle and return it unrepaired, or they would make a 'deal' with me and do the repairs for $750 including tax. I agreed to this as it seemed like I was going to have to pay quite a bit to get my vehicle back from them either way.

Shortly after this conversation, on the same day, Brake King told me that my catalytic converter was not working, was plugged up, and would glow red hot after running the vehicle. They stated that they just noticed this at the last second. They offered to replace it with a new one for $285. I declined, and they strongly recommended I have it done as it was "robbing power" from my vehicle. Brake King never mentioned any sort of cuts, holes, or any similar issues regarding my catalytic converter.

I ordered a new catalytic converter my friend **** went to install it on 8 July. Immideately upon rolling under my car, he noticed that 6 inched before my catalytic converter, Brake King had cut an 'X' into the pipe, and punched a hole through the center of the 'X', damaging the pipe and damaging the catalytic converter.


The day before towing my car to Brake King, I had performed an oil change on it. I spent at least 25 minutes underneath the car, in plain view of where this 'X' is cut through the pipe. I also did a cursory inspection of all visible components under the vehicle, including the entire exhaust system, and stated to my******* what good condition it was in for a car that was 13 years old, having no major rust or holes, except for a small amouint at the very end of the vehicle.

My car had not been driven since being brought to Brake King, and has not been driven except 20 feet from inside/outside my friend's garage area. It had been towed to every location, and at no time would anybody have proper access to the undercarriage with power tools or a cutoff wheel to do this sort of sabotage, except if the car were on a lift, on ramps, or over a pit.

Additionally, immideately upon starting the vehicle at Brake King, it caused the Service Engine light to come on, which I read with my code reader as P0300, random misfire code. Never before had I had this issue in the entire life of the vehicle. I left the vehicle at Brake King again, and they told my ****** in the morning that this was normal for a damaged/bad catalytic converter, and again strongly suggested replacement be done by them.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting that Brake King refund in full the cost of all repairs done to my vehicle by them. I am requesting that Brake King pay in full for the cost to install a new catalytic converter to replace the one they intentionally damaged. I am requesting that Brake King pay in full for the cost of a reputable neutral third party evaluation of my vehicle to check for servicability and other sabotage/intentional damage caused by them. I am requesting that if this third party shows that Brake King caused any additional damage to my vehicle, that Brake King pay in full for repair and/or replacement of any damage components they are responsible for damaging.

Business' Initial Response
***** requested supporting documents regarding all claims consumers alleges. Also ***** needs invoice provided from Brake King and any further documents from any company's or persons that consumer claims he took vehicle to or provided work after vehicle left Brake King's shop.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
**** never showed anybody the converter, the converter was never removed from the car until I replaced it myself due to **** damaging it.

I had brought the converter to show the ***** the damage he had caused, and I showed it to another nearby customer. The ***** and **** clearly are not telling the truth and trying to discredit me the consumer for a bad job performed by them. Bottom line they did not fix my vehicle - regardless of what they may claim, the job was not done as stated.

Business' Final Response
***** states he was not present when car was being repaired but was present when consumer returned with catalytic converter covered with a blanket at 5:30pm yelling in front of all the customers that the business caused intentional damage to the catalytic converter.
**** stated the car was at the shop for a few days. Car was towed to shop. Car was a mess and needed a lot of work. Service ******* **** spoke with consumer and advised consumer of what the car needed.
**** states the converter was plugged turned cherry red and car would shut off. **** states he did not touch or damage the converter they only showed the consumer the converter and at that time there was no damage to converter. **** gave consumer an estimate and consumer stated he did not want the work done. ***** states it is illegal to make a hole in the converter because it lets exhausts into the atmosphere and it is an emissions issue. **** stated consumer stated he could pop a hole in the converter to get around for a little while to save some money and that consumer will do the work himself.

05/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I recently discovered a lug nut on my family minivan was cross threaded and not holding the wheel. Last place to work on that was Brake King.
On Monday April 29, 2013, I was washing my family minivan. Part of my annual spring routine is removing the hub caps to wash them and the wheels. Upon removing the front left hub cap I noticed that one of the 5 lug nuts was only attached by about 3 threads, about an inch or so from the wheel that it was supposed to be holding. Upon closer examination, the lug nut was cross threaded and unable to be moved or even removed (I do not have an air wrench). After returning from work the next day I called the Northampton Brake King and reported what I had found as they were the last ones to work on that wheel. Brake King had me bring the van in so they could look at it.
When I arrived they put the van up on a lift, removed the left hub cap and saw the problem. ***** (the *******) told me it would be about $80 to fix as he would need to disassemble the wheel to replace the bolt. When I asked why I should have to pay to fix a problem that his business created he responded that while acknowledging his business had rotated the tires, it wasn't his business that created the problem because 1.) He knows his guys and knows they would not release a vehicle with that condition and 2.) it had been too long since the service was performed.
I said that I am not accusing anyone of doing this intentionally, but that it had to be done by them as they were the last ones to work on the van when they did a tire rotation. My hypothesis was that the problem was due to the use of power tools to install the wheel and the problem was not noticed by the installer. I don't own such power tools. No work had been done to the van since that time and there had been no need for any service. While it had been 10 months since the service, the van had only been driven 2000 miles in that time and there would not be any need for service. The tires are the same matching 4 year old well worn tires, and he was able to check for himself that there are no patches (they have never had a flat). The reason for the length of time was that there had been no need to remove the hubcaps in that 10 month period and therefore no opportunity to notice the problem. Brake King's oil change sticker is still on the windshield (they also changed the oil when they rotated the tires)because again, there has not been the need for any service in that 10 month period because the van has been used very little with all of our kids away at college.
****, the ******* kept saying that we are at an impass and I kept expressing my displeasure with his refusal to fix a problem that his business clearly had caused. He finally offered to do the work for 1/2 price and I still insisted that I should not have to pay anything to fix a problem that they created. After consulting with my wife (who is the primary driver of the van) we decided to allow the van to be fixed since we did not want to have to drive the van in that unsafe condition. I told***** that I would still need to report the business because I still believe that they should have fixed the problem that they created without any additional cost to me.
It took about an hour to fix the problem (I think they had to run out and get a new bolt)and***** charged me $45.59 which I reluctantly paid by credit card. To charge me anything in this case is unconscionable. To get this fixed I also had to take more than 2 hours out of my day and drive nearly 60 miles.
FYI: The oil change and tire rotation were done on 6/16/12 with odometer at 52021. The fix was done 4/30/12 with odometer at 54299.

Desired Settlement
Refund of amount paid ($45.59)to fix a problem that they created.

Business' Initial Response
We cannot be responsible for a issue that occurred almost one year later. ******* went a extra step for customer and provided service at a discounted half price. I believe I acted in good faith and all was handled correctly.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not at all surprised by *** ********* response. It would be an extreme embarrassment for his business to admit that they screwed up what should have been a simple tire rotation and released a vehicle in a potentially unsafe state. His statement that the issue occurred almost one year later is completely disingenuous. The issue may have been brought to him 10 months following his service to the vehicle but that should not excuse his business from fixing the problem they created. The lug nut wasn't cross threaded by itself! APPARENTLY HE THINKS THAT THE CUSTOMER IS RESPONSIBLE FOR IMMEDIATELY INSPECTING THE WORK PERFORMED BY HIS BUSINESS! I think that is a completely unreasonable standard. In this case the lug nuts are hidden behind the hub caps. There was never the need to remove the hub caps in the 10 months following his tire rotation. The vehicle was only driven a little more than 2000 miles since his service and the next rotation wasn't due for another 5000+ miles. Thank goodness for him and me that I removed the hub caps to clean off the winter grime or I still would not have noticed the cross threaded lug nut. We have a long trip planned with that vehicle soon, and if that wheel had come loose it could have been life threatening to me and my family members and financially devastating to his business when the cause was determined. I was only asking them to correct the problem they created, nothing more. To charge anything to the customer in this instance is completely unreasonable. Buyer beware.

07/24/2012Problems with Product / Service
07/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The purpose of my visit to Brake King was for an AC recharge service. The service for this was advertised at 89.99 or 89.95 (one or the other), and I also asked the worker whom I turned my vehicle over to, "if the service has any hidden fees" which his reply to was "no, one flat rate, regardless of the vehicle, make or model". When the service on my vehicle was complete, he charged me for $124.89 minus a discount (god knows for what) of $4.89 and my final bill was $120. When i asked why the charge was $40 more than what is advertised and or quoted to me, his response was "I had to add some dye and little bit of oil". The rep. and I argued for a bit about the price and charges and more so about how he went ahead and did all this "extra" work on my vehicle without consulting me or getting my agreement, but due to the fact I was running late for a meeting, I had no choice but to pay and get my vehicle back. Billing Charges Invoice reads as follows:Labor Total: $40Other Charges: -$4.89 (negative)Parts Total: $79.90Sales Tax: 4.99PD in advance: $0Paid in Bankcard: $120.00I know for a fact, these guys charged me $40 extra for no reason what so ever!!!
Product_Or_Service: AC recharge
Account_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I want to pay $90 plus tax what was advertised and also more importantly quoted to me.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Wheel Alignment, Fr & Axle Service - Auto, Transmissions-Automobile, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Repair - Power Steering, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension, Auto Detailing, Starters-Engine

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/01/1993Business started: 06/01/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Local Auto Repair Licensing
Unknown
Worcester, MA01608

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1993, MA

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Moshe Ronen (President)
Number of Employees

30

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Wheel Alignment, Fr & Axle Service - Auto, Transmissions-Automobile, Brake Service, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Repair - Power Steering, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension, Auto Detailing, Starters-Engine

Products & Services

According to information provided by this company, it offers auto repair and services.

Alternate Business Names
AutoService Inc.
Industry Tips
AUTO REPAIRS
LocationsX

5 Locations

  • 519 Front St 

    Chicopee, MA 01013-3140(413) 557-6908

  • 236 Pleasant St 

    Northampton, MA 01060-3953(413) 584-4988

  • 1179 East Columbus Ave 

    Springfield, MA 01105-2537(413) 788-9244

  • 867 Boston Rd 

    Springfield, MA 01119-1318(413) 783-3727
    (413) 348-4496

  • 22 Franklin St 

    Westfield, MA 01085-2258(413) 572-1735

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central & Western Massachusetts and Northeastern Connecticut. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Brake King Automotive is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (413) 788-9244

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (413) 746-2963
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

AUTO REPAIRS
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

According to information in BBB files, this company is no longer in business.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.